Preparation for CARS 2015 season

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

Re: Preparation for CARS 2015 season

Postby cinco » April 30th, 2015, 10:09 pm

I still eh change meh oil....

Postby pete » May 1st, 2015, 8:40 am

Ah startImage

Postby pete » May 1st, 2015, 1:27 pm

Well that strut was really badly off, explains a LOT lol.

Postby Razkal » June 24th, 2015, 12:40 pm

how we looking for Autocross #4 people?

brake pads, fluid, and an alignment check for me and I should be ok.
the car still misfiring a lot, but no hope until the new ignition module is here. just gonna run it as is and hope it don't burn down

Postby pete » June 24th, 2015, 3:30 pm

Still to be installed. Brakes also have to be bled after last week.
uploadfromtaptalk1435174219640.jpg

Postby Razkal » June 25th, 2015, 7:47 am

nice! full kit Pete or just the broken bushes?

Postby pete » June 25th, 2015, 10:17 am

End link bushings and sway bar for the front. Trying to stiffen it up some. Might also try to fabricate a lower tie bar and fill my engine mounts to reduce engine rock. Sounding like a lot to do in a week though :\

Postby Razkal » June 25th, 2015, 11:26 am

sounds good (and time consuming)! lol

lower tie bar?
maybe a cheapo engine torque damper can work for the engine rock, how are you gonna fill the mounts? urethane?

Postby pete » June 25th, 2015, 8:39 pm

3m window weld. Did it on my old gti many years ago. Lower tie bar to reduce flex in the subframe. These cars supposed to be a little soft.

Postby Razkal » June 29th, 2015, 3:52 pm

how's it going Pete? I started way more work than I should have this week. kinda skating on my ass now trying to reassemble and align.

brake pads, fluid, oil cooler and a good clean out, inside the car like a dust museum.

oil cooler is real ketch ass to find the simplest way to mount, route and direct airflow. lots of scrapping to make room and reroute electrical sheit.

Postby pete » June 30th, 2015, 5:46 am

Took off the front sway bar yesterday, bushings were a little busted. This new poly one has a bracket that had to be modified a bit to get it to work and I did that but just need some washers now. Should put it back up today. If I have time I'll take off the rear links and put in those poly bushings too.

Postby Razkal » July 1st, 2015, 1:06 am

good to hear you're making progress. hope to get to change all your busted bushings in time man.
I'm still stuck mounting the oil cooler up, everything kinda on hold until I sort that out. still have to wire the oil pressure gauge as well.

Postby pete » July 1st, 2015, 8:49 am

I wanted to fill the mounts with urethane but even if I take them off now, they take a couple days to dry and I don't have time later in the week to put them back on. So I'll just be bleeding the brakes and that's it, was still feeling a little spongy when I took the car for a spin yesterday.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » July 1st, 2015, 9:19 am

wont be able to balance the coilovers this week due to rally..... but gonna get her aligned and cambered and possibly change brake pads and oil ....still thinking about the intake set up

Postby cinco » July 1st, 2015, 12:25 pm

Gettin my new shoes fitted finally. Won't get time to break them in tho oh well

Postby crazybalhead » July 2nd, 2015, 10:58 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:wont be able to balance the coilovers this week due to rally..... but gonna get her aligned and cambered and possibly change brake pads and oil ....still thinking about the intake set up

Possibly change pads and oil??? How long that does take, 15 minutes???

#comenahman

Postby crazybalhead » July 2nd, 2015, 10:59 am

cinco wrote:Gettin my new shoes fitted finally. Won't get time to break them in tho oh well

I don't understand. Break in normel street tyres?

#comenahman

Postby pete » July 2nd, 2015, 11:44 am

Apparently tire rack has a break in period to get optimum grip and life from the tyres. I did maybe.. 30km on mine.

Postby Razkal » July 2nd, 2015, 10:49 pm

meem know that... got the cooler sorted out, will mount up the piping and start and check for leaks tmrw. I am scared :/

Postby cinco » July 2nd, 2015, 11:56 pm

pete wrote:Apparently tire rack has a break in period to get optimum grip and life from the tyres. I did maybe.. 30km on mine.

These lilac Lancer drivers enno bout dem things Pete.

Postby Razkal » July 3rd, 2015, 11:22 am

frig that, that is what the commute from home>gas station>event is for lol, never broke in the falken fk452s and they are holding up nicely. should last me the rest of the year easy

Postby Ignorant Ignis » July 3rd, 2015, 2:50 pm

think i got the final pieces of my intake ..so its just to install now.
align and change brake pads
:)

Postby cinco » July 3rd, 2015, 3:33 pm

Razkal wrote:frig that, that is what the commute from home>gas station>event is for lol, never broke in the falken fk452s and they are holding up nicely. should last me the rest of the year easy

breaking them in gives better grip. I wah grip tite like ants anus for dex

Kazuya_chris

Postby Kazuya_chris » August 19th, 2015, 2:50 pm

Oil cooler and fuel cell coming soon for the big red battleship

Postby Ignorant Ignis » August 20th, 2015, 3:27 pm

why the fuel cell setup?

Postby Razkal » August 24th, 2015, 9:53 pm

time to throw away that heavy oem gas tank and shed some weight..baffled internals means you can get away with minimal gas in the tank also.

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”