600kms Fuel Mileage - NZE 121

It's all about 4AGE, NZE, 3SGTE, 1JZ, 2JZ etc.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » May 12th, 2012, 9:40 pm

Filled up my tank with premium 165tt to fill and managed to get over 600kms to a tank of gas. I was really pleasantly surprised with this kind of economy - similar to diesel minus the cost. What kinda mileage fellow NZE-ists getting out there ?

Set up is bone stuck...stock plugs...stock air filter...everything factory.

fareed7298

Re: 600kms Fuel Mileage - NZE 121

Postby fareed7298 » May 13th, 2012, 9:35 pm

i get 450 to 500 at best and mine is the 1.5 nze

dan86

Postby dan86 » May 13th, 2012, 10:10 pm

That's right. I used to get 565-600 km with the stock 14 in. wheels, spark plugs, air filter, etc. premium gas

Now i get around 500-550 km with 16 in. wheels. Premium or super gas gives about the same mileage.

Changing from 14s to 16s made the difference in fuel economy. 1.5 engine too

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 13th, 2012, 10:43 pm

I get that 600km on highway run from St Augustine to Othahite and back, that is four days (1/4 tank a day).
St Augustine to POS and back does be like sheit in all that traffic, 400km for the most aka 4 days (1/4 in two days) Does make me wonder if d car burning gas. Sometimes it does be less if ah get more traffic.

Postby pugboy » May 14th, 2012, 4:02 pm

I get around 500-540km driving with a/c and around 120kmh
I have squeezed 600 already driving a little slower
could be easily done though

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 15th, 2012, 10:56 pm

I usually get about 475-550 from a tank of super. That includes fast driving and traffic.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » May 16th, 2012, 10:44 pm

dat is pure wetting, yuh cant beat them nze 121....

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 18th, 2012, 11:27 am

Just went to the mechanic for regular service. Would you believe the car had no oil. Apparently it had a small leak by the rocker cover gasket.

So I have been driving without oil and nothing was wrong with car.

WOW !!!

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 18th, 2012, 11:32 am

Just went to the mechanic for regular service. Would you believe the car had no oil. Apparently it had a small leak by the rocker cover gasket.

WOW !!!

ADONI

Postby ADONI » May 21st, 2012, 11:27 am

Wow!!! Wah oil yuh was using doh?!

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » May 21st, 2012, 11:38 am

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

What oil you was using?

Postby BrotherHood » May 21st, 2012, 1:54 pm

OP, that 600kms you got for the almost empty tank, what were the driving conditions? A/C on or off? What was the traffic like? What speed do you cruise at on the highway?

I find that mileage to be excellent IMO. On my Mitsubishi with A/C on 50% of the time I spend in the car, traffic heading east on afternoons and crusing at between 80-100 kmph, I get between 350-400 kms per tank of gas, super unleaded.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » May 23rd, 2012, 9:22 am

OP I would also like to know what oil you used, thanks.

Postby black start » May 23rd, 2012, 11:40 am

BrotherHood wrote:On my Mitsubishi with A/C on 50% of the time I spend in the car, traffic heading east on afternoons and crusing at between 80-100 kmph, I get between 350-400 kms per tank of gas, super unleaded.

time to sell your mitsu bro :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby BrotherHood » May 24th, 2012, 12:18 am

lost soul wrote:
BrotherHood wrote:On my Mitsubishi with A/C on 50% of the time I spend in the car, traffic heading east on afternoons and crusing at between 80-100 kmph, I get between 350-400 kms per tank of gas, super unleaded.

time to sell your mitsu bro :lol: :lol: :lol:

My next vehicle was always going to be an NZE and this has definitely cemented my decision.

dan86

Postby dan86 » May 24th, 2012, 10:29 am

I had a CK4 lancer that gave about the same gas mileage - 20-23 mpg

Some figures from previous fill ups:
Edit: 1.5 NZE
With no traffic on main roads, 120-130 km/h on highway with no AC or hardly AC on, i got 323.2 km from half tank ($61 to fill back up with super.
Thats 33.6 mpg.

With heavy traffic and A/C on most of the time, i got 429.5 km from 3/4 tank (it took $150 to fill up with super) so thats 26.9 mpg

By extrapolation, i should get 488 km and 608 km before the light comes on,
but it doesn't work like that. The second half tank finishes faster than the first

I dont usually run the tank down so low as the op, so i dont have recent figures for kms on a full tank

Postby stev » May 24th, 2012, 4:38 pm

in trinidad...i didnt see or hear bout a car that tops the NZE on gas mileage. not even the new corrola dem making that high i heard from an owner.

Silvafoxx

Postby Silvafoxx » May 28th, 2012, 2:49 pm

ZZE121 (Altis 1.6L) 41.5 L / 557 Km - Gas prem

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 28th, 2012, 6:29 pm

[X]~Outlaw wrote::shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

What oil you was using?

Mobil 1 synthetic 10W30

Val

Postby Val » May 28th, 2012, 6:32 pm

dan86 wrote:That's right. I used to get 565-600 km with the stock 14 in. wheels, spark plugs, air filter, etc. premium gas

Now i get around 500-550 km with 16 in. wheels. Premium or super gas gives about the same mileage.

It makes a difference in the distance calculation for the tripmeter too, so you may actually be getting similar fuel mileage.

My 1.5 NZE going on 160,000 kms gives 400 - 500 kms (based on the tripmeter working with 205/50/17 wheels) for the tank with super unleaded. Stock except for K&N filter.

Mobil 1 is the best oil I've used in the Corolla in terms of reduced engine noise and vibration.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 28th, 2012, 6:37 pm

I was in a driving seminar recently and the guy holding the seminar said that you should never let you tank run less than half.

Now if your second half of the tank finishes faster than the first half then you should get even more mileage if you fill up at half tank.

Can anyone confirm if this is true?

Postby BrotherHood » May 28th, 2012, 9:42 pm

I just rel suprised at them kinda figures dred...... Always heard about the mileage on the NZE to be very good but this is excellent.....well compared to figures that I have been seeing and getting.

dan86

Postby dan86 » June 3rd, 2012, 5:46 pm

Ok. First time in a few years I let the tank run this low, just to see how muck kms i could get.
Gas light came on at 557 km.

563.7 kms isn't bad. Mixture of highway and main road driving, not much traffic and a/c on half the time. Had some spirited driving on the second half tank doing 130-160 a few times.

toyota2nr wrote:I was in a driving seminar recently and the guy holding the seminar said that you should never let you tank run less than half.

Now if your second half of the tank finishes faster than the first half then you should get even more mileage if you fill up at half tank.

Can anyone confirm if this is true?

Yes. Thats why I fill up as soon as the level reaches half. I got 380 kms on the first half from the pic above.
I think the first half takes longer to finish than the second for a few reasons:

1: If you fill right up to the cap, you get about 1-1.5 L more gas (filler hose capacity)

2: When you fill the tank, the fuel level surpasses the float inside the tank. The amount of fuel consumed from real full to tank gauge full is not reflected on the gauge.

3: As the fuel level falls, there is more space for fuel vaporization in the tank. The lower the level falls, more fuel vaporizes and you end up with less liquid going to the engine.

4: The bottom half of the tank is physically smaller than the top half (i looked at my tank). Plus, there are grooves for the hangers, strength, etc to there is less volume capacity in the second half. The gauge measures level and not volume, so the bottom half has less volume in the same level span as the top.

Individually, these reasons make a small impact on the difference between gas mileage for the top and bottom halves of the gas tank, but all of them together (plus more that i cant think of right now) would make a big difference.

Val wrote:
dan86 wrote:That's right. I used to get 565-600 km with the stock 14 in. wheels, spark plugs, air filter, etc. premium gas

It makes a difference in the distance calculation for the tripmeter too, so you may actually be getting similar fuel mileage.

My 1.5 NZE going on 160,000 kms gives 400 - 500 kms (based on the tripmeter working with 205/50/17 wheels) for the tank with super unleaded. Stock except for K&N filter.

That's really good gas mileage. I didn't think about that with the trip meter and wheel size. I tried to keep the same rolling diameter but its not exactly the same as the original.
I thought bigger wheels n wider tires were heavier and had more rolling resistance. Will look into that.......... Thanks

sotf

Postby sotf » June 5th, 2012, 9:02 pm

toyota2nr wrote:Just went to the mechanic for regular service. Would you believe the car had no oil. Apparently it had a small leak by the rocker cover gasket.

WOW !!!

Who is your mechanic?

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 8th, 2012, 7:32 pm

I use Mobil 10 30

Val

Postby Val » June 9th, 2012, 7:35 am

That's really good gas mileage. I didn't think about that with the trip meter and wheel size. I tried to keep the same rolling diameter but its not exactly the same as the original.
I thought bigger wheels n wider tires were heavier and had more rolling resistance. Will look into that.......... Thanks

bear in mind I have Konig Helium ultralight wheels.
I double checked the speed difference with a gps app on my phone and the speedo wasn't more than 1mph off from the gps. So I guess the difference in mileage isn't much.

Cleaned the maf sensor today (sensor wires were very black with dust and slight oil from the K&N). So I will see what difference that makes, if any.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 9th, 2012, 8:22 am

Where did you get the konigs from dude ? I'm looking for a set of 15 inch.

Val

Postby Val » June 10th, 2012, 6:58 am

Dean's wheels.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » June 10th, 2012, 9:33 am

^ nah jed - them men to to to expensive !!!

roshanmaharaj2003

Postby roshanmaharaj2003 » July 15th, 2012, 7:58 pm

in my fielder with 1.5 engine. normally gets 3 complete days from Rio Claro to POS and back. in the morning no AC and in the evening AC. thats around 530 Km. and I usually drives hard. i also has 17 inch rims, and platinum plugs. Everything else is stock. the oil ii use is Castrol magnatec 20W50

Return to “TOYOTA”