Is your rubber any good..?? A tyre guide for your 4x4...

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
lighthammer

Re: Is your rubber any good..?? A tyre guide for your 4x4...

Postby lighthammer » May 24th, 2012, 11:58 pm

@TL - those looking like 255/65R16 or maybe 265/65R16...

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 25th, 2012, 10:10 am

lighthammer wrote:what price you getting the KL71 and the KM2's for jpec?
And where you getting those tyres from?

oh no you didn't just call me jpec :evil:

:agrue:

Postby Team Loco » May 25th, 2012, 10:43 am

lighthammer wrote:@TL - those looking like 255/65R16 or maybe 265/65R16...

its definitely not the size i wanted and i also wanted to install a lift kit but funds a bit low. so i compromised and went with the size available and also ordered some nice wheel spacers for now

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 25th, 2012, 12:29 pm

Paullct wrote:^ i am 70% going with those for my tyre change next month.

the other 30% is toward the Kumho KL71 which are a lot cheaper and have never let me down

the bf is really just for a change in the look of my truck

dey let yuh down on de run ,doh lie now got de pics to prove it

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 26th, 2012, 11:20 am

Paullct wrote:
lighthammer wrote:what price you getting the KL71 and the KM2's for jpec?
And where you getting those tyres from?

oh no you didn't just call me jpec :evil:

:agrue:

lol sorry!
I got allyuh mixed up...

Doing a 14-hour shift can make one REALLY tired :).

As an apology, here's a funny picture of a doggie crashing into a bush......

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 26th, 2012, 11:24 am

trinibajan34 wrote:

the other 30% is toward the Kumho KL71 which are a lot cheaper and have never let me down

Nah they didn't let him now... Mud Terrain tyres are the worst tyres to use on sandy terrain. They dig way too fast and any little bit of wheelspin will cause you to sink fast up to your axles, worse yet for such an aggressive tyre like the Kumho KL71.

Airing down mud terrain tyres in sand will help a little bit, but you have to be VERY gentle and smooth on the throttle or else it's diggin' time again.

Surprisingly, all-terrain tyres do MUCH better than mud terrains on sand. Even highway tyres can do surprisingly well on sand, once you're easy on the throttle

I have BFG AT's on my navara, and they float really well in Las Cuevas sand, compared to a couple guys with BFG MT KM2's, which dig down very easily.

trinibajan34

Postby trinibajan34 » May 26th, 2012, 12:34 pm

i just got schooled ,word

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 26th, 2012, 1:45 pm

^^ come with us on a run nah bai.. and we'll show you how pickups do it on a trail!

As my esteemed colleague Droppa says in his signature - Off roading don't necessarily mean you HAVE to buy a jimny. You buy a jimny if you want to do crazy sh!t like them other clubs!!

trinibajan34

Is your rubber any good..?? A tyre guide for your 4x4...

Postby trinibajan34 » May 26th, 2012, 1:58 pm

All in due time

Sent from my BlackBerry 9100 using Tapatalk

droppa

Postby droppa » May 27th, 2012, 10:37 pm

lighthammer wrote:
trinibajan34 wrote:

Nah they didn't let him now... Mud Terrain tyres are the worst tyres to use on sandy terrain. They dig way too fast and any little bit of wheelspin will cause you to sink fast up to your axles, worse yet for such an aggressive tyre like the Kumho KL71.

Airing down mud terrain tyres in sand will help a little bit, but you have to be VERY gentle and smooth on the throttle or else it's diggin' time again.

Surprisingly, all-terrain tyres do MUCH better than mud terrains on sand. Even highway tyres can do surprisingly well on sand, once you're easy on the throttle

I have BFG AT's on my navara, and they float really well in Las Cuevas sand, compared to a couple guys with BFG MT KM2's, which dig down very easily.

This!!

true true true, i jus pressed and start to spin right there, before i know it i drill down, engage 4H and rock it forward and backward a couple times, but not roughing it up, and she was out, no assistance.........

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 28th, 2012, 4:25 pm

trinibajan34 wrote:

if you look at the pics again, i probably could have driven myself out of it but i thought that would be the perfect opportunity for my first "stuck" picture :lol:

that's why i didn't even bother to try. then again, i drove right up that same path with no problem after the hilux pulled me back a bit. i wouldn't say these tyres ever let me down.

on the contrary, it looks like i'm going with the KM2 anyway.

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 28th, 2012, 4:27 pm

oh and lighthammer I'm getting the Kumho for $1550 and the BF for $1990 per tyre

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 28th, 2012, 4:38 pm

these are a couple pics i took of the KM2's next to my current set. they're the same size 33x12.5/15. i decided to wait until after the Morne Diablo run to change them. my KL71s are about 40% life now so a couple more runs won't hurt

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 28th, 2012, 7:59 pm

Hehehe.. i see what you did there...

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » May 28th, 2012, 8:03 pm

^^ does this place have any KM2's in 33x12.5R16?

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 28th, 2012, 8:11 pm

lighthammer wrote:Hehehe.. i see what you did there...

i don't get it :?

lighthammer wrote:^^ does this place have any KM2's in 33x12.5R16?

nope, but i'm sure you can place an order and they'll bring them in for you

Postby wagon r » May 29th, 2012, 8:14 am

^ you placed the rim and tyre (blocking your rims) as if to signal you're changin them out....

Postby Team Loco » May 29th, 2012, 8:23 am

its 4 km2s on my hilux. i think i made a great choice, didnt get to test them out yet. just highway running, i am surprised that the road noise is actually quit low. paid $1500 per tyre

Paullct

Postby Paullct » May 29th, 2012, 8:53 am

wagon r wrote:^ you placed the rim and tyre (blocking your rims) as if to signal you're changin them out....

oh :lol:

well at that point I was indeed going to change them out but I decided to make a few more runs with the Kumhos

droppa

Postby droppa » May 29th, 2012, 9:34 am

very good price you got there TL, all the AT BFG i found so far are more expensive than the MT in the comparative size....

Postby Team Loco » June 1st, 2012, 12:37 am

Apparantly I got a wholesale price because we now buy from quikserv for the rest of vehicles.

Just got some nice spacers. Just to improve the appearance of the km2 on my van. Can't wait to install

gready123456

Postby gready123456 » June 15th, 2012, 10:09 pm

lighthammer or any one else do u all know whats the largest size Kl71's or km2's or even bfg AT's can i fit on my navara with out rubbing issues i have stock rims and stock hight

what if i do a 2 inch body life would this help with even bigger tire fitment

what are my options ???

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » June 16th, 2012, 1:18 am

^^ largest you can fit without rubbing is 275/70R16. Any more than that and you'll rub on the inside when turning corners. Right now I'm running 265/70R16

If you do a 2" body lift like I did, you can fit up to 32x11.5R16 without issues... or up to285/65R16.

Hamtonic

Postby Hamtonic » August 25th, 2012, 2:12 pm

Anyone know where I can get dunlop grandtrek at20 tyres 265/70 R16 to buy?

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 2nd, 2012, 12:47 am

those tyres are no good.
Stay away from them

They wear quickly, slippery when in the wet.

froggyrvr

Postby froggyrvr » September 3rd, 2012, 4:11 pm

lighthammer wrote:^^ largest you can fit without rubbing is 275/70R16. Any more than that and you'll rub on the inside when turning corners. Right now I'm running 265/70R16

If you do a 2" body lift like I did, you can fit up to 32x11.5R16 without issues... or up to285/65R16.

a 2'' lift in a 2010 4x4 hilux average price and what is the bf a/t and the bf mt km price going at now

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 4th, 2012, 8:43 am

froggyrvr wrote:
lighthammer wrote:^^ largest you can fit without rubbing is 275/70R16. Any more than that and you'll rub on the inside when turning corners. Right now I'm running 265/70R16

a 2'' lift in a 2010 4x4 hilux average price and what is the bf a/t and the bf mt km price going at now

Side B can organize that for u man!
Or call Harry from trailblazers (don't have a no but PM droppa for a link).

Avg price is about $3200 incl material to do a BL.

BFG AT in 275/70R16 is about $1800 for one, and MT in same size is about $1900 for one.... can't remember off hand so don't quote me but that's an average price at Quickserv.

You can also check Federal's on Cipero Street, san fernando for BFG's.

Postby tr1ad » September 5th, 2012, 7:51 am

ollur donate some 16" ole rim (doh let paullct see i ask for 16")

or even 15"

droppa

Postby droppa » September 5th, 2012, 9:00 am

^^ah have a set ah 15s for a 2grand hoss

Postby tr1ad » September 5th, 2012, 9:16 am

send meh some pics nah........ will try to get a sale for the twennies

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”