a couple F/A-18 Hornets in Piarco today *pic*

KURMAman

Re: a couple F/A-18 Hornets in Piarco today *pic*

Postby KURMAman » May 7th, 2012, 11:23 am

Kamla buy dat
Last edited by KURMAman on May 7th, 2012, 12:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby maj. tom » May 7th, 2012, 11:24 am

Habit7 wrote:
maj. tom wrote:I think it's safe to say that there is a US Aircraft carrier within 1000 km of Trinidad. The only operators of the F-18 are Australia, Canada, Finland, Kuwait, Malaysia, Spain, Switzerland and USA. Out of those only USA has carriers capable of F-18/C-130 take-off. F-18 range is 2000 km, but generally about 700km combat radius. In addition to identifying the workhorse of the US Navy aerial operations the C-130 Hercules.

Could be a drug exercise in the region with the US Navy.

A aircraft carrier doesn't necessarily has to be near. Puerto Rico is less than 2000km away plus from the pic it has extra tanks fitted giving it is full range as it has no armament.

Sent from my BlackBerry 8900 using Tapatalk

Yep, could be. But a carrier provides mobility, flexibility and a base of support for any exercise. In military operations it's vital to keep the supply and communications chain short.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » May 7th, 2012, 11:56 am

Heard theyre from Canada on way to an aviation show in Brazil.
They came in last night and supposed to leave 12pm thats jus now.

Took another crappy pic before the AA guard start quarrelling, trying to get some better shots from other guys

Postby maj. tom » May 7th, 2012, 12:02 pm

why can't we get an airshow? :(

Postby MG Man » May 7th, 2012, 12:07 pm

several years back, circa 1998 / 1999 (subject to correction), there was a car show in chaguaramas, with a fly-by from some Venezuelan jets....I missed that bit but from what I heard, the sound was awesome...........that was probably the closest we got to an airshow :(

Postby crazybalhead » May 7th, 2012, 12:11 pm

maj. tom wrote:why can't we get an airshow? :(

One does not simply..

Put M&M's in a spec box with flares on the top of an F-18.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » May 7th, 2012, 12:12 pm

Sweeet!!

Postby eliteauto » May 7th, 2012, 12:13 pm

TTDF should really host another Military tattoo

idlemind

Postby idlemind » May 7th, 2012, 12:22 pm

Oh rfari...there isnt any real vantage point for pics from the roadside... the most you getting is a glimpse from around the bend by Katerserv.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » May 7th, 2012, 12:48 pm

MG Man wrote:several years back, circa 1998 / 1999 (subject to correction), there was a car show in chaguaramas, with a fly-by from some Venezuelan jets....I missed that bit but from what I heard, the sound was awesome...........that was probably the closest we got to an airshow :(

I remembered that. Those planes were LOUD! but I don't think it was nearly so long ago..

Postby MG Man » May 7th, 2012, 12:53 pm

hmm............might be wrong but I know it was around the time I bought my MGB, and was cruising up to chaguaramas to take in the car show......so doubtful it was before 2000

Postby rfari » May 7th, 2012, 12:57 pm

idlemind wrote:Oh rfari...there isnt any real vantage point for pics from the roadside... the most you getting is a glimpse from around the bend by Katerserv.

damn. i was hoping to get some pics but its raining on this side :(

VJTEK

Postby VJTEK » May 7th, 2012, 1:08 pm

MG Man, there was an airshow many years ago.

Can't remember the exact year but i remember seeing a C-130, a few attack helicopters and even a couple jets.

I believe it was hosted by AATT.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » May 7th, 2012, 1:14 pm

MG Man wrote:hmm............might be wrong but I know it was around the time I bought my MGB, and was cruising up to chaguaramas to take in the car show......so doubtful it was before 2000

well I guess it's a different one.. I think it was about '05

Postby MG Man » May 7th, 2012, 1:17 pm

mos def not 05....well not the one I attended

Postby sMASH » May 7th, 2012, 1:19 pm

ian and inshan better watch out....

Postby Habit7 » May 7th, 2012, 1:21 pm

Well Civil Aviation Annual Day is the closest thing we have to an airshow. They have static displays of local civil and military aircraft with 2 choppers and crop duster performing some manoeuvres at the end. They had a Venezuelan C-130 taking off too :roll:

But the problem is that with one well maintained +5000ft runway on the island it is hard to occupy it for an airshow when we have commercial flights every 2-5mins.

a couple F/A-18 Hornets in Piarco today *pic*

Postby rfari » May 7th, 2012, 2:19 pm

Saw the cargo plane after take-off about 5 mins ago.

Gx7

Postby Gx7 » May 7th, 2012, 2:58 pm

idlemind wrote:Where the Airport 2nrs??? NorStar..

was goin out on a flight got a few quick shots

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » May 7th, 2012, 3:01 pm

They just left.

DAMN those things sound sweet!

Postby pioneer » May 7th, 2012, 5:50 pm

OMG

damn :faint:

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » May 7th, 2012, 6:36 pm

FB PIC.

582148_10151670085030526_522020525_23934461_1639132224_n.jpg

Postby X2 » May 7th, 2012, 7:16 pm

Some experts in the house I see....

`psycho

Postby `psycho » May 7th, 2012, 7:55 pm

MG Man wrote:several years back, circa 1998 / 1999 (subject to correction), there was a car show in chaguaramas, with a fly-by from some Venezuelan jets....I missed that bit but from what I heard, the sound was awesome...........that was probably the closest we got to an airshow :(

Yep i remember this show, came just in time to see the F-16 Falcons do there bit. They also had a Av8B Harrier and a C130 Hercules.

Best air show ever held in Trini!!

Postby brams112 » May 7th, 2012, 8:09 pm

You do know it is against the law to take pictures or make a recording of anything that is happening on any port of entry?anywhere in the world eh.

Postby X2 » May 7th, 2012, 8:11 pm

brams112 wrote:You do know it is against the law to take pictures or make a recording of anything that is happening on any port of entry?anywhere in the world eh.

no eh....

Postby brams112 » May 7th, 2012, 8:20 pm

Since 911 x.

Postby Habit7 » May 7th, 2012, 8:58 pm

tell that to this site: www.airliners.net

Postby sMASH » May 7th, 2012, 9:10 pm

maybe, buh who goin an cetch yuh? i sure dem police eh even know bout that law.

Postby S_2NR » May 7th, 2012, 9:16 pm

brams112 wrote:You do know it is against the law to take pictures or make a recording of anything that is happening on any port of entry?anywhere in the world eh.

this is trinidad, nothing is illegal :fadein: