Side B - Night Run to Paria!

Plan out, organise and post pics and vids of your OFF-ROAD adventures. Clubs, crews and associations are welcomed!

Side B - Night Run to Paria!

Postby 3stagevtec » April 14th, 2012, 2:26 pm

Sorry about the short notice guys, but our next official run is hear and coming up quickly!

Date - Saturday 21st April
Meeting location - Trincity Mall, True Value Car Park
Meeting Time - 9:00pm
Departure Time - 9:30pm
Route - We will be passing through the Lopinot trail, then continuing to Blanchisseuse via the Arima Blanchisseuse road. From there we will proceed to the beautiful and ultra scenic (flash light required :wink: ) Paria beach.

At the beach, we will do a small cook, hot dogs etc and relax. Night baths would be encouraged but we would like to stress highly on safety and request everyone stay in plain sight and not venture into any deep waters.

We plan on leaving the north coast at sunrise, so we can head home in daylight. You are free to take a rest before sunrise. We are open to suggestions anyone may have with respect to night activities..

Run Requirements
-Full tank of fuel prior to arrival
-Mosquito repellents
-Any personal medications you may require
-Adequate food / drinks
-Towel / blanket / extra cloths / pillow etc
-Lantern / flash light / candle / glow in the dark t shirt
-Basic recovery gear
-FRS / GMRS radios
(Anything I left out?)

Our #1 rule will be in effect as always.. NO ALCOHOL ALLOWED ON RUNS

Re: Side B - Night Run to Paria!

Postby 3stagevtec » April 14th, 2012, 2:37 pm

Roll Call
1. 3stage
2. Droppa
3. Lighthammer
4. Stingray
5. Claries
6. DooMRR

Smeed

Postby Smeed » April 14th, 2012, 4:29 pm

Wheeeeeeeeey sah!!! I cyah type wha I really wanna say.......

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » April 14th, 2012, 7:23 pm

Need to get mih radio... Any recomendations...

telfer

Postby telfer » April 14th, 2012, 7:40 pm

As much as I would like too
But cyar leave de kids

Shortie

Postby Shortie » April 14th, 2012, 10:05 pm

would have loved to try my hand at this.....but cant make it...dam....

Postby 3stagevtec » April 15th, 2012, 7:13 am

stingray316 wrote:Need to get mih radio... Any recomendations...

http://www.amazon.com/Motorola-MR350R-35-Mile-22-Channel-Two-Way/dp/B001UE6MJ8/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1334488036&sr=8-4

http://www.amazon.com/Midland-GXT1000VP4-36-Mile-50-Channel-Two-Way/dp/B001WMFYH4/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1334488036&sr=8-2

The Midland has a car charger which comes in real handy! I think the car charger is more important overall that other features..

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 15th, 2012, 8:13 am

Dis would be a bess run.....I wouldn't be able to make though....I have a prayers on sunday to attend....Oh well.....Can't hit them all.....

droppa

Postby droppa » April 15th, 2012, 1:41 pm

free glowsticks!!!!

Postby 3stagevtec » April 15th, 2012, 6:43 pm

Roll Call
1. 3stage
2. Droppa
3. Lighthammer
4. Stingray
5. Claries
6. DooMRR
7. AASTRA
8. aliman

AASTRA

Postby AASTRA » April 15th, 2012, 7:45 pm

3stagevtec wrote:Image

Roll Call
1. 3stage
2. Droppa
3. Lighthammer
4. Stingray
5. Claries
6. DooMRR
7. Aastra (green hilux)
8. aliman

droppa

Postby droppa » April 16th, 2012, 6:27 am

Roll Call
1. 3stage
2. Droppa
3. Lighthammer
4. Stingray
5. Claries
6. DooMRR
7. AASTRA
8. aliman

remember if some of u guys cant make the whole night, u can come for part and leave after, but please try to do so with a buddy, so its not u alone coming back down the road.....

.z.

Postby .z. » April 16th, 2012, 6:57 am

where u guys parkin. r u all doing the trail till the shed then walkin? or hiking from the village?

Z

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 16th, 2012, 10:41 am

remember if some of u guys cant make the whole night, u can come for part and leave after, but please try to do so with a buddy, so its not u alone coming back down the road.....

Hmmmm I wonder if i could do this bai.....Who else going this route....If this could be done then I could make part of it!!!
Last edited by rottedv on April 16th, 2012, 4:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 16th, 2012, 11:54 am

.z. wrote:where u guys parkin. r u all doing the trail till the shed then walkin? or hiking from the village?

Z

We running the trail to the end, up to where it narrows down and becomes impassable. Will park there and hike the remainder..

stingray316

Postby stingray316 » April 16th, 2012, 1:38 pm

3stagevtec wrote:
.z. wrote:where u guys parkin. r u all doing the trail till the shed then walkin? or hiking from the village?

Z

We running the trail to the end, up to where it narrows down and becomes impassable. Will park there and hike the remainder..

Hike! How long that hike is supposed to be? And we moving with thing to cook, oh lawd, I have to see this in person...

brianr20v

Postby brianr20v » April 16th, 2012, 1:47 pm

droppa wrote:

Roll Call
1. 3stage
2. Droppa
3. Lighthammer
4. Stingray
5. Claries
6. DooMRR
7. AASTRA
8. aliman
9.Brianr 20v

droppa

Postby droppa » April 16th, 2012, 4:59 pm

hike....ah drop!!!!!!!

aliman

Postby aliman » April 16th, 2012, 5:36 pm

droppa wrote:hike....ah drop!!!!!!!

Postby 3stagevtec » April 16th, 2012, 7:02 pm

stingray316 wrote:
3stagevtec wrote:

Z

Hike! How long that hike is supposed to be? And we moving with thing to cook, oh lawd, I have to see this in person...

You never went Paria with us?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » April 16th, 2012, 9:40 pm

It's a small hike baistingraybai! A lil 5-mins to a real besssss beach.. which would look like, totally awesome in the moonlight!!

I definitely bringing my DSLR camera and tripod to this, gotta take mih long-exposure beach pics at night!!

Also guys who coming... don't forget the essentials (it is a full-fledged Side B run after all)...

- Recovery straps/ropes/chain/shackles
- Flashlights
- Cutlass/hatchet
- Medical supplies & necessary medicines & first aid kit if you have one
- Food & drinks (we planning to cook a lil ting on the beach.. maybe campfire and hotdawgs??)
- Light Blanket (in case you have someone along who you want to cuddle with....)
- heavy boots/garden boots (we'll still be in the forest, and remember that forest creatures are more active at night!! Insects/Centipedes/Cockroaches/Snakes/soucouyants/lagahoo).
- garlic and salt to ward off any would-be lagahoo & soucouyants
- FLASH LIGHTS!! (it go be d-d-d-ark in de forest!)
- hand-held radio's and walkie talkies.... Side B's official channel is CHannel 5

And dont forget to do the necessary vehicle checks, all fluids, all tyres aired up, brakes in order, all lights/headlights/foglights working, etc.

We're planning to make the run and end up camping on the beach.
For those who don't wanna stay the whole night, you're free to go when we reach back to civilization, no worries!

Anybody have fishing gear??

Postby 3stagevtec » April 17th, 2012, 1:08 am

I know some men would have the garlic and salt packed long time!! :lol:

.z.

Postby .z. » April 17th, 2012, 7:42 am

Remember there r people livin inside up there, if my memory serves me right, their garage/ shed is at the end, and it is very slushy after that (ie u cant proceed). How will guys keep from blockin their exit in the event they need to get out.

Z

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 17th, 2012, 10:42 am

Was up there over the Easter.
The suspension bridge has been condemned. It is blocked off.
They are building a new bridge at the side.
Spoke to a guy who lives up there and he said that 4X4 are crossing over the river bed!

foxbrown

Postby foxbrown » April 17th, 2012, 11:33 am

brianr20v wrote:
droppa wrote:

Roll Call
1. 3stage
2. Droppa
3. Lighthammer
4. Stingray
5. Claries
6. DooMRR
7. AASTRA
8. aliman
9.Brianr 20v
10.FOX

.z.

Postby .z. » April 17th, 2012, 12:40 pm

k. think i mixed up the trail with the Madamas trail ie via Brasso Seco

Z

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 17th, 2012, 3:48 pm

rottedv wrote:

Hmmmm I wonder if i could do this bai.....Who else going this route....If this could be done then I could make part of it!!!

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 17th, 2012, 5:53 pm

The new bridge is open -- verified that on Saturday.

The Arima way is also open, but not repaired fully. I am positive a Ranger can pass as at Saturday.. (Lol.. the Nav might need to diet this week)

Remember this is not really the Paria beach that men refer to.. The one where you have to hike for 3 hours 1 way or take the boat.
This is just the first small beach you come to on the hike. 1 of many small beaches you pass on the hike.
The walk to the beach is about 7 - 10 mins, more if you carrying stuff.

Fishing Gear -- Alluh know I have lots of it!

We CAN park at the side with about 15+ vans and leave the roadway free - we did it already.
However the VANs are going to be out of visual and hearing range.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » April 17th, 2012, 5:58 pm

stingray316 wrote:Need to get mih radio... Any recomendations...

The max you are going to get is prob the 35 mile, suggest getting that.

I recommend the MidWay that Rene has, or the Motorola that I have.

Motorola comes with a rechargeable battery, or can take 3 AA's. And the charging port is the normal mini USB every me2 BB uses.

MidWay I beleive has all the same features as above.

Or you can just use a push2talk app on your Samsumg! Try Voxer or Zello.

MonsterRocky

Postby MonsterRocky » April 17th, 2012, 7:59 pm

damn!!!!!!!!this run gonna be badass finally im gettin a day off to attend...... :shock:

Return to “Off Road Runs”