Re: Auto A/C diagnosis help-Answers for auto A/C troubleshoo

Postby PARTS2go » February 7th, 2012, 9:46 am

PM Sent

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » February 28th, 2012, 9:09 pm

what causes the oil in your compressor to turn black ?

PARTS2go

Postby PARTS2go » March 12th, 2012, 6:17 pm

breakdown due to contamination

nubbiecar

Postby nubbiecar » March 21st, 2012, 9:55 pm

hi how much would it cost to do a fresh install of AC in a car..its same car form my las question..so far i have a compressor and a evaporator..however the blower recently went..

NR8

Postby NR8 » March 31st, 2012, 4:10 pm

I have a B12 that had the original engine and a/c system was redone last October. The compressor, condenser with dryer and refrigerant lines were replaced with B14 ones and the evaporator changed to an E24 type I believe. The system worked well at first but I never really heard the "clicking" sound that means the compressor is cycling like some tuners have said it should.
Now though, the a/c is only cold when driving fast/at night/raining but takes very long to get cold when it's hot outside/driving slow/idling, and it still doesn't get as cold.
Also, sometimes when pulling off from a dead stop with a/c on I hear a screeching sound. I've read that it could be the belt, but the engine was replaced with a QG15 earlier this year and both belts were changed. I chose to reuse the B14 compressor instead of buying the QG15 with compressor since the a/c technician had advised me that it should last for some time.
Can someone help me please? :(

nissanboi

Postby nissanboi » April 6th, 2012, 1:57 pm

Hi guys, quick question, today when i turned on the ac, only hot air was blowing altho the a/c light was on (i have a 2004 w/road btw). i recently had to replace my entire front cut of the car so had new radiator, had to re-gas ac etc cause everything was replaced. could it be that one of the parts i replaced wasnt any good? I am also not hearing the compressor coming on either :s

quaility

Postby quaility » April 10th, 2012, 7:43 pm

so i put on my A/C it comes on an cuts off and on every 20secs..............HELP MEH CB2 MITSUBISHI AND IN MY NEXT CAR DO U NEED TO TOP UP THE AC GAS EVERY YEAR OR SO??? AND HOW MUCH DO U CHARGE???? PLEASE THANK YOU!!!!!

King Kool

Postby King Kool » April 11th, 2012, 9:20 am

You need to have a professional shop check your A/C.

PARTS2go

Postby PARTS2go » April 11th, 2012, 9:33 pm

No one wants professional help...fixed right the first time....they rather cheap quick fixes which ends up...candle costing more than the funeral

wishmaster

Postby wishmaster » April 12th, 2012, 11:29 am

Driving on the highway the other day when i suddenly hear a loud hiss like a blow off valve (no i dont have turbo), when i reach home i realise the ac not working anymore......ever encountered this before?

Postby S_2NR » April 12th, 2012, 1:48 pm

wishmaster wrote:Driving on the highway the other day when i suddenly hear a loud hiss like a blow off valve (no i dont have turbo), when i reach home i realise the ac not working anymore......ever encountered this before?

A/C compressor overheated/pressure too high. Blew out gas to prevent damage.

PARTS2go

Postby PARTS2go » April 12th, 2012, 4:09 pm

+1 Extreme high operating pressure problem maybe burst a line or activated the switch on the compressor. Hopefully your compressor is still good. We have all components you will need to do this fix.

shiva_0001

Postby shiva_0001 » May 9th, 2012, 2:22 pm

hey i recently fixed my ac in my lancer and when the place is cold the ac blows real nice, but when its hot it blows like a fan....i was told that it could be the fan in the condenser blowing in the wrong direction so i tries switching round the wires in the fan but it is still blowing in the same direction.....currently its pushing out air...its located in front the condensor pulling air away from the engine bay

icefox

Auto A/C diagnosis help-Answers for auto A/C troubleshooting

Postby icefox » May 9th, 2012, 3:49 pm

Hey I have a Mitsubishi l200 an everything I turn on my Ac d van ideals rough an heavy, some on tell me my step up unit not wrkin, wats ur take on dis situation

PARTS2go

Postby PARTS2go » May 9th, 2012, 11:01 pm

Who is fixing your A/C?

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 13th, 2012, 9:55 pm

got a slight problem with my ford ranger , with the vents closed i sometimes get fumes or to be more accurate exhaust fumes coming in, last week tuesday it was really bad which i think caused me to fall asleep at the wheel and get into an accident. can this be fixed?

PARTS2go

Postby PARTS2go » May 14th, 2012, 9:46 am

This could be a big problem. Have a professional A/C shop see if they could help you.

specialist25

Postby specialist25 » June 23rd, 2012, 11:39 am

when the car is in motion the ac blows cold but when it idles when the sun is blazing the ac starts to blow hot air can u help me with a solution

King Kool

Postby King Kool » June 23rd, 2012, 5:03 pm

This may be your a/c compressor causing this trouble. We can run a performance test on your a/c system to determine what is really going on. We also need to test your refrigerant...there are all sorts of mislabeled r134a on the market causing a lot of problems with a/c systems, damaging many compressors. Visit us on facebook, you can see many failed & passed test results.

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » June 24th, 2012, 12:36 am

help...AC blower motor in de Almera making a heavy knocking noise on 1......but on 2,3,and 4 no noise....from 2 go up is like ice age....but ah can't take that knocking sound on 1

King Kool

Postby King Kool » June 24th, 2012, 3:56 pm

Replace your blower motor.

marlo5

Postby marlo5 » June 25th, 2012, 3:58 pm

^^...damn.....was afraid it was going to be like that.....Thanks alot for the advice!!

Postby 647 » June 30th, 2012, 7:47 pm

Hey i have a 99/2ooo mazda bj, i keep hearing a clicking sound when ever i turn on my AC. And the AC not cooling as it used too. It sounds like it coming from below were the timing belt is located. Any assistance will be appreciated.

Regards

quintessentiallyenigmatic

Postby quintessentiallyenigmatic » July 5th, 2012, 10:31 pm

late last year december changed my drier,evaporator(didn't have to buy got relatively new one from a friend) and had my compressor serviced ( i say service cuz a new used one i couldn't afford-used back the clutch/bearing part(top))$1700.00
the symptoms were hot during the day,cool at night,cold when raining.did my research told the guy it was the expansion valve, gassed up and said come back. the next two days compressor making noise.

so we changed as mentioned above,the same symptoms are happening again could it be expansion valve again and also now and again white smoke from vents no discern able smell
4g92 engine ck4
need help cash strapped as well
btw
when the guys degassed the system and another went to take out the evaporator still had a lot of pressure/gas so i was saying it was the valve then initially before had to look for a compressor

King Kool

Postby King Kool » July 9th, 2012, 8:35 pm

We can test your A/C system, tell you what is wrong & what needs to be done to solve your problem.

scruff76

Postby scruff76 » July 13th, 2012, 5:19 am

a/c causes the car to over heat within about 10 minutes .. day or night rain or sun... with the a/c off no over heating problem... ga15 both fans are working properly, and had the radiator completely cleaned....spoke to few a/c tech an they hav no clue... any ideas?

eViLwOn

Postby eViLwOn » March 17th, 2013, 5:54 pm

Hook wrote:What causes the a/c to make a hissing noise (you hear it loudest through the vents) every time the compressor cycles on?
There are no leaks in the system (checked with the probe thingy), and it get's cool, not cold, so I suspect it wasn't gassed up to optimum pressure initially and that's what's causing the noise.
If this is the case, can you recommend somewhere I could get a top-up of the older R12 gas for a reasonable price?

I am having some similar problems as indicated by Hook. I had my system gassed up about two months ago. Two days ago, when I turned on the A/C I heard a hissing noise through the vents but the sound does not stop. The air is cool but not cold even when I turn up the speed of the fan. Would appreciate your assistance in having this situation resolved.

Thanxs in advance....

King Kool

Postby King Kool » March 17th, 2013, 8:29 pm

We can do a performance test on your a/c call 674-3653

Postby Strugglerzinc » March 20th, 2013, 9:02 am

Funny how this thread is labelled "Auto A/C diagnosis help-Answers for auto A/C troubleshooting" yet none of the A/C persons giving any answers other than "Come check us, we can fix it".

Went by one of the people in this thread for a blown resistor board in an XTrail, a fairly common problem and easily diagnosable, heck, i came up with the diagnosis on my own before going to the King to confirm and repair.

I was told i had to make an appointment, leave the vehicle for maybe half day, as they would most likely have to remove the dash to get to the blower, I'd have to pay $xxx.00 to get it diagnosed plus the cost of the repair.

Thanked them and went straight to an A/C guy in the Bamboo who diagnosed, swapped the part and i left in under 30 min for under $300.

Maybe there are certain diagnostic procedures to follow, i dunno, but being as experienced as they are, i am 100% certain they knew the issue but were rolling out the long story for a big job.

It's one thing to be a big name in A/C repair but quite another to be straight with customers.

Postby Hook » March 20th, 2013, 9:23 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:Funny how this thread is labelled "Auto A/C diagnosis help-Answers for auto A/C troubleshooting" yet none of the A/C persons giving any answers other than "Come check us, we can fix it".

Went by one of the people in this thread for a blown resistor board in an XTrail, a fairly common problem and easily diagnosable, heck, i came up with the diagnosis on my own before going to the King to confirm and repair.

I was told i had to make an appointment, leave the vehicle for maybe half day, as they would most likely have to remove the dash to get to the blower, I'd have to pay $xxx.00 to get it diagnosed plus the cost of the repair.

Thanked them and went straight to an A/C guy in the Bamboo who diagnosed, swapped the part and i left in under 30 min for under $300.

Maybe there are certain diagnostic procedures to follow, i dunno, but being as experienced as they are, i am 100% certain they knew the issue but were rolling out the long story for a big job.

It's one thing to be a big name in A/C repair but quite another to be straight with customers.

I've spoken to the a/c "experts" in this thread privately about that before. While there are useful bits in this thread, generally the responses from the "expert" amount to what you outlined. Your story isn't foreign to some users here as well.

I fully understand that it's their craft and their business, but a/c repair isn't a DIY thing, so explaining what needs to be done and why won't encourage a potential customer to do it on their own. What it may well do is instill their confidence in your know-how and they may gravitate to your business.

Instead, the "call us, we'll fix it" responses create a fear that you're going to end up by them and hear a long-winded story about how your car is going to randomly explode if you don't spend several thousands on the repair. Smart-man mechanics do that all the time.

This forum is for technical discussion, not soliciting business. If this thread doesn't get informative fast, it's going to disappear REAL soon. Not moved to the archive - completely removed from the database.