Flow Internet Thread

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby redmanjp » November 14th, 2013, 10:49 am

Tired Accord wrote:So is a modem replacement required in order to receive the new "bump" in speeds? Or a modem re-start should do it?

I only heard this on the radio this morning and decided to research it at the office here. I haven't done a speed test at home yet...

reset should do it

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » November 14th, 2013, 2:12 pm

Depends which package you are on, I was on 25 and they needed to change the modem.
I believe everything below that a simple reset should suffice.

Postby Aaron 2NR » November 14th, 2013, 2:21 pm

Flow been messing up all morning in San fernando

snypaz

Postby snypaz » November 14th, 2013, 7:01 pm

They're coming to install the net service at the house. I'd let y'all know how it goes.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 14th, 2013, 8:12 pm

i know this is the internet ched but anyone in south getting cable service interruptions?

Postby stev » November 14th, 2013, 10:22 pm

no interruptions in central. lol

first time in a long while my internet givin trouble.....from 30 to 4 Mbps. lol

Postby M_2NR » November 15th, 2013, 9:46 pm

I did a restart a while back on my old modem and got the speed bump. However, noticed my speeds all weird and ping to google is 107ms which is usually 68ms. I think I'm gonna schedule a modem upgrade. I assume I will be able to disable the DHCP and wireless on this newer modem right? I have never been able to go into this old modem and edit settings or view SNR etc...

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » November 15th, 2013, 9:58 pm

It very up and down. My ping to certain servers have increased and I'm having major latency issues. They need to sort their crap out soon man.

Postby M_2NR » November 15th, 2013, 10:05 pm

^apparently I'm supposed to get the "upgraded" modem. The 502G model one etc. But my batch hasn't been scheduled yet or because i called this hour he can't confirm it for me but as is, I'm not doing much online gaming so ping for me is a minor thing and I still have a ton of bandwidth to play with thankfully. I thinking of downgrading too! 10mbit is more than enough to stream 1080p.

You got upgraded already?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » November 15th, 2013, 10:08 pm

Don't know if this will work for anyone else, but I was using Google DNS in the modern settings, overriding flow original one. I went in and set it back to flow DNS and immediately my torrents went to full speed and everything stated working like before everything gone to hell.

Would be interested to know if this works with anyone else. Been a few days now and it still problem free

Postby maj. tom » November 16th, 2013, 11:36 am

yeah I'm having real trouble accessing some Torrent sites using Google DNS, especially the Bay. Switched back to flow and it loaded in a snap.

Postby M_2NR » November 16th, 2013, 12:32 pm

Update on the appointment. Men call this morning and want to schedule one for tmrw :shock:

Edit: men come and change d modem just now (Sunday). No call to setup yet though. Any idea what is the IP to go into it?

Got mines working within 1/2 hour. Image

Not the one with the wireless router though which is cool for me. WBM760

snypaz

Postby snypaz » November 18th, 2013, 11:33 am

Well they're scheduled to come today so I took the day off. No sign or call from them yet.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » November 18th, 2013, 3:39 pm

brickman

Postby brickman » November 20th, 2013, 2:05 am

Net down for half hour so far in p.o.s.

Postby r3iXmann » November 20th, 2013, 2:07 am

M_2NR wrote:Not the one with the wireless router though which is cool for me. WBM760

I have the one with the wifi router..I've noticed that my network throughput (not internet) drastically slows down once more than 2 devices jump on...anybody else having this issue?

Kronik

Postby Kronik » November 20th, 2013, 6:50 am

I have about 15 devices total connected to the modern via wireless and hub etc and get close to full speed depending on which devices I transferring between. But this is 100mb network cards not 1gb

Postby gastly369 » November 20th, 2013, 11:46 am

ohh yes goin with flow
internet, tv and phone let see how it goes :\
atm have blink and directv

never had a problem with blink 2mbit just price for $$ atm 10 vs 2 :\
i just notice a trend in this thread that have me worried always seeing that flow net is either down or at some dead horse speeds on a daily basis. hence why i dont have it yet but getting tired if the 2mbit

Postby M_2NR » November 20th, 2013, 2:25 pm

r3iXmann wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Not the one with the wireless router though which is cool for me. WBM760

I have the one with the wifi router..I've noticed that my network throughput (not internet) drastically slows down once more than 2 devices jump on...anybody else having this issue?

Yuh never tried using your own router? I was thankful in a way that I got this kind. May be the DHCP is chit on it.

snypaz

Postby snypaz » November 20th, 2013, 2:57 pm

Yeah the net was down around 2:00am this morning. And so far, I'm having no problems. I hooked up my own Belkin Wireless Router to the Arris and I'm good to go. Wasn't feeling to put in new settings into all the devices in the house.

Postby S_2NR » November 20th, 2013, 3:30 pm

gastly369 wrote:ohh yes goin with flow

i just notice a trend in this thread that have me worried always seeing that flow net is either down or at some dead horse speeds on a daily basis. hence why i dont have it yet but getting tired if the 2mbit

Flow is better but once it start to give trouble..well boy..pressure

Postby stev » November 20th, 2013, 4:11 pm

make sure and n use OpenDNS or Google DNS or a mix....Flow DNS was always crap IMO....but lately im seeing people having trouble accessing certain sites with a public DNS.

also enable encryption in ur torrent client :mrgreen:

Kronik

Postby Kronik » November 20th, 2013, 4:35 pm

^^well recently flow DNS working plenty better and giving me my full speeds vs Google DNS which I was using all the time

Postby cinco » November 20th, 2013, 5:19 pm

Maybe no one complains about blink because they expect it to give trouble lol

Postby gastly369 » November 20th, 2013, 5:32 pm

Cool thanks for the feedback.. Yeh know about the setting for torrents etc. Use it often in wok :mrgreen:

Postby Trini Hookah » November 20th, 2013, 11:08 pm

Imagebwdmc

Postby S_2NR » November 20th, 2013, 11:24 pm

cinco wrote:

Maybe no one complains about blink because they expect it to give trouble lol

Had blink before flow for about 5 years.
Have flow for going on 3.
Flow has given me more problems than blink ever did.

Postby Ted_v2 » November 21st, 2013, 4:55 am

My blink don't give any trouble. Might just need a reset after current cuts and return. Which is expected.

Gastly I'm getting flow on the 27th. I took Internet, phone and digital cable. I'm still pondering about the flow Internet but for the price heyyy

Skanky

Postby Skanky » November 21st, 2013, 6:37 am

Was watching CNC3 morning brew this week and a guy from tstt said they pump hundreds of millions of dollars into the local economy.How much money does flow or digicel put back into our economy?Flow money goes to Jamaica and Digicel to Ireland.Money drained from our economy.
I'd rather put my money into a local company even if there is a 0.01% chance it'll be reinvested locally rather than a 100% chance it will never see Trinidad again.

That being said, I'd rather have 4M 100% of the time(and I do mean 100% for about 4-5 years) than 50M 70% of the time.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 21st, 2013, 7:38 am

Skanky wrote:

Was watching CNC3 morning brew this week and a guy from tstt said they pump hundreds of millions of dollars into the local economy.How much money does flow or digicel put back into our economy?Flow money goes to Jamaica and Digicel to Ireland.Money drained from our economy.
I'd rather put my money into a local company even if there is a 0.01% chance it'll be reinvested locally rather than a 100% chance it will never see Trinidad again.

That being said, I'd rather have 4M 100% of the time(and I do mean 100% for about 4-5 years) than 50M 70% of the time.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: surely you jest