rottedv's projeck "Surflux Turbo" pg 6!!!

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.

Re: rottedv's projeck "Surflux 28"

Postby Team Loco » April 27th, 2012, 9:49 am

sweeks wrote:
Black Start wrote:sniffles.....i wants an old skool hilux too :cry:

I think we all do :)

but ent you asking for a front fender for one recently? i feel you have an ole school lux park up somewhere.

Side B, lil advice, go manual

droppa

Postby droppa » April 27th, 2012, 11:14 am

manual will be the ultimate, but if boost is to be added, we want it to be ripping tooo

sweeks

Postby sweeks » April 27th, 2012, 11:59 am

Team Loco wrote:
sweeks wrote:
Black Start wrote:sniffles.....i wants an old skool hilux too :cry:

I think we all do :)

but ent you asking for a front fender for one recently? i feel you have an ole school lux park up somewhere.

You we have weakness for anything that ends in l-u-x.

I admiring these adventurous fellas .... 100% stock for me.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 27th, 2012, 12:26 pm

sweeks wrote:

You we have weakness for anything that ends in l-u-x.

I admiring these adventurous fellas .... 100% stock for me.

I feel yuh get one as a best deal and holding out on we....I know where you work has a whole set just rotting away....

When this one done you all will see 'MACHINE!'

Manual would be more fun and easier but Auto for functionality with d wifey would be good also..(How else yuh tink I convince she is a good buy?)

Update imminent!

droppa

Postby droppa » April 28th, 2012, 9:35 am

right so back to the pics again.....

here goes the old cab, these men say they goin and bring it back to life, smh!!!!!!!

how she was looking with the tray on.....nah, we no likey.....

dont know where this hairy scary fella came from....

parts etc!!!!!!!!!

lets get this old tray out of the way....

free duraliner.........gone!!!!!!

looking like mongo from fast 5........

engine bay looking good........

LN130 booster and master, so brakes like wow....

door hinges up

seat thrown in with some other stuff...for fitment...

front shot...

dis fella does really try hard eh...

interior cleared and ready to go to Mr.Willis for welding and fabbing brackets...

only toyota beast we ah deal wid!!!!!!!!!!!

catching attention as is!!!!!

FJ wrecker...

bye bye surflux!!!!!!

Postby black start » April 28th, 2012, 10:17 am

I hope is some matching hilux 4 piston to go with this here :lol:

droppa

Postby droppa » April 29th, 2012, 12:55 am

eventually yes, but for now its the stock drum setup, we only have one side rotor and caliper, but might need to buy a front diff complete with discbrake and convert, but thats a later on upgrade!!!!

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 29th, 2012, 6:49 am

I have to try bai droppa....If me eh try wat ah go do!!

Yeah the stock stuff would have to work for now....First priority when it comes back from Mr. Willis via Jeffery is to get it started and driving...Then it will e drivetrain and brakes!!

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » April 30th, 2012, 10:25 pm

Subscribed!

Inspiration... 4x4 'n on a budget :D

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 1st, 2012, 5:20 am

This build is really on a budget. We will post up price timline at the end of it all..

eltoro

Postby eltoro » May 1st, 2012, 10:49 am

I see no issue with current brakes set up, just make sure you get the shoe lining revitted. Still running my F20 with 4 drum brakes, really do not need much brakes with low speed low gearing manual box. However for the auto/wife road use eventually disc brakes needed.

droppa

Postby droppa » May 1st, 2012, 5:14 pm

eltoro wrote:I see no issue with current brakes set up, just make sure you get the shoe lining revitted. Still running my F20 with 4 drum brakes, really do not need much brakes with low speed low gearing manual box. However for the auto/wife road use eventually disc brakes needed.

that is for sure, with the autobox in L and 4L downhill is still fast, and braking in slippery mud can be challenging, what ive done is click my handbrake a bit and this works for my jeep!!!

as stated in the first post, this thread is like no other, all financial transaction will be made public.....just so u guys can see what kinda money playing off.....imtiaz will take care of that!!

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 1st, 2012, 7:59 pm

droppa.. pm sent!

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 1st, 2012, 8:04 pm

great build.

how do those BFs compare to the Kumho KL71? I currently have the Kumho's on my truck but I intend on changing them soon to those exact BFs but i wanted to get an idea of the difference in performance, if any, especially in mud and sand.

Anyone with actual experience with both tyres kindly give a brief insight. Should I go back with the Kumho or go with the BFs?

Thanks in advance and keep up the good work!

Postby sliderz1 » May 1st, 2012, 8:50 pm

the current setup is open diff front and rear, or just rear Limited Slip?

lockers going in immediately or yuh gonna have fun in the meanwhile?

aidan

Postby aidan » May 1st, 2012, 9:17 pm

bess! allyuh move reall fass! lookin good!

droppa

Postby droppa » May 1st, 2012, 10:45 pm

@ cuthroat, will keep an eye out for u....

@ paullct, these bfgs work great, in all the conditions we put them tru so far, is to see how they will work with this monter in the mud now.....

@sliderz, both diff open, yeah we gonna have some fun first, some one gotta get stuck to make the ting go nice right???

@aidan, if we move fast, we eh even workin on this and it progressing, rotted has some pics to throw up of Mr.Willis in action and the stage the Surlux has reached.....

so to update the project, Mr.Willis is finishing off his weldings, he completed the tranny bracket, the bench seat brackets, all the body mounts are in place and welded up and bolted in, and now he is finishing up the cab,

rottedv got a great find at the highway scrapyards in caroni, he saw it in the corner ah he eye,

a damaged cab from a pick up, upon closer insepection it was a 4X2 hilux, TAY model, the correct thing for the Surflux....

so Mr.Willis shud be finished with attaching that back panel from the damaged 4X2 and mating it up to the surf cab, alot of work and alot of patience, good thing is dat he like conversion, but he say ppl doh bring dem kinda work again, by this weekend the Surflux will be in the yard again and work will continue in full swing.....

Postby black start » May 1st, 2012, 11:41 pm

*awaiting pics*

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 2nd, 2012, 5:54 am

I will throw up those pics soon.....As for costing I will give a breakdown at the end of it all. As droppa said, by this weekend the Surflux will be back at d base to start bolting up....So all those who want to pass eeeen could make a pass.....

And for those who asking meh if I selling when I done......hmmmmm......let meh finish first nah....

Cooper

Postby Cooper » May 2nd, 2012, 10:51 am

Looks like a great build, I could only imagine how much labour and paper going into this project..... this kinda explains the increase in 'Side-B' trucks cruising in my area 8-)

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » May 2nd, 2012, 1:47 pm

Which parts of the build are Surf tho? Most of what i seeing looks like Hilux?

droppa

Postby droppa » May 2nd, 2012, 1:59 pm

as of what ur seeing, the cab, tranny and brake booster/cylinder is surf, the chassis, suspension and engine is lux!!!

@ cooper, if i think u are who u are, ur not far away, its goin down a stone throw away!!!!

droppa

Postby droppa » May 4th, 2012, 9:31 pm

lets hope for some good weather tomoro

Postby black start » May 4th, 2012, 10:01 pm

I wish I could have passed through and see this build in real.....

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 5th, 2012, 5:30 am

Yeah....So we getting it back this morning....good weather is needed indeed!! Will throw up some more pices and details of the build later..

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » May 5th, 2012, 9:47 am

Great.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » May 5th, 2012, 9:24 pm

Ok, time to throw up some of my LOW quality pics....

Off to Mr. Willis via Jeffrey....
So we were on the hunt for back piece to make the cab complete.....
We found this.....4X2 Hilux Double Cab with glass in tact!!! Talk bout luck!!!! Now to check it out with Mr. Willis....
Droppa aka Chief Engineer checking out d line up!!!
Now to sample Mr. Willis' work...
Seat Mounting...
Transmission bracket...
Cab Mounting Bracket Relocated!!!
With the doors on to check the line up!
What going on inside dey????
Oh...Just Mr. Willis doing his thing!!!

Well thats it for now.......

droppa

Postby droppa » May 7th, 2012, 2:17 pm

the Surflux is back in the base and work, little as may be was done on the weekend, some parts were mounted, measurement taken and some fitments done started, the locks and ignition will be getting re-keyed, so they will work correctly.....

or and Mr.Poopsie pass tru and gave and estimate of $4K to straighten and paint the cab only, but we still contemplating that, cant let him pull no jerry on us!!!!!!!!

Postby sliderz1 » May 7th, 2012, 7:45 pm

droppa wrote:@sliderz, both diff open, yeah we gonna have some fun first, some one gotta get stuck to make the ting go nice right???

knowing rottedv dem open diff & KM2's gonna get a run for their money :lol: :lol:

droppa

Postby droppa » May 8th, 2012, 9:31 am

yup, we hoping for good results from the 3L/2L engine /tranny combo......

this Saturday we hadda push some good work, try and get the dash and radiator on....

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”