Is this considered Corruption?

Devourment

Is this considered Corruption?

Postby Devourment » April 12th, 2012, 3:08 pm

My wife works at a company that will be doing business with my company (gov) shortly.

Even though my section has nothing at all do with this purchase, I was the one who openly recommended that our company purchase their services.

My signature is not on any purchasing documents.

My wife will be handling the account and will be getting a big commission. Is there anything illegal, corrupt or immoral with this?

Re: Is this considered Corruption?

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 12th, 2012, 3:11 pm

Your legal department or lawyer must be on leave or something for you to come and seek such advice on tuner.

Postby Chimera » April 12th, 2012, 3:13 pm

divorce she quick

the commission worth more than marriage.

Postby Rooki3 » April 12th, 2012, 3:14 pm

so you make ah thread to beat your chest that you link yur wife company wid a small contract?

right right well done

Postby tr1ad » April 12th, 2012, 3:15 pm

yes

called conflict of interest

Postby foss » April 12th, 2012, 3:15 pm

notsureifbobool

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 12th, 2012, 3:16 pm

It may not be a conflict of interest if you are not the CEO or anyone making the final decision.
Everyone knows someone in trinidad!
as long as the process is open and transparent no worries.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 12th, 2012, 3:18 pm

interesting.......so you sat on the tendering committee??

is your wife just a normal employee or a director in said company?.......
Last edited by Aaron 2NR on April 12th, 2012, 3:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » April 12th, 2012, 3:18 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:It may not be a conflict of interest if you are not the CEO or anyone making the final decision.
Everyone knows someone in trinidad!
as long as the process is open and transparent no worries.

Something like that, plus it isn't your department, but - What does your employment contract say?

Also, what is your interest in the company?
Last edited by Sumana.00 on April 12th, 2012, 3:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

GeneralHonda

Postby GeneralHonda » April 12th, 2012, 3:19 pm

Nope. All you made was a recommendation. The head of that department in conjunction with the other departments that are involved and are making the authorizations are the ones who will be responsible. Of course one must consider if some formal process is involved such as tendering that can bring the matter under scrutiny or make the decision be deemed unfair.
Just remember that persons can still question it who may want to stir up trouble but since you have no authorization capacity the matter does not fall upon shoulders.
On the other hand, if some sort of “benefit” is passed on to you via persons in your organization (this is not an accusation or so but just covering the relevant bases) it can be deemed corrupt. Hope this helps.

Postby AllTrac » April 12th, 2012, 3:20 pm

yes.
It falls under the Bribery and Corruption Act

Postby tr1ad » April 12th, 2012, 3:25 pm

the fact that the mrs works as with a vendor / supplier / service provider needs to be declared as it can be said that you working for the client may have influence over choice, be it you may not sign a recommendation or even review the tender
your company will have a conflict of interest policy whhich you can ask hr to review, just in case there is something in there that can bite you, remember it's the government and people are easily offended when they are not selected to provide a service
if you're wondering, i work procurement and contracts

Postby wagonrunner » April 12th, 2012, 3:25 pm

AllTrac wrote:yes.
It falls under the Bribery and Corruption Act

hahahahaha.
and you can see those who did, and have no problem doing same.

Postby AllTrac » April 12th, 2012, 3:31 pm

tr1ad wrote:the fact that the mrs works as with a vendor / supplier / service provider needs to be declared as it can be said that you working for the client may have influence over choice,

correct.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » April 12th, 2012, 3:40 pm

No tendering was done for this purchase as my wife's company is actually the only supplier of these services in T&T.......therefore a waiver was done.........the sum isn't exorbitant, but still relatively high.

I don't want this be interpreted that my wife's commission is my 'kickback' for linking this purchase.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » April 12th, 2012, 3:41 pm

AllTrac wrote:
tr1ad wrote:the fact that the mrs works as with a vendor / supplier / service provider needs to be declared as it can be said that you working for the client may have influence over choice,

correct.

Figured.

But can this stop the purchase in anyway?

Postby tr1ad » April 12th, 2012, 3:55 pm

yes it can, there is a difference between sole source / single source and the fact that it was not disclosed before the signing of contract or issue of po, it make break the standard terms & conditions associated with it

you and your wife need to declare conflict of interest to respective companies

note: in this day and age, no one in trinidad is the only supplier of goods and services, maybe the authorized one, but not the only one

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 12th, 2012, 4:18 pm

Devourment wrote:No tendering was done for this purchase as my wife's company is actually the only supplier of these services in T&T.......therefore a waiver was done.........the sum isn't exorbitant, but still relatively high.

I don't want this be interpreted that my wife's commission is my 'kickback' for linking this purchase.

i see you keep making reference to "my wife's company"....does your wife own the company???

another point, single source with no tendering process?? can you elaborate on this.......why wasn't a decision made for foreign bidders? or an alternative?

suffocate69

Postby suffocate69 » April 12th, 2012, 4:56 pm

Not her company. And yes they are the only supplier for these services, can't explain how, but if we were to go with anyone else, it would cost atleast 10 times more and take 2 years to deliver. Basically re-inventing the wheel they already created.

Postby tr1ad » April 12th, 2012, 4:59 pm

like you forget to sign in with the account you originally posted this

so which account to delete?

then if they are others to supply , the company your wife works for isn't a sole or single supplier

and a proper tendering process would highlight that

so which is it really?
or is it that the commission is what really on your mind?

let's analyze this shall we?

Devourment wrote:My wife works at a company that will be doing business with my company (gov) shortly.

Even though my section has nothing at all do with this purchase, I was the one who openly recommended that our company purchase their services.

My signature is not on any purchasing documents.

My wife will be handling the account and will be getting a big commission. Is there anything illegal, corrupt or immoral with this?

and then

Devourment wrote:No tendering was done for this purchase as my wife's company is actually the only supplier of these services in T&T.......therefore a waiver was done.........the sum isn't exorbitant, but still relatively high.

but yet
suffocate69 wrote:Not her company. And yes they are the only supplier for these services, can't explain how, but if we were to go with anyone else, it would cost at least 10 times more and take 2 years to deliver. Basically re-inventing the wheel they already created.

and we ask how bobol continues folks

so... no tendering because you said her company is the only one, so a waiver
then you said anyone else was to do it would be expensive and longer

a proper tender process would take into consideration time, cost and select the best choice

flvrufdwk

Postby flvrufdwk » April 12th, 2012, 6:13 pm

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 12th, 2012, 6:17 pm

interesting........

so what is the service offered? since its a government contract the FOIA can be enforced

Postby nervewrecker » April 12th, 2012, 6:37 pm

Is just me or he posting from 2 accounts?

Too bad I eh have court clothes, allyh woulda hear bout bobol allyuh tax payers $$$ jumping up in.

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » April 12th, 2012, 7:34 pm

hahaha. a man get ketch yes. if you ent devour, you suffocate.

Postby AllTrac » April 12th, 2012, 11:11 pm

ROFL :lol: :lol: lil whoopsie dey :lol:

Postby AllTrac » April 12th, 2012, 11:12 pm

wait, i now realise something......this could be a horn in progress :shock: :shock:

Postby Rooki3 » April 12th, 2012, 11:16 pm

Postby Rooki3 » April 12th, 2012, 11:17 pm

reminds me of how evo-sti-k transformmed into a RIPERBREADFRUIT after he wife get gutz

Postby K74T » April 13th, 2012, 2:34 am

oh boy..

Bareback

Postby Bareback » April 13th, 2012, 7:14 am

From a compliance perspective, if no other supplier could readily be found, and there exists a reasonable reason why the equipment is needed now, and there exists full visibility and transparency of the transaction within company guidelines, as well as your legal department has provided its opinion and sign off then the transaction is legit.

The issue of the commission, if it lies with her company and does not form part of the contract your company directly engages into, is irrelevant to the transparency of the transaction. The commission forms part of her remuneration package with her company and is not the concern of your company.

So seek the advice of your legal dept. or your company's legal advisor and keep a copy of this opinion for your personal CYA files.