Official VAG DSG/Dual Clutch Transmission Thread

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

neexis

Re: Official VAG DSG/Dual Clutch Transmission Thread

Postby neexis » February 24th, 2015, 10:38 am

jhonnieblue wrote:my 50k service coming up but ill ,do that outside and take it back in for the 60k service

Yea I figure I may do the same.. just take it in for the major ones.

What are you doing for the 50k?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » February 26th, 2015, 12:05 am

The fact that they went from synthetic .... to mineral for a year ... then back to synthetic and now have a recall for the synthetic means over the past 3 years they became aware of this issue and have made us the guinea pigs.
I was lucky to not be in the recall... checked the VIN with Bunny's German site.
But starting to have some d2 clutch judder at 24800 miles now ... happens when just taking it easy on the accelerator for a fews days. If I drive it hard disappears. My thinking is that its probably that D2 clutch taking alot of heat and more slippage stress because the car switches upshifts so quickly from D1 when in D mode. This excess stress probably glazes the clutches a little and enhances the slippage.
Accelerating hard will clear the minor glazing and give you back a good working friction surface.

Lastly windsheild crack .. mazada 323 pitched a stone and cracked the glass really badly.
3 months wait for a replacement one at Massy ...
Anyone knows an alternative?

neexis

Postby neexis » February 26th, 2015, 11:54 am

drchaos wrote:The fact that they went from synthetic .... to mineral for a year ... then back to synthetic and now have a recall for the synthetic means over the past 3 years they became aware of this issue and have made us the guinea pigs.
I was lucky to not be in the recall... checked the VIN with Bunny's German site.
But starting to have some d2 clutch judder at 24800 miles now ... happens when just taking it easy on the accelerator for a fews days. If I drive it hard disappears. My thinking is that its probably that D2 clutch taking alot of heat and more slippage stress because the car switches upshifts so quickly from D1 when in D mode. This excess stress probably glazes the clutches a little and enhances the slippage.
Accelerating hard will clear the minor glazing and give you back a good working friction surface.

Lastly windsheild crack .. mazada 323 pitched a stone and cracked the glass really badly.
3 months wait for a replacement one at Massy ...
Anyone knows an alternative?

It's likely that the DQ200 is just a shitty implementation of DSG. I've not heard any issues from owners with the 6 speed DSG in the CC's or the other versions of it (Audi S-Tronic, Porsche PDK). Granted the Porsche's PDK is still fairly new to our conditions.

As for the crack.. I had to wait it out. Got someone to seal it to stop it from spreading because it was really bad .No one had Passat windshields, genuine or aftermarket, and I wanted genuine having read very mixed reviews about aftermarket. Had to wait 2 months.

Did you check LVW in Maraval? They somehow seem to buy out all VW parts from Massy.. esp when I need :|

neexis

Postby neexis » March 23rd, 2015, 9:10 am

K2 clutch has finally been replaced [no charge, since it was diagnosed under warranty].

No more judder on shifting from D1 to D2, and as a result, no feeling as if there's a loss of power in transitioning from gears.
DSG feels great again.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 23rd, 2015, 11:02 am

They only replace 1 clutch? thought you had to change both?

neexis

Postby neexis » March 24th, 2015, 6:12 am

Service manager at the time had said it would be coming from the K2 clutch (which controls gears 2,4,6,R) and that they would just replace that one. It seems to have worked.
Looks like the clutch was slipping for a bit and then it would engage when the sufficient speed/torque was achieved. The judder only really occurred on D1 to D2 transitions or taking off from D2 at low speeds.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 24th, 2015, 7:09 pm

Did you get the old clutch to inspect?
Would be interesting.

syncrod

Postby syncrod » March 25th, 2015, 5:58 am

makes me wonder if they replaced both mine or just one. need to check that invoice.

neexis

Postby neexis » March 25th, 2015, 7:00 am

drchaos wrote:Did you get the old clutch to inspect?
Would be interesting.

Na I didn't. They also said they had to open a separate bill for it from the 40k service. So they showed me the documentation for it, but on the service sheet it doesn't mention a part number which is what I wanted to get.

neexis

Postby neexis » March 25th, 2015, 8:35 am

syncrod wrote:makes me wonder if they replaced both mine or just one. need to check that invoice.

What were the symptoms of yours?

syncrod

Postby syncrod » March 25th, 2015, 8:54 am

slipping k2 clutch

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » May 21st, 2015, 10:51 am

http://www.ecstuning.com/Volkswagen-Pas ... 2014_2015/

just saw this on ECS...wonder if its universal clutches used

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » May 22nd, 2015, 7:15 am

Different clutches and material not to mention these have veins for the gearbox oil to pass through....price is best I have seen though

selwyn

Postby selwyn » June 22nd, 2015, 4:16 pm

Did anyone had to change there mechatronic after the warranty has ended???
I have a 2010 Passat that needs a new mechatronic. Company killing me with price for it.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 22nd, 2015, 4:51 pm

Mine was out of warranty and changed under goodwill. They asked that I pay $1000 towards labour. They then proceeded to order the part and changed it.

I had to fight initially because they wanted to charge $23k for the mechatronic unit. My car was 10 months out of warranty.

They wanted to play hardball based on my service history initially but I argued that they don't service mechatronic units at all at Best Auto so service history shouldn't be used against me. To me it shouldn't be used against anyone simply because they just replace all faulty mechatronic units and there is ZERO preventative maintenance. I also kicked up a fuss because they have been changing mechatronic units a lot so it's a known faulty part in older VW vehicles that come with it.

Also your Passat is 2010. There was a huge recall for mechatronic units in other countries as well as a separate recall to replace the dsg fluid that can actually damage the mechatronic unit. I would not be surprised if your Passat fell under one of these recalls to be honest. You need to bring things like this up because it's too many variables related to this one part for them to try n just tell you pay full price when they themselves can't be sure how long they last.

selwyn

Postby selwyn » June 22nd, 2015, 6:00 pm

Well they making it sound rel nice with me. A manager called and told me that they reducing the price to $15k. and i need to make a down payment of about half. Then they will order it, which take 3-4 weeks.

They say my 2010 passat too old to get goodwill. I was in shock yes. Cuz i did mention to them that since last year my car giving me a jurk between 1st and 2nd gear, but nothing was done.

I mention the recall to them, but like that didn't even matter to them.

I studying what to do now. Cuz that 15k rel hard right now.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 22nd, 2015, 6:50 pm

You need to collect info to use in your defense to be honest. No goodwill cuz the car is too old? So they are basically saying they can understand a transmission mucking up in less than 6 years generally then? I would bring up the issue of your jerky gear change again because it sounds like you had issues which they ignored. Be firm but not impolite.

selwyn

Postby selwyn » June 22nd, 2015, 9:36 pm

Is there anyone who going through this right now, that way i'll have some support when dealing with this matter.

Them really wa me fork out that money inno. I cyah even come up with 1/4 of what they asking. hummm
Will see what happens in the morning.

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » June 23rd, 2015, 11:11 am

Be firm, elaborate on the fact that it has been a noted issue previously, and let them know you know of all the problems they have been having with these cars and the mechatronic

kingskid

Postby kingskid » June 24th, 2015, 8:12 am

This is down right wickedness they know that this part is faulty among others and yet still they want you to pay. WE ALL NEEED TO GET TOGETHER AND EXPOSE THEM AND ENSURE NO ONE BUYS ANOTHE WV THEM ALL THAT WICKNESS WILL DONE.

neexis

Postby neexis » June 24th, 2015, 11:18 am

Lol.. so much rage kingskid. Although.. I doh blame you

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 24th, 2015, 7:06 pm

Stick to your guns and refuse to pay. Cite the many articles online about mechatronic failures, check your VIN on the recall website and use this info if the car was involved in the recall. Let them know that refusal to comply will involve you going to the press, consumer affairs and spreading info about them on local social media daily.

Things to remember is to keep your cool, don't go cussing anyone out, don't threaten to involve lawyers and don't go in the media and call any names from best auto (they will threaten to sue).

Postby tr1ad » June 30th, 2015, 6:54 am

this DSG issue is throughout the models?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 30th, 2015, 8:48 am

In this instance it's anything with the DQ200 7 speed DSG. Passats, Jettas, Polos depending on the engine.

neexis

Postby neexis » June 30th, 2015, 9:59 am

Does that A3 1.8 TFSI S-tronic come with the Dq200 as well?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 30th, 2015, 11:41 am

Yes it does as well. The A1 also.

selwyn

Postby selwyn » June 30th, 2015, 4:23 pm

Well they tell me i still have to make a down payment, then they will try to get the goodwill. And if i get the goodwill they will compensate me in someway. Else i will have to pay the balance.
Still not sounding good. But i guess I'll make the down payment and hope for the best. Its really unfair out here. I done put up my car for sale. Fixing it back to 100%, then I selling it.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 30th, 2015, 5:05 pm

Why are you paying if your car was part of the recalled batch? Either they did the fluid replacement but your car had the wrong fluid for four years at least all the while doing damage OR they didn't replace the fluid at all which again still places the onus on the manufacturer.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » September 22nd, 2015, 12:10 am

Any update selwyn?

syncrod

Postby syncrod » February 19th, 2016, 7:45 pm

The below information was taken from a 2012 Audi A1 1.4TFSI (CAXA) which had a transmission failure (guessing the mechatronic unit).
the first code section was taken about 3 days before failure. and the second after the failure.
owner brought the vehicle to the dealer and was advised not to worry and continue driving like normal. same day the failure occurred.

Code: Select all

Address 02: Auto Trans       Labels: 0AM-927-769.clb
Control Module Part Number: 0AM 300 053 K    HW: 0AM 927 769 D
  Component and/or Version: GSG DSG AG7     431 3030
           Software Coding: 0000020
            Work Shop Code: WSC 00046 000 00000
                      VCID: 3467C0B3541F5B9EA5-5106
5 Faults Found:

006079 - Hydraulic Pump
               P17BF - 000 - Play Protection - Intermittent
             Freeze Frame:
                    Fault Status: 00100000