Bee Keeping in Trinidad and Tobago

TrinbagoMan

Bee Keeping in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby TrinbagoMan » June 26th, 2011, 7:34 pm

Any bee keepers on here, whether done professionally or a hobby, willing to share their experience?

Re: Bee Keeping in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 27th, 2011, 9:56 am

what do you want to know,I can safely say it's rather costly,and real run around to get approval from the relevant authorities to do this.

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » June 27th, 2011, 10:11 am

I want to know everything. Where does the high costs come in?

avenall

Postby avenall » June 27th, 2011, 10:13 am

boi i keep bees and thing eh .. but time i gone to get a hive... de amount it have i sure it had over a 500 000 bees and is bit like that... what ever u do just make sure to always have your smoker clost to you and have a fire so the bees when they arounf u... the smoke keeps them clam.. and always keep your hives far from people...

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » June 27th, 2011, 11:57 am

TrinbagoMan wrote:I want to know everything. Where does the high costs come in?

i can get you bee keeping equipment

will send you info later

gotta search for the item list

Postby crazybalhead » June 27th, 2011, 11:58 am

LOL@Raptor!!! Dread....you eh easy nah. :rofl:

But serious, Raptor could help yuh dey.

Postby foss » June 27th, 2011, 11:59 am

RapToR hadda eat ah food too!

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » June 27th, 2011, 12:03 pm

cost about $5000 to $5500

DELUXE 10 FRAME STARTER KIT - WOOD FRAMES - PAINTED: SKU: HK-125

• 2 9 5/8” (24.45 cm) Assembled 10 Frame Hive Bodies
• 2 6 5/8” (16.83 cm) Assembled 10 Frame Supers
•20 9 1/8” (23.18 cm) Assembled Frames w/ Rite-Cell Foundation or
•20 9 1/8" (23.18 cm) Waxed Standard Plastic Frames
•20 6 1/4" (15.88 cm) Assembled Frames w/ Rite-Cell Foundation or
•20 6 1/4" (15.88 cm) Waxed Standard Plastic Frames
•1 Assembled Telescoping Cover
•1 Assembled Inner Cover
•1 Assembled Bottom Board
•1 Entrance Reducer
•1 Cotton/Poly Coverall With Attached Zipper Veil
(you will be asked to state your size when ordering)
•1 Mesh Helmet
•1 Pair Vented Leather Gloves
Plus These Additional Items:

•1 Metal Queen Excluder
•1 4” x 7” Stainless Steel Smoker w/Guard
•1 Package Smoker Fuel
•1 10” Hive Tool
•1 Bee Brush
•1 Beekeeper’s Handbook

TrinbagoMan

Postby TrinbagoMan » June 29th, 2011, 1:51 pm

:-) ............

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 29th, 2011, 1:54 pm

RapToR wrote:cost about $5000 to $5500

DELUXE 10 FRAME STARTER KIT - WOOD FRAMES - PAINTED: SKU: HK-125

• 2 9 5/8” (24.45 cm) Assembled 10 Frame Hive Bodies
• 2 6 5/8” (16.83 cm) Assembled 10 Frame Supers
•20 9 1/8” (23.18 cm) Assembled Frames w/ Rite-Cell Foundation or
•20 9 1/8" (23.18 cm) Waxed Standard Plastic Frames
•20 6 1/4" (15.88 cm) Assembled Frames w/ Rite-Cell Foundation or
•20 6 1/4" (15.88 cm) Waxed Standard Plastic Frames
•1 Assembled Telescoping Cover
•1 Assembled Inner Cover
•1 Assembled Bottom Board
•1 Entrance Reducer
•1 Cotton/Poly Coverall With Attached Zipper Veil
•1 Mesh Helmet
•1 Pair Vented Leather Gloves
Plus These Additional Items:

•1 Metal Queen Excluder
•1 4” x 7” Stainless Steel Smoker w/Guard
•1 Package Smoker Fuel
•1 10” Hive Tool
•1 Bee Brush
•1 Beekeeper’s Handbook

raptor tek win with that one !!!

axe

Postby axe » June 29th, 2011, 9:08 pm

contact beekeepers association and apiary unit in min of agriculture (mausica)

trinidad makes the best honey in the world, won lots of international competitions over the years. the apiarists down here are very well informed and experienced, and world class. main problems are praedial larceny, foul brood, a moth (cant remember the name), and the tendency of our africanized bees to just swarm for no reason...
all materials are available locally and u should check the latest incentives offered by the min of food production

d spike

Postby d spike » June 29th, 2011, 11:09 pm

^^Wax moth.
All Africanized bees swarm easily... not just ours. They are very hard-working, but they are very fickle (what can I say? A bunch of females living together who won't have sex... fickle is expected... easily excitable, highly strung, aggressive, yup... female all right. :lol: )

Postby stev » June 29th, 2011, 11:35 pm

a guy a few houses away from me had some bees. d guy had dem secured proper but i kno he used to get rel stress from d authorities. nearly every week some jackass neighbour wud report him...

if u wanna do dis den do it right, get ur approval up front cuz yuh kno nowadays dey like to charge yuh for all kinda sheit.

btw...Raptor real deadly hoss...

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » June 29th, 2011, 11:58 pm

lmao @ d spike!! ^^^
wax moth and also a parasite called the varroa mite!
frogs also eat a large # of bees....
contact the Ministry of Food Production....i am aware there is a course scheduled for sometime in August....i attended one a couple yrs ago...its veryyyyyy informative and i felt comfortable enough to start my own Apiary....only thing is....meh eh hav no suitable land hoss.....

@ stev...there are regulations with regards to the distance from road ways and houses <<200ft i think>>....only takes 1 or 2 stings from a colony of thousands....to kill someone who is allergic.

axe

Postby axe » June 30th, 2011, 12:21 am

jramsarran wrote:lmao @ d spike!! ^^^
wax moth and also a parasite called the varroa mite!
frogs also eat a large # of bees....
contact the Ministry of Food Production....i am aware there is a course scheduled for sometime in August....i attended one a couple yrs ago...its veryyyyyy informative and i felt comfortable enough to start my own Apiary....only thing is....meh eh hav no suitable land hoss.....

@ stev...there are regulations with regards to the distance from road ways and houses <<200ft i think>>....only takes 1 or 2 stings from a colony of thousands....to kill someone who is allergic.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » January 5th, 2015, 12:15 am

Just bumping this thread to find out where I can get a reliable local source of bees wax. Also is it very expensive?

Postby gt4tified » January 8th, 2015, 5:35 pm

take a drive up to valencia over the weekend, plenty ppl selling on the roadside.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 10th, 2015, 1:55 pm

^^ Purchase Honey on the road side. Bought 2 bottles. After 1 month there is dark black sediments
floating at the top :(

Honey people what going on here ? It good it bad or what ?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 10th, 2015, 3:57 pm

if any one want a queen i got a hive by me, did not call the ministry because last time they just came and kill them

Postby gt4tified » January 11th, 2015, 2:22 am

orangefox wrote:^^ Purchase Honey on the road side. Bought 2 bottles. After 1 month there is dark black sediments
floating at the top :(

Honey people what going on here ? It good it bad or what ?

If I were you, I’d take it back to the ppl you purchased from, show them and ask the necessary questions. There are roadside vendors and then there are roadside vendors...just saying.

Postby DVSTT » January 11th, 2015, 6:03 am

hong kong phooey wrote:if any one want a queen i got a hive by me, did not call the ministry because last time they just came and kill them

Seems unfortunate as bees are becoming scarce world wide.

dark_angel_22

Postby dark_angel_22 » April 18th, 2015, 11:52 am

bumping because im interested in it

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 19th, 2015, 10:13 am

Join the attac group on Facebook.. They are also there at the Santa Cruz green market every sat and sunday

zdeternal

Postby zdeternal » April 19th, 2015, 12:19 pm

rears bees and sells A grade honey

https://www.facebook.com/IereEnterprisesLtd

Maggie

Postby Maggie » August 20th, 2015, 7:12 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:what do you want to know,I can safely say it's rather costly,and real run around to get approval from the relevant authorities to do this.

Got a hive in backyard. Do you know who may want it. Its africanised

Postby Redman » August 20th, 2015, 7:15 pm

Maggie wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:what do you want to know,I can safely say it's rather costly,and real run around to get approval from the relevant authorities to do this.

Call ZR.

Thought this was interesting-flow hive
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WbMV9qYIXqM

phpBB [video]

Postby zoom rader » August 21st, 2015, 7:55 am

^^^ de pong:-o

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » August 21st, 2015, 7:58 am

Redman wrote:
Maggie wrote:

Call ZR.

Thought this was interesting-flow hive
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WbMV9qYIXqM

phpBB [video]

Interesting but costly for now.

Postby X2 » August 22nd, 2015, 1:17 pm

yesh... look at the contributors... *closes thread*

Jongon

Postby Jongon » September 9th, 2015, 8:05 am

Maggie wrote:

Hello Maggie, I would be interested to get the hive. How can I get in touch to find out more info?