Swann security camera problem

axe

Swann security camera problem

Postby axe » May 24th, 2015, 12:51 pm

bought a swann dvr8-3000 security camera from pricesmart. Cannot get mobile app or pc app to work. Anyone had similar problems? Im an android user. Ive tried online suggestions but to no avail. Any suggestions?

Re: Swann security camera problem

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 24th, 2015, 1:16 pm

seems the app does not work very well or at all
https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... wann&hl=en

even the link in their user manual for your model is broken and goes to a blank page.

axe

Postby axe » May 24th, 2015, 1:19 pm

dang...smh.....it was the selling point that made me buy this system....30 days long gone before i set it up......steups

Sabot

Postby Sabot » May 24th, 2015, 3:02 pm

Purchased the same system and had it exchanged when the app refused to work after the dvr rebooted. Exchanged it for another one and same issue. Got a refund and purchased a samsung and no issues using ddns to view with app. Stay away from swann, even their basic customer service sucks.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » May 24th, 2015, 5:11 pm

next time buy a better brand

$0R@yA10

Postby $0R@yA10 » May 24th, 2015, 6:28 pm

Which Pricesmart refunded you so many time

axe

Postby axe » May 24th, 2015, 8:58 pm

downloaded an IP camera viewer app and used it instead

Postby supercharged turbo » May 27th, 2015, 8:33 am

Saw an ad in today's express advertising Swann.PrecisionPoint Caribbean deals with Swann

Sabot

Postby Sabot » May 27th, 2015, 12:22 pm

$0R@yA10 wrote:Which Pricesmart refunded you so many time

Pricesmart POS branch.

rmlmv

Postby rmlmv » May 27th, 2015, 9:15 pm

Surprised to see Swann giving you guys problems. Not an expert, but I setup three Swann DVR systems for family and friends and they seem to work well... Although, the only one who needed mobile access was with an Iphone though... I setup a Qsee with an android phone and it worked fine.

Postby cinco » May 28th, 2015, 12:21 am

Don't use the swann lite app use the pro it works fine

Sabot

Postby Sabot » May 28th, 2015, 9:09 am

rmlmv wrote:Surprised to see Swann giving you guys problems. Not an expert, but I setup three Swann DVR systems for family and friends and they seem to work well... Although, the only one who needed mobile access was with an Iphone though... I setup a Qsee with an android phone and it worked fine.

The DVR itself worked fine; my issue was with the mobile app access. Seems that the device registration on the cloud server has issues upon a reboot of the device for some reason. Worked well initially though but weird that it happened with two separate systems. With DDNS it may have worked fine but wasn't worth the effort after that for me.

Postby desifemlove » May 28th, 2015, 11:14 pm

there isn't open source you can use for any make?

daron

Postby daron » May 29th, 2015, 6:59 am

Good day my brother bought a 8 channel system camera already run the camera, needs someone to configure and set up mobile app for him willing to pay he lives in Piarco across by the gas station
323-8418 Thanks

axe

Postby axe » May 29th, 2015, 7:25 am

^^^boy that app is not working...at least with some of us

Postby Razkal » May 29th, 2015, 8:02 am

Swann mobile apps are shite. i helped a friend with his 4-channel system and the suggested app was SwannViewLink, it works, just barely (on iOS and with a wifi signal...hopeless on mobile data)

I've tried QSee for the first time, installed an 8 channel in our warehouse and one month later, no complaints. the mobile app works really well, and there's an IP based viewing option as well from remote desktops. i'm interested to see how it lasts over time...reviews seemed good online