wtk impreza engine oil

Fuji Heavy Industry tech talk - STi, WRX, Forester etc.

bish

wtk impreza engine oil

Postby bish » February 9th, 2011, 11:30 am

i got a 2007 1.6ts subaru impreza. i just want some advice on what engine oil to use?

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Re: wtk impreza engine oil

Postby Big Z » February 9th, 2011, 11:46 am

93-96 service manual say 10W30 or 10W40. Should be fine for a 2007 too.

bish

Postby bish » February 9th, 2011, 1:30 pm

will it be a problem to use racing oil since my car has the catalytic converter??

Postby Dave » February 9th, 2011, 3:05 pm

racing oil is no dependant on a catalytic converter
racing oil usually is a higher zinc formula oil and not meant for prolonged use

GTi Guy

Postby GTi Guy » February 10th, 2011, 11:45 am

5w-30 is the recommended, 10w-30 or 10w-50 according to the srm... guys on here use 20w-50... and when neal and massey service they usually use 5w-50 (castrol syntec)... what ever you decide on go with a full synthetic

Nebulous_14

Postby Nebulous_14 » February 28th, 2011, 5:39 pm

10W30 Mobil 1 syn works good on current GH3 1.5L impreza, past civic I owned and current CY2 1.5L lancer. Should work good on 1.6L if it does not have high mileage. Otherwise 10W40 is a good alternative.

JangSpeed

Postby JangSpeed » March 3rd, 2011, 1:08 pm

Best oil to use there is RedLine 20W-50. Never saw or heard of it failing and that oil can last up to 7000k.

spanky76

Postby spanky76 » May 13th, 2015, 3:22 pm

i wanted to know the 2002 subaru impreza how is it in terms of performance and fuel economy (1.6l)
ALSO the 2005 subaru impreza 1.6l
MY MAIN QUESTION HOW IS THE 2005 a 1.6 L and not a 2.0l ? whats the difference

HYPERFORMANCE

Postby HYPERFORMANCE » May 13th, 2015, 5:14 pm

Use schaeffers 20w 50 racing oil. Use that on my both legacy..both turbo...change every 5000k and you good to go.

Postby nervewrecker » May 13th, 2015, 8:08 pm

Stick to the 5w30 that manufacturer recommended please. Forget what "people say" because they are idiots.
Hopefully shops will start stocking 5w30 if its in demand.

GTR Fever

Postby GTR Fever » May 14th, 2015, 9:01 am

Schaeffers 10w30 for me. Turbo or non-turbo, same oil used and no problems ever since.

air wick

Postby air wick » May 14th, 2015, 9:22 am

Oil is a very debatable topic...

I've tried all oils but currently i use Castrol Magnatec 20w50 from Pricesmart in both my 2008 Impreza Hatch and 2002 Impreza Bugeye Ver.2 STi conversion. I change oil every 3000km in the bug and 5000km in the hatch because the oil is cheap.

Been using this combination with OEM filter for the past 6 months and boosting everyday with no problems.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 21st, 2015, 3:23 pm

nervewrecker pretty far to call people idiots though for saying anything else but 5W30.. because the manufacture recommends for these cars any of the 3

5W30
10W30
10W50

schaeffers
and amsoil are good choices.

Postby nervewrecker » May 21st, 2015, 6:12 pm

I meant the oil retailers in the south. Therapy yes!
Had to argue with one as to what can work in my pick up from what can't. They insist the oil I requested they sell me is for gas engines, showed me the listing on the wall and insist its for gas.
When gallon reach, says for gas and diesel. :/

Seems only motorist in south stocks anything besides 20w 50 as well. And every corner you turn people insist you use that because anything else is thinner for our hot climate.
Heard of some throwing raw crude oil in their engines too.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » May 21st, 2015, 6:27 pm

nervewrecker wrote:I meant the oil retailers in the south. Therapy yes!

I take offense to that statement... :D

Postby nervewrecker » May 21st, 2015, 6:27 pm

10w is fine, even 15 might be safe (i am no expert to say how fine). But 20w man....common

Postby nervewrecker » May 21st, 2015, 6:29 pm

Big Z wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:I meant the oil retailers in the south. Therapy yes!

I take offense to that statement... :D

Well you too far :lol:
Saw your thread awhile now, as well as full stop.
Saw motorist stocks a decent range and as of late, saw simple green industrial degreaser too.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » May 21st, 2015, 6:29 pm

In Trinidad, given a choice between 10W30 and 5W30, I'm gonna use 10W30.
Check the viscousity profile to see why.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » May 21st, 2015, 6:31 pm

It's the number after the w that's important... the one before... not so important

Postby nervewrecker » May 21st, 2015, 6:33 pm

Was abbreviating, 20w50 all side.
Have a place in fyzabad used to have good stock but me and he doh deal anymore.

Big Z

Postby Big Z » May 21st, 2015, 7:12 pm

Olho... but I wont normally recommend a xxW50 oil for a new engine in good condition.

Postby nervewrecker » May 21st, 2015, 8:05 pm

viewtopic.php?t=320348

Man have some good stuff.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 21st, 2015, 8:51 pm

Idk about south, BUT MANY places...well everywhere I go to buy oil they have everything from 0 - 20 ... I've never entered a automotive store that only sells 20W50 .... thats is indeed retarded.

However those who say 20w50 isn't good for your car, I'm sorry..i've been using EVERYTHING... i sometimes try oil just to see how they react, so that when my driving kicks into full kakanuts i'm safe...

I use 20W50 on my subaru, and iz drive like a goat... so it would work....according to Subaru you can use anything from 0 body to a 20w50 oil.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 21st, 2015, 8:52 pm

and agreed... BigZ has some excellent prices!

Postby nervewrecker » May 21st, 2015, 9:07 pm

Saw some debate about the 20 on Facebook.
I agree with trying a bit to see how the engine likes it.
My qg16 liked 5w30.
Saw that same 5 was recommended for Scoobies on some Scooby forums.
Not disagreeing with you BTW.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » May 22nd, 2015, 11:42 am

Cool no problem.. I have all the subaru manuals...so I use those for my "fact quoting"

Many men on FB and Tuner never seen the inside of a subaru manual but always like speaking about "factory recommended" because they "hear it from ah padna"

I use 20w50 and never had a problem..used 10-30 and same thing, no problems...

Big Z

Postby Big Z » May 22nd, 2015, 12:02 pm

Thicker oils flow slower in small passages and do not cool the surroundings as well. Due to the heat retention in the oil, it is now more prone to higher temperatures and consequently breakdown and depositing. Not something that you want in these passages which now get smaller and make the issue worse. It's a vicious cycle of poverty. So where is very hot and has small passages? Turbo!
I recommend the use of a low viscousity oil with a high HTHS for turbo engines. Of course, it should meet your manufacturer's specs.

Return to “SUBARU”