Flow Internet Thread

fouljuice

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby fouljuice » June 4th, 2014, 6:36 pm

nah gastly, my US has always been solid orange. Link is blinking orange (unless you connect modem directly to computer I think, then it will blink green)
Everything else solid green.

This is on the modem with 8 lights by the way

Postby gastly369 » June 4th, 2014, 7:40 pm

orr kk yeh well same as yrs :lol:

ModMania

Postby ModMania » June 4th, 2014, 7:44 pm

That orange and green means this....the modem is gigabit ethernet, if you connect it to 10/100Mb nic it will be orange if its 10/100/1000nic it will be green...

PapaC

Postby PapaC » June 4th, 2014, 7:56 pm

Ohhhh, that why mines showing green when I changed my router. Was always wondering.

But flow is fackin up though. Streams dropping ever so often.

Postby M_2NR » June 4th, 2014, 8:01 pm

S_2NR wrote:
gastly369 wrote:err is it normal US(guessing upstream) orange and flashing LINK(also orange) or all suppose to be green :\ ?
working good tho just want to know

You have a line problem. Us supposed to be green.
Good luck. You'll need it
Thank you for choosing Flow.

edited.

Strangely since they fixed my issue my US is now orange (solid) and my net pumping.

BTW guys, if your modem blinking all over like a light show it's two things:
1) Problem in the area
2) an update was pushed and it's downloading/applying. or so they say.

Postby S_2NR » June 4th, 2014, 8:20 pm

fouljuice wrote:nah gastly, my US has always been solid orange. Link is blinking orange (unless you connect modem directly to computer I think, then it will blink green)
Everything else solid green.

This is on the modem with 8 lights by the way

then you have a problem too.
just because you have company doh mean everything is good. :lol:
orange US means there is only one upstream channel available so if that one channel gets flaky or overloaded your goose is cook.
say prayers from now unless you living deep south where internet is a luxury for plenty still

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » June 5th, 2014, 5:28 am

Called Flow last night, they immediately admitted there was an outage in the area and that service would be restored ASAP. By this morning service is back, all lights solid green except link which is blinking green. Speedtest below - first to POS then to Tampa FL.

Postby Morpheus » June 5th, 2014, 2:34 pm

I generally have way more good days than bad ones but wtf FLOW...

1401993202276.jpg

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » June 5th, 2014, 7:59 pm

All this tells us is that the modem is searching for a downstream connection and can't get one. Only Flow can tell you the reason (if they even give you a proper one). You just have to hope you get a good customer service rep when you call really. I think you can call anytime. I got through around 8 last night 223-FLOW.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » June 5th, 2014, 8:26 pm

S_2NR wrote:
then you have a problem too.
just because you have company doh mean everything is good. :lol:
orange US means there is only one upstream channel available so if that one channel gets flaky or overloaded your goose is cook.
say prayers from now unless you living deep south where internet is a luxury for plenty still

The orange light usually means what you wrote, but Flow can supposedly configure the lights to mean something else (see Note 1), because I never see that light turn green in my 4 years of Flow. Either that, or they real confident about that one channel not failing. The only time I get issues is if there is a widespread problem.

They didn't specify what is 'High Speed' vs 'Ultra High Speed' :?

This is the TM722G.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » June 5th, 2014, 8:36 pm

^ That might not help. Some of them CSRs don't know the difference between dental floss and pubes, so you will be talking to a wall.

ModMania

Postby ModMania » June 5th, 2014, 8:40 pm

That green us light I think means, the modem is capable of locking on to several upstream channels but flow does not offer that 1 upstream channel per modem, unlike their downstream which the modems lock onto 4 and 8 in some cases. Each channel allows the modem 25-30Mbs. Seeing that the max offered speed from flow is something like 3Mbs suggests that there is no channel bonding on the upstream...but the modem is capable of it, hence the green and orange light

Postby gastly369 » June 5th, 2014, 8:56 pm

Tks for clarification

Postby S_2NR » June 5th, 2014, 8:56 pm

ModMania wrote:That green us light I think means, the modem is capable of locking on to several upstream channels but flow does not offer that 1 upstream channel per modem, unlike their downstream which the modems lock onto 4 and 8 in some cases. Each channel allows the modem 25-30Mbs. Seeing that the max offered speed from flow is something like 3Mbs suggests that there is no channel bonding on the upstream...but the modem is capable of it, hence the green and orange light

not true. I have two upstream channels. Us light always green. All lights green as in pic of the modem I uploaded earlier :|

ModMania

Postby ModMania » June 5th, 2014, 9:42 pm

I said I think, however I can assure u no one has channel bonding on the upstream...its just not available.

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » June 6th, 2014, 7:06 pm

Anybody here link Couva with flow? Wanna know if it works goods...

samureye

Postby samureye » June 8th, 2014, 5:06 pm

Hey, I've called Flow but got no real help and may well call again. The internet has been fine but webpages take a bit longer to load.

On Youtube when I click my subscriptions, thumbnails now don't always show up for videos, and streaming Youtube wirelessly freezes a lot. Even wired YouTube will not stream as before. Twitch steaming is worse than YouTube.

I understand things will be slower with more people on board, but this is not acceptable for the Turbo 30 package considering this is only a recent issue.

Admittedly I have been using Blockless DNS, but changing to Google DNS does not seem to yeild much better results. I have been riding it out to see if it will just fix itself but something is wrong. Does this sound familiar to anyone?

Just curious if there is anything I could do on my end, or something I could tell Flow.

When I called Flow they had me do Speedtests...but I don't care about local server speeds. YouTube and Twitch ain't hosted here!

I have the old modem and intend on getting the new one with wireless even though I already have a router. Maybe that will help things?

Postby gastly369 » June 8th, 2014, 5:11 pm

heard their wireless modems is headache...
could be wrong

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » June 8th, 2014, 5:21 pm

gastly369 wrote:heard their wireless modems is headache...
could be wrong

Yes! Yes they are had mine changed 3 times till I go the normal modem

samureye

Postby samureye » June 8th, 2014, 5:28 pm

Would it be a bad idea to request a new modem considering I've had this one since they introduced internet? I'm willing to try anything.

Postby S_2NR » June 8th, 2014, 5:56 pm

You sound like u have the same problem I had. They fixed me up now.

Pepper thy angus.

samureye

Postby samureye » June 8th, 2014, 6:55 pm

I just had a friend in South with a 20meg plan stream a video without streaming while I was trying the same livestream at a LOWER setting and I could not get it to be smooth without pausing.

My internet is "fine" but it certainly is not where it was before. Really annoying since I don't watch TV and use the internet instead.

kerwinishere

Postby kerwinishere » June 8th, 2014, 7:22 pm

Was thinking about ditching cable and going Netflix and Hulu but since flow decide to firetruck up I scared to see how streaming goes.

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » June 8th, 2014, 8:00 pm

It kinda make sense but Satellite better imo no month fee and no internet streaming...looking to get a system soon...

Postby Trini Hookah » June 8th, 2014, 8:11 pm

sonygoup wrote:
could be wrong

I feel mine on it's way out too yes

Saturday night was de WORST, got kicked from about 4-5 consecutive cod matches.

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » June 8th, 2014, 8:15 pm

nick639 wrote:
sonygoup wrote:It kinda make sense but Satellite better imo no month fee and no internet streaming...looking to get a system soon...

Satellite is a good bit of $$$$ tho :(

Only 5k but it pays back for itself bro
Trini Hookah wrote:
sonygoup wrote:
could be wrong

I feel mine on it's way out too yes

Saturday night was de WORST, got kicked from about 4-5 consecutive cod matches.
yea that is a sign bro... use to happen to me alot!
Also UPNP does stop work then u does only get like 3 devices connected to it....Call em now lol

bignog

Postby bignog » June 8th, 2014, 8:17 pm

yuh cyar watch cable tv quiet at all .........soon as is a flow advert.......is like a volume monster coming out the tv .........weeeeys da....check allyuh self .....internet wise dey fair

Postby Ted_v2 » June 8th, 2014, 8:43 pm

My net working fair.
Can't complain. Need to reset once every 2 weeks or so. Similar was with blink so it's no biggie.
Flow advertising sucks

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » June 8th, 2014, 10:53 pm

kerwinishere wrote:Was thinking about ditching cable and going Netflix and Hulu but since flow decide to firetruck up I scared to see how streaming goes.

Two words...
conspiracy
theory