15" sub that would take 4000rms daily playing

Postby shotcaller » May 16th, 2012, 2:06 pm

Hey tuners recently finished my new system

System includes:

1 Treo SSX 15" dual 1 on MA Audio HK4000D
4 8s Beyma G40 on US Amps USA 400
2 18 sound drivers (ND2060) on PPI 4400.2
Behringer driverack
2 Powermaster XS batteries in the back (S3400 and D3100)
Shock Industries Wires and fuseblocks

When I first finished the system I had a Juggernaut 15. It was a modified sub with atomic and DD parts. Destroyed it first day of playing (coil unraveled) Recently got the Treo and now breaking it in with the gain on the amp right down and the bass on the driverack also very low. For some reason I dont think the sub would handle the 4000rms when the gain and the bass level is raised. the coil is already smelling slightly. The box I have for the 15 suits the juggernaut style speaker better. Extremely stiff loud bass.

Looking for something to handle 4000rms all day as I like playing music very loud while driving and liming. Considering the an Atomic apxx or building a beefier version of the juggernaut as i previously used.

Can experienced tuners give me some advise please on what would be some good choices ? Thank you in advance

agabriel

Re: 15" sub that would take 4000rms daily playing

Postby agabriel » May 16th, 2012, 3:25 pm

the treo would take it in a properly designed enclosure. i have one and i have an autotek mean machine 4000.1 on it and i use it daily playing no problem no smell nothing

Rattan Imports

Postby Rattan Imports » May 16th, 2012, 5:13 pm

agabriel wrote:the treo would take it in a properly designed enclosure. i have one and i have an autotek mean machine 4000.1 on it and i use it daily playing no problem no smell nothing

think he talking about 4000rms, the mean machine is 2000rms

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » May 16th, 2012, 5:15 pm

Theres a big difference in having a 4000 wrms rated amp on a sub and the sub actually seeing 4000wrms.
That being said, very few 3inch coils can take 4k thermally. You should look at subs with a 4 inch coil to be safe in the long run. Some fool is most likely gonna run in here n bawl " oh but Frankie in d cyar show have 4 k per sub and it beating dan"

Look at how many of those subs from " competition cars " that try to play music long term have the glue around the dustcap showing that it has been reconed.

Ground zero has a sub that may handle that power. The plutonium line: 15QX model

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 16th, 2012, 6:07 pm

my question to you OP,why do you all modify subs?? if the company built it for a particular rating and handling why do you all play the arse with them?

agabriel

Postby agabriel » May 16th, 2012, 8:59 pm

roshan1 wrote:
agabriel wrote:the treo would take it in a properly designed enclosure. i have one and i have an autotek mean machine 4000.1 on it and i use it daily playing no problem no smell nothing

think he talking about 4000rms, the mean machine is 2000rms

http://www.lightav.com/car/autotek/amps/Superd.html

^^^ The mean machine is 4000 rms @ 2ohms straight down on the page above right hand side.

2000 rms x2 @ 1 ohm
4000 rms x1 @ 2ohm

agabriel

Postby agabriel » May 16th, 2012, 9:04 pm

if u lookin for a new sub u could check out the massive audio DMX
http://www.massiveaudio.com/store/produ ... 265&page=1
contact david from audio asylum 710-2001
rated 1250rms but u cud bring yuh 4000 rms amp and beat it like a good friday boobolee and the sub will take it and laugh at you

shotcaller

Postby shotcaller » May 16th, 2012, 10:11 pm

crackie offers to take my sub and build a sub for me. As I previously said a beefier version of the modified jug i previously had. I really believe that its the enclosure the groundzero and other subs mentioned is way out of my price range. Really getting fed up of throwing money behind this system and not enjoying it as yet. I know about the autotek, casper had one on his first single 12 system in his b14 and it used to perform really well.

Really considering building a sub. Anyone with experience could recommend the parts they would use in building the suitable sub for my application. The enclosure is basic with 2 ports firing on the sides of the box. The juggernaut sounded extremely loud with decent lows in this enclosure.

Postby kurpal_v2 » May 16th, 2012, 10:39 pm

Mind posting more specifics about your box?

I think that is your limiting factor. You don't need a new sub IMO.

And I agree with everyone else, on that electrical I won't be surprised to see you only getting 50% of useable power from the amp.

DE AUDIO

Postby DE AUDIO » May 16th, 2012, 11:20 pm

SSA ZCON 15

Postby SR » May 17th, 2012, 5:44 am

shotcaller wrote:crackie offers to take my sub and build a sub for me. As I previously said a beefier version of the modified jug i previously had. I really believe that its the enclosure the groundzero and other subs mentioned is way out of my price range. Really getting fed up of throwing money behind this system and not enjoying it as yet. I know about the autotek, casper had one on his first single 12 system in his b14 and it used to perform really well.

Really considering building a sub. Anyone with experience could recommend the parts they would use in building the suitable sub for my application. The enclosure is basic with 2 ports firing on the sides of the box. The juggernaut sounded extremely loud with decent lows in this enclosure.

smh

what did you expect
the design on your system is poor

4000 rms for bass for a daily listening system??
and only 1 15".....
i am sure with less power and more cone area it would be louder for "daily playing"

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » May 17th, 2012, 8:24 am

First Things First... The Treo SSX 15" Is Rated 2500RMS....

Second Is That MA Audio HK4000D Is Rated 3600rms @ 2ohm @ 14.4v And 4000rms @ 2ohm @ 17.0v.... I Doubt Your System Doing 17v So The Actual Power You Getting From That Amp Should Be Able To Push The Treo Comfortable.... :|

Third... Why Would You Put The Treo In The Jug Box... Thats Not The Correct Box For The Sub... Thats Why It Was Probably Smelling... Wrong Cubic To Breath In There....

agabriel

Postby agabriel » May 17th, 2012, 9:09 am

-Roach- wrote:
Why Would You Put The Treo In The Jug Box... Thats Not The Correct Box For The Sub... Thats Why It Was Probably Smelling... Wrong Cubic To Breath In There....

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » May 17th, 2012, 10:41 am

is that amp 1ohm stable & is d sub d2 & wired to 1ohm ?

how is ur voltage holding up ?

a true 4k is alot & u shouldnt be playing full tilt for long , have 4k doesnt necessarily mean u must use all 4k , leave some headroom on d amp & run ur system at about 3\4 or less

SR have a point too with 4k on 1 sub , u cud share that power with at least 2 12s or even 3 10s which is more cone area in that same space by using some pvc or aeroport pipes to save on space & still have good output ...

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 17th, 2012, 12:34 pm

compare the surface area of your eardrums to the size of a 15" sub plus 4 8's and 2 drivers

computercentral

Postby computercentral » May 17th, 2012, 1:56 pm

hey i have a 15" sub built by hi level audio 7k every day looking to sell call me 784 9446 last demo at mk show

shotcaller

Postby shotcaller » May 17th, 2012, 2:07 pm

The box was built for the treo...just used the jug at first to play the ass with until i got the treo. Amp puts out 3600rms at 2ohms and the sub is dual 1.

I see people in carshows put 7000rms + on single subs in carshows even 12" subs and no problems.
computercentral I kno that 15"...loudest single sub ive ever heard in my life but just wanna trade my sub for something else....cash low these days

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » May 17th, 2012, 2:10 pm

Theres no 15 inch sub on the market that any company offers that is being sold right now that can take 4000rms to play musical bass (not burping)

Your sub is not going to see even 2500rms of clean power in that car with that electric

I don't think your sub is burning because of overpowering.
Somebody knowledgeable needs to explain some things to you that u don't seem to have clear.

If u check me I could do some investigations with some meters and tell u the exact cause.

All of us cud only guess to help you from home infront our computer

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » May 17th, 2012, 2:14 pm

And if u think it have ppl putting 7000rms on a sub in show and gallerying with that?

10grand on the table I say they aren't
Put your half and bring your car for testing.

computercentral

Postby computercentral » May 17th, 2012, 2:18 pm

i could bring my sub for testing to and have 10,000.00 waiting

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » May 17th, 2012, 2:27 pm

U sure bout that padna?
You think whoever told you that sub takes 7k could stand their ground here?

computercentral

Postby computercentral » May 17th, 2012, 2:34 pm

Yes................. are you going mk will meet you there and play it for you

agabriel

Postby agabriel » May 17th, 2012, 2:56 pm

noyztoyz wrote:And if u think it have ppl putting 7000rms on a sub in show and gallerying with that?

10grand on the table I say they aren't
Put your half and bring your car for testing.

so u bettin 10 grand dat ppl not usin 7000rms on a sub in show like yuh a 10 grand to loss i cud enter dat bet or wat?? 8-) 8-) 8-)

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » May 17th, 2012, 3:14 pm

Sorry to op for getting this tred off track, just call me sometime ill explain some things to u to make up for it.

One a time please.
7000 rms on a sub to gallery bass for 45 seconds.
Would prefer to not do this Saturday cuz 2 reasons, I wont personally be there and.. for you, one surprise will hurt less than two.

Maybe somebody spectating who is knowledgeable in this field cud draw up the conditions for this that we must both agree too cuz I don't know bout he^^
but I dead serious bout this

Fed up hear man say dey sub taking 4k, 7k even hear a man say '10k comfortable'. Has to stop.

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » May 17th, 2012, 3:15 pm

I free Sunday for all who up to this challenge

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » May 17th, 2012, 3:26 pm

No Sub Can Be Rated To Take 7000rms Musically... Thats Nonsense.... Burp/Peak Maybe... Lol... For The Guys Who Put That Amount Of Power On Their Speaker... Its Strictly For Car Show And Competition.... Meaning They Can Only Play Their Bass On Full Potential For A Short Amount Of Time...

Computercentral Meh Padna Have 2 15" Blue Cone Audiopipe On 2 Power Acoustic A3000DB.... Im Pretty Sure You CANNOT Play LONGER Than Him... Lol... I'll Give You Up To 5 FULL Songs MAX... I Know You Not Capable Of Playing That... Yes Your Speaker Could Probably Handle 7000rms... But For How Long?.... 45 secs x 3?....

Postby SR » May 17th, 2012, 3:31 pm

4000W Digital Class X Competition Mono Block Amplifier
RMS Power @ 14.4V

1800W x 1 @ 4 Ohm
3600W x 1 @ 2 Ohm

RMS Power @ 17.0V

2000W @ 4 Ohm
4000W @ 2 Ohm

start with these specs................

at 14.4 volts at 2 ohm the amp puts out 3600rms according to the specs............

i doubt very much your electrical system is maintaining 14.4 volts while playing at idle

specs does not say at what freq that power was measured..........different manufacturers use different ways of claiming power output

illest144

Postby illest144 » May 17th, 2012, 3:31 pm

leh dem play usher hey daddy......full song on dere 7k :D

shotcaller

Postby shotcaller » May 17th, 2012, 3:35 pm

at full crank voltage is 12V and less

noyztoyz

Postby noyztoyz » May 17th, 2012, 3:54 pm

And that's why your sub smells/Burns. Amplifiers put out not clean power below 12v, a lot of dc, clipping, burn out any sub.