what spark plug to use on SR20 neo VVL blacktop

Hammy Bolo

what spark plug to use on SR20 neo VVL blacktop

Postby Hammy Bolo » July 3rd, 2008, 7:10 pm

help needed

firehead..

Postby firehead.. » July 4th, 2008, 1:11 pm

i usin ngk irradium 6's on my ve .....and it wokkin real good :mrgreen: ....

donnybmf

Postby donnybmf » July 4th, 2008, 8:27 pm

i used that too and the output was real good

ksimon

Postby ksimon » July 6th, 2008, 4:39 am

Ngk iridium 6's, advance distributer and throw out stock wires and get a nice set of ractive or nology wires....RUNS SWEET!!!! did it iwith my blacktop and it assited in doin a 14.8 time on d track... :lol:

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » July 8th, 2008, 7:31 am

iridium 6's

ditto!

irradium 6's

William18

Re: what spark plug to use on SR20 neo VVL blacktop

Postby William18 » June 12th, 2011, 5:44 pm

Wud need this post.........

6-killerz

Postby 6-killerz » March 29th, 2012, 10:58 pm

how much for a set of those plugs?

afternex2

Postby afternex2 » March 31st, 2012, 8:57 pm

do not advance distributor its no good no use. had experience with advance an retard. best place is center. dyno proven.

SR-B14

Postby SR-B14 » March 31st, 2012, 10:15 pm

any of you all get "pinking" using super gasoline also ?

d_ad_man

Postby d_ad_man » April 4th, 2012, 8:52 pm

your'e distributor is advanced too much

SR-B14

Postby SR-B14 » April 6th, 2012, 1:42 pm

I used my timing light to set my distributer @ 0 degrees TDC, and i still get "pinking" with super gas when i tap in the throttle, so it might be my pully is slipping giving me wrong timing marks, no probs with premium.

afternex2

Postby afternex2 » April 6th, 2012, 11:40 pm

does your car have ah thermostat ? if so which one oem or nismo/mishimoto?

i put in ah mishimoto pinging stopped,oem thermo runs ah lil more hott,by changin your thermo
it runs cooler an reduces pinging,it worked for me.

i runnin d same plugs i got in d engine when i bought it which is about 1yr 8 mths an my car
makin good power, ngk iridiums 6 an it came ngk wires also, i bought vision 10.2mm an sold it
back. engine performing best....

SR-B14

Postby SR-B14 » April 7th, 2012, 8:29 am

upgraded to a 2core metal radiator but did not take out the oem thermostat, will try runnig it for a week without thermostat and try some super gas again.Also have the iridium 6 plugs.

afternex2

Postby afternex2 » April 7th, 2012, 8:40 pm

do not remove thermo u will lose power, engine will run hotter, an book it loss of power, meh padna tried it thats how i know. cool

SR-B14

Postby SR-B14 » April 8th, 2012, 9:14 am

ok thanks

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » April 8th, 2012, 9:53 pm

SR-B14 wrote:I used my timing light to set my distributer @ 0 degrees TDC, and i still get "pinking" with super gas when i tap in the throttle, so it might be my pully is slipping giving me wrong timing marks, no probs with premium.

this is strange i have the same problem but i running rich as far as i can see. i have a fuel problem that i dont have time to fix, when the engine cold i getting 65 psi and when it hot i getting 45 psi and it pings at both pressure

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » April 10th, 2012, 3:06 pm

using copper 7's about 3 years now. no discernible difference in power and I change them whenever the oil is changed.
the thing with the iridium is that the tip can last for years, but the cerimic insulator lasts only a year before the base gets discoloured by the heat and the plugs miss at high rpm. Too expensive to change every year. copper's $20 each.

SR-B14

Postby SR-B14 » April 10th, 2012, 7:43 pm

more info needed Dave-ve, what heat range are #7 copper plugs and what brand, always thought copper plugs were for cortina and those kind of "ole car" will give them a try.

Dave-ve

Postby Dave-ve » April 10th, 2012, 8:33 pm

NGK BKR7E 11. you can try the 6's as well. my engine bay suffers from a lot of heatsoak so I use the 7's.

incidentally, the same plugs that work on the sr20 also works in an L28. The job of the plugs is to deliver the spark, the coil will determine how hot the spark is.

SR-B14 wrote:I used my timing light to set my distributer @ 0 degrees TDC, and i still get "pinking" with super gas when i tap in the throttle, so it might be my pully is slipping giving me wrong timing marks, no probs with premium.

VE has higher compression. you need to use priemum.

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » April 11th, 2012, 4:20 pm

why yall running supah.. it just dont make sense.. i does rel laugh when i see men putting super in fass cars.. anyways to each his own...

6-killerz

Postby 6-killerz » April 11th, 2012, 8:33 pm

this spark plug ting is stress mech keep putting wrong ngk apparently de imitation wat is the proper plugs for de sr20ve he put bkr5e IX , but i think is de imitation

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » April 12th, 2012, 2:53 pm

i have the original plug for the engine

6-killerz

Postby 6-killerz » April 14th, 2012, 9:59 am

where u get de original ??? motorist?

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » April 15th, 2012, 1:10 am

i stock most of the parts for the VE i have a supplier from the US

SR-B14

Postby SR-B14 » April 15th, 2012, 9:12 am

Anil_Sooknanan wrote:i have the original plug for the engine

how much$$?

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » April 15th, 2012, 9:38 pm

i had them for $140 a set sold out today

Pretender

Postby Pretender » April 23rd, 2012, 10:32 pm

BKR6EIX. u can get it online unless someone stocks them locally. only found 5's when i wanted, ended up getting the correct ting online.