Mitsu Gurus need advice strange noise "sighs"

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

TRDGUY

Mitsu Gurus need advice strange noise "sighs"

Postby TRDGUY » March 1st, 2012, 8:55 pm

Guys on my Gsr(cb type) i recently did a E3 conversion ( 4g63t engine and lsd RS box with matching lsd rear diff).

So my issue is this , when im driving fast or slow doesnt matter and i go off gas i hear this wining sound coming from the front maybe under the car , i cant pin point it as yet, when i go back on gas it dissappears. Is this gearbox chatter? if so how do i get rid of it.

Also if its the centre bearing what would be the symptoms...

thanks alot

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Re: Mitsu Gurus need advice strange noise "sighs"

Postby MISHI » March 1st, 2012, 10:44 pm

could be almost anything drivetrain related. Transfer or gearbox posibly could have worn components... (input/ output shaft)

check the oil level and see. If it were the propshaft bearings I'd think t would make noise during normal driving as well.

probably should test to see if it happens in every gear and see. Also exactly how does the whine sound?

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » March 1st, 2012, 10:54 pm

well the strange thing is only when i go off thottle during driving i dont hear it ... happens above 6km/h... on the upper gears 4-5 mainly or just crusing on 4th and i go off gas i hear it ...

btw Mishi what oil would you receommend for the lsd diffs im running 75w90 redline rear diff, transfer and MT90 on the gbox

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » March 2nd, 2012, 1:56 am

This is for GSR but I believe it also applies to evo 1-3

Manual Transaxle
Hypoid Gear Oil; API classification GL-4 (preferred) or higher
viscosity No. SAE 75/85W, 80W

Transfer
Gear Oil; API classification GL-4 or higher
viscosity No. SAE 75W-85W, 80W

Rear differential LSD
Gear Oil; API classification GL-5 or higher
viscosity No. SAE 90W or 80W

Make sure that the Gearbox and transfer are GL4

GL5 is for the rear diff

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » March 2nd, 2012, 7:05 am

well im using Redline MT90 on the box i know for sure .. but i think it was recommended for me to use the Redline75w90 on the transfer and diff!!!... this is Gl4 and should be gl5 "sighs'

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » March 2nd, 2012, 10:36 am

Well the box I dunno... 75-w85 is for most mitsu boxes...

once it's 75-w85 needed in the transfer but should be GL4. GL5 in the transfer could actually damage the hypoid gears...

and must be hypoid oil

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » March 2nd, 2012, 10:43 am

90 might be a lil too heavy for the transfer but then there are those who use other oils without issue.

I'm just quoting from recommended sections... But definately more than anything make sure you have ONLY GL-4 hypoid in transfer and GL-5 hypoid in diff.

EDIT: checking now the 75w 90 is a GL5 oil. Get that transfer drained and put GL-4.

Later evos use the GL5 in the transfer: not the early 1-3 models...

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » March 3rd, 2012, 11:19 pm

Mishi you sure the transfer using GL4 ?? i was reading on some other forums and they saying the diff and xfer should be of the same oil??

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » March 4th, 2012, 1:14 am

From what I know, the later evos used gl5 in transfer and diff. But from reading one or two places and from what i knew of the early GSR & evos, the transfer was GL4.

If you're getting sites that say they use GL5, then I guess it's fine.

venum

Postby venum » March 4th, 2012, 9:45 pm

i wouldn't use GL5 in a transfer

L200 transfers are rated GL4 specifically while gearbox and diffs are rated GL5

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » March 5th, 2012, 9:15 am

Actually the 4 - 9 evos are GL5 in the transfer...

dutyspeed

Postby dutyspeed » March 5th, 2012, 12:54 pm

the noise ur hearing could be the results of a bad release bearing.....

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » March 5th, 2012, 3:21 pm

^^ Release bearing would be across the gear range but this noise is special you see , from what the aussies told me it could be as a result of something slack on that particular shaft.. also when im on 5th gear my shifter tends to rock back forth when i power up and goes off throttle... only 5th gear so im led to believe something is def wrong inside . i have driven the car all the way up to 180km/h and no noise no rattling nothing ... just when i go off throttle on 5th gear .... i will let you guys know what i find ... i have a spare box anyways ....

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » March 10th, 2012, 4:51 pm

so i pulled out the back plate of the gearbox and this is what i found :
slack 5th gear shaft, reverse synchro worn due to excessive play as a result of slack nut.
the wave spring was also compressed and didnt have that spring like effect to keep the synchro tensioned.
luckily i have a spare E2 rs box on the ground i compared the backplate and the synchro but the synchro is a little different as compared to the E3 im wondering i can just replace the ring with the E2's

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » March 12th, 2012, 4:47 pm

TRDGUY wrote:...what oil would you receommend for the lsd diffs...
Here yuh go... Lubricant specs from Image and RalliArt. IMHO it doesn't get more accurate than that...

Link--> Evo Engine, Gearbox, T-case, LSD & AYC Oil Specfications.

Their $0.25¢ :wink:

makaveli

Postby makaveli » March 26th, 2012, 10:23 pm

i have almost de same prob my prob is when am drivin n i mashin gas i hear dat noise comin some where in de front n when i take my foot off de gas i dont hear de noise de engine is a 6a13 non turbo n its a tranny i have have not a gear box but de gears does go in good..... de car is a vrg galant

Return to “MITSUBISHI”