if the bank DOUBLE pays you...

Postby Monk BANzai » November 2nd, 2015, 10:07 am

lets say...Royal Bank of Canada did that you making a $12k and they deposit $24k...and you take out BOTH salaries and then close the account.... can the bank come after you for any funds they mistakenly put in the account?

Anton

Re: if the bank DOUBLE pays you...

Postby Anton » November 2nd, 2015, 10:11 am

AFAIK Nope.

Postby Monk BANzai » November 2nd, 2015, 10:14 am

But can it be understood as fraud knowing that the funds deposited isnt yours? Esp if your employer can confirm they didnt double pay you?

Postby MG Man » November 2nd, 2015, 10:19 am

banking above your means, are ya?

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » November 2nd, 2015, 10:22 am

it depends on if it's an error from your employer or a bank error.

If it's an error from your employer, you might have to work the next month without pay or whatever they are willing to work out.

If is a bank error, you are required to give them back as part of a banking clause. If you fight the case you might win though but your legal fees WILL exceed the amt you fighting for

Postby SUPAstarr » November 2nd, 2015, 10:29 am

MG Man wrote:banking above your means, are ya?

He cant do anything without it being above his means.

moti

Postby moti » November 2nd, 2015, 11:24 am

Maybe you just leave it there and hope for the best.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 2nd, 2015, 11:40 am

if you keep it, it might cost you more than $24k.

Postby rollingstock » November 2nd, 2015, 11:58 am

It doesn't matter what the scenario it would be illegal, despite the bank pursuing recovery there would be criminals charges involved.

Postby sliderz1 » November 2nd, 2015, 12:34 pm

you making real morney dan

Postby cinco » November 2nd, 2015, 12:40 pm

12k? U a suffera. Princess making 30k

Postby MG Man » November 2nd, 2015, 12:49 pm

cinco wrote:12k? U a suffera. Princess making 30k

princess does pay more in tax dan banzai does earn

Postby MaxPower » November 2nd, 2015, 1:10 pm

All that to say u making 12k bruh?

Postby pete » November 2nd, 2015, 1:43 pm

Obviously he left out a 0. :roll:

Postby black start » November 2nd, 2015, 1:44 pm

Opie take d money and run....

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » November 2nd, 2015, 2:44 pm

You can take the money but make sure you have a get out of jail free card at hand... Just in case.

Pirate

Postby Pirate » November 2nd, 2015, 4:54 pm

It in ur account, dat is ur money!!!

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 2nd, 2015, 5:09 pm

Ballers itt

Sent from my LG-D618 using Tapatalk

Postby desifemlove » November 2nd, 2015, 5:10 pm

yes, it's theft.

Postby Redman » November 2nd, 2015, 5:13 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:lets say...Royal Bank of Canada did that you making a $12k and they deposit $24k...and you take out BOTH salaries and then close the account.... can the bank come after you for any funds they mistakenly put in the account?

Well do you expect to have recourse if the bank only pays you half?

10-01

Postby 10-01 » November 2nd, 2015, 5:46 pm

happened to me already the account will go into negative , and they will call u to inquire about it , if as u say u close the account the person who sent the money to u will be charge teller accountant etc ...but the bank has a 24 hrs cycle to audit all transactions , in which they will pick it up so i doubt u really had time to close the account ....

bank never loses ... but they will come hard at u first ... best thing to do is give dem it after cuz they will call your employer and notify them cuz the salary will be debited from the employer's account , who knows nex month u mite get $0

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » November 2nd, 2015, 5:49 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:lets say...Royal Bank of Canada did that you making a $12k and they deposit $24k...and you take out BOTH salaries and then close the account.... can the bank come after you for any funds they mistakenly put in the account?

Of course they can. You think the extra money come out of nowhere ? If you take it that's theft.

Check this man.

A New Zealand gas station owner turned international fugitive has been sentenced to four years and seven months in prison after stealing millions of dollars accidentally deposited into his bank account.

Hui "Leo" Gao, dubbed the "accidental millionaire," sparked a global manhunt after fleeing New Zealand with his girlfriend Kara Hurring in April 2009.

Gao's journey from the forecourt to fugitive began in April 2009 when Australian bank Westpac accidentally gave him access to $7 million (NZ$10 million).

Gao had applied for overdraft financing for the gas station he co-owned with his mother in Rotorua, New Zealand, court documents said.

The bank approved his application with a $100,000 limit, however while inputting the figure a bank employee made a clerical error and gave him access to 100 times the intended amount.

Gao discovered the error the next day and told his girlfriend, Kara Hurring that he was "f—ing rich" and had millions of dollars, court documents said.

In less than one month, the couple withdrew $6.8M from Gao's bank account and transferred it to accounts in Hong Kong and China.

In late April 2009, Gao fled to Hong Kong where he was joined a few days later by Hurring. Before leaving New Zealand, the couple had been living together in Rotorua with Hurring's six-year-old daughter, court documents showed.

http://edition.cnn.com/2012/08/24/world ... sentenced/

Postby 88sins » November 2nd, 2015, 5:51 pm

op jus called bank & let den sort it out.
your lawyers fees gonna be way more than 12k should you do as you propose. an you will never win that kinda case.

Postby Damien » November 2nd, 2015, 6:48 pm

happened already...bank went through the company to recover funds

Pirate

Postby Pirate » November 2nd, 2015, 9:55 pm

Sometimes it works out.
Made a couple thousand loan payment and it was double paid! I didn't do anything and everything was kool! No bank lawyers... Lol
BTW that was 5 yrs ago.
:-D:-D:-D

My advice, just leave the money and hope its forgotten...once about a yr passes...free cash!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » November 3rd, 2015, 12:22 am

This is Trinidad, if you take that money, nobody is coming after you, lets be real. Thats like asking if the government going after quarter of the country who never finish their Degree and has not returned a cent even though they signed a legal document saying they will do so.

ras_elmo

Postby ras_elmo » November 3rd, 2015, 12:44 am

If is a Ministry yuh safe. Auditor General reports for the last 10 yrs shows that clearly....
Do with it what u will. ...

wagonon20's

Postby wagonon20's » November 3rd, 2015, 7:36 am

ras_elmo wrote:If is a Ministry yuh safe. Auditor General reports for the last 10 yrs shows that clearly....
Do with it what u will. ...
. Exactly, its the Alister Crowley mentality ,"do what thou wilt!"

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » November 3rd, 2015, 7:39 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:This is Trinidad, if you take that money, nobody is coming after you, lets be real. Thats like asking if the government going after quarter of the country who never finish their Degree and has not returned a cent even though they signed a legal document saying they will do so.

RBC is not TT government.. private sector doe play with money... they will at least try and if they can't find you, you will have bad credit.. so it's a lose lose

Postby RBphoto » November 3rd, 2015, 8:03 am

I need frenz like banzai.