*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

wheelbarrow

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby wheelbarrow » February 25th, 2015, 8:33 am

Also using Sling. Works great.
Nice mix of stations on the basic package.
It would be nice if there was a "pick your own channels" package.
I will use it more when the Xbox app is released.

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » February 25th, 2015, 10:56 am

i signed up and tried it with playmotv and hola, but it dint work. Anyways good to know it works, just got to change my vpn service.

i know duane is using unblock-us, WB are u using the same

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 25th, 2015, 11:04 am

lancer3 wrote:i signed up and tried it with playmotv and hola, but it dint work. Anyways good to know it works, just got to change my vpn service.

I switched to smartdnsproxy.com

they unlock more content IMO

Postby X_Factor » February 25th, 2015, 11:37 am

not too sure whats going on with my TV ( samsung smart)
never had an issue before and it worked fine streaming netflix
Now its showing connected to wifi but cannot access the internet
mind you the fifi works fine on the laptop and fone

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » February 25th, 2015, 1:26 pm

Seems not only you having difficulties with samsung tv`s as of late.

http://techtalk.parts-express.com/showt ... -App-Virus

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » February 25th, 2015, 3:49 pm

X_Factor wrote:not too sure whats going on with my TV ( samsung smart)
never had an issue before and it worked fine streaming netflix
Now its showing connected to wifi but cannot access the internet
mind you the fifi works fine on the laptop and fone

Your TV DNS working properly?

Postby X_Factor » February 25th, 2015, 4:22 pm

thats wat i get
1424895711041.jpg

Postby Redman » February 25th, 2015, 8:06 pm

Is it doing that when it automatically selects ip and DNS?

Netflix was hanging up and I cycled it and it's fine now

Postby Redman » February 25th, 2015, 8:11 pm

Redman wrote:Noob questions
Im trying to set up Amazon Prime Video but I, not seeing it as an option in the Samsung App store.
I am missing something basic-so any advice is appreciated
Also I havent been able to get the audio that is run through the optical cable into the Denon AVR1801 receiver.
I made a quick first run at it ....nothing intensive ..Ive run through all the inputs on the receiver nothing yet...the receiver works on the DVD/CD setting, so its working Ive selected the right output on the TV so its pushing the audio to the AVR but Im not getting it out of the AVR

Speaker wire make a significant difference???

I will run the rear SS speakers this weekend probably so I might need to buy some this week.

Thanks again
Is the Denon set to the SPDIF IN?

any decent 16 gauge oxygen free wire should work for your setup

Well I don't really know
But the real issue is that the avr worked with a unversal remote....negating the need for the original remote.

I read somewhere that you need the remote for the optical audio selection.

Jr apparently got hold of the original remote .and put it away some where sometime in the last two years. :shock:

So I'm looking for the remote.
Smh

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » February 25th, 2015, 8:32 pm

lancer3 wrote:i signed up and tried it with playmotv and hola, but it dint work. Anyways good to know it works, just got to change my vpn service.

Im still using Unblock-US.

That's from my phone

carluva

Postby carluva » February 25th, 2015, 10:41 pm

More content like what? I am using unblock us but what makes the smartdnsproxy better for u?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 25th, 2015, 10:45 pm

carluva wrote:

More content like what? I am using unblock us but what makes the smartdnsproxy better for u?
smithsonian, ABC and CBS apps, WRC+ features on paid subscription among others.
They weren't working with unblock-us but are working with smartdnsproxy

Mr. Go Slow

Postby Mr. Go Slow » February 26th, 2015, 10:16 am

Gonna put this in the Misc for sale, but I think it best to offer to the community here ...

I'm upgrading, so replacing my Meier Audio Corda Cantate 2.

Purchased new in 2009, see: http://www.head-fi.org/products/meier-a ... -cantate-2

Imported from Germany, my price inclusive of shipping was 515 US

Connections are either via USB or analogue inputs in the rear.
Please feel free to do your own research on this unit.
The unit is functionally perfect, with only a few cosmetic blemishes.

You can audition with your gear, no problem.

Looking for 1000TT

If interested feel free to pm me or whats app: 680 0847

carluva

Postby carluva » February 26th, 2015, 6:55 pm

carluva wrote:

U sure cause I use the abc.go website to catch up on episodes and I'm using unblock us... Never tried cbs. Sure u don't have a problem with the setup of unblock us?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 26th, 2015, 7:10 pm

carluva wrote:

U sure cause I use the abc.go website to catch up on episodes and I'm using unblock us... Never tried cbs. Sure u don't have a problem with the setup of unblock us?
the website works - the app can sometimes not connect using unblock-us.com

I've use unblock-us for years, I am very familiar with the setup. I just find smartdnsproxy to be more consistent and works with content that I was unable to access with unblock-us

thatlife

Postby thatlife » February 27th, 2015, 9:40 am

anybody have issues with internet and their samsung smart TV

alot of my customers all over the country who purchased samsung smart tvs are having no internet issues on the tvs

one particular customer we had set up with google DNS is working fine, so i suspect its a DNS issue, anyone else?

Postby X_Factor » February 27th, 2015, 9:45 am

havin probs....wat did u try to fix??

Postby Redman » February 27th, 2015, 9:59 am

X
you tried the cycling between the auto and manual dns?

I am using the smartdns server but it didnt work the first time - I cycled the tv through the auto(local dns) and the smart dns and it worked the second or third time.'

Postby X_Factor » February 27th, 2015, 10:10 am

not sure of the manual dns to use

thatlife

Postby thatlife » February 27th, 2015, 10:37 am

i set up a samsung TV a month ago and noticed the issue. Netflix did not work, tried updating etc.

only when i use the Google DNS it worked 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4

all other customer TVs are down except for that TV with the google DNS

Postby Redman » February 27th, 2015, 10:38 am

oh
well sign up with smartdns Duane added a link in this thread..they give you a 2 week free period
try it with their DNS

Im using that DNS on the router and the TV for the 10 days and its been stable. no issues
Its working with Netflix and all the other apps on the Samsung.

Postby eliteauto » February 27th, 2015, 11:16 am

looking for bookshelf or tower recommendations to go with some of my old stuff, I want to replace my pair of Sansui SP-X9700 boxes with something with a smaller footprint, it will be paired with either my Sherwood S-7100A or Kenwood KA-501 and a Technics SL-PD9/Sony tc-we805s for stereo audio application. It's all nostalgic stuff so I want a warm rich sound (mostly original CDs and cassettes will be used). Thanks

Postby crazybalhead » February 27th, 2015, 11:30 am

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 27th, 2015, 1:53 pm

crazybalhead wrote:^^^

Warm rich sound you say?

http://www.parts-express.com/dayton-aud ... mpaign=pla
He's a warm rich kinda fella

+1 on the Daytons

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 27th, 2015, 1:55 pm

thatlife wrote:i set up a samsung TV a month ago and noticed the issue. Netflix did not work, tried updating etc.

only when i use the Google DNS it worked 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4

all other customer TVs are down except for that TV with the google DNS
google DNS doesn't mask your IP to make you appear as if you are in the USA. Smartdnsproxy and unblockus are needed for that.

thatlife

Postby thatlife » February 27th, 2015, 2:13 pm

^ not thats not what i mean't

i'm just highlighting that alot of samsung TVs as of recently the internet apps stopped working, like NETFLIX etc. (I suspect an update)

they only way it worked on one is when I manually entered the google DNS

I was wondering if anybody here with the samsung TVs in Trinidad have had the issue, I sold a few of these TVs and customers called to let me know the internet is not working and yesterday I got a call from a customer who did not buy one from me but is a Samsung brand had the same issue

thatlife

Postby thatlife » February 27th, 2015, 2:17 pm

ok, i found something

posted 3 days ago

http://www.myce.com/news/samsung-smart- ... age-75099/

" Update 2: User Flavio Torres has posted a dump indicating there is a DNS issue indeed. "

Postby Redman » February 27th, 2015, 3:50 pm

I eh saying nuttin

i eh want to Jingay meh TV on this rainy Friday evening

Postby Redman » February 27th, 2015, 4:06 pm

steups

too late

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 28th, 2015, 12:14 am

IMO Smart TV's are not that smart.
Get a Roku or Fire TV or Apple TV and use that instead of fighting up with a slugglish, poor user-interface and limited apps. You also won't have DNS problems.