Is drinking 8 glasses of water a day a myth?

Postby sharkman121 » June 12th, 2012, 6:05 pm

8 glasses of water a day 'an urban myth'
Water and a well-balanced diet 'do far more than water alone,' Australian researcher says

The common advice to drink eight glasses of water a day doesn't hold water, say nutrition and kidney specialists who want to dispel the myth.

"What drove us to drink two litres of water a day?" asks an editorial in this week's issue of the Australian and New Zealand Journal of Public Health.

The recommendation was driven by vested interests rather than health, suggests author Speros Tsindos of the department of dietetics and human nutrition at La Trobe University in Victoria, Australia.

Chef Rodney Bowers, left, pours a glass of water as Russell Smith, organizer of a campaign to encourage the drinking of tap water instead of bottled water at restaurants, looks on. Other beverages also help us meet the body's fluid needs, say nutrition specialists. (Aaron Harris/Canadian Press)
"Humans need to maintain fluid balance and need to drink water when required, but should also consider fluid in unprocessed fruits and vegetables and juices. There is further evidence that water and a well-balanced diet does far more than water alone," Tsindos wrote.

"Water is important for health; however, the recommendation of eight glasses of pure water per day appears an overestimation of requirements."

Even a baked potato is 75 per cent water, said nutrition Prof. Susan Barr of the University of British Colombia, who sat on a Canadian-U.S. committee that looked at fluid intake.

"There's nothing magical about water from a glass of water as opposed to water from a food or any other beverage," Barr said.

Drinking caffeinated beverages such as tea and coffee do not lead to dehydration, said Dr. Stanley Goldfarb, a nephrologist at the University of Pennsylvania who reviewed research claims on drinking eight glasses of water and studied how the kidneys handle it.

Let thirst guide you
"Drinking the coffee will count towards your total water intake for the day," Goldfarb said.

Goldfarb said despite the common idea that it's important to "drink eight glasses of eight ounces of water" a day, "There’s no evidence that benefits health in any real way and it really represents an urban myth."

There's no evidence you need to drink more water than what thirst dictates, Goldfarb added.

Studies on desert nomads showed people can consume minimal amounts of water in harsh environments. The military has also looked at how much water soldiers need to take with them when patrolling in hot climates without harming their performance.

"If one is just playing a game of tennis in an indoor facility, for example, or having a short run on a treadmill in an air-conditioned gym, the need to maintain hydration during that is just non-existent," Goldfarb advised.

People have died of dehydration and from drinking too much water too quickly.

A good guide to tell if the body’s finely tuned fluid balance is to check the colour of your urine. If it's very dark, you're on the dry side; if it's very light or translucent, then you need to drink a bit less water, said Dr. David Price, head of family medicine at McMaster University in Hamilton, Ont.

Re: Is drinking 8 glasses of water a day a myth?

Postby sharkman121 » June 12th, 2012, 6:09 pm

nice vid here, not sure how to embed though.

http://www.cbsnews.com/2100-18563_162-3991145.html" />
Last edited by sharkman121 on June 12th, 2012, 7:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Bizzare » June 12th, 2012, 6:10 pm

buh since primary i know daz a myth. i didn't know that advice was actually followed. That is wayyyy over the adequate amount that the human body requires :lol:

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 12th, 2012, 6:37 pm

^^ so true..i tried id that a lot a friggin water to drink in one day

Postby sharkman121 » June 12th, 2012, 6:42 pm

somebody embed d vid for mih nah :|

not saying i agree with it 100% but i want Vega and his 8 LITRES of water a day to see this.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » June 12th, 2012, 7:11 pm

i work on the outside all day and most days i walk with a gallon of water most hot days i drink it all

Postby K74T » June 12th, 2012, 7:16 pm

IBVega

Postby shogun » June 12th, 2012, 7:17 pm

^Damn! you beat me to it.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 12th, 2012, 7:30 pm

sharkman121 wrote:somebody embed d vid for mih nah :|

not saying i agree with it 100% but i want Vega and his 8 LITRES of water a day to see this.

wah 8 litres?....get it right please....minimum of 10 litres thank you... 8-)

my reasons for superhydration are different from what this article states....

Besides, who want to drink little to no water I have no problem with that....let them fix to suit.

Give them a while and you would see how these researchers/scientists would about face this proclamation.....

Case in point:-

one minute coffee bad, then it's good
zaboca bad, then it's new wonder food
red wine bad, then good for heart....

water therapy is an ancient ayurvedic treatment.....and why bother with such aged stuff? well it seems many researchers turn to these texts for treatment in this modern age.....

Postby Bizzare » June 12th, 2012, 8:01 pm

Your body tells you when it's lacking water. It's called thirst. And thirst doesn't mean u gotta be panting with a dry throat. Forcing water down your body when you're clearly filled up on water and not in need can even be detrimental. Read up on "water intoxication".

I use to fool myself too thinking I'm being all healthy and sh1t by stuffing more than sufficient water down my gut :lol: That's ignorance and you can pay for that later on by thinking you doing something good to the body. There are products out there for ridding the body of contaminants. Going on a water craze is not the way.

I'm sure you heard and believe that too much of a good/one thing is not good. Water included.

Postby Trini Hookah » June 12th, 2012, 8:23 pm

I don't see anything wrong with Vega's amt, everybody has to know themselves when they're thirsty and what activities they have to complete during the day.

As I said in the sweat ched, I MUST drink ATLEAST 1.5L of water every sweat or I can't function.

Rx

Postby Rx » June 12th, 2012, 8:31 pm

I need my 7 to 8 glasses per day... not me and kidney stones again. No Sah !

Postby sharkman121 » June 12th, 2012, 9:18 pm

Rx wrote:not me and kidney stones again. No Sah !

damn right... never again.

Bizzare, yr right there are a lot of ppl out there who still dont know about water poisoning.

Postby meccalli » June 12th, 2012, 9:43 pm

I drink wayyy more than 8 glasses, tell researchers hold that.

Postby Hook » June 12th, 2012, 11:50 pm

I drink at least a gallon of water daily yo...dem researchers could suck it.

Postby BrotherHood » June 13th, 2012, 12:15 am

When I feel for water, I drink water.
I try to keep myself hydrated and as the excerpt said, I check the colour of my urine to see what's up with me in terms of being hydrated.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » June 13th, 2012, 12:16 am

Something I always said.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 13th, 2012, 1:25 am

Bizzare wrote:Your body tells you when it's lacking water. It's called thirst. And thirst doesn't mean u gotta be panting with a dry throat. Forcing water down your body when you're clearly filled up on water and not in need can even be detrimental. Read up on "water intoxication".

I use to fool myself too thinking I'm being all healthy and sh1t by stuffing more than sufficient water down my gut :lol: That's ignorance and you can pay for that later on by thinking you doing something good to the body. There are products out there for ridding the body of contaminants. Going on a water craze is not the way.

I'm sure you heard and believe that too much of a good/one thing is not good. Water included.

Everything else that you stated I cannot argue with you because you are correct.....and I have repeatedly stated similarly wrt water poisoning/drowning.

BUT that part with "products out there to rid the body of contaminants"....no fkn way can I subscribe to that thinking....what products out there? water can't do that? what makes those products superior? if it's things to buy then why must I spend money to "cleanse" when drinking water is supposed to take care of that?

I wonder whether these researchers observed whether their subjects developed any kidney disease later on in their lives.....granted they observed soldiers being able to withstand long periods of reduced hydration but what about these same soldiers over a 20-30 year period....or even self the nomads dem.....did they develop any type of kidney related disease later on???
I'm just asking.

Dare I suggest that this be another marketing tool, one that is aimed at attacking profits of bottled water producers?

Or could it be from the bottled water producers themselves? People who drink water will continue to drink their water so this study won't really affect them.... but when this research goes 180 and they state how drinking the 8 glasses is good and it should be at least 8 glasses then bottled water sales/profits stand to increase.....

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » June 13th, 2012, 11:02 am

firetruck all allyuh, I drink 1 gallon+ a day.

Cid

Postby Cid » June 13th, 2012, 11:11 am

kidneys were not meant to work like that....you cant "flush out" yu kidneys lol ,

Why Drinking Too Much Water Can Be Harmful To Your Health

Posted By Dr. Ben Kim Health Warnings

On January 12, 2007, a 28-year old Californian wife and mother of three children died from drinking too much water. Her body was found in her home shortly after she took part in a water-drinking contest that was sponsored by a local radio show. Entitled "Hold Your Wee For A Wii," the contest promoters promised a free Wii video game machine to the contestant who drank the most water without urinating.

It is estimated that the woman who died drank approximately 2 gallons of water during the contest. When she and other contestants complained of discomfort and showed visible signs of distress, they were laughed at by the promoters and even heckled.

This tragic news story highlights the importance of understanding why drinking too much water can be dangerous to your health.

Whenever you disregard your sense of thirst and strive to ingest several glasses of water a day just because you have been told that doing so is good for your health, you actually put unnecessary strain on your body in two major ways:

Ingesting more water than you need can increase your total blood volume. And since your blood volume exists within a closed system (your circulatory system), needlessly increasing your blood volume on a regular basis puts unnecessary burden on your heart and blood vessels.

Your kidneys must work overtime to filter excess water out of your circulatory system. Your kidneys are not the equivalent of a pair of plumbing pipes whereby the more water you flush through your kidneys, the cleaner they become; rather, the filtration system that exists in your kidneys is composed in part by a series of specialized capillary beds called glomeruli. Your glomeruli can get damaged by unnecessary wear and tear over time, and drowning your system with large amounts of water is one of many potential causes of said damage.

Putting unnecessary burden on your cardiovascular system and your kidneys by ingesting unnecessary water is a subtle process. For the average person, it is virtually impossible to know that this burden exists, as there are usually no obvious symptoms on a moment-to-moment basis. But make no mistake about it: this burden is real and can hurt your health over the long term.

Forcing your body to accept a large amount of water within a short period of time - say, an hour or two - as several contestants did during the "Hold Your Wee for a Wii" contest can be fatally dangerous to your health. Here's why:

If you force large amounts of water into your system over a short period of time, your kidneys will struggle to eliminate enough water from your system to keep the overall amount at a safe level.

As your circulatory system becomes diluted with excess water, the concentration of electrolytes in your blood will drop relative to the concentration of electrolytes in your cells. In an effort to maintain an equal balance of electrolytes between your blood and your cells, water will seep into your cells from your blood, causing your cells to swell.

If this swelling occurs in your brain, you'll experience increased intracranial pressure i.e. your brain will get squeezed because the flat bones that make up your skull don't provide much give. Depending on how much water your drink in a short period of time, you could experience a wide variety of symptoms, ranging from a mild headache to impaired breathing. As occurred in the tragic water-drinking contest, it's quite possible to die if you drink enough water in a short period of time.

This information is particularly important for parents to pass on to their children. Foolish drinking contests are not uncommon among high school and university students, especially while playing cards.

So how much water should you drink to best support your health?

The answer depends on your unique circumstances, including your diet, exercise habits, and environment.

If you eat plenty of foods that are naturally rich in water, such as vegetables, fruits, and cooked legumes and whole grains, you may not need to drink much water at all. If you do not use much or any salt and other seasonings, your need for drinking water goes down even further.

Conversely, if you do not eat a lot of plant foods and/or you add substantial salt and spices to your meals, you may need to drink several glasses of water every day.

Regardless of what your diet looks like, if you sweat on a regular basis because of exercise or a warm climate, you will need to supply your body with more water (through food and/or liquids) than someone who does not sweat regularly.

Ultimately, the best guidance I can provide on this issue is to follow your sense of thirst. Some people believe that thirst is not a reliable indicator of how much water you need, since many people suffer with symptoms related to dehydration and don't seem to feel a need to drink water on a regular basis. My experience has been that most people who are chronically dehydrated have learned to ignore a parched mouth. If you ask such people if they are thirsty and would like a piece of fruit or a glass of water, they will almost always realize that they are indeed thirsty.

Some people suggest observing the color of your urine as a way of looking out for dehydration. The idea is that clear urine indicates that you are well hydrated, while yellow urine indicates that you need more water in your system. While this advice is somewhat useful, it's important to remember that some food additives (including some synthetic nutrients) and heavily pigmented foods (like red beets) can add substantial color to your urine. Thumbs down for synthetic nutrients, and thumbs up for red beets and other richly colored vegetables and fruits.

The main idea that I want to share through this article is to beware of mindlessly drinking several glasses of water per day without considering your diet, exercise habits, climate, and sense of thirst. And when you do find yourself in need of water, remember that you can get it from liquids and/or whole foods that are rich in water.

http://drbenkim.com/drink-too-much-water-dangerous.html

Postby MG Man » June 13th, 2012, 11:12 am

water cannot be good for your health.............it does make yuh pee plenty

Postby sharkman121 » June 13th, 2012, 11:19 am

very interesting article there cid.

An vega nothing wrong with drinking that amount of water if you accustomed to it, what im trying to debunk is if you actually need AT LEAST 8 glasses for the body to function properly or as its supposed to on a daily basis? or as cids article says you can get cumulative water from the other foods you eat and drink some of which are made up of up to 95% water.

Postby AllTrac » June 13th, 2012, 12:10 pm

your water requirements would definitely differ from one person to another according to their activity levels, food and sodium consumption. For me, i put down 7 glasses of water without even noticing it or trying to get 8 glasses down. Its just a normal need for me, i get thirsty and i drink water during the day, end up being 7 glasses, give or take 1.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » June 13th, 2012, 3:07 pm

steups. man will end himself yes.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » June 14th, 2012, 11:41 pm

nice article indeed Cid...

and I understand what you trying to do sharkman121....just like how I have trained myself, over a period of time, to gradually increase my water intake, those nomads and soldiers have trained themselves to drink less....but is such reduced water intake permanent/lifelong?...maybe for the nomad? I dunno....my question is whether there would be any long term adversity to health if one were to drink little water throughout one's lifespan..

In my case, I have seen the ayurvedic and superhydration research that suggests health benefits to a "trained" higher water intake....The OP's article does not state whether sustained/life long low fluid intake would have any positive nor negative health effects...so I can't really subscribe to them trying to de-bunk the 8 glasses a day.

After all is said and done I will drink my water, you drink yours.... :wink:

Rx

Postby Rx » June 15th, 2012, 12:11 pm

AllTrac wrote:your water requirements would definitely differ from one person to another according to their activity levels, food and sodium consumption. For me, i put down 7 glasses of water without even noticing it or trying to get 8 glasses down. Its just a normal need for me, i get thirsty and i drink water during the day, end up being 7 glasses, give or take 1.

agrees 8-)

Postby foss » June 15th, 2012, 12:42 pm

I'll stick to beer though....keeps the urine clean.

sweetiepaper

Postby sweetiepaper » June 15th, 2012, 10:07 pm

A mother died after she drank too much water and did not go to the restroom. It was a competition to hold your wee for a wii.
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/16614865/ns ... 9vpNdmvNcI

Troublesome

Postby Troublesome » August 14th, 2012, 10:32 am

McCollins Pure Water Genius.> Reverse osmosis water is one of the best water to drink The rainy season is near approaching us which contributes to floods. Flooding can lead to contaminated water which can then be distributed through your pipe borne water supply. Making you the victims of water prone illness such as Gastro, Malaria and diarrhea.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » August 14th, 2012, 10:47 am

on the label of every oasis bottled water.....it is advised to drink a minimum of 5 bottles of oasis 400ml water per day.......