Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Kasey

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Kasey » March 27th, 2012, 7:54 am

chris wrote:Anyone know where can i get 1" or 2" styrofoam to buy.
Also if setting up 4ft aquarium should i put piece of ply board before i put the aquarium on the stand.
Also where is chai"s

Chai's is in Mausica. The road opposite Price smart East. Proceed south on that road and it is the road just before Arkall Trading on ur left. Kinda easy to miss too eh. Call 642-7627.
You will not regret visiting them.

evil_twin wrote:lookin for some calico orandas to buy asap , can anyone send me in the rite direction?

Call Kenrick in Bamboo. 727-6666. Mention Kasey told you.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 28th, 2012, 1:12 am

Guy almost dies from his reef tank...................

http://reeftools.com/live/forum/showthread.php?t=1593

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » March 28th, 2012, 8:20 pm

Postby UML » March 31st, 2012, 8:30 pm

Postby UML » April 3rd, 2012, 9:57 am

i seeing some redish kinda spots forming on my tank glass...what is it coraline? how do i remove it? razor blade?
Last edited by UML on September 23rd, 2012, 11:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » April 3rd, 2012, 6:18 pm

chris, check dansteel...they have by the sheet...

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » April 4th, 2012, 10:06 am

UML from the pic it seems like coraline.
As for the red spots on the glass if you can wipe it off with your fingers its cyano and if you need a blade to scrape it, its coraline.

Postby UML » April 4th, 2012, 8:38 pm

ziggy_dappa wrote:UML from the pic it seems like coraline.
As for the red spots on the glass if you can wipe it off with your fingers its cyano and if you need a blade to scrape it, its coraline.

thanks again ziggy dappa
Last edited by UML on September 23rd, 2012, 11:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 5th, 2012, 10:29 pm

those with ponds and fish outside , how is your water Hyacinth going ? Getting more brown and dry ?

Postby UML » April 8th, 2012, 4:41 pm

Lionfish threat not to be taken lightly

Story Created: Apr 7, 2012 at 10:59 PM ECT

Story Updated: Apr 7, 2012 at 10:59 PM ECT

When I heard of the first sighting of the Indo-Pacific lionfish off Tobago, it seemed we had finally joined the rest of the Caribbean and Central America in hosting this venomous predator. Though there have been no further sightings, this is not a threat to be taken lightly.

I recently conducted marine research in the Bahamas and Jamaica, two places where lionfish have been wreaking havoc. The devastation caused by the lionfish was unbelievable; small reef fish were almost non-existent and the lionfish were everywhere—on coral reefs, in seagrass and even in mangroves. Their voracious appetites combined with the ignorance of their prey, their prolific nature and their lack of natural predators has meant that lionfish are increasing rapidly in numbers, up to 40 per cent of the total predator population in some places.

A recent paper showed in just two years in the Bahamas, increases in lionfish coincided with a 65 per cent decline in the lionfish's 42 Atlantic prey fishes. Another paper noted a large adult lionfish consumed over 20 small fish in 30 minutes. Not only do lionfish diminish the reef fish in total, but herbivorous fish such as parrotfish are also depleted, allowing seaweed and algae the chance to overgrow the reef. Without prompt action, increasing lionfish populations are likely to have similar impacts on fish populations closer to home.

There are very few barriers in the sea, and given the huge populations of lionfish in the rest of the Caribbean, it is only a matter of time before they enter our waters in huge numbers. We need to use this precious window to put an effective response plan into place.

I've read that local fishermen, dive operators and the public are being educated as to what the lionfish looks like to enable the reporting of sightings. We should go one step further by implementing a "kill on sight" policy as lionfish can release thousands of eggs every few days. These fish are slow-moving and very easily caught using hand spears. Dive operators should be provided with hand spears (cheap and prevents reef damage by spear guns), puncture-resistant gloves and catch bags to take on dives in case of sightings.

Trinidad and Tobago should also begin to import frozen lionfish from other islands, thereby developing a commercial market and taste for the fish—they are absolutely delicious. We can also use nature to help us by allowing the recovery of populations of potential native predators of lionfish,

such as large grouper and sharks. Both

types have been heavily overfished, so

this could have a win-win result.

Other Caribbean islands have put extensive and innovative programmes in place to deal with this threat. The Cayman Islands use local divers that are specially trained and licensed to remove lionfish. They also recently began advertising "lionfish safari" dive packages, which involve having a professional chef prepare dinner using the lionfish that your party caught earlier that day.

In Jamaica, fishermen are encouraged to catch lionfish as it not only eases strain on the fisheries but also creates a new market from which the fishermen and economy can benefit. In the Bahamas, lionfish sell for US$12 a pound, which is higher in price than most other fish. Bermuda, the Bahamas and the USA hold biannual competitions, offering prizes to the team catching the most lionfish, the largest lionfish and the smallest lionfish (one of the winning boats caught 345 lionfish in one day).

Without prompt action to control increasing lionfish populations, there will be negative long-term implications for the structure of Atlantic marine communities, as well as the economies that depend on them. Our reefs have already been damaged by deforestation, pollution, overfishing and climate change; we should try to prevent the lionfish from also taking its toll.

Diva Amon (marine biologist)

via e-mail
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/letters/ ... 60575.html

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » April 8th, 2012, 5:56 pm

Kasey

Postby Kasey » April 9th, 2012, 5:29 pm

^^same principle as a gravel vacuum, just that, that one is built in and fixed. Can be easily made at home for half the price.

Also, nothing was said about how it deals with possible algae growth on the glass...........

'no clean' my a$$

Postby sharkman121 » April 9th, 2012, 7:59 pm

Kasey wrote:^^same principle as a gravel vacuum, just that, that one is built in and fixed. Can be easily made at home for half the price.

Also, nothing was said about how it deals with possible algae growth on the glass...........

'no clean' my a$$

well said

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 9th, 2012, 10:07 pm

Yodins

Postby Yodins » April 10th, 2012, 4:44 am

nice, so if we catch the lionfish we could keep it?

Postby sharkman121 » April 10th, 2012, 12:59 pm

im guessing so... please remember they are poisonous!!! i dont think ive seen that mentioned even once in that whole excerpt..

Kasey

Postby Kasey » April 10th, 2012, 2:39 pm

But I thought they taste 'delicious'?

Postby DVSTT » April 10th, 2012, 4:27 pm

So do puffer fish but they are poisonous as well! It just needs to be prepared by a chef that knows what he/she is doing! The fins have special spines in them that can inject venom into predators so be VERY careful with these fish fellas!

Postby UML » April 10th, 2012, 8:03 pm

18. Are lionfish poisonous?

NO! Lionfish are venomous not poisonous! There are 2 glandular grooves along the dorsal, ventral and anal spines. The glandular tissue extends about ¾ the distance from the base of the spine towards the tip. The glandular grooves contain a colorless glandular tissue, and they are covered by a sheath of tissue. This sheath is pushed down as the spine enters the victim and the glandular tissue is disrupted, releasing the venom. The venom is composed of acetylcholine and a neurotoxin which causes severe pain, swelling and rash in humans.

19. What should you do if you get stuck by a lionfish spine?

The Bahamas National Lionfish Response Project has developed a first aid response. First stay calm and check for any obvious pieces of spine left in the wound and remove any if found. Then apply water as hot as bearable (100-110ºF) or an instant heat pack to the area for 30 to 90 minutes. Over the counter pain medication will help relieve the pain. Seek medical help immediately.

20. Is being stuck or stung by a lionfish spine fatal?

Human’s reaction to lionfish venom varies. Some have a mild reaction similar to a bee sting. Others have a more painful reaction with swelling, rash, and extreme pain. Lionfish venom causes cardiovascular and neuromuscular effects ranging from mild swelling to extreme pain and paralysis in arms and legs.

http://www.safespear.com/v.php?pg=59

Postby DVSTT » April 11th, 2012, 8:15 pm

Last edited by DVSTT on April 12th, 2012, 9:06 am, edited 4 times in total.

Postby sharkman121 » April 11th, 2012, 8:42 pm

DVSTT wrote:

rx80

Postby rx80 » April 12th, 2012, 1:56 pm

Guys with pond fishes, where you all buy pond sticks/koi food from? Right now i'm using the $200 2.2lb bag in a week, looking at buying it in bulk somewhere.... any advice?

Postby UML » April 12th, 2012, 6:19 pm

i saw chais selling fish food in dog chow size bags...check them out to confirm if it is koi food

Postby UML » April 14th, 2012, 4:30 pm

UML wrote:

Tonight at 9pm on Animal Planet 8-)

Postby UML » April 14th, 2012, 6:54 pm

wahs a good type of Algae and Seaweed Fish Food for my saltwater fish?

where can i get it locally? price?

Postby sharkman121 » April 14th, 2012, 7:13 pm

yuh change yuh mind? :lol:

i ordered some this week from ebay, cost about $5us for 25 sheets.

Postby UML » April 14th, 2012, 7:29 pm

sharkman121 wrote:yuh change yuh mind? :lol:

i ordered some this week from ebay, cost about $5us for 25 sheets.

somewhat but i looking for something more like a flake or pellet....easy to feed and easily available to buy locally.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » April 15th, 2012, 12:51 am

Mauritius Gem Tang US3,499.................. :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:
Gem Tang.jpg
Gem Tang.jpg (32.21 KiB) Viewed 2575 times

Postby UML » April 17th, 2012, 9:48 am

US experts to salvage shipwrecks in Tobago harbour
By

Story Created: Apr 15, 2012 at 10:52 PM ECT

Story Updated: Apr 15, 2012 at 10:52 PM ECT

The Executive Council of the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) has given approval to the University of Connecticut and the Institute of Nautical Archaeology of the United States to salvage shipwrecks on the seabed of the Scarborough Harbour that have been there for over four centuries.

Chief Secretary Orville London said the underwater search will begin in the third quarter of this year for 12 Dutch ships sunk during fierce sea battles for the island.

London indicated the project will be undertaken at no cost to the Assembly and all the artefacts retrieved from the seabed will remain in Tobago, possibly at the Fort King George Museum.

The project is being funded by National Geographic and US-based non governmental organisations.

He said the project will yield many benefits for the island by way of publicity.

"Imagine a cruise ship docking and dive enthusiasts can actually have a dive just a couple metres away. It is the only site in the world where you have a dozen or more ships that have been down at the bottom of the ocean for over four centuries," he added.

Earlier this month, London met US Ambassador Beatrice Wilkinson Welters to discuss the proposals submitted by the university.

He said the Assembly was very pleased to collaborate with the university, the institute and Texas A&M University since this particular activity will redound to the benefit of Tobago in research and dive tourism.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/US_ ... 30765.html

Ronnie203

Postby Ronnie203 » April 17th, 2012, 2:38 pm

Anyone have an Impeller to sell ??...new or used

call me 784-9404