Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

rottedv

Re: Toyota Surfs,Hilux and 4X4s.

Postby rottedv » December 15th, 2011, 5:39 am

I say dis thread gone dead....So Terry yuh gorn zuki? I bought a zuki too but no way I'm selling d surf.....It working real bess !!! Wife could drive it and she happy with dat. So she will go offroad with d surf and I will drive d zuki! Droppa tell them bout cannon ball!

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » December 15th, 2011, 6:57 am

What type you buy?

rottedv

Postby rottedv » December 15th, 2011, 9:53 pm

Suzuki Samurai soft top....

droppa

Postby droppa » January 3rd, 2012, 9:58 pm

dat cyat wukkin nice!!!!!!!

neals

Postby neals » January 4th, 2012, 8:21 am

my perdicament- changed oil in my 2011 hilux- 2.5 manual
the oil guy say it takes 2 gallons, i put 1 and a half. this was friday... so i pull the dipstick again today. i rel doubth it supposed to be all the way up there O.o. thoughts?
IMG00593-20120104-0646.jpg

droppa

Postby droppa » January 4th, 2012, 9:38 am

before u start on a morning, pull the dipstick, wipe it clean, insert fully, and pull then check, that will give u a better average of your oil levels...

my 1KZ suppose to take 7.5L, after fulling in 7L, its above the full mark, when started and allowed to settle, its at the full mark exactly....

the oil filter holds in some oil for a while, but either releases after a certain temp is reached whilst cooling down, or releases it slowly whilst cooling down.......

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 4th, 2012, 7:31 pm

droppa wrote:dat cyat wukkin nice!!!!!!!

What cat boi?

I went to check a surf down south. The asking price was 35k.
Lets just say "when something is too good to be true it usually is".

Best of health to you and your families for this year and always fellas.
Last edited by SNIPER 3000 on January 8th, 2012, 11:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 4th, 2012, 7:41 pm

neals wrote:my perdicament- changed oil in my 2011 hilux- 2.5 manual
the oil guy say it takes 2 gallons, i put 1 and a half. this was friday... so i pull the dipstick again today. i rel doubth it supposed to be all the way up there O.o. thoughts?

neals, i cannot really see the oil from the pic. As droppa said check it when it is cool it should be on the top mark of the dip stick after checking it on a level surface. A rule of thumb is that from the bottom of the mark to the top of the mark in engine oil is 1 quart. so if it is too low one quart will top it off. If you put in 1 and a half from an empty engine with a new filter most likely it will not be over filled if that was your concern.

neals

Postby neals » January 4th, 2012, 9:56 pm

thats what i worried bot, this pic was this morning- van didnt start yet. if you watch where my foot is, rite above it is where the oil level is
IMG00593-20120104-0646 2.jpg
IMG00593-20120104-0646 2.jpg (36.85 KiB) Viewed 3270 times

sweeks

Postby sweeks » January 5th, 2012, 5:05 am

Start with the basics. Drain a quart in a clean container, and check it back. You call always re-use the drained oil cause it still new.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » January 5th, 2012, 6:49 am

neals did you wipe the dip stick and recheck it? and parked on a level surface? if it is really that high when you open the engine cap and look in you should see the oil?

neals

Postby neals » January 5th, 2012, 7:30 am

i didnt get the engine cap. i wiped the stick and placed it back. ..multiple times . yep leveled surface. ill go with the draining and check it

droppa

Postby droppa » January 5th, 2012, 9:09 am

yes the engine was designed for a specific amount of oil, and should be checked when cold.

too much oil in the engine can cause the oil vapor to be forced out through seals and gaskets.

the most oil that the engine should have is at the top mark of your dipstick...

aidan

Postby aidan » January 6th, 2012, 3:29 pm

droppa, wasup thanks for the Christmas wishes lol. I was out of the country for a couple days. Happy new year everyone!

droppa

Postby droppa » January 9th, 2012, 9:04 am

aye no scene man, all the best for 2012 to you too,,,,

btw u kno wen registration starts??

i had a real effed up Christmas.....

ending of last year i somehow managed to damage a cylinder head AGAIN, so i had to get that done, this time i bought a brand new head, and installed a new thermostat and external tranny cooler, and so far she is working good, not really pressing as i used to, so i hope this works out for the best....

btw i hav completely bypassed the radiator tranny cooler and was thinking if i should include it back in after the ext cooler, when its a bit cold, like heavy rain, mornings etc, my temps are low, like 70s, so i was thinking if i should add it in to help keep the water a bit warmer!!!

aaricon

Postby aaricon » January 27th, 2012, 2:20 pm

Hey Folks I'm looking for a front cut for a toyota fortuner or maybe called a nose cut not sure, please let me know if this available...

droppa

Postby droppa » April 11th, 2012, 11:28 am

aye ah surf is really ah monster that has potential cradled inside eh.......

why doesnt this country have more people who know abt these machines....

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 11th, 2012, 7:14 pm

Surf selling expensive now. I saw a few the owners want 120k for the ln130.

droppa

Postby droppa » April 12th, 2012, 10:52 am

yup prices have gone up, a front half now with 1KZ eng and trans complete fetching 27K, and dat was abt 20K not too long ago......

guess more ppl realizing the power and potential of the beast....

and they real simple to modify/lift eh!!!!!!!!

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 12th, 2012, 9:29 pm

Hey, where is the best place to do a lift on a 4x4 and method?

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 13th, 2012, 5:46 am

By droppa!!! lol....

Surf really is beast oui...I never new it could do the things we put it through eh don!!! Sniper yuh real missing it eh!!!!

droppa

Postby droppa » April 15th, 2012, 9:05 am

yup!!!

ever hear about a surflux!!!!!!!!

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 15th, 2012, 10:34 am

The only thing i regret was not using it as it should of been used, i use to baby it.
I never really got to enjoy it, by going off road .
The current owner is using it as it should. That 5l engine has real power.

That for the help today droppa.

droppa

Postby droppa » April 15th, 2012, 1:09 pm

no scene man, yeah i recently saw it in POS, think he changed the tires, but she still looks good, hopefully one day he might join us and show us what the 5L can do.....

what is the availability of 5L parts locally????

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 15th, 2012, 6:37 pm

It is available in the bamboo normal.

Boy, it have a red surf in don miguel road, san juan park in an empty lot just rotting down wasting i will check them and see if they will sell.

droppa

Postby droppa » April 16th, 2012, 6:13 am

ah see it dey ah while now, bush grown over it.....

Ripefig

Postby Ripefig » April 27th, 2012, 2:40 pm

hi all. i'm a surf newbie. recently bought it. needs some work though. right now my 3 major probs are:

turbo leaks oil - guy gave me a kit but i think there is a seal missing from it. i not sure if they change it in the hopes that it would stop.

i get a lil "bup" from the tranny ever so often

it hard starts. i dont think the heater works as the light just comes on for like a second and turns off.

any advice would be greately appreciated.

rottedv

Postby rottedv » April 27th, 2012, 4:10 pm

Hmmmmm

What engine and model is the surf? Some problems with them are generic and some are specific..For the turbo I would imagine that if the bag was open then some stuff are missing from it...Best bet is to put on another turbo are have the kit referreed by a mech. What do you mean a 'bup' from the tranny? While shifting or idling or driving? With the hard start, you may need to service glow plugs and injectors in addition to checking the heater out...But give us some more detail on the rig and we will help you out.

And is a Surf hoss!!!! You made a very wise decision>>>

droppa

Postby droppa » April 28th, 2012, 9:18 am

good buy ripefig, you will enjoy your purchase!!

first of all what model surf is it? and what engine does it have in?

im wild guessing its a LN130 and it has a 2L-TE in it.....

the 2L turbo, the CT20 is know for failure, oil leaks and boost problems, to resolve this either repair or replace, to get a good working CT20 is another problem, but once that fixed, it works great...

the "bup" you getting, is like when u stop, and just about to move again u feel it, well a lot of people get that, including my self, some say its the slip yoke in the drive shaft does cause it, i learn to reduce that by slipping into neutral when stopping at lights, or wen you not gonna move of same time again....

if the heater light comes on and goes off its normal, you can take out the glow plugs and test them or manually heat it and see if it starts better, if that still doesn't help, make sure the batteries are juicy and the starter cranks perfectly, if not then that can be a bigger problem, Injector pump or injector maybe need servicing or even compression drop.....

are you familiar with the Toyota surf owners site, have a visit and look around, world of knowledge about these beasts there.....

Ripefig

Postby Ripefig » April 28th, 2012, 11:48 am

thanks guys... i will look up the site...yes droppa it's exactly as you described when i stop and going to pull off again. a friend who works toyota said the same thing yesterday also with the yolk. oh it's a kzn1 model 1kzte and yes it's really cool to drive. i also own a 4x2 LN 85 with a 2c turbo auto, my friends have d4d and the model before the sr5 which i drove but i enjoy driving the surf a lot more...ppls heads seem to turn more 2! O_O wats up wit dat?

Return to “TOYOTA”