Arima Fest - Box Kart Derby Sunday 14th July

AutoSport

Arima Fest - Box Kart Derby Sunday 14th July

Postby AutoSport » July 8th, 2013, 2:16 pm

Arima Fest Box Kart Derby – Drag Racing.
Carded for 14th July 2013.
Under the Patronage of His Worship the Mayor of Arima
Event Coordinated by AutoSport Racing Association
Regulations:
(1) Event Date 14th July 2013
(2) Time From: Noon to 6:00pm
(3) Entry Fee $100.00
Briefing Meeting Wednesday 10th July at Arima Town Hall 7:00pm

(4) Classes/Awards:
Age 12 and Under Over 12 Female at least three entries.
1st, 2nd 3rd 1st, 2nd 3rd 1st, 2nd 3rd
Most impressive design Best-dressed competitor.

(5) Safety Requirements: Helmet, Elbow pads - Knee pads - Long pants and shoes.

(6) Pit Area – Royal Bank Car Park.
(7) Start- Between Royal Bank and American Stores
(8) Finish – Former Marios.
(9) Full Drag Racing Timing system will be used.
(10) Start Procedure: Karts to be lined up on ramp before Christmas Tree, with small chuck or braking system to prevent rolling forward.
Once ready, chuck will be triggered as the starter presses his button.
(11) Wheel size/type to be no more than 16 inches. And Kart not wider than 3 feet.
(12) Space must be provided for Competition Numbers to be clearly displayed on front and sides.
(13) Competition – to be determined depending on number of entries.
(14) Karts to be constructed by Competitor/Team
(15) NOT motorized in any manner!
(16) Must NOT be an already built chassis or must not be any type of racing chassis.
(17) Must have some type of simple braking system.
(18) Must have a place to connect a hook, to facilitate towing back to top.
(19) Dimension – not wider than 3 feet, not longer than

Competitors to enter Royal Ban Car Park with service vehicle and Box Kart
Box Karts to be pulled to “Start holding Area” in between Market and Royal Bank
No Entries accepted after 12 noon.
Start at 1:00pm – provided Police give the all-clear.
First 90 minutes will be for test runs for ALL competitors.
And again repeat requirement of a hook to tow Karts back to the top.
Simple Drag Racing Rules will apply, including loss of run if centre-line is crossed.

Re: Arima Fest - Box Kart Derby Sunday 14th July

Postby Team Loco » July 8th, 2013, 2:56 pm

nice, i have my boxcart/drag and wind car already ;)

Postby wagonrunner » July 8th, 2013, 7:05 pm

unfortunately that date clashes with something else.

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » July 8th, 2013, 7:31 pm

Red Dawg Racing will be there
2 Carts
2 Classes
3 Drivers

Postby dougla_boy » July 9th, 2013, 9:33 am

that entry fee is for spectators too?

i feel i passing thru yes

Postby Razkal » July 9th, 2013, 11:11 am

ways, always wanted to cook up something for a box cart derby...next event maybe

Postby MG Man » July 9th, 2013, 11:34 am

buh yuh done have something already :-p

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » July 9th, 2013, 11:35 am

dougla_boy wrote:that entry fee is for spectators too?

i feel i passing thru yes

Entry fee for spectators is come with your family, your cooler and have a good time.

Entry fee shown is for competitors.

Postby Razkal » July 9th, 2013, 11:41 am

MG Man wrote:buh yuh done have something already :-p

*strokes beard*

i think i qualify, brakes simple enough, def NOT a racing chassis, wheels 16" and i wouldn't really call it a motor :lol:

Postby MG Man » July 9th, 2013, 11:42 am

lol, if not, I have an MGB rolling chassis :)

Postby Razkal » July 9th, 2013, 11:46 am

i actually feel kinda bummy about missing out on this....i already looking at piles of nonsense at home like an ingredients bin...autocross#4 better have a fun-as-fcuk course this sunday...

Postby MG Man » July 9th, 2013, 1:16 pm

hopefully next year I'll have a traditional box cart ready, ie ball-bearing wheels, wooden chassis with rope controlled swivel steer..............

kendall.berkley

Postby kendall.berkley » July 9th, 2013, 1:49 pm

Price to watch the race

nigie

Postby nigie » July 9th, 2013, 2:18 pm

Can we have the ramp angle and length...last year we had 2 shave off the front of our formula 1 on race day

ramptr

Postby ramptr » July 9th, 2013, 7:56 pm

The Rampersadsinghs will be there with one cart.....
will register on Sunday before 12

rmrunner

Postby rmrunner » July 9th, 2013, 8:14 pm

Do they have like ppl renting their go cart to take a spin?

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » July 9th, 2013, 11:45 pm

nigie wrote:Can we have the ramp angle and length...last year we had 2 shave off the front of our formula 1 on race day

Nigie

Organizers requested the drawings that I posted last year
If they stick to the drawings, the base of the ramp should be 12ft. and the height at the back should be 4ft.
Which means that the ramps should have an angle of about 15 degrees instead of the 45 degrees that we started out with last time.

RD

nigie

Postby nigie » July 10th, 2013, 9:33 pm

Red Dawg wrote:
nigie wrote:Can we have the ramp angle and length...last year we had 2 shave off the front of our formula 1 on race day

Nigie

If they stick to the drawings, the base of the ramp should be 12ft. and the height at the back should be 4ft.
Which means that the ramps should have an angle of about 15 degrees instead of the 45 degrees that we started out with last time.

RD

ok back is 3ft so the angle nice....

Postby brams112 » July 10th, 2013, 10:58 pm

MG Man wrote:hopefully next year I'll have a traditional box cart ready, ie ball-bearing wheels, wooden chassis with rope controlled swivel steer..............

Hope ur shaving down the wood banjo to fit the bearings snug, :D :D

MICROTECH 7

Postby MICROTECH 7 » July 11th, 2013, 7:26 am

ramptr wrote:The Rampersadsinghs will be there with one cart.....
will register on Sunday before 12

kendall.berkley wrote:Price to watch the race

The price to attend is free and should the Rampersadsings and others take part, I understand from last night's meeting that $10,000 in prize money will be distributed across the board.

Some of us wasting time racing cars with engines that burn fuel, so build a box with four wheels, get paid and retire.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » July 11th, 2013, 11:41 am

Red Dawg wrote:

Nigie

RD

And the ramp has actually been built to specs. suggested.

We are allowing kart width to be up to 3 feet 6 inches, and length- wheel base 6 feet.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » July 11th, 2013, 6:40 pm

Following our briefing meeting on Wed. night, and with dialog with those in attendance, we have agreed, as suggested by the females present, that there would be no separate class for female competitors.

Concerns were expressed about those holding the Kart before start, attempting to give a push.
We shall have two separate officials looking at the release by those holding.
If there is any attempt at pushing, the competitors will receive a one-second penalty.
And a first warning.
If there is a second attempt at pushing, a two-second penalty will be applied.
A third attempt and the competitor shall be disqualified.

Our ARA team will be there from 9:00am when the road will be closed off and we put the infrastructure in place. We hope to complete this by Noon and have a formal opening by his Worship the Mayor of Arima and his Team.

Then hold a drivers meeting.

Then we get into practice. The length of practice will be determined by the number of competitors registered.

No entries shall be accepted after 12 Noon. All competitors shall report to the Control Tent where Arima B. C. officials shall collect the entry form and entrance fees, and issue competition numbers.

On arrival at Arima, competitors are permitted to enter the Car Park of Royal Bank - go pass the Market from the West, go straight at the Cross Road, swing right into the RBC Car Park. From the Car Park teams can pull their Kart through the RBC Exit tunnel, and on to the road, which will be the pit area.

Postby K74T » July 15th, 2013, 3:16 pm

canada

Postby canada » July 15th, 2013, 4:33 pm

Congratulations AutoSport - another event well done! Sorry we weren't there on Sunday with our box cart to defend our 2nd and 3rd place wins from last year.

Now, I do believe Rawle accepted a bribe so the Mayor could win. We will have to investigate this. We are going to call in the same team that is investigating the e-mailgate right now - okay as soon as they have done the PNM/PP case - so we should have the final result of this in a few years.

In the meantime congratulations to the people of Arima for supporting this event and the Mayor.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » July 15th, 2013, 8:59 pm

canada wrote:Congratulations AutoSport - another event well done! Sorry we weren't there on Sunday with our box cart to defend our 2nd and 3rd place wins from last year.

Now, I do believe Rawle accepted a bribe so the Mayor could win. We will have to investigate this. We are going to call in the same team that is investigating the e-mailgate right now - okay as soon as they have done the PNM/PP case - so we should have the final result of this in a few years.

In the meantime congratulations to the people of Arima for supporting this event and the Mayor.

Now you see why the only rich people in this place are lawyers and Politicians!
Is the "holder", the man holding my Kart that probably collect the money.
I did explain that I have already lodged a protest and paid my protest fee of $500.0 to object to the manner in which the Mayor's Kart shot off the ramp. The International experts already checking for NOS and hidden Turbo. And then we going after the DNA.

And people trying to tell me bout "power to weight"!

Funny how AutoSport had this Box Kart Derby in Arima, well executed and praises all around.....and we make the front page of the Express today! And no, we didn't pay any bribe for that!

t_ramp

Postby t_ramp » July 15th, 2013, 9:45 pm

congratulations to the winners

Red Dawg

Postby Red Dawg » July 15th, 2013, 9:50 pm

Red Dawg Racing

Team Cozier / Red Dawg Racing would like to congratulate his worship, Mr. Ghassan Youseph, the Mayor of Arima, the Arima Borough Corporation and Autosport Promotions Ltd. on the successful running of the Second Annual Arima Fest Box Kart Derby.

Congratulations to:
Scott Hamilton-Cozier, 1st place Under 12 Category
William Cozier, 2nd Place Over 12 Category
Anthony Cozier, Fastest Cart in Competition 16.3 Seconds
Mayor Ghassan Youseph, Fastest run of the day 16.1 Seconds

Red Dawg Racing thanks the following for their help and support:

Andre Crichlow, Pudgy Productions / Paradise Motorsport
Robert Dow and Dillion Gomez, Dow Fabrication
Narend Sooknarine, Zorce Publications, Zorce Racing Magazine.
C. W. Cozier and Janice Cozier, for allowing us to turn their garage into a woodworking shop.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » July 15th, 2013, 10:41 pm

Arima Fest Box Kart Derby 14th July 2013
The event was held as part of the 125th Anniversary of the Royal Chartered Borough of Arima.
We thank His Worship the Mayor Mr. Ghassan Youseph, Council and Corporation of the Borough of Arima.
We thank the Deputy Mayor, Councillor Patricia Cedeno-Metivier.

Sponsors making this Event possible….
Main Sponsor: COPOS Credit Union. Donated the Cash prizes for the Event
RBC Royal Bank Arima for use of their Car Park.
AutoSport Racing Association and their dedicated Team
TTKA and their President, our Official Announcer!
CARIBEL for Radio Communication

Classes/Awards:
Age 12 and Over
1st 13 Tyler Rampersadsingh coming all the way from Princess Town!
2nd 18 William Cozier
3rd 15 Kevin Thomas

Under 12
1st 1 Scott Cozier
2nd 2 Ronaldo Francois
3rd 3 Antonio Lopez

Original Box Kart- Nigel Seales - Sponsored by Pudgy Productions and Paradise Motoor Sport

nigie

Postby nigie » July 16th, 2013, 11:37 am

Excellent event..the atmosphere was pure fun...hats off to his worship the mayor and Autosport....and of course to Pudgy Productions..$$$$$ :mrgreen:

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » July 16th, 2013, 12:44 pm

nigie wrote:Excellent event..the atmosphere was pure fun...hats off to his worship the mayor and Autosport....and of course to Pudgy Productions..$$$$$ :mrgreen:

Look how a lil effort can bring so much fun, expose the younger ones to what a real box Kart with "skater wheels" looks like and provide a handsome pay-day!

Wel done Nigie!

But seriously, come with an old V8 block resting somewhere in the back, and take the advantage away from the Mayor :lol:

Return to “AutoSport Drag & Wind”