Head Porting prices

CD4Accord

Head Porting prices

Postby CD4Accord » May 28th, 2012, 10:00 pm

Hi everyone, I need some advice here..

The accord (F20B2) blew the head gasket so most likely I have to shave the head..
I have to pull the head so I figure this is the perfect time to port it as I don't know when next i'll have a chance like this to do it..

I know that Rado (Precision Heads) is probably the best bet but I just don't have the money for that right now.. As an alternative I have been calling a few of the machine shops and most don't do porting.
Zim's said shave + port would be $2600
Pappy's phone number doesn't work

Do any of you know any good machine shops that will be willing to port and shave the head for a reasonable price? I am not expecting something under $1300 but a reasonable price wouldn't be as hard to swallow..

Thanks everyone

CD4Accord

Re: Head Porting prices

Postby CD4Accord » June 2nd, 2012, 4:12 pm

bump for assistance?

Postby 3stagevtec » June 6th, 2012, 11:58 pm

bump..

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » June 13th, 2012, 6:55 am

^^all yuh get through?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 13th, 2012, 5:25 pm

Clearly not...
At least not as yet

NR8

Postby NR8 » June 14th, 2012, 11:09 pm

Hey man, I now remembered that I had to get the cylinder head on my GA15S shaved last year. They charged $160 for that. I don't know if the shop does porting as well but you can call them to find out.

Duncan Village Machine Shop 657-3860

chosen1

Postby chosen1 » June 15th, 2012, 9:49 am

i got my b12 head shaved at D. Rampersad in chaguanas...dont know if they do porting though.

NR8

Postby NR8 » June 15th, 2012, 7:00 pm

^^^ was just about to mention them. I wonder how their prices are though.

CD4Accord any update?

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 15th, 2012, 11:03 pm

NO updates on porting prices yet, but I can confirm that the two above mentioned machine shops only shave and do not port..

I need to have a good talk to Pappy's and see what they can come up with..

FullStop

Postby FullStop » June 17th, 2012, 10:37 pm

have to say most local machine shops are really sad, none in chaguanas area can even do left thread taps...Pappy's head shaving work is brilliant good and their prices are excellent as well, can only recommend rado for head porting, I'm actually still looking for someone to repin a cam for me, hard to get precise machining locally...

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » June 19th, 2012, 11:41 am

op,i can link u with someone who might be able to help allyuh out. he does all machine shop work for me!

if u interested let me know! :)

yakuza

Postby yakuza » June 20th, 2012, 6:52 am

OP unless you just cleaning up the casting imperfections, head porting without a flow bench is guess work.... you may end up lowering the CFM in the process.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 20th, 2012, 9:35 am

Honestly, cleaning up imperfections is the main concern for now but all that will be decided once we take a good look at the head..

Postby MG Man » June 20th, 2012, 1:29 pm

if u can't afford Rado, u might as well do it yourself.......without a flow bench anybody else will be guessing anyway, as yakuza said

yakuza

Postby yakuza » June 20th, 2012, 5:07 pm

^ yup.... a dremel, flapwheel sander, abrasive buff and you orn, just don't go crazy and remove too much material.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » June 21st, 2012, 1:01 am

Dremel I have, flywheel sander I can get... Worth considering but I just don't trust myself enough..
I guess that I could take a look and make a decision.. Have to learn at some point

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 21st, 2012, 6:21 am

CD4Accord wrote:Dremel I have, flywheel sander I can get... Worth considering but I just don't trust myself enough..
I guess that I could take a look and make a decision.. Have to learn at some point
I have seen a head that had to be thrown away, after a "butcher" from a famous local machine shop finished with it...
ALL the protruding valve guide bosses were removed... NONE of the valves would seat AT ALL after that!

Why do you trust another novice with a machine shop... but you don't trust yourself?

IMHO do NOT try anything more than a simple "gasket matching" job... especially if you have to deck the head because of overheating. It's now thinner (and weaker) than before.

Google "porting"... "gasket matching"... "porting [your model] Accord cylinder head"... etc. etc.
Read... Read and then READ some more.

BTW Dremmel may not be powerful enough. If not, buy a good ELECTRIC grinder (ebay or Eastwood.)
Do NOT "hog out" material... remember... LESS is more! Pay attention to yakuza's advice.
yakuza wrote:OP unless you just cleaning up the casting imperfections, head porting without a flow bench is guess work.... you may end up lowering the CFM in the process.

Post results please.

My $0.02¢

yakuza

Postby yakuza » June 21st, 2012, 6:37 am

Sanctifier wrote:IMHO do NOT try anything more than a simple "gasket matching" job

BTW Dremmel may not be powerful enough.

Good advice.

As a novice I think he should start wit the less powerful dremel, I have a 10 speed dremel and it works fine (for light sanding and buffing, not necessarily for removing material), just bare in mind that you will have to buy alot of sanders, as you will be changing them regularly.

Postby MG Man » June 21st, 2012, 9:47 am

yup
Sanctifier offers good advice as always
A good port match will go a long way......all u need is the grinder, some markers and a piece of paper :)

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 8th, 2014, 8:38 am

so any updates with porting prices?

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » April 19th, 2014, 11:48 am

^ contact Rado on the forum

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » April 20th, 2014, 10:08 am

red_dragon wrote:^ contact Rado on the forum

Thanks

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » May 10th, 2014, 6:33 pm

If the pappy referred to is the one from El Socorro the last I heard is that he moved. I think it's princess town he moved to.