MAZDA BT50 OWNERS WHAT ARE YOUR VIEWS AND/OR REVIEWS

Diesel, Gas, 4x4, 4x2

Forum rules
This forum is for discussions on Trucks and Pickups only!
DO NOT POST ADS IN HERE
WTB (Want to buy), LF (Looking for), EOI (Expression of Interest) or FS (For sale) topics etc will be deleted.
If you are looking for a part please search or post in the Auto Parts Classifieds.
Please keep all discussion professional and technical. Opinions are welcomed, however trolling, spamming and bashing will not be tolerated.
4g63

Re: MAZDA BT50 OWNERS WHAT ARE YOUR VIEWS AND/OR REVIEWS

Postby 4g63 » December 19th, 2012, 10:19 am

team evo and hamah... did you guys solve the issue? it sounds to me 100% like you have a cracked head. however, as bt50 said, it COULD be your glow plugs. what you can do is remove the plugs and check the resistance. between that and the head should be about .75 ohms. also, you can just run it directly to the battery and see if they are "glowing". you'll need a deep socket to remove the plugs properly.

though from what you've described, i really think the heads were cracked.

@ sablo... i don't think your buddy's head crack BECAUSE of the therm. change. these bt50's are known for this issue. as long as the cooling system isn't properly dissipating at least the amount of heat that it receives, you will eventually have overheating issues. i am sure you buddy would have either put in the same level therm. or one that cuts in at a lower temp. i would say, forget about that and put in a 3 core brass radiator as some of the guys here suggested. that is your best hope. other than that, drive until you reach 90K kms and wait for a cracked head anytime after that.
can any bt50 owner tell us if they made hilux level mileage without cooling issues? i know guys with hiluxes running 300+ and 400+ K kms with only standard maintenance.

some symptoms of overheating and damaged head:
- hard start on mornings
- hard start all the time
- sputtering for a few seconds after starting
- white /grey coloured smoke
- problems with AC (compressor not coming on)
- higher temp. on temp. gauge (not always, you could have a cracked block and your temp. s always in the middle)
- loss of power
- loss of water in radiator with no sign of leakage.

streetpunk

Postby streetpunk » December 19th, 2012, 4:01 pm

tuners what diff and gearbox oil do you have to use in the bt50......

streetpunk

Postby streetpunk » December 19th, 2012, 4:13 pm

and how much does it take so i would know how much to buy

4g63

Postby 4g63 » December 19th, 2012, 10:34 pm

i used amzoil.

it'll take about 3 quart of severe (that is the black container) and for the front and centre, you can buy 4 quarts (normal clear bottles) and you should be safe with that.
go by fazal in princes town, he has the best prices and he will handle you decent.

all of that should cost about 540 - 600

streetpunk

Postby streetpunk » December 19th, 2012, 10:45 pm

^^ thanks for the info man so for the gearbox is 3 quarts
and for the front and rear diff is 4 quarts

can you tell me which body amzoil u use for each application as im not familiar with the amzoil gear oils etc..

4g63

Postby 4g63 » December 21st, 2012, 11:39 am

no. the rear diff is 3 quarts of severe. might be a little less than the full 3. you want to fill it just below the fill point. the bt-50 manual outlines the correct measurement.

the front and centre diff. and gear box should take the next 4. approximately.

I can't remember the measurement for the gearbox. i don't have a manual anymore, but you should have the measurement in yours. be sure to look under the correct region.

use the same amzoil 75W-90 light duty (clear bottle) for the gear box as well. i am looking at my maintenance records but i didn't have the quantities listed. sorry. just double check the quantities. i find amzoil has worked really well for me in the past, i am axtually going to change out to everything amzoil on my hilux whenever i have to change a fluid.

if you are at your 40,000 km service or even if you aren't, i strongly suggest that you grease all 3 crosses underneath your van. are you doing the service yourself? the ones on the 4wd case and the centre diff. are fairly okay to grease. be sure to pump grease until you see new grease exiting all 4 lobes. on the rear diff. you will have to roll the van back or forth to line the grease nipple up correctly so that you can snap on the grease gun. it might be difficult as mazda did a proper shitty design with that nipple.. once you get it in, make sure and fill this with grease. it'll be your first to go due to the fact that it is difficult to get the grease in and most people, mechanics, ssl and otherwise don't ensure that all 4 lobes are full. sometimes you'll crack it and find one completely dry because once it gets plugged the first time, every other time you try to grease it, no grease would get in.
i use castrol pyroplex blue, NGLI2. i guess any good heavy duty grease would work, again, double check what is recommended in the manual. i am sure the castrol is safe.

hope this helps.

4g63

Postby 4g63 » December 21st, 2012, 11:41 am

sorry, i didn't clarify on your question:

75W-90 heavy duty (is the severe, black bottle)
75W-90 light duty (clear bottle)

4g63

Postby 4g63 » December 21st, 2012, 11:42 am

oh if you use the amzoil engine oil, you can change at say every 15,000 km instead of 5. it is rated for even longer.
you can use a long life filter as well to match or, buy the normal filter but change the filter every 5000 km as normal... whichever works better for you.

hamah

Postby hamah » January 14th, 2013, 2:24 pm

Team EVO wrote:
hamah wrote:have mine from new doing 60000km now getting had start and rough idle when it start for about 10secs with white smoke after that its fine.
service the injectors problem still exist........help
no overheating

that's the same problem i was having....check your glow plugs

yes it was the glow plugs

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 5th, 2013, 3:06 pm

didnt know the bt50 was 2901kg.....this makes it heavier than the hilux and the navar

ramjatrx

Postby ramjatrx » February 14th, 2013, 11:17 am

Anyone know if the BT50 is OBD 11 compliant?

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 14th, 2013, 12:13 pm

buddy...beauty of the bt50 is the lack of non essential computers to run the trruck.....very simple and classy truck--

as far as i think there is no computer on board for engine mgt...remember i said i think wen i get home i will go tru the truck i got parked up...

singh is king

Postby singh is king » February 18th, 2013, 11:15 am

i have a 4x2 manual bt-50 doing 126000 km, lately every time a change gear the engine just racees off and not go no where stays one speed, i have noticed that if i constantly drive it happens but if i park and drive after a few hrs its back to normal, anyone have this problem and can give me some advise on it. thx

turbo boost

Postby turbo boost » February 19th, 2013, 7:44 am

singh is king i beleive your clutch is slipping. I swear by these mazdas (& rangers) best bang for buck. No comon rail computers or cam sensors or crank sensors just good old school diesel with great performance. They are the last of the old school turbo diesel

singh is king

Postby singh is king » February 19th, 2013, 1:12 pm

ok thanks turbo boost i will check it out during the weekend thanks again

hamah

Postby hamah » February 19th, 2013, 1:32 pm

bubbles in the radiator water over flows into bottle but does not go back in radiator and is equal to the amount needed in radiator ie no water loss help please to much different advice......

Postby streetbeastINC. » February 27th, 2013, 8:00 pm

head^

Carrot

Postby Carrot » April 16th, 2013, 12:09 pm

Looking to change out my radiator and put in a brass one. Where's the best place for price and quality. And what size to put in. One radiator man told me the 3 core won't fit I need to use a 2 core. Advice?

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » May 11th, 2013, 12:23 pm

Carrot wrote:Looking to change out my radiator and put in a brass one. Where's the best place for price and quality. And what size to put in. One radiator man told me the 3 core won't fit I need to use a 2 core. Advice?

interested in finding out about the above as well

phaze

Postby phaze » May 14th, 2013, 5:52 am

Would also like to know where I can get a 2 core or 3 core radiator, its for a b2500

bt50

Postby bt50 » May 14th, 2013, 7:04 am

3 core fits in both the b2500 and the bt50. Rodney's in Golconda can make it for you.

If you want pm me for his number and direction.

jerry2008

Postby jerry2008 » May 19th, 2013, 7:48 am

Bt50 excessive smoke change head same problem

Sent from my GT-I9100 using TriniTuner mobile app

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 19th, 2013, 9:09 am

^^ when last you clean your injectors?

jerry2008

Postby jerry2008 » May 19th, 2013, 9:18 am

About 6 months but the mechanic say he thinks there is a chiped tip on 1 injector

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » August 24th, 2013, 12:20 am

Last edited by cutthroatInt on August 24th, 2013, 12:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » August 24th, 2013, 12:21 am

anyone has a repair manual for 2006 bt50?

hamah

Postby hamah » October 27th, 2013, 9:48 pm

Be careful people a lot of mechanics jump to say head crack in bt 50 especially the ones who supply them.
Think logical before you go and change the head .
Plenty rip off out there.

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » October 28th, 2013, 6:08 am

^OP. As u mention that can u tell us what other issues will have the same symptoms as cracked head.

bt50

Postby bt50 » October 28th, 2013, 11:34 am

Yeah correct dont let a mechanic tell u ur head cracked without getting it pressure tested. Especially if yuh doing it a mechanic u never dealt with before.

Postby streetbeastINC. » October 28th, 2013, 3:03 pm

Why is there ah hilux in your sig.¡? And u named bt50

Return to “Trucks & Pickups”