A4 Turbo not working, advice needed

Postby Team Loco » February 4th, 2005, 10:51 am

meh 1.8 T running like a 1.8. Diagnosed yesterday. Turbo not kicking in. What could be the problem?

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » February 4th, 2005, 1:07 pm

Wastegate stuck open? If the wastegate actuator arm broke it would just flop open and allow enough gas around the turbine that it barely spools up.
Youre not hearing any air leaks between the turbo and throttle body are you?
Would be nice if you have a boost/vac gauge in there

Postby Team Loco » February 4th, 2005, 2:10 pm

Wastegate stuck open? If the wastegate actuator arm broke it would just flop open and allow enough gas around the turbine that it barely spools up.
Youre not hearing any air leaks between the turbo and throttle body are you?
Would be nice if you have a boost/vac gauge in there

aye, thanks!! checked the wastegate and sure enough it was stuck open. Now that it is solved, what can i do to prevent this from happening again?

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » February 4th, 2005, 6:27 pm

hmm, now you got me, the spring in the actuator might be snapped?
Umm, normally, you should bareeely be able to pull the arm downward out of the actuator, it should feel real stiff, this is the tension holding the wastegate closed until boost builds up (then when the boost pressure on the actuator diaphragm is equal to the spring tension, the wastegate will open a crack and bypass enough to maintain that target boost)
Are you able to move the actuator arm freely or with little effort? if its all stiff and working properly, the wastegate 'flap' might be getting physically stuck open in the back when boosted hard and it opens maximum, this is unusual, do you have a new or modded downpipe?
This may not apply to you but sometimes aftermarket downpipes have a little plate that inserts into the back of the turbo to split the wastegate gas flow from the turbine flow, and a wastegate could get stuck on this plate if clearances are not all checked out at installation.

When doing all this inspecting make sure the hoses between your actuator, compressor and whatever factory boost control are all in good condition, any split leads to overboost which you may not pick up on without a boost gauge.

Postby Team Loco » February 5th, 2005, 4:41 pm

lawd...well as soon as i jump in the car again, she get lazy. but i realise the turbo sometime-ish. the car will sprint forward with power when you least expect it. but most of the time it's lazy. i have to use the typtronic to drain the pwer. I need to solve this today as i am going blanchisuisse tomorrow. It sounds like something sticking. the whole system is OEM

Wizard-of-OD

Postby Wizard-of-OD » March 4th, 2005, 3:36 am

did you check the N75 Valve?

Wizard-of-OD

Postby Wizard-of-OD » March 4th, 2005, 3:38 am

did you check the N75 Valve?
The K03 and K03-S Turbo's are prone to failure regardless.

Wizard-of-OD

Postby Wizard-of-OD » March 4th, 2005, 3:40 am

stupse....ALL TRAC! clean up dem multi posts man....

nismodriver

Postby nismodriver » March 4th, 2005, 11:30 am

stupse....ALL TRAC! clean up dem multi posts man....

Cleaned by Nismo 8)