Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby S_2NR » April 15th, 2012, 10:53 pm

Charge to 100%

Wipe battery stats

Drain to 0%. When phone powers itself off.

Then charge to 100.

U should do this when switching roms. U can use battery calibration in the play store. U need root.

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » April 15th, 2012, 11:20 pm

^^ thanks for the advice :), will try that and post results here.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 16th, 2012, 9:27 am

pete wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:on Another note I downloaded a 1080p video from youtube and the phone runs it fine.

Hmm stronger than a netbook I would say.

Costs more than a netbook tho.

Yeah but when u think about the size of a cellphone and current it uses. Really is impressive.

Boy this thing browsers the net with flash pages smoother than my gaming pc. Could also be android is superior to windows 7

trinihub

Postby trinihub » April 16th, 2012, 9:32 am

Android is really good. I recommend it.

achillies

Postby achillies » April 16th, 2012, 1:14 pm

bassotronics wrote:^^ I installed CM9 a while ago, but my data wasn't working, tried to creat a new APN but still nothing so i reverted back to resurrection remix 1.1. The only thing it drains my battery life relatively quick...

Battery cannot be calibrated on S2 by wiping battery stats, you have to reset the "fuel gauge chip" either by using a kernel/app combination or by leaving the battery out of the phone for at least 90 seconds when at full charge, if you have issues adding APNs, a reboot would have fixed it, that's a known issue with CM9.

HAve a read HERE also
Last edited by achillies on April 16th, 2012, 4:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby S_2NR » April 16th, 2012, 1:28 pm

CM9 burns battery like a mofo. Reverted to stock 4.0.4

Postby M_2NR » April 16th, 2012, 1:35 pm

im only getting a 2 days on the touchpad with it :(

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » April 16th, 2012, 2:19 pm

Think i'll try CM9 one more time, and do that method for the battery and see how it works for a day.

On the other hand, got a S2 for sale in the misc forum for anyone interested.

Postby S_2NR » April 17th, 2012, 2:14 am

M_2NR wrote:im only getting a 2 days on the touchpad with it :(

Consider urself lucky. On cm9, I was losing 20%/hour with whatsapp,browsing,and a few calls.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 17th, 2012, 10:50 am

somehow CM9 saves me the most battery.

Postby M_2NR » April 17th, 2012, 11:17 am

S_2NR wrote:
M_2NR wrote:im only getting a 2 days on the touchpad with it :(

Consider urself lucky. On cm9, I was losing 20%/hour with whatsapp,browsing,and a few calls.

this is a tablet boy.. 6300mAh capacity battery. but :shock: that's on a nexus s ent?

Postby S_2NR » April 17th, 2012, 12:23 pm

Yea
Now that I'm back on stock I'm losing 20% in 4 hours..normal for me

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » April 17th, 2012, 4:17 pm

I reinstalled CM9 and the APN issue was resolved, but then when i try to install apps from my desktop via google play, it's not going to my phone. I reinstalled it and google apps, but still the same issue. I'll just revert back to stock.

sentraman

Postby sentraman » April 17th, 2012, 4:29 pm

May 3rd launch date for galaxy s3

achillies

Postby achillies » April 17th, 2012, 5:18 pm

bassotronics wrote:I reinstalled CM9 and the APN issue was resolved, but then when i try to install apps from my desktop via google play, it's not going to my phone. I reinstalled it and google apps, but still the same issue. I'll just revert back to stock.

It works for me, maybe you should give it time, allow things to settle, try downloading something from the Play Store app on your phone first

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » April 18th, 2012, 2:07 pm

where can i find a HTC G1 replacement battery to buy?

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » April 18th, 2012, 2:33 pm

COROLLA KID

Postby COROLLA KID » April 18th, 2012, 2:46 pm

mitch1980 wrote:amazon for 10 usd or less
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss? ... t+battery+

thanks dude, thought i could of get it in here, but i guess its amazon for it

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » April 18th, 2012, 2:52 pm

get a high aMh battery

Shannon

Postby Shannon » April 20th, 2012, 6:47 pm

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 20th, 2012, 8:05 pm

^ nah its fake

Samsung did it to throw off customers LOL

So when they reveal the real deal it will be mind blowing. Samsung is aiming to beat the HTC one X and this clearly is the S2 Epic 4G in a different housing and screen.

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » April 20th, 2012, 8:06 pm

Thats not the S3.

In other news anyone tried dual boot with the new siyah Kernel?

Im going to do it now, I'll have both AOKP and CM9 on my i777.

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » April 21st, 2012, 7:46 am

achillies wrote:
bassotronics wrote:I reinstalled CM9 and the APN issue was resolved, but then when i try to install apps from my desktop via google play, it's not going to my phone. I reinstalled it and google apps, but still the same issue. I'll just revert back to stock.

It works for me, maybe you should give it time, allow things to settle, try downloading something from the Play Store app on your phone first

Tried out a new rom, Wanamlite 11.1, everything is like stock, runs faster and smoother, also you get the Nexus ICS look. I think i'll stick with this rom. CM9 needs to step their game up with battery life IMO, but i guess it's preference.

achillies

Postby achillies » April 21st, 2012, 9:00 pm

bassotronics wrote:
achillies wrote:

Tried out a new rom, Wanamlite 11.1, everything is like stock, runs faster and smoother, also you get the Nexus ICS look. I think i'll stick with this rom. CM9 needs to step their game up with battery life IMO, but i guess it's preference.

I use to have poor battery life also, but I took the time to look at what was draining battery and i have fixed most of the issues, wasn't the ROMs fault though, it was mine. The last problem I cannot fix is gprs data stalls, that causes a kernel wakelock called "multipdp" this is due to Bmobile's poor network configuration and very slow EDGE.

When I was done, I saw a drastic improvement in battery life, I would admit that battery life is not as good as Samsung based ROMs. But i really cannot go back to that permanently, I currently use Wanamlite as my secondary rom in my dualboot configuration though

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » April 21st, 2012, 9:30 pm

achillies wrote:
bassotronics wrote:
achillies wrote:

I use to have poor battery life also, but I took the time to look at what was draining battery and i have fixed most of the issues, wasn't the ROMs fault though, it was mine. The last problem I cannot fix is gprs data stalls, that causes a kernel wakelock called "multipdp" this is due to Bmobile's poor network configuration and very slow EDGE.

When I was done, I saw a drastic improvement in battery life, I would admit that battery life is not as good as Samsung based ROMs. But i really cannot go back to that permanently, I currently use Wanamlite as my secondary rom in my dualboot configuration though

Interesting, will do some more reading on it, with wanamlite, i lost 1% charge from 9:30am - 3pm after a full charge, i wasn't using my phone, but it was on, it was very impressive.

slickrick777

WTK: Bmobile Sim Swap

Postby slickrick777 » April 22nd, 2012, 1:07 pm

well have the old sim card and got a htc one x which required a micro sim...so now i have to get a sim swap to the newer sim card in order to cut my sim to work on my new phone...ne one know the closest bmobile branch that does this close to point lisas?

trinihub

Re: WTK: Bmobile Sim Swap

Postby trinihub » April 22nd, 2012, 3:06 pm

jus cut it ...youtube how to do it

Postby brams112 » April 22nd, 2012, 3:12 pm

op dont cut ur card if you intend not to keep the new fone long eh,most people who did cut their card regretted it.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » April 22nd, 2012, 3:23 pm

brams112 wrote:op dont cut ur card if you intend not to keep the new fone long eh,most people who did cut their card regretted it.

Why did they regret it? It's $25 for a replacement sim anyway

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » April 22nd, 2012, 4:44 pm

nah need the new one...measured it up to my bro's one and it's alot bigger...