Mahindra Pikup - cheap alternative 4x4??

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
droppa

Re: Mahindra Pikup - cheap alternative 4x4??

Postby droppa » September 18th, 2012, 1:02 pm

it didnt do bad at all, he made the easy part on 2WD IIRC, but bailed for the fun part!!!!!!!!

that would have been its ultimate test!!!!

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 18th, 2012, 7:23 pm

^^ we couldnt help it - had an emergency at home and had to leave.

Postby sliderz1 » September 18th, 2012, 8:24 pm

saw it in my rearview making its ways through without much fuss...

what type tyres is it on?

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 18th, 2012, 8:57 pm

stock indian tires.... dont even know the brand name...lol

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » September 18th, 2012, 9:34 pm

civic minded wrote:stock indian tires.... dont even know the brand name...lol

Impressive!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » September 19th, 2012, 1:13 am

the masala machine did well on the run.

It's about as pretty as a bulldog's an*s, but I have to admit it handled decently on the 2wd challenge. The mechanical rear locker must have helped tremendously though.... the guy driving didn't even engage 4wd!!
Not so sure about it's power:weight ratio though.... seems to be underpowered or maybe it's just undergeared and needs better gear ratios.

I'd be careful on off-camber sections though, the tall-cab raises the COG overall and it could topple over if it's on the stock tyres/rims.

All in all, a decent performer. Not a show-stopper like a monster Jimny or V8 Patrol, but once better equipped for trails, it'll get you there without much fuss.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » September 25th, 2012, 9:19 am

Mahindra was entered in the Total 4x4 Rally 2012 - Did surprisingly well thro all the stages - made it throu all the navigation stages without incident but didnt make it up the novice King of the hill, that happen after the rains came down and as a consolidation , no other stock vehicle made it up either.

Check out some of the vidz from the mud sprint and the mud hog.

After the run we take a walk around to see what damages it sustained - On the king of the hill, the Mahindra went almost nose dive into a rut and took a small hit to the front right fender, it went in a little and rub on the tire - it was quickly mended by popping it back out. Also both passenger and driver door rubber seal popped out not sure how that happened but we glued it back in and it was good as new.
I think it surprise alot of people how it did, for stock tires and no mods what so ever it went thro without incident.

Rx

Postby Rx » October 15th, 2012, 8:34 pm

I went in to lifestyles.....

Mahindra Pik Up is worth the buck IMO. It need however, some wider tyres, the rear seating fits an adult comfortably. There are some cheeky plastics that did not bother me too much. I believe I saw a carbon fibre dash console...hmmmm... It sits rather high off the ground [mentioned beforehand approx 7ft tall]

This looks like one tough ass pick up, more like a mini truck IMO.

Come only in manual transmission.
Curry Powah !!!!!!!

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » October 16th, 2012, 12:35 am

^^ de masala machine!!

Ramirez

Postby Ramirez » October 24th, 2012, 10:44 am

Anybody know where I can get rims for this ? it carries a 5 hole with a 130 PCD I believe i have checked racetrak wheels and a lot of other places but so far i got nothing.I don't want to use wheel adapters/spacers due to waranty issues.Any help will be appreciated.
Last edited by Ramirez on October 25th, 2012, 4:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

civic minded

Postby civic minded » October 24th, 2012, 4:23 pm

You will need to buy blank rims and have them cut , check wheel wizards or magrim center in CHAGUANAS

Ramirez

Postby Ramirez » October 24th, 2012, 5:15 pm

^^ thanks for the info

habir1

Postby habir1 » October 30th, 2012, 10:09 pm

Mahindra owners out there, speak to us. Tell us about your experiences with your recent purchase. Is it worth it? How is the after sale service? What is the top speed you clocked? What made you decide not to take it further? How much for the oil, air and fuel filter?...... Inform us.... What are the negatives???

jason3000

Postby jason3000 » October 31st, 2012, 5:54 pm

yeah gentlemen, test drove one of the mahindras a few months ago, and yeah it real ugly but very spacious inside, the suspension is smooth... i say this after driving a 4x4 hilux for a relative several times,but ah find the engine a bit noisy... am yet to drive the wingle which seems to be a better engineered machine and getting very popular sinse introduction...will see how these two go head to head... china vs india... :idea:

Ramirez

Postby Ramirez » October 31st, 2012, 11:17 pm

habir1 wrote:Mahindra owners out there, speak to us. Tell us about your experiences with your recent purchase. Is it worth it? How is the after sale service? What is the top speed you clocked? What made you decide not to take it further? How much for the oil, air and fuel filter?...... Inform us.... What are the negatives???

ok been driving this a couple of months now, mine's is just over 15000km,so far haven't had any problems with it .it's been maintained by the firm since day one .First service was free second service cost $800,I know that they use a shell synthetic oil and as for the cost of the filters i never really asked but will find out next time.The body of the van is very study I must say and the ride is relatively smooth.Seeing that's its a pickup and I use it for work I have never driven it past 140km although it felt like it wanted to go more ,my average speed that i'm comfortable with is usually around 100km in ANY pickup.It's very good on fuel a tank goes to about 700 km.
I've never driven it off road other that some bad tracks and trace so i can't say anything about that performance
On the negative side the engine is very noisy so never drive with the windows down
I think it needs a better gear ratio ,it is a bit on the lazy side
Sometime while driving you would hear the injector pump race off for a second ,I have no idea what causes that.
Getting accessories for it sucks.I can't even get a set of rims unless I live in India (even the guys from Andy's Tyre shop believed that there are only 3 in the country) dean wheels said that wheel size does not exists lol.
And It's Ugly but but i have gotten used to it

I will continue to post the pros and con as I discover them.

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » November 9th, 2012, 9:09 pm

saw a suv/7seater version of this in sando the other day. that one looked a little better. wouldnt mind one of those if the price is 1/2 that of prado/pajero

Postby Gladiator » November 10th, 2012, 10:23 pm

Saw one of these on the Highway lastweek. Its the Mahindra THAR. I like the old school look... a quick look at the specs says its a 4x4 with a 2.5L Power to weight ratio will be good. Does lifestyle have them available and how much?

Postby Ted_v2 » November 11th, 2012, 5:46 am

WoW it looks reallllllly similar to those jeeps thats all over the US

wont mind getting one once its reasonable

Postby sliderz1 » November 11th, 2012, 1:26 pm

rip out that Mahindra emblem and is rel theif head :lol:

Ramirez

Postby Ramirez » November 11th, 2012, 1:59 pm

Thar is simply a face lift of the legendary MM540 or Willy's Jeep—phased out in early 2000—that was tough to the bone and equipped to serve serious rally enthusiasts and off-roaders fanatics alike. What most ppl don't know is that Mahindra has been making utility vehicles in India for over half a century. Mahindra‘s obsession with utility vehicles dates back to 1949, when the company assembled these jeeps in India.
It's a must have if Lifestyle is really bring this here:)

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » November 11th, 2012, 5:54 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:WoW it looks reallllllly similar to those jeeps thats all over the US

wont mind getting one once its reasonable

:shock: I would buy that in a heartbeat!

aidan

Postby aidan » November 29th, 2012, 1:00 am

ado15mk3 wrote:saw a suv/7seater version of this in sando the other day. that one looked a little better. wouldnt mind one of those if the price is 1/2 that of prado/pajero

That's the Scorpio

Those are very nice! Not sure if lifestyle gonna be bringing them, but if they do, it will be a very nice affordable SUV.

More info: http://www.mahindrascorpio.com/home.aspx

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » December 1st, 2012, 4:25 am

saw it in st. augustine so somebody brought it in. jus dunno if it was the dealer.

habir1

Postby habir1 » December 2nd, 2012, 4:01 pm

I was told by the dealer that the issue with the other models of Mahindra is our diesel can't work. I dunno how valid that explanation is however.

venum

Postby venum » December 2nd, 2012, 5:40 pm

common rail engines need a certain quality of diesels to work properly

maybe our diesel quality isn't good enough

aidan

Postby aidan » December 2nd, 2012, 10:31 pm

Butt the Scorpio SUV has the same engine as the pickup :shock: :shock:
so how is the diesel not going to work?.....like they know if they bring in the Scorpio it will kill sales of other vehicles.

lighthammer

Postby lighthammer » December 3rd, 2012, 8:25 am

need to put more saffron in our diesel for it to work, meng.. :mrgreen:

aidan

Postby aidan » December 3rd, 2012, 5:08 pm

lighthammer wrote:need to put more saffron in our diesel for it to work, meng.. :mrgreen:

hahaha rofl

Ramirez

Postby Ramirez » April 27th, 2013, 2:14 am

bumping to find out if anyone know where to get rims for this ? wheel wizard and mag rim center got nought. The pcd is 5x160 mm

civic minded

Postby civic minded » April 28th, 2013, 10:12 am

really hard to find - my padna had no luck - only place was either India or St lucia - St lucia have the Mahindras that comes with the alloy rims which is exactly the same style as the current mahindra here hubcap pattern.

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”