p0730 help tranny issue

MAZDA People United - it continues here

shimon

p0730 help tranny issue

Postby shimon » April 14th, 2012, 7:37 pm

hi i have a 2002 mazda protege which says incorrect gear ratio p0730 help please!!! it starting giving me this code suddenly no warning signs etc the gears were not slipping or anything just one night while i was driving i felt the tranny downshift and upshift abnormally it was like the car was confused as to which gear to select!!
things i tried so far: flush out old tranny fluid was using redline d4, fluid was nasty btw. changed the filter under the valve body and put in fresh redline d4 around 3 and a half quarts anyways can anyone assist me with this problem thanks

Wildcard26

Re: p0730 help tranny issue

Postby Wildcard26 » April 14th, 2012, 10:28 pm

Check your Speed Sensor.

shimon

Postby shimon » April 14th, 2012, 11:01 pm

ok i will 1st thing in the a.m btw your talking about the one by the tranny mount

shimon

Postby shimon » April 15th, 2012, 10:49 am

any more assistance would greatly be appreciated can a shift solenoid cause erratic shifting?

shimon

Postby shimon » April 15th, 2012, 4:19 pm

Ok i checked the resistance between the terminals of the input speedsensor got 362 and according to the manual it should be between 250 and 600 ohms anyways what else can i try?

shimon

Postby shimon » April 16th, 2012, 4:43 pm

changed the turbine speed sensor whit a foreign used still no good a I got a mech/tranny guy to drive it today he said it feels like one of the shift soleniods is gone but when im checking with my multimeter for resistance it seems ok can that really be a problem??

Wildcard26

Postby Wildcard26 » April 17th, 2012, 4:31 pm

Yeah is a possibility when you dealing with the tranny.

shimon

Postby shimon » April 17th, 2012, 5:42 pm

ok took out all the soleniods test them for resistance and current tested ok one note though soleniods d and e dosent click like the rest of the soleniods there shaped differently mabe they just work another way can anyone shed light on this?? becuz the manual said that all the soleniods sopposed to click when a 12v is applied to them thanks!!

shimon

Postby shimon » April 25th, 2012, 6:46 pm

l.f shift soleniods

hayden6025

Postby hayden6025 » May 16th, 2012, 9:58 pm

hey, i am experiencing this problem on my mazda protege,even replaced the transmission and still has the p0730 incorrect gear ratio code,would like to know if you got through with yours.

shimon

Postby shimon » May 25th, 2012, 8:34 pm

Really ok well it could be a sensor problem like the tps etc 777-1424 call me or pm ur number we will chat!!

red bwoy

Postby red bwoy » May 30th, 2012, 3:37 pm

guys this problem could also simply coming from a bad connection at the harness or otherwise the mech is supposed to check the harness for continuity before he makes u buy a tranny it could be that the wires related to the particular sensor have a short or break just my $0.02

shimon

Postby shimon » May 31st, 2012, 12:16 am

Yep I checked all that before I did any Mechanical work but since the p0730 is a generic tranny fault code it code mean as simple as low fluid to slipping but thanks anyways anyone with this problem and would like some assistance sorting it out before they buy or repair their tranny can call me 777-1424 I'll share what i know and how i properly fixed mine!!

Return to “MAZDA”