Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
cutthroatInt

Re: Tech Thread - Toyota Hilux...D4D and all older models.

Postby cutthroatInt » July 15th, 2012, 11:36 pm

^ also, wud you guys recommend putting an electrical fan on the AC condensor on the LN145R?
It didnt come wit a fan from the factory.

Looking for sum1 to install power locks on this pickup.. came basic/manual package.
any advice?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 23rd, 2012, 8:12 pm

So I saw one of these up close last week from a Tobago customer and must say I really like it: hearing the turbo through the exhaust almost makes it sound like a straight pipe config... but comfortable IMHO and looks good.

If God smiles on me financially this year, I'd get one... Though it seems getting one is difficult at best.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » July 24th, 2012, 10:15 am

question: the LN model hilux with the 3.0 n/a engine and the manually locking hubs;

is it okay to use the low range without locking in the hubs? eg for climbing a steep hill, pulling a load, etc etc???

im asking because i currently have a bad front axle on my b2500 so the front wheels don't engage in 4wd, but i still use the low range to climb steep hills, under load, when needed. (i carry a full 200 gallon water tank up a very steep hill)

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 24th, 2012, 10:19 pm

Have a couple questions...

Now I know it isn't our market but from reading a couple hilux sites; especially newhilux.net... it seems that many have had serious issues with the injectors, seals and washers in the D4D 2006 up models... also the clockspring for the SRS seems to also be a common failure. Most common thing stated on the injector issue was a nasty knocking noise when cold and in time the fuel consumption rose... and later on contamination of fuel in the engine leading finally to it being destroyed.

Has anyone here heard of or had issues like that?

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » July 25th, 2012, 6:33 pm

I've heard the ABSOLUTELY NASTY knocking sound when the engine is cold.
This is 2L non turbo engine in the van I recently acquired. LN145

I thought it was me doing an engine wash while the engine was still too warm and something went haywire in there.

I havnt pulled tapit pan or nething to investigate.
but the noise goes once heated up.

are you sure its injectors thats causing this noise?
I did a flush with liquid moly last week. Some smoking stopped.
Noise still there when cold

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 25th, 2012, 9:01 pm

That is what I read: it seems as if the injector seals let exhaust gasses through which enters the oil and eventually the oil strainer gets blocked leading to oil starvation.

There was a comment stating when draining oil you may be able to see the strainer with a flashlight: if it's gummed up then that is trouble. Some say it is region specific but IMHE if an issue is engine wise it can affect any model regardless of region

can't link the newhilux.net threads as it is member only (register first)
but here's a link to an article:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/ipad/ute-to ... 6351998636

and a vid of a guy that had the issue with a knackerd engine

not trying to cause any panic if any: just curious

Paullct

Postby Paullct » July 25th, 2012, 9:06 pm

Paullct wrote:question: the LN model hilux with the 3.0 n/a engine and the manually locking hubs;

is it okay to use the low range without locking in the hubs? eg for climbing a steep hill, pulling a load, etc etc???

im asking because i currently have a bad front axle on my b2500 so the front wheels don't engage in 4wd, but i still use the low range to climb steep hills, under load, when needed. (i carry a full 200 gallon water tank up a very steep hill)

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 13th, 2012, 1:02 pm

Fellas I'm putting my final order for 2012 this week. If anyone needs anything special order please pm me. Thanks.

Parts are genuine OEM and are supplied from Toyota North American Parts Center.
Last edited by sweeks on August 28th, 2012, 12:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Team Loco » August 16th, 2012, 11:19 am

sweeks, well i ent get to tell you in person but last time i did my suspension, i used non oem parts. today i cancelled my appointment with tttl and decided to replace the axle boot rubbers myself. turns out non of the 555 parts lasted well at all. my front left oem upper cradle bushings are totally busted out. she is gonna be down for about a week.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 16th, 2012, 3:08 pm

Dude too much inferior parts coming after market. Some even come in OEM packaging and are not OEM. Email what you need and I'll see what I can do for you.
Last edited by sweeks on August 28th, 2012, 12:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

robbieg

Postby robbieg » August 21st, 2012, 5:52 pm

For the Manual Transmission owners, how the hell do you get rid of that annoying squeak when you depress the clutch pedal?

Someone told me i have to drop the entire engine to get to this? Is this true??

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » August 21st, 2012, 6:03 pm

WD40... spray EVERYTHING....

robbieg

Postby robbieg » August 21st, 2012, 6:25 pm

What do you mean everything?

Please be more specific.....

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 22nd, 2012, 4:11 pm

Robbie ... what model lux do you have.

For the KZN65 (SR5) you have to get some lithium grease and spray the clutch release fork by pulling back the boot rubber there. It's below the van (probably directly under the glove box or thereabouts). I don't have a pickup at the moment so that's the best I can do in terms of description.

Where Team Loco?

robbieg

Postby robbieg » August 28th, 2012, 12:19 pm

sweeks wrote:Robbie ... what model lux do you have.

For the KZN65 (SR5) you have to get some lithium grease and spray the clutch release fork by pulling back the boot rubber there. It's below the van (probably directly under the glove box or thereabouts). I don't have a pickup at the moment so that's the best I can do in terms of description.

Where Team Loco?

I have the KUN26R (2007) 3.0 D4D!

Any clue where the clutch release fork is in this model? I have not gone under the van to check as yet... I was just told by a reputable mechanic that it would require dropping the engine to access it!

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 28th, 2012, 12:49 pm

Call TurboHead 495-2320 and ask him. He's a good Toyota mechanic.

Jeremy Mohd

Postby Jeremy Mohd » August 30th, 2012, 3:57 pm

sweeks, by FORCE changed the busted boot rubber on the right side.

I say by force, because I needed to change the outer CV axle as well..

CV was dry as a biscuit, covered in mud, and the balls were TOTALLY seized.

Took the chance obviously to change the inner one as well on the side we dismounted. Inner joint in great condition.

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 1st, 2012, 1:36 pm

Maintenance is key for the utes ESP when u off road ... U good to go for another 5 years +.

Postby Team Loco » September 5th, 2012, 11:06 pm

Jeremy Mohd wrote:sweeks, by FORCE changed the busted boot rubber on the right side.

you are not alone my friend. i left my busted boot on for two mths and then my axle started making noise. had to do a total scrap down and replace all boots and also replaced steering ends one time. also front left upper cradle bushings.

fyi, i bought everything at TTTL (being a co. van). i was told i bought the last of the parts they had. they may not order more in a hurry

Took the chance obviously to change the inner one as well on the side we dismounted. Inner joint in great condition.

Postby Team Loco » September 5th, 2012, 11:17 pm

Jeremy Mohd wrote:sweeks, by FORCE changed the busted boot rubber on the right side.

you are not alone my friend. i left my busted boot on for two mths and then my axle started making noise. had to do a total scrap down and replace all boots and also replaced steering ends one time. also front left upper cradle bushings.

fyi, i bought everything at TTTL (being a co. van). i was told i bought the last of the parts they had. they may not order more in a hurry

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 6th, 2012, 6:59 am

Glad to know u all using oem parts .... Ur good to go for another 5 years +.

Postby sliderz1 » September 10th, 2012, 12:11 am

to the 1KZ guys....any probs with block cracking nearing the 200k mark? Happened to 2 Prado's one last week and another the mnth before

any help/advice i'd appreciate!

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 11th, 2012, 4:45 am

Change thermostat, flush out cooling system, change clutch oil in the fan.

All of these should help alleviate the overheating issues.

And if you were using syntec oil that's a plus too since it runs cooler than mineral oil.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 12th, 2012, 12:35 am

^^ yup, agreed with what this guy said.

head cracking is a common thing for ALL diesel engines (not just ford WLT's) - that's IF you don't take care of the coolign system or you allow it to overheat too often.

Remember diesel run hotter than gasoline engines..... heat can warp the block and pressure does buss pipe!

Coolign system should be completely overhauled (including hoses and fuses/switches for the fans) every 100,000-120,000km.

badart

Postby badart » September 12th, 2012, 9:34 am

guys my 80,000 service is coming up anyone knw wht TTTL does for the 80k service? Never changed diff oil, transmission oil etc. Manual states it should be changed at 80k

Also allyuh saw the sweet hilux van dam was driving in expendables 2 :D

badart

Postby badart » September 13th, 2012, 7:27 am

Does transmission oil get black? Mines looking red/brown?

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 18th, 2012, 10:06 pm

Bad art that's ok. Remember this can go for more than 80 000km. Most Toyota service schedule doesn't even include this particular service unless you drive under severe conditions.

badart

Postby badart » September 21st, 2012, 10:16 pm

^ok cool, good to knw, but would still get it changed when i do the 80k service

sweeks

Postby sweeks » September 22nd, 2012, 5:33 am

Have them do it the old fashion way then .... Drain and refill, drain and refill.

Postby DVSTT » September 23rd, 2012, 5:38 pm

Guys, where has side mirrors for a 1998 hilux 4x4 3L. Truck hit and cracked the entire housing and mirror a few years ago. The mirror mount is in a similar position to this one in the pic below but it's larger.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”