Legacy owners who do u insure with?

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

zando

Postby zando » April 2nd, 2012, 3:45 pm

Guys, who did you insure your car with? I looking at a foreighn used legacy wagon 2.0, i called Sagicor and Trinre, Sagicor not gonna insure any Subaru period and and Trinre tell me if they hadda insure any Subaru it would be an Impreza TS, i see a lot of Subarus on the road though, are parts really THAT expensive and rare to the point where they don't wanna insure d cars because of it?? :(

Re: Legacy owners who do u insure with?

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 2nd, 2012, 9:22 pm

My LGT is insured through a broker, first year was 12K w/ 45% NCD.
Insurance and Allied services.

air wick

Postby air wick » April 3rd, 2012, 10:54 am

I have a wrx and a TS insured by Sagicor

check http://www.jrcoltd.com/ they are agents for Sagicor

Lance

Postby Lance » April 3rd, 2012, 1:30 pm

Sagicor blanked me for my wrx (tried through the same company Travis is recommending).

I ended up going third party

Ragnarok

Postby Ragnarok » April 3rd, 2012, 2:01 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:My LGT is insured through a broker, first year was 12K w/ 45% NCD.
Insurance and Allied services.

Same broker, i insured with maritime through them,first was $7000.00 now like $4000.00

zando

Postby zando » April 3rd, 2012, 2:34 pm

Wow, thanks for the help, filled out their online form and got a quote of bout 11.5k, not bad i think, considering colfire wanted 14k for a TS and 16.5 for a Mazda 3, :shock: but i'll hadda call the broker and see for sure what going on, i feel it will go up...so howcome Sagicor will do it through a broker but not directly? i don't understand that... :|

Travis wrote:I have a wrx and a TS insured by Sagicor

check http://www.jrcoltd.com/ they are agents for Sagicor

Stark Auto Rentals

Postby Stark Auto Rentals » April 3rd, 2012, 3:51 pm

I'm insured through Millennium Insurance Brokers with GTM. Cost me abt 12k with no NCD. Someone ran into the back of my car and drove away as well and GTM repaired without me having to pay a cent. They contacted the third party and handled the claim. 2005LGT

nemesis

Postby nemesis » April 3rd, 2012, 9:43 pm

Had my Legacy with Guardian General. Was told by Maritime that they would insure it also though.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » April 21st, 2012, 10:08 am

Guardian thru a broker... Paid round 8000 last year.

Can give u the broker's contact if u want

SUPERMAN2

Postby SUPERMAN2 » July 5th, 2013, 8:29 am

call timothy 774-6208 tell him shivanand gave u his no he will link u

InsanityReigns

Postby InsanityReigns » July 12th, 2013, 11:26 pm

I got a lgt insured with guardian General.

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » July 27th, 2013, 12:12 am

Ppl run to these big name insurance companies and they end up getting the shitty end of the stick when they get into accident, my dad been with GTM for ages and never had a problem, im now with them, really nice folks go check them out.

jfm001

Postby jfm001 » January 10th, 2014, 10:15 am

Guardian
Head office
no issues at all 2.0 Turbo Legacy GT

Postby Aaron 2NR » January 11th, 2014, 4:59 am

My Sti is insured with Maritime..

1.6 TURBO

Postby 1.6 TURBO » January 13th, 2014, 12:42 am

Had my share of insurance woes...I was with guardian for about 10 years with different cars but was with them for 4 years with a WRX...paying less than 1200 for 3rd party...I never made a claim with them...low and behold I get a quote for Jan 2014 for 4500...so i assumed it was a mistake. When the insurance called me to remind me that my insurance is due I asked about the high quote. They telling me that they now realize I have a subaru WRX with them...so I say I have insurance with alyuh for 10 years and never made a claim, plus for the past 4 years I was paying under 1200 and now alyuh want to charge me more...we'll the girl on the line telling me ent ah subaru is a sports car...so you have to pay more...I ask them for my no claim letter...thinking I will go to capital...dem does insure anything...well to my surprise dey refuse to insure the wrx and worse yet...dey not insuring any subaru...according to the staff in Sando....so I end up in Nagicor...which was GTM before...1600 for 3rd party with a 35% no claim discount???oh and by the way I called tatil and they said NO. And maritime which I have a legacy with and they also said NO...for all these companies to be saying no means that a decision must have been made by the body that controls all insurance companies in Trinidad...strange when Subaru is advertised to be a very safe car in the US...LOVE now that's a Subaru....lol

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » January 13th, 2014, 8:22 am

I always thought third party was insuring the driver, not really the car. Am I wrong?

Grudge

Postby Grudge » January 14th, 2014, 12:14 pm

Trinre

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » January 14th, 2014, 2:47 pm

WRX - GTM (fully comp on driver younger than 25)
STi - GTM (third party - company name)
TS - Guardian life (fully comp - company name)

Been insuring with GTM/ Nagico for several years and never a problem

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » March 23rd, 2014, 8:08 pm

1.6 TURBO wrote:Had my share of insurance woes...I was with guardian for about 10 years with different cars but was with them for 4 years with a WRX...paying less than 1200 for 3rd party...I never made a claim with them...low and behold I get a quote for Jan 2014 for 4500...so i assumed it was a mistake. When the insurance called me to remind me that my insurance is due I asked about the high quote. They telling me that they now realize I have a subaru WRX with them...so I say I have insurance with alyuh for 10 years and never made a claim, plus for the past 4 years I was paying under 1200 and now alyuh want to charge me more...we'll the girl on the line telling me ent ah subaru is a sports car...so you have to pay more...I ask them for my no claim letter...thinking I will go to capital...dem does insure anything...well to my surprise dey refuse to insure the wrx and worse yet...dey not insuring any subaru...according to the staff in Sando....so I end up in Nagicor...which was GTM before...1600 for 3rd party with a 35% no claim discount???oh and by the way I called tatil and they said NO. And maritime which I have a legacy with and they also said NO...for all these companies to be saying no means that a decision must have been made by the body that controls all insurance companies in Trinidad...strange when Subaru is advertised to be a very safe car in the US...LOVE now that's a Subaru....lol

I've found myself in this situation as well.
Will go to guardian tomorrow to see what's the reason for their 300% increase
As I have no claims and they actually increased the no claim discount
Anyone have suggestions?
May end up with other insurance company if they tell me the nonsense they told 1.6 TURBO

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 23rd, 2014, 8:31 pm

My sti is insured with maritime tho...no issues...

Lance

Postby Lance » March 24th, 2014, 3:58 am

novastar1 wrote:
1.6 TURBO wrote:Had my share of insurance woes...I was with guardian for about 10 years with different cars but was with them for 4 years with a WRX...paying less than 1200 for 3rd party...I never made a claim with them...low and behold I get a quote for Jan 2014 for 4500...so i assumed it was a mistake. When the insurance called me to remind me that my insurance is due I asked about the high quote. They telling me that they now realize I have a subaru WRX with them...so I say I have insurance with alyuh for 10 years and never made a claim, plus for the past 4 years I was paying under 1200 and now alyuh want to charge me more...we'll the girl on the line telling me ent ah subaru is a sports car...so you have to pay more...I ask them for my no claim letter...thinking I will go to capital...dem does insure anything...well to my surprise dey refuse to insure the wrx and worse yet...dey not insuring any subaru...according to the staff in Sando....so I end up in Nagicor...which was GTM before...1600 for 3rd party with a 35% no claim discount???oh and by the way I called tatil and they said NO. And maritime which I have a legacy with and they also said NO...for all these companies to be saying no means that a decision must have been made by the body that controls all insurance companies in Trinidad...strange when Subaru is advertised to be a very safe car in the US...LOVE now that's a Subaru....lol

I've found myself in this situation as well.
Will go to guardian tomorrow to see what's the reason for their 300% increase
As I have no claims and they actually increased the no claim discount
Anyone have suggestions?
May end up with other insurance company if they tell me the nonsense they told 1.6 TURBO

I had huge issues when I tried to insure my Wrx was well.

I did a lot of checking before I bought the car and got some insane quotes together with outright rejections. GTM gave me some ridiculous figure.

Capital told me no right out and sagicor was willing to give me a quote until they realized I was under 25.

Out of frustration I ended up signing the ownership to my father who then was able to arrange something.

Insurance companies in Trinidad are highly unsystematic, uninformed and boarder line unethical.

While it is in any insurance company's best interest to project their risk position, these guys are so unreasonable

Postby nervewrecker » November 4th, 2014, 2:14 pm

Gg blank me.

Gtm is not nagicor now?

Postby SR » November 4th, 2014, 5:33 pm

All insurance companies are highway robbery....

Postby nervewrecker » November 4th, 2014, 5:34 pm

Well I can't drive without insurance.

Need insurance from a reputable company.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » November 5th, 2014, 10:06 am

GG blank u?

dafuq? all three of mine (1 current) were insured there

Fidelity Insurance Brokers Ltd
54-56 Independence Av San Fernando
868-652-6929

pretty sure they can sort u out

good luck

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 8th, 2014, 8:42 pm

nerve, did you try going through the broker?
Insurance and Allied Services.

Nagicor should handle it and they've done it for me in the past.

Postby nervewrecker » November 8th, 2014, 10:41 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:nerve, did you try going through the broker?
Insurance and Allied Services.

Nagicor should handle it and they've done it for me in the past.

I might get it insured with the same company it's insured with right now. That was my main issue with it so hopefully she comes home with me soon.
Just need my car sold now, need to find the time to take out all the music etc.

R.P.J

Postby R.P.J » November 9th, 2014, 7:47 am

Try massy insurance.

NiSmO-R

Postby NiSmO-R » January 4th, 2015, 9:09 pm

I don't understand their logic....Subaru is a "sports car" so they refusing third party because what? you more like to drive into someone... If these people do a survey of third party claims I think they will be shocked by how many are so called sports cars and how many are mad people who use the shoulder as another lane who are in everything but a Subaru....Sigh...

I'm with Bankers and have had no issues... If you PM your details I will ask for a quote for you

Postby DVSTT » January 4th, 2015, 11:01 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:My sti is insured with maritime tho...no issues...

+1 on maritime.

Return to “SUBARU”