T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Habit7 » March 14th, 2012, 9:23 pm

Today I saw a 2011 Mazda Axela, the bumpers and fog lights are different than the Mazda 3.

Are these coming in RORO now?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 15th, 2012, 9:02 am

nothing is wrong with a mazda 3 u know stephon, on an international scale, the mazda is one of the highest rated compacts. What brings down the rating of the 3 in trinidad is the dealer's reputation, its high price and lack of features. I can't seem to understand why we get such a basic unit down here. Furthermore, Mazda claims they're the zoom zoom company yet lets be honest here, their 1.6L engine is a dead horse compared to the elantra's own and a 4-speed automatic tranny is soo 1985'ish. The elantra has a 6-speed. At the end of the day, if we get a fully equipped 3 with the skyactiv 2.0 or 2.5 engines mated to the crisp 6-speed manual and put it on a track against practically all compact cars including mr. elantra and we would soon realize the driver's choice would be the mazda.

Postby cinco » March 15th, 2012, 9:12 am

acesinghit wrote:nothing is wrong with a mazda 3 u know stephon, on an international scale, the mazda is one of the highest rated compacts. What brings down the rating of the 3 in trinidad is the dealer's reputation, its high price and lack of features. I can't seem to understand why we get such a basic unit down here. Furthermore, Mazda claims they're the zoom zoom company yet lets be honest here, their 1.6L engine is a dead horse compared to the elantra's own and a 4-speed automatic tranny is soo 1985'ish. The elantra has a 6-speed. At the end of the day, if we get a fully equipped 3 with the skyactiv 2.0 or 2.5 engines mated to the crisp 6-speed manual and put it on a track against practically all compact cars including mr. elantra and we would soon realize the driver's choice would be the mazda.

with our outdated engine tax laws
no one will pay 250k for a 2.0/2.5 mazda 3

Postby Habit7 » March 15th, 2012, 9:23 am

cinco wrote:with our outdated engine tax laws

It is not outdated, it is environmentally friendly. It was recently increased to prevent what occurs in the States where a soccer mom coasts around in a 5.0L agricultural truck just to ferry her two children. However in our case, our gas is subsidized.

Postby cinco » March 15th, 2012, 10:10 am

Habit7 wrote:
cinco wrote:with our outdated engine tax laws

It is not outdated, it is environmentally friendly. It was recently increased to prevent what occurs in the States where a soccer mom coasts around in a 5.0L agricultural truck just to ferry her two children. However in our case, our gas is subsidized.

environmentally friendly but we do not do emissions testing and we have a high diesel presence?
try again...
a 2.0 engine would move those heavier new cars with much less waste than a 1.5 engine which is what we are forced to use

noobie

Postby noobie » March 15th, 2012, 2:53 pm

Got some feedback on the pricing for the BMW 328i. 2.0l Turbo engine.

TT$585,000.00

It's the same 2.0l engine in the "normal" 320, I believe the Turbo and software is just tuned differently. But the 328i does 0-60 in about 5.5seconds.

In the luxury sedan market...what can you get for 585,000?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 15th, 2012, 5:36 pm

^^^ent the A6 2.0T and E250 are 575k? They're bigger sedans and attract more attention for 10k less? choice is clear.

kkallicharan

Postby kkallicharan » March 15th, 2012, 9:49 pm

Heard the juke is comin too........another one to consider....tink its fugly unless its d jukeR id put d fugliness aside

NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 15th, 2012, 10:33 pm

As if they would bring a juke R here on a cool scene. Special order maybe after much wringing.

Doh study me. I just vex with dealers and car manufacturers with how dey treat d Caribbean in general.

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » March 16th, 2012, 7:06 am

When folks realise the basic Juke MAY come with the 1.6Di turbo engine, they'll get excited @ the "turbo" part, and forget about the looks :lol: :lol:

NR8

Postby NR8 » March 16th, 2012, 9:57 am

DSM_05 wrote:Nah, a Corolla is a separate class of fail there Stephon.......at least the Mazda 3 comes well equipped with a decent interior and ABS :lol:

The Corolla doesn't have ABS?? :shock:

Postby cinco » March 16th, 2012, 10:07 am

NR8 wrote:
DSM_05 wrote:Nah, a Corolla is a separate class of fail there Stephon.......at least the Mazda 3 comes well equipped with a decent interior and ABS :lol:

doesnt even have alloys

noobie

Postby noobie » March 16th, 2012, 10:07 am

NR8 wrote:

ABS is essential to safety in this day and age. I would never recommend buying a vehicle without it.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 16th, 2012, 10:56 am

Toyota Trinidad site says corollas do come with ABS

"ABS with EBD Function Electronic Brake Distribution and BA Brake Assist"

http://www.toyota-trinidad.com/CorollaSpec.aspx

From GLI spec and up at least.

Dunno where allyuh get that no abs ting from

Postby Stephon. » March 16th, 2012, 11:08 am

I think all vehicles comes with ABS, wouldn't be much of a vehicle without it lol.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 16th, 2012, 11:13 am

*waits for tuners to say ABS adds to cost of car and doh want it cuz they drive well and doh need it*

Postby noshownogo » March 16th, 2012, 11:24 am

Anyone knows if Mazda will be bringing in the Skyactiv CX-5?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 16th, 2012, 12:20 pm

noshow I wouldn't be surprised if the cx5 2.0 skyactiv costs $335k....it enters vw tiguan territory.

juke 1.6 turbo? bleh...jetta tsi still a better deal.

Postby Stephon. » March 16th, 2012, 1:03 pm

I'd love if they bring in the new CX-5 this year, I would jump on the opportunity to get one.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 16th, 2012, 1:10 pm

acesinghit wrote:noshow I wouldn't be surprised if the cx5 2.0 skyactiv costs $335k....it enters vw tiguan territory.

juke 1.6 turbo? bleh...jetta tsi still a better deal.

How is the Jetta tsi the better deal when you don't know the price or features the Juke coming here with?

allon4

Postby allon4 » March 16th, 2012, 5:32 pm

Stephon. wrote:I'd love if they bring in the new CX-5 this year, I would jump on the opportunity to get one.

Last time I spoke to a Southern Sales salesrep I was told the CX-5 should come this year. We'll see I guess, fraid to see the price seeing as it's priced a little over the mazda 6's in the states.

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » March 16th, 2012, 7:44 pm

The XLI corolla which is the bas emodel has no abs only the GLI and above do. Those models also have alloys etc. I know cause i have the XLI base model. Please dont beat me up lol.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 16th, 2012, 8:34 pm

Renaldo25 wrote:The XLI corolla which is the bas emodel has no abs only the GLI and above do. Those models also have alloys etc. I know cause i have the XLI base model. Please dont beat me up lol.

What's your number plate? So I know who not to drive infront of in the rain :lol:

Renaldo25

Postby Renaldo25 » March 16th, 2012, 9:11 pm

lol lol dude a few times well i aint press meh foot hard enough on them brakes and nearly roll into ppl yes lol its a n acquired skill

kkallicharan

Postby kkallicharan » March 16th, 2012, 11:25 pm

any1 kno d prices of d 1series bmws? like d 120i

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » March 16th, 2012, 11:32 pm

The 2013 Santa Fe not looking too bad at all... although it more or less is a bigger version of the Tucson :lol:

Postby equipped2ripp » March 17th, 2012, 3:54 am

^ kinda looks like the Q5.

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » March 17th, 2012, 5:36 am

noobie wrote:Got some feedback on the pricing for the BMW 328i. 2.0l Turbo engine.

TT$585,000.00

It's the same 2.0l engine in the "normal" 320, I believe the Turbo and software is just tuned differently. But the 328i does 0-60 in about 5.5seconds.

In the luxury sedan market...what can you get for 585,000?

You can buy a new E250 Mercedes and have $10,000 left over.
or buy A C180 Mercedes and 2 used NZE corollas :lol: :lol:

crazychinee

Postby crazychinee » March 17th, 2012, 5:40 am

NR8 wrote:

A man calling a corolla fail?

My fail 2005 corolla drive through flood so high it was coming up meh windows.....thing come outa the flood, give a shake and dry off and I was safe.

When cars hit my corolla...there car needs to be repaired.

Mazda 3's drive like a fail sportscar. Just saying.

Postby Stephon. » March 17th, 2012, 1:29 pm

crazychinee wrote:
NR8 wrote:

A man calling a corolla fail?

My fail 2005 corolla drive through flood so high it was coming up meh windows.....thing come outa the flood, give a shake and dry off and I was safe.

When cars hit my corolla...there car needs to be repaired.

Mazda 3's drive like a fail sportscar. Just saying.

Thanks for posting.