STi cubby guage cluster 08 Legacy

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

Densil

STi cubby guage cluster 08 Legacy

Postby Densil » March 19th, 2014, 5:02 pm

Im looking to install one of these. Part #H5010AG000 .. The good thing is that it is OEM fit and does the sweep just like the speedo etc. (comes with everything to install also)The cheapest im seeing it for is $699US on AMAZON.. all other sites have it for around $799US.... Anyone got these installed (is it available locally)..i hear they look and perform really sweet.... but deh kinda expensive sah...lol..... But i like them.....so is ban yuh belly time ...lol ... Haven't bought it yet, but hopefully soon.

Boost, Oil Pressure, Oil Temp.
H5010AG000.jpg
H5010AG000.jpg (37.07 KiB) Viewed 6759 times

jadakiss

Re: STi cubby guage cluster 08 Legacy

Postby jadakiss » March 22nd, 2014, 2:56 pm

personally id rather see boost in psi than KPa lol

im assuming it comes with all the sender units, sandwich plates etc but the ting is...is it really worth the price? im sure its more reliable and accurate than a prosport but still..is it worth the price?

Densil

Postby Densil » March 22nd, 2014, 3:22 pm

I understand what your saying. .. it is expensive.... and I am going for a stock/ neat look..... I'm comfortable with the kpa/ bar guages. ..I work with them all day. ... so it's not a big deal for me. .I can convert on the fly. .lol.......what do you suggest as an alternative? is the prosport similar or do you have to build your custom set of 3?.... in the end i want it to look "non hand built" if you know what i mean

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 22nd, 2014, 3:42 pm

Forget Prosport. I had some dealings with their warranty department yesterday. Decided to just trash the gauges than waste money shipping them back to the us.

I'm personally running aem gauges as well as Prosport comp 2 digitals....there is a single din finisher from autometer than can be assembled to create what you are looking for...

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 22nd, 2014, 3:44 pm

Autometer also had an elite 2 series which look exactly like the sti gauges and I believe they sweep as well. They provide peak alerts as well. Never saw them locally tho but you can find them online

Postby Ted_v2 » March 22nd, 2014, 7:21 pm

As Aaron said. Just go with some aftermarket units with a single din finisher.

Lance

Postby Lance » March 22nd, 2014, 7:32 pm

For that price... Best you go defi..

Oem Subaru performance parts are very pricey.

I use autometer gauges and they work fine.

The fitment also seems straight forward. If you're good with your hands you can almost replicate something similar with little effort.

Densil

Postby Densil » March 22nd, 2014, 7:40 pm

Ok cool.. Tonight I will look for the autometer. ..thanks

jadakiss

Postby jadakiss » March 23rd, 2014, 12:56 pm

i got the '08 legacy jus like urs and personally im running the aem and autometer gauges...prosport is rubbish...esp the electrical boost gauge...used them before..lasted less than a year before i tossed em

autometer gauges are pretty robust..also the mechanical gauges are wheyy more reliable

there are finishers on avo jdm and japanparts..or u cud jus pillar mount

Densil

Postby Densil » March 23rd, 2014, 5:29 pm

I really don't like pillar mount... that being said. .I checked evo jdm.. They got the finisher for the cubby just like the sti guages for like $84us... might get that and buy the guages separate. .I bought from them before. .I got the double din for where the radio is located... Haven't installed it yet.. waiting for the new pioneer deck (NEX SERIES)...

Densil

Postby Densil » April 15th, 2014, 9:27 pm

Ok ...i decided with the the STi gauges.. They were made by Defi.... When i calculated the gauges separately it was almost the same thing.(if not more,depending on the brand).....So stock look ....with a pillar mount AEM wideband (I conceded, but going to mount it low).... i think that should do it...

Civic 2nr

Postby Civic 2nr » April 21st, 2014, 7:16 pm

bro u are overthinking all this , i believe u should get on to an experienced legacy guru and u will be able to get what u need without breaking the bank.

Densil

Postby Densil » May 13th, 2014, 9:33 am

Thanks for the advice guys... in the end...I realised I really liked the Sti gauges... they came today....Will install soon..maybe within the next week or so

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 13th, 2014, 10:13 am

Take a pic

Densil

Postby Densil » May 14th, 2014, 11:38 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:Take a pic

Looks like i will have to send it back.... I enquired about this before i purchased it,but apparently the man aint know what goin on... The gauges are angled to the left.....so this is for left hand drive....have to get rhd model....
20140514_111004.jpg
20140514_111119.jpg

Lance

Postby Lance » May 14th, 2014, 12:36 pm

That sucks...

Densil

Postby Densil » May 14th, 2014, 12:40 pm

I ain't bitching...sheit happens...and for a reason I guess....will try to get the correct part this time around

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 14th, 2014, 1:12 pm

Yikes
There are a couple lhd sti down here see if ragz or deen might be interested

Densil

Postby Densil » May 14th, 2014, 1:31 pm

Thanks aron... how do.i get in contact with them.....you have contacts for them?

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 14th, 2014, 5:51 pm

https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=7949029&fref=ts

https://www.facebook.com/javed.deen.52?fref=ts

don't like giving out ppl numbers especially when i don't know the person I'm giving it to

Densil

Postby Densil » May 14th, 2014, 9:52 pm

Yeah..no scene...I'm cool with that... I will msg to see if they are interested

Lance

Postby Lance » May 15th, 2014, 5:34 am

Post it on the local Subaru Facebook page as well. They may also check that page

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 15th, 2014, 6:42 am

It's not possible to rotate the front cover? So the bezel can face the right side?

Densil

Postby Densil » May 16th, 2014, 4:26 am

Seeing that I was sending it back. .I didn't want to open and mess with it.... But because of your 'encouragement' Aaron. ..I decided to give it a go.... it wasn't so simple as rotating the face. ..I had to scrap it right down.... remove the 3 guages. .... swap the one's on both ends. .. and flip the housing for the guages. .. Mount it back up. ... and flip the front face..... In the end it all worked out great. ... and I can keep it :)... One thing though. .. There is always a but. ....I no longer have a STI guage pack..... I now have a AS guage pack. ....I will call it ...Ayrton Senna guage pack....lol...Will post a pic of the new angle

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 16th, 2014, 5:02 am

great bro....im sure u can get a vinyl shop to add in the sticker if u want lol

Densil

Postby Densil » May 16th, 2014, 5:10 am

I hate always having to resize these images... 500kb limit..in these times...ridiculous...

The sti badge is below the glass ..lol

Nothing I can do about that
img20140516_050543.jpg

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 16th, 2014, 9:46 am

For the $$ Im sure you spent, you could have gotten some sweet Defi gauges..

but is the STi badge on it a graphic (sticker) if so, have it removed and just go to the local graphic shop and have them cut over a new one for you, and just stick it on the bottom right or wherever u want.

Densil

Postby Densil » May 16th, 2014, 2:24 pm

This was made by defi for the Subaru.....And the logo is under the front glass and is but a sticker...only way to fix that is to remove the glass.... Will look into that later on..maybe I can heat the glass to remove it easier with scraping it ...

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 16th, 2014, 2:26 pm

or go to a good vinyl shop and they can do something to cover it from the front...like a little carbon block with sti over it...something tastefully done...

Densil

Postby Densil » May 16th, 2014, 2:29 pm

Yeah Aaron...that would work too...might be the better option

Return to “SUBARU”