wraith

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby wraith » May 18th, 2012, 9:02 am

Smeed wrote:
francis1979 wrote:
16 cycles wrote:fishing under an oil rig / platform could be dangerous for you and the ppl operating them

any release of hydrocarbons + ignition source nearby = fried fish + humans

Just to add on "16 cycles" comment

If you are within the 500m for a Rig or Platofrom some operators in Trinidad will request that you leave the location because of Safety and Security concerns. One of the "Operator's vessel" will be with you until you depart.

seen this many times- supply boats chasing off pirogues.... on the flipside, also saw guys with pirogues tied off to platforms fishing... some guys on the rig managed to trade some food and drinks for a coupla large barracuda and snappers.

Well I really don't want to travel 40miles to be told no fishing so I guess I will stick to my areas.

Thanks for the info.

Skanky

Postby Skanky » May 18th, 2012, 10:22 am

wraith wrote:
Smeed wrote:
francis1979 wrote:
16 cycles wrote:fishing under an oil rig / platform could be dangerous for you and the ppl operating them

any release of hydrocarbons + ignition source nearby = fried fish + humans

Just to add on "16 cycles" comment

If you are within the 500m for a Rig or Platofrom some operators in Trinidad will request that you leave the location because of Safety and Security concerns. One of the "Operator's vessel" will be with you until you depart.

seen this many times- supply boats chasing off pirogues.... on the flipside, also saw guys with pirogues tied off to platforms fishing... some guys on the rig managed to trade some food and drinks for a coupla large barracuda and snappers.

Well I really don't want to travel 40miles to be told no fishing so I guess I will stick to my areas.

Thanks for the info.

They're right;it's called the exclusion zone and it's usually about a 500m zone around the structure.
That being said I've been on a few rov as well as diving jobs and the sizes of fish you see around rigs and platforms might be enough to tempt anybody.The leftover food is usually dumped over the side a few times a day so you can just imagine the size of fish down there eating those free meals everyday.

Postby Razkal » May 18th, 2012, 10:27 am

^my new hobby within a hobby is searching for drop-offs and ledges, any new significant structure that affects current down there...been working too, way more bites regardless of the time of day once you find a good depth change/structure.

look for wrecks..caribbean waters have had their fair share of naval battles in history..lots of wrecks to find and fish...BIG AJ's! :D

Sabot

Postby Sabot » May 18th, 2012, 7:55 pm

Anyone knows if there is still seaweed along the East coast between Manzan to Guaya?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 20th, 2012, 3:31 pm

well see if i cud find out for u sabot...

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » May 20th, 2012, 5:35 pm

Sabot wrote:Anyone knows if there is still seaweed along the East coast between Manzan to Guaya?

What is the reason for "seaweed search" looking for a particular fish type or fishing strategy

Sabot

Postby Sabot » May 20th, 2012, 10:16 pm

francis1979 wrote:
Sabot wrote:Anyone knows if there is still seaweed along the East coast between Manzan to Guaya?

What is the reason for "seaweed search" looking for a particular fish type or fishing strategy

Not really, want to do some surf fishing for bottom fish, (lippie/ black bream in particular), but 2 weeks ago on my search for same, along the coast from Mazan straight to Guaya was inundated with seaweed. Very difficult to fish light tackle with this amount of seaweed in the water. Don't want to head so far to meet the same thing this week. Even from Matura to Toco had to some extent.

Anyone in the know?

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 20th, 2012, 11:57 pm

i believe around this time every year have weeds in the water on the whole east, south-east zone...

proton17

Postby proton17 » May 21st, 2012, 9:36 am

Went manzan yesterday, no seaweed. Water was rough because of the new moon though. Lots of mullet from finger size to almost a foot right on the shore where the big eye fish does lime too.

Real small fish was biting like zilwan and melwish on my smaller rigged rod but I was really trying for cavalli with the live bait but it was a rising tide and dem cavalli does more bite on the falling....

Sabot

Postby Sabot » May 21st, 2012, 10:57 am

proton17 wrote:Went manzan yesterday, no seaweed. Water was rough because of the new moon though. Lots of mullet from finger size to almost a foot right on the shore where the big eye fish does lime too.

Real small fish was biting like zilwan and melwish on my smaller rigged rod but I was really trying for cavalli with the live bait but it was a rising tide and dem cavalli does more bite on the falling....

Nice, looks like I'll be heading up that side this week.

Thanks

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 21st, 2012, 9:17 pm

check me wen yuh heading nah sabot, i cud make ah mission...

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 23rd, 2012, 2:28 pm

hey guys, i have ah reel up for sale..check it out...

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=440999

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » May 23rd, 2012, 2:47 pm

20lbs

held over the weekend.

Postby pugboy » May 23rd, 2012, 5:02 pm

cavalli take live big mullet easy
to catch the big mullet you have to "sprang" them

CRE

Postby CRE » May 23rd, 2012, 5:57 pm

Guys need a boat (with bait well) for hire to go fishing saturday (North Coast) .

Could anyone hook me up with a contact number?

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » May 23rd, 2012, 6:08 pm

Where d facking d carite gone :/

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 23rd, 2012, 8:01 pm

cyah say bro...i ent gone out long time but i looking to change dat as soon as possible...

venomz

Postby venomz » May 23rd, 2012, 8:33 pm

over the past month, point fortin, la brea jetty, chair foot salmon and hammer head shark.

north coast cavalli and mutton snapper

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 23rd, 2012, 9:58 pm

where all dem fishermen dey...dey cyah be out fishing bcuz i ent seeing no pics or hearing anything...lol

todd61

Postby todd61 » May 24th, 2012, 1:58 am

i haven't went fishing in about a month now,and i missing it

Sabot

Postby Sabot » May 24th, 2012, 8:20 am

venomz wrote:over the past month, point fortin, la brea jetty, chair foot salmon and hammer head shark.

Nello FTW 0X

Postby Razkal » May 24th, 2012, 10:48 am

RichieRich wrote:Where d facking d carite gone :/

allyuh stickin, i drop the word, locations and bait when the carite was thick around five islands...

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » May 24th, 2012, 10:54 am

Razkal wrote:

allyuh stickin, i drop the word, locations and bait when the carite was thick around five islands...

it real hard when u go out and hold only 5 fish.... man must be cussin and complaining...

Postby Razkal » May 24th, 2012, 12:28 pm

^that's why its called fishing and not catching. patience is the name of the game.

i stopped toting home coolers full of fish anyway..it looks moderately impressive in pics...but does nothing for the ecology except deplete juvenile stock...fish all day, use circles, capture the caught fish on video/pics, release most, keep a couple for munching.

we threw back almost all the carite we caught, kept maybe about 4 or 5 that were a little larger than forearm size.

next trip for me is probably a banking trip...fed up hold carite and small tarps with that live bait..may try bell buoy for some snapper and chum to see if we could attract a cobia or something nice

venomz

Postby venomz » May 24th, 2012, 6:07 pm

^ when u goin by the bell bouy check me nah

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » May 24th, 2012, 7:43 pm

check out the some gd gears guys...

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=440999

RichieRich
2NR MILF Hunter

Postby RichieRich » May 24th, 2012, 9:07 pm

ray786 wrote:
Razkal wrote:

it real hard when u go out and hold only 5 fish.... man must be cussin and complaining...

At least I have pics to prove it unlike plenty talkers that pretend dey know so much

Postby meccalli » May 24th, 2012, 11:30 pm

mmm....muttons. hehe nice catch venomz.

Postby Razkal » May 25th, 2012, 12:40 am

RichieRich wrote:
ray786 wrote:
Razkal wrote:

At least I have pics to prove it unlike plenty talkers that pretend dey know so much

to prove what!? :lol: that you is a fisherman? or that you catch more than 5 fish? :lol:

fishing isn't about who full the cooler or how fast. if that's how you think about it, you haven't really enjoyed a fishing trip yet imo.

Postby Razkal » May 25th, 2012, 12:47 am

venomz wrote:^ when u goin by the bell bouy check me nah

will do, most likely that trip will be a nello mish, the friend that usually takes us on his boat is doing some maintenance so capt'n nello's services will be required lol..

need to buy hooks...anyone ever ordered circle hooks in bulk? i want like a 2/0 or 3/0 size in the same gauge steel as those no2 and no3 J-hooks...

i get them easily in Reel Tackle..but they only retail 5-hook bags and i want to stock some.