Digicel TV Thread

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 24th, 2015, 1:51 am

Anyone has any idea about Cable tv and internet services being offered by Digicel....

Saw some guys running lines in my area.....enqired what they were for and was told that that its digicel internet and cable....

More competiton is great!!

Last edited by SRASC on March 7th, 2016, 7:35 pm, edited 2 times in total.

sickbad

Re: Digicel Cable TV and Internet?

Postby sickbad » February 24th, 2015, 2:28 am

15Mbps: $249
30Mbps: $449 + VAT

Basic Cable: $149
Premium: $399

ganeshlalchan

Postby ganeshlalchan » February 24th, 2015, 3:07 am

What area is that you in? I'm in central. Wondering if they are here.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 24th, 2015, 3:29 am

yup they are in central......

Postby S_2NR » February 24th, 2015, 9:35 am

yessssssss

ganeshlalchan

Postby ganeshlalchan » February 24th, 2015, 10:18 am

hmmm...but is it wifi only or a stable cable connection?

Postby S_2NR » February 24th, 2015, 10:21 am

ganeshlalchan wrote:hmmm...but is it wifi only or a stable cable connection?

??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

cadman

Postby cadman » February 24th, 2015, 11:26 am

sickbad wrote:15Mbps: $249

no compitition here everyone else charge about the same except greendot whom i believe is $99.00 bare basic package...

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » February 24th, 2015, 12:19 pm

cadman wrote:

no compitition here everyone else charge about the same except greendot whom i believe is $99.00 bare basic package...

cadman where you working boidan?

sickbad

Postby sickbad » February 24th, 2015, 1:25 pm

Ya i just made that up. Time for dvrs' and affordable 50Mbps packages

Genius1

Postby Genius1 » February 24th, 2015, 1:34 pm

sickbad wrote:Ya i just made that up. Time for dvrs' and affordable 50Mbps packages

Anyone no what will be the channels in the packages I wonder when you'll be able to pay for the channels you want.

ganeshlalchan

Postby ganeshlalchan » February 25th, 2015, 8:30 am

S_2NR wrote:

What I'm asking about digi internet is what exactly kind of connection they are giving you? Is it a dongle or wired connection?

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » February 25th, 2015, 9:11 am

ganeshlalchan wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

What I'm asking about digi internet is what exactly kind of connection they are giving you? Is it a dongle or wired connection?

its fiber to the home

cadman

Postby cadman » February 25th, 2015, 1:47 pm

lost to all wrote:
cadman wrote:

cadman where you working boidan?

I doh work for no provider.. i just use solar and couchtuner.... if i desperate for news i goto tv6 or CTV
bunch of blinking robbers.... with poor cusomer serveice for a lot of money :evil:

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » February 25th, 2015, 6:13 pm

It will be competitive to flow... Trust me.... Value for ur money with regards to cost per channel and reliability... No issues as much as copper or wireless services

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 25th, 2015, 8:48 pm

saw them running fibre in our area today

what about blackouts because TV6 bought the rights for a show?

ganeshlalchan

Postby ganeshlalchan » February 25th, 2015, 9:27 pm

Sweet. I need to find out how to order so flow can kiss by arse.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 26th, 2015, 12:24 am

ganeshlalchan wrote:Sweet. I need to find out how to order so flow can kiss by arse.
Flow just launched their new IP based TV service in HD
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=616689

ModMania

Postby ModMania » February 26th, 2015, 6:51 am

shaq090 wrote:It will be competitive to flow... Trust me.... Value for ur money with regards to cost per channel and reliability... No issues as much as copper or wireless services

By chance u see how low they pullin that fiber in some places? Fiber breaks is a must with them

ModMania

Postby ModMania » February 26th, 2015, 6:53 am

ganeshlalchan wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

U get a fiber optic router...the fiber goes into the wan and you get a cat5 cable and its wireless too..

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » February 26th, 2015, 8:37 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:saw them running fibre in our area today

no matter what TV provider in TNT if TV6 has the rights, no one can do anything about it.. It comes as if someone bought/leased a Web domain.. Only that owner can display content on that address.. But what people getting upset about, on your same cable just flip to tv6.. They acting like they have to go and run rabbit ears.

src1983

Postby src1983 » February 26th, 2015, 9:32 am

shaq090 wrote:

no matter what TV provider in TNT if TV6 has the rights, no one can do anything about it.. It comes as if someone bought/leased a Web domain.. Only that owner can display content on that address.. But what people getting upset about, on your same cable just flip to tv6.. They acting like they have to go and run rabbit ears.

The crappy quality, have you ever seen world cup on directv? Clear as day, about 6 channel at different angels, international commentators.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 26th, 2015, 9:37 am

shaq090 wrote:

except that the video quality isn't the same and it's isn't always shown at the same time.

Sling TV working really well, HD and no blackouts.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » February 26th, 2015, 10:24 am

shaq090 wrote:

except that the video quality isn't the same and it's isn't always shown at the same time.

Sling TV working really well, HD and no blackouts.

the tv show will be shown at the times tv6 chooses to air it. Thats the only down side i see to this whole "rights" issue. But then again, we live in a day and age where we source other means to view a show... We all have cable but stream alot of our "favorite" content.

Postby Chimera » February 26th, 2015, 10:26 am

src1983 wrote:
shaq090 wrote:

The crappy quality, have you ever seen world cup on directv? Clear as day, about 6 channel at different angels, international commentators.

Yup direct tv is the besttttt when it comes to worldcup

Postby Chimera » February 26th, 2015, 10:27 am

Wonder if digicel coming to ro ystonia. I assume it would have the same shitty issue as all the other providers. No overhead lines

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » February 26th, 2015, 10:36 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Wonder if digicel coming to ro ystonia. I assume it would have the same shitty issue as all the other providers. No overhead lines

nope, IP tv is packet data right to the semi mpls box that you'll get in your home. No issues u receive with copper. Once there is light on the fiber and the multiplexing working. You will get your crisp quality. Most provider's issues are the brand equipment they use for the services..

Digicel Cable TV and Internet?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 26th, 2015, 10:56 am

shaq090 wrote:
ABA Trading LTD wrote:Wonder if digicel coming to ro ystonia. I assume it would have the same shitty issue as all the other providers. No overhead lines

nope, IP tv is packet data right to the semi mpls box that you'll get in your home. No issues u receive with copper. Once there is light on the fiber and the multiplexing working. You will get your crisp quality. Most provider's issues are the brand equipment they use for the services..
i think he meant that Roystonia residential area has no overhead lines. They only have underground utility lines and so other ISPs don't want to run underground lines in there so there is no service from them in Roystonia.

I see Digicel running cables on the existing poles, but the cool thing with some fibre is that you can cut a tiny micro channel in the ground and run it there. Dunno if they will use this method though.

Postby Chimera » February 26th, 2015, 11:56 am

Yup there are no overhead lines or tstt/ttec posts in roystonia. Hence no blink,flow,landlines etc

Postby *$kїđž!™ » February 26th, 2015, 12:27 pm

This nonsense annoys me ......the issue with the underground lines and hence its too expensive for flow, tstt and others to offer up their services........

whats the whole point about the undeground lines and saying this is the new more modern way of running electrical lines then if consumers cannot benefit from other services.....