Nissan D22 Frontier build log. *new stuff*

Postby nervewrecker » December 20th, 2013, 11:08 pm

Some of you may know I got another vehicle to go to work with. Its economical on fuel and has a nice rugged suspension so rough roads....what rough roads?
But the sound system....I told myself I can live with it but no, I just cant. It sucks ass hardcore so I have opted for an upgrade of some sort. Nothing fancy, nothing loud, not compromising the full functionality of the vehicle and all the seats.

If anyone ever saw this build:

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=311822&hilit=sundown+mazda

They should know where I going with this.

Gathering equipment:

Pioneer 80prs, picked it up from 3stagevtec as it was giveaway price and he knows his stuff so I sure its not f**ked.

Recycled these from the car

Alpine PDX 5, got it from goodyear (not sure he even put it up for sale, closed door deal).

Loudforce 80series 10", BNIB from fuzz as the specs looked good and it was affordable

Got all this from rovin -

5 yards of Bluewave 4AWG, nice pure copper

30 feet of stinger 16awg speaker wire

Bluewave inline fuse holder and 60A fuse

3 6ft Stinger RCA's

2 4awg ring terminals

and 2 yards of stinger remote wire

Salvaged pieces of scrap MDF from Spectro Vibez

Some resin and mat from Corsa

And here we go:

offering up with passenger seat right back and rocked back all the way back

Got a lot of advice of what to look for from the guy who did the b2500 when I was at this stage. Already took notes from his build.

Some rain fell when I left it to cure so it looks like it has friggin bubbles all over.

gear shifter is not a good center reference :lol:

with gear shifter rocked back, the edges were curved so as not to hinder the changing of gears. By now its evident its a center console box so I have somwhere to rest my hand like in the car.

Lined with concrete and fiberglass for density and lowered resonance. A few layers of this actually.

layering it on, some fiberglass mixed with cement for density and to lower resonances.

This does not bend well around curves and it unravels when you glassing so I mark out templates and passed my glue gun around the ends to keep it from unraveling.

Test fitting this morning

4th gear :evilbat:

passenger seat all the way back:

driver side clearance

Passenger side clearance

Last edited by nervewrecker on December 2nd, 2015, 3:43 pm, edited 8 times in total.

Re: Nissan D22 Frontier build log.

Postby nervewrecker » December 20th, 2013, 11:09 pm

Its xmas time so I did a little cleaning too, ripped out all the upholstery and cleaned under it.

Offering up the amp under the driver side seat....

Cant fit because of some wires so passenger seat for it.

____________________________________________________________________________________

Prepping "amp rack", must hold amp secure and firm. No movements whatsoever with the way I drive. Might revise it tomorrow as I have a better idea.

Plate redone and secured to floor

No holes were drilled, there are little plastic plugs I replaced with bolts.

Amp cannot be removed without taking out seat :evilbat:

It lives 0X

Last edited by nervewrecker on December 28th, 2013, 7:34 pm, edited 6 times in total.

Postby nervewrecker » December 20th, 2013, 11:10 pm

RCA's labelled High, Low and Sub (H,L,S) respectively on both ends on each red RCA so they dont get mixed up.

NOTE: RCA and B+ at least 4" away from each other.

Finished wiring today thanks to kurpal for lending me his meter

USB should come through here

replaced door speakers and fitted aftermarket in same brackets

unjacked the stock plugs for the speakers

new wires run alongside old and tie straps to secure them

https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/ ... 8791_n.jpg

connected to speaker

old vs new
Last edited by nervewrecker on December 28th, 2013, 7:40 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 21st, 2013, 10:03 am

good work so far .... :)

Details

Postby Details » December 21st, 2013, 12:06 pm

Wow I'm so following this tread... cuz I'm upgrading to a d22 frontier at the end of Feb and I wanted to know how I can fit my music into it

Postby nervewrecker » December 21st, 2013, 11:30 pm

daryl0510

Postby daryl0510 » December 27th, 2013, 11:08 pm

ah boy nerve, doh fuget mih when yuh finish, wanna hear it!

Postby Ted_v2 » December 28th, 2013, 8:39 am

that deck has High, Low and Sub?

you sure its not front, rear and sub?

Postby nervewrecker » December 28th, 2013, 9:23 am

Did the "knock test" on the box yesterday, it almost ready. Might finish it today and put everything together.

Daryl, as soon as I come back to work.

Tweeter location undecided as even with the crap sound system it came with the staging and imaging actually not bad.

Its actually Rear, Front and Sub but I call it High (tweeters), Low (midbass) and sub (Bass) like in a typical 3 way system.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 28th, 2013, 11:19 am

or horr. i thought it was like a cross, where they are seperate

Postby nervewrecker » December 28th, 2013, 4:56 pm

Well its up and running. Sub-less.

But this the season so I dealing with some johnny walker here. Will update later....if I sober 0.o

Postby nervewrecker » December 28th, 2013, 7:43 pm

Thread updated, hopefuly I can sort out the kinks here and there and finish up the sub enclosure.

I nave to buy heat shrink and techflex.

And rovin, I end up with about 2" extra speaker wire. Serious talk.

evolution7tt

Postby evolution7tt » December 29th, 2013, 8:02 am

Wow. That's a lot of work you put in there man.

I am guessing the next step is some deadening for the doors. I know those doors are really in need of some.

Please do a vid when everything is finalized.

Well done!

goodear

Postby goodear » December 29th, 2013, 9:32 am

When it finished I would like to hear it. Want to compare your front stage to mine. To see where any improvement in either of ours can be had.

Postby Aaron 2NR » December 29th, 2013, 9:39 am

looking good man....

Postby nervewrecker » December 29th, 2013, 11:29 am

Thanks guys. Tweeter location is settled....kickpanel mount ftw! Have to make new kickpanels now :(

Will make a video of I finish today and some dampening is a must. These speakers can't hit below 90hz as is. :lol:

A day I will pass in Goodyear :)

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » December 29th, 2013, 7:14 pm

nice DIY man.. very nice

Postby black start » December 29th, 2013, 7:19 pm

Nice build man....

Postby nervewrecker » December 29th, 2013, 10:58 pm

thanks guys, here is a shiddy vid:

Re: Nissan D22 Frontier build log. *vid added*

Postby Ted_v2 » December 30th, 2013, 5:33 am

Bodow

Details

Postby Details » December 30th, 2013, 9:04 am

niceeee

Postby nervewrecker » December 30th, 2013, 9:40 am

Another quickvid made yesterday.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 30th, 2013, 10:36 am

Got a quick demo yesterday.

Pretty impressive build, actually didnt "notice" the box there, felt like it was supposed to be there. Only thing i think i missed was a pocket to put the remote. Actually had some big girls sit normal in the backseat, gotta get the grill however.

Sound wise, its pretty impressive, i expect after some play time and tuning the sub will give a weightyer bass that lacks atm. Gotta give those tweets some more room to play as well, i bearly noticed them at first :lol:

All in all a nice foundation which is why i didnt bother going too indepth.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 30th, 2013, 6:23 pm

Sound wise its impressive for what it is (300w).
It's ideal for a nice slam yet not overpowering. Perfect for the driver, nice cruising setup.
The fiberglass work is well done and fits properly. It just needs to finish up and the usb needs to neeten up else its perfect and stealth

Postby nervewrecker » December 30th, 2013, 9:45 pm

I didnt like the sink in the box near the front so I filling it up and filling up all the sinks to make it look as smooth and symmetrical as possible.
Trying something new here, hope it works.

__________________________________________________________________________________

progress

Last edited by nervewrecker on January 3rd, 2014, 7:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » January 3rd, 2014, 7:03 pm

evolution7tt wrote:Wow. That's a lot of work you put in there man.

I am guessing the next step is some deadening for the doors. I know those doors are really in need of some.

Please do a vid when everything is finalized.

Well done!

Right you are. 8-)

Paid Mobile Audio Concepts a visit this afternoon for some more goodies. Good treatment as always.

Saw this at the guys shop:

sexy as f**k!

Will see what I can do this weekend (kinda not focused and a bit disoriented as my munchkin died :cry: ).

First time with this stuff 05/01/14

Last edited by nervewrecker on January 5th, 2014, 8:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » January 4th, 2014, 3:02 pm

right side door, no sub, left side muted.

Right side door take two:

meanwhile left door done.

Must be able to play any and everything:

The infamous Late night tip:

Lowest note is there but I guess as the sub is in the cabin itself not much can be done to get those notes.
Will try it in the car and see how it responds.
Last edited by nervewrecker on January 4th, 2014, 7:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 4th, 2014, 3:57 pm

Sounds good. Best part is you have no door motor to worry about. Put down mat like dat

Postby nervewrecker » January 4th, 2014, 10:01 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:Sounds good. Best part is you have no door motor to worry about. Put down mat like dat

That Damplifier pro makes a big difference. Scrapped the door, knocked it a few times and it sounds hollow and weak.
With the door done it had to get a small cuff or a small kick to make it flex :lol:

The Damplifier pro was my choice for many reasons (many that can be online so I dont have do a comparison against any brands). In case anyone wondering it has no asphalt scent, Butyl ftw. 8-)

Didnt get chance to close up all the holes but the vids speak for themselves.

It only occurred to me today I have a footrest :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » January 5th, 2014, 9:08 pm

Have to use this to test the midbass :lol:

Thanks for the song Luanna.

Meanwhile, in the car. It gets deep off 250watts.

Thanks for the good copy of late night tip sir. 8-)

No hitting of seat.