1986 Daihatsu Charmant Build (rebirth)

Morbid582

1986 Daihatsu Charmant Build (rebirth)

Postby Morbid582 » January 16th, 2015, 8:44 am

So back in 05 my car at the time (PAU 582) had an unfortunate disagreement with a light pole...of course you can guess who came out on top. From that time I had always wanted to rebuild the car but never found a shell that was worth putting the time and $$ into....that is until now. About a year ago I found a gem that was locked away in a cave for the last seven years and promptly persuaded the owner it was time to part with her. Having discovered from the forums that the AE86 was almost bolt for bolt and there was an abundance of parts available that would improve the handling and braking capabilities, my brother and I agreed that we would not make the same mistakes of old (lack of suspension and brakes) and started collecting the bits and pieces we needed to do this thing right. So we put together the following over the last year:

Blitz 32 way fully adjustable coilovers (with spindles)
J2 Adjustable Front & Rear Lateral Rods
J2 Adjustable Panhard Bar
J2 Adjustable Tension Rods
Complete Trueno GTS Rear End with ebrake
T3 Front LCA's, RCA's and Traction Brackets
Prothane Sway bar end links
Godspeed 25mm front sway bar
Polyurethene Steering rack bushings
Willwood 300mm front Rotors with customs aluminum hats and big brake brackets
Brembo Front Rotors
IMG_1691.JPG
IMG_1690.JPG
IMG_1688.JPG
IMG_1873.JPG
IMG_1872.JPG

Re: 1986 Daihatsu Charmant Build (rebirth)

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 16th, 2015, 10:21 am

original condition, great base for project.

What's gonna be the powerplant?

Postby Ignorant Ignis » January 16th, 2015, 11:43 am

wow ....... loving where this is headed ...... please no sr20

Postby K74T » January 16th, 2015, 11:46 am

No crossbreed plz.

Postby Morpheus » January 16th, 2015, 11:57 am

In for build.....

Postby supercharged turbo » January 16th, 2015, 12:05 pm

Waiting to hear reply on powerplant

Postby 1UZFE » January 16th, 2015, 12:10 pm

1J ?

Postby black start » January 16th, 2015, 12:12 pm

3s business oar?

Postby Ignorant Ignis » January 16th, 2015, 1:26 pm

1uzfe? :)

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » January 16th, 2015, 1:38 pm

Sweet condition. Please don't crossbreed or put a 6 cylinder.

4ag
3s

Postby ruffneck_12 » January 16th, 2015, 5:59 pm

make it an epic sleeper :3

Morbid582

Postby Morbid582 » January 17th, 2015, 5:43 am

Started on getting the car scrapped to a bare chassis to see what repairs will need to be done
IMG_2678.jpg
Inside Gutted, floor pan looks really good
IMG_2678.jpg (50.47 KiB) Viewed 7495 times
IMG_2677.jpg
Car is in its resting place for the next couple of months
IMG_2677.jpg (41.74 KiB) Viewed 7495 times
IMG_2676.jpg
Engine is out
IMG_2676.jpg (74.98 KiB) Viewed 7495 times

4a70

Postby 4a70 » January 17th, 2015, 6:30 am

Inside dey bess build.... i hope its a 4age

Morbid582

Postby Morbid582 » January 17th, 2015, 8:48 am

As for the power plant we're leaning towards a 4 cylinder turbo for the simple reason of its what we had used in our previous build and it was an absolute perfect fit in terms of power to weight ratio. It's relatively easier on the pocket to make the HP we're after with other engines as compared to the 4AG which will have to be boosted. But the engine will probably be the last thing to be installed so it may give us some time to reconsider another option which may be more suitable to our power goals and suited to what the car is being built for.

Morbid582

Postby Morbid582 » January 17th, 2015, 9:00 am

Started prepping the engine bay for some stitch welds, had issues in the past with twisting so looking for that extra rigidity to handle the torque. This chassis was originally designed for 82hp so need to make sure that we make it strong enough to cope with a boosted engine
IMG_2692.jpg
Not 100% happy with the job but....
IMG_2692.jpg (68.47 KiB) Viewed 7476 times
IMG_2689.jpg
taking off the original seam sealant was relatively easy with a hand grinder and wire brush
IMG_2689.jpg (74.38 KiB) Viewed 7476 times
IMG_2688.jpg
more prep for welding
IMG_2688.jpg (77.12 KiB) Viewed 7476 times
IMG_2687.jpg
IMG_2687.jpg (36.28 KiB) Viewed 7476 times

Morbid582

Postby Morbid582 » January 18th, 2015, 4:02 am

Started power brushing the undercarriage and other bits in preparation for refinish, want it to look as clean as possible when we put it all together
IMG_2690.jpg
My best friend at the moment
IMG_2691.jpg
Still to remove the exhaust and fuel/brake lines
IMG_2701.jpg
Fender arch buffed
IMG_2702.jpg
IMG_2718.jpg
banjo buffed and ready for paint
IMG_2719.jpg
cross member buffed and ready for paint
IMG_2721.jpg
finished product
IMG_2722.jpg

Postby Ted_v2 » January 18th, 2015, 5:18 am

Damn. Very inspirational.
Looking to do one of these very soon

Postby DVSTT » January 18th, 2015, 5:56 am

Inside

Postby cinco » January 18th, 2015, 8:17 am

Wowza talk about love for a real stepchild there boy. Can't wait to see the finished product

moti

Postby moti » January 18th, 2015, 9:06 am

Hmmmm Really nice.
I love your approach.

Great to see there is someone out there that has the same approach as me when it comes to a project.

Postby supercharged turbo » January 18th, 2015, 9:08 am

Subscribed.If the four cylinder turbo powerplantyou considering is ah sr20det,reconsider

moti

Postby moti » January 18th, 2015, 12:45 pm

^^ Why?

Because it's non Toyota?

Tell me, what RWD 4 Cylinder turbo Gasoline engine does Toyota have?
Now don't say a 3S Turbo cause those are not RWD and the amount of custom parts etc that you need is not worth it.

A Beams 3SGE is a great platform, but with no aftermarket support you are basically stuck with a 210hp figure and don't say well you can turbo it because while it has been done it also requires custom everything and the cost is also not worth it.

This chassis was not designed for the JZ series, UZ series as a lot of restructuring will need to take place to have the car balanced and handling restored to an acceptable level ( in the case of a JZ ) the UZ will output so much torque that the entire car will need bracing and seeing that he is using the solid rear axle means that the engine choice is more or less within the 200hp mark.

I say SR20 it and enjoy the crap out of the car.
But I also recommend you to change the solid rear for an IRS setup off a Silvia/180SX.
As this will directly increase your handling and would be able to withstand the power upgrades in the future.

Hence the reason why so many AE86 out there are SR20 powered.

But go brave.

Postby cinco » January 18th, 2015, 1:10 pm

moti wrote:^^ Why?

Because it's non Toyota?

Tell me, what RWD 4 Cylinder turbo Gasoline engine does Toyota have?.

2t/3t wam to u dunce???

shodoh100

Postby shodoh100 » January 18th, 2015, 1:30 pm

Mobid pm me your number were you from im buidling one rite now we could link and share ideas

moti

Postby moti » January 18th, 2015, 1:44 pm

cinco wrote:
moti wrote:^^ Why?

Because it's non Toyota?

Tell me, what RWD 4 Cylinder turbo Gasoline engine does Toyota have?.

2t/3t wam to u dunce???

LMAO.

Unless he can get a 3TGTE or 4TGTE it don't make sense.

Plus OP didn't state what his build was aiming for, i.e. drag, drift, or just to have a fassup ride or a weekend warrior.

And I really can't see him spending 15K including the engine/box cost on a T series and have 200hp as starting figures.

Okay I will hush my rass now.

Postby cinco » January 18th, 2015, 1:53 pm

U asked for rwd turbo Toyota engines. Shet Yuh pie hole

moti

Postby moti » January 18th, 2015, 4:01 pm

Yup, engines.............not dinosaurs.

Postby Ted_v2 » January 18th, 2015, 6:07 pm

4age Dan.

moti

Postby moti » January 18th, 2015, 7:41 pm

Easier said than done.

For a 4AGE application, you will need:

1. T50 manual transmission - Such a task to find one from a 4AGE - the charmant box (5 Speed) are T50's but they are weaker than those that originated from an AE86. Maybe you can bring in one but prepare to pay $$$
2. 4AGE 16V - RWD - Like finding white gold in Valencia River - Very hard unless you also import one. Ebay has them listed for 1800USD and up.
3. Mounts etc but this is the easy bit.

Or if a 20v option then:
1. 4AGE 20V engine - Around 7-9K in Bamboo but easy to locate.
2. T50 Manual Transmission - Same as above for 16 valve engine
3. Either cut the fire wall for the distributor and water housing to fit or buy the relocation kit for the water pipes. T3 has this for around 690USD.
You can run a 4AGE 16 Valve water pump but this changes the flow of the water through the head and the flow no longer runs as originally designed.
The distributor can be eliminated by using a crank sensor and a COP ignition system but this also requires a aftermarket ECU.
There are some ways to get it to work without the new ECU and even run it on a waster spark system (but the wasted spark system kills the life of your coil packs)
4. You will need a RWD starter, exhaust headers and mounts/brackets.

So while some may suggest the 4AGE option and so will I, OP needs to weigh his options and take a long hard look at his budget.

Oh and yeah, I'm a 4AGE junkie.

Morbid582

Postby Morbid582 » January 19th, 2015, 2:42 am

At the end of the day there will always be the purist who would rather see a Toyota engine go into this chassis and I can understand and appreciate the view held by some that this would maintain the car's originality. Although Toyota basically owns Daihatsu, at the end of the day it a crossbreed (a Daihatsu with a Toyota motor) so sometimes you have to mix n match to achieve your goals i.e. what the car is being built for.
As I said earlier:
1.Im not willing to spend a ton on $$ on a 4cyl Toyota motor and supporting mods to achieve the same numbers that I can easily get with so many other factory DET platforms around.
2. Id rather use a motor where spares and aftermarket support are easily available/affordable
3. I had previously used the same motor that I'm planning to use now in the same chassis and the results were exceptional
4. Gained alot of experience and knowledge in how this particular motor works and what mods are needed to extract the performance required hence reducing the amount of time/$$ spent by a 'mech/tuner'

btw the plan is to build a CA20DET for it...........