Spot Speed being installed this weekend on CRH El Socorro

Re: Spot Speed being installed this weekend on CRH El Socorr

Postby tr1ad » December 14th, 2015, 9:32 am

MadCrix wrote:its hard to raise speed limit as all interchanges flyovers ect are designed and built already to be taken at a sped of 80 for maximum safety.

what they can do is raise speed limit for certain parts, but with over excellent rds, safety concerns are an issue. (words from designer at NIDCO when i worked there)

you take the interchange in san fernando at 80 na

antlind

Postby antlind » December 14th, 2015, 9:33 am

Exceeding the speed limit is one problem. The bigger problem is when you have a backhoe or a 50year old Bedford truck doing 25mph on the hwy. These types of vehicles are the real cause for pile ups. Getting them off the highways, particularly at peak hours, is more important.

Postby Slartibartfast » December 14th, 2015, 9:38 am

Have you ever seen the roads at peak hours though? Any vehicle that could actually do 25mph in peak hour traffic get thru in life. Check the rapid rail thread or more info.

TK!

Postby TK! » December 14th, 2015, 10:53 am

cornfused wrote:I cannot comment of the cost or on to the cost benefit analysis . However I like to drive as spirited as the next guy , but this is in an area of the CRH where there has been an abundance of crashes and deaths . In that sense, its long over due . How its going to be implemented with information and legislation is another matter .

well said

Postby RBphoto » December 14th, 2015, 11:29 am

roadhog wrote:80kmph is ridiculously slow. But the shambles we have on the road for vehicles with substandard parts. They need to keep it at 80 just for the safety of the rest of us. Enforcing the speed limit is just part of dealing with them. I am less concerned about someone passing me above the speed limit in something reasonable. Than someone in a shakedown vehicle.

Said the raodhog....(Quoted for irony)

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 14th, 2015, 7:58 pm

80km is fast enough for them foreign used tiida tho. speedometer only goes to 120. so i heard lol

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2015, 12:27 am

Better enforcement is always a step in the right direction
We are a lawless society

Postby Chimera » December 15th, 2015, 1:04 am

Dem foreign used tiida getting 170 180 easy

Postby gt4tified » December 15th, 2015, 2:38 am

For real?? Nice...finally something that can tell me how fast I'm actually going when the speedometer needle cyah go no more.

Postby Redman » December 15th, 2015, 6:54 am

pugboy wrote:Better enforcement is always a step in the right direction
We are a lawless society

We full.of laws.

We bereft of enforcement.

Postby pete » December 15th, 2015, 7:18 am

Someone said that due to OSH reasons police officers can no longer run out and stop speeding vehicles so currently enforcement is impossible. Hopefully the use of technology will now allow the authorities to issue tickets and hopefully the supporting legislation will be passed to allow this.

Plenty money can be made doing this so hopefully it can be implemented soon.

Sent from my MotoG3 using Tapatalk

BRZ

Postby BRZ » December 15th, 2015, 7:43 am

bluesclues wrote:80km is fast enough for them foreign used tiida tho. speedometer only goes to 120. so i heard lol

:idea: then maybe we should just remove and BAn all those Sh1t Tiidas from the roads of Trinidad Permemantly! :idea: - much less BAd parkers, much less bad drivers, much less PH operators around, hell my idea is brilliant!

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » December 15th, 2015, 8:32 am

If they are introducing this system, I am thinking the new number plate system would be kicking in soon?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 15th, 2015, 9:02 am

hopefully
I looking fwd to getting iluvtrac

Postby Slartibartfast » December 15th, 2015, 10:11 am

BRZ wrote:
bluesclues wrote:80km is fast enough for them foreign used tiida tho. speedometer only goes to 120. so i heard lol

:idea: then maybe we should just remove and BAn all those Sh1t Tiidas from the roads of Trinidad Permemantly! :idea: - much less BAd parkers, much less bad drivers, much less PH operators around, hell my idea is brilliant!

If only there was some way to educate drivers before giving them a license. Like maybe driving lessons and a regulations test or something... hmmmmm...

Btw, hummer for a license now? I hear price went up to $1000 inclusive of all "licensing officer fees."

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » December 15th, 2015, 7:08 pm

as far as im concerned. u can only be a good driver if u pass maths and physics in school with a firm understanding of force, mass, velocity and trigonometry. those 3 tools make anyone an excellent driver. as long as they could reverse without tying up they brain in the rearview.

if u understand mass and velocity u wont speed so because u will know what the brakes can handle to stop in a short space.

with trig, u know all ur angles and curves for maneuvering and making different turns in the road or parking lot etc.

with physics u understand that it is a manmade machine, not meant to be a speed toy but to get u from point a to b. u understand mashing x hard does burn more gas. u understand cyasis resilience and instability at that will arise and what velocites and what that means for the car.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 15th, 2015, 7:12 pm

:lol: @ bluesclues.

Postby ismithx » December 15th, 2015, 7:57 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote::lol: @ bluesclues.

he does have a serious point though

Postby S_2NR » December 15th, 2015, 8:01 pm

Oh boy. A man just got his o level results.

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » December 15th, 2015, 8:13 pm

S_2NR wrote:Oh boy. A man just got his o level results.

]]

nah, this lookin' like CAPE...

UWI undergrad here he comes! watch out!

Postby 1UZFE » December 15th, 2015, 8:42 pm

BRZ wrote:

"We like it so" crew will not be pleased.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 15th, 2015, 9:18 pm

ismithx wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote::lol: @ bluesclues.

he does have a serious point though

Enforcement is the only thing people understand. Maybe some pansies fraid to speed so they don't but many people know exactly what happens if going too fast for a corner yet still go in hot, or drive on shoulder just for overtaking and to maintain speed etc.

Tar Baby

Postby Tar Baby » December 15th, 2015, 9:21 pm

Removed by Moderator
Last edited by Tar Baby on November 3rd, 2021, 12:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » December 15th, 2015, 10:33 pm

There is already a speed sensor display by the savannah,
Why arent they using that to issue tickets ?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 16th, 2015, 12:19 am

pugboy wrote:There is already a speed sensor display by the savannah,
Why arent they using that to issue tickets ?

Probably not admissible in court. Ask RS

sickbad

Postby sickbad » December 16th, 2015, 3:53 am

If we had a system to take care of school chirren, traffic problem fix like how vacation periods are.

Why hire 500 more police officers when technology gonna snap pictures, publish it in the newspaper and email it to the po po ..

Yuh forget in Trinidad computerized system they still have chits, manual receipts, logbook that have to writeup, manual report that have to file.

firetruck dis sheit, those traffic cameras gonna make men speed n slow to 80kmph and bottleneck the flow of reasonable flowing traffic which is over 80.. The UK increased their speeds because it was surveyed that the average of all persons were driving slightly over the limit so it was bumped by 10kmh.

Why do we have 4 lane highways and same speed limit from 50years ago with 2 lanes??? Answer meh dis nah

ganeshlalchan

Postby ganeshlalchan » December 16th, 2015, 6:05 am

bluesclues wrote:as far as im concerned. u can only be a good driver if u pass maths and physics in school with a firm understanding of force, mass, velocity and trigonometry. those 3 tools make anyone an excellent driver. as long as they could reverse without tying up they brain in the rearview.

if u understand mass and velocity u wont speed so because u will know what the brakes can handle to stop in a short space.

with trig, u know all ur angles and curves for maneuvering and making different turns in the road or parking lot etc.

with physics u understand that it is a manmade machine, not meant to be a speed toy but to get u from point a to b. u understand mashing x hard does burn more gas. u understand cyasis resilience and instability at that will arise and what velocites and what that means for the car.

How about just some simple common sense?

Postby Slartibartfast » December 16th, 2015, 6:59 am

Bluesclues actually raised a good point. I would go that far but most people don't understand the relationship between speed and kinetic energy

Energy = 1/2 x mass x speed^2

That means if you double your speed your quadruple you kinetic energy.

That means if you double your speed you effectively quadruple all the forces required to stop or control your car during the same manouvers. So at 113km/hr you already need twice the stopping distance than traveling at 80km/hr

This and the fact that water and/oil act as a lubricant at a micro level on wet roads meaning you only have about 70% of the grip (actual percent may be wrong) when driving in wet conditions. Btw, this doesn't consider hydroplaning. Most people don't know that the critical speed to hydroplane is dependant on tire pressure. Lower pressure, lower hydroplane speeds. Hydroplane speeds are also dependant on a lot of other factors but a good rough and dirty equation for hydroplane speed is
HS = 16 x √(tire pressure psi).

Most people also don't realise that these laws (unlike others) apply to tiidas as well.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » December 16th, 2015, 7:27 am

could we have different Speed limits for Wet and dry road conditions? LOL

Advent

Postby Advent » December 16th, 2015, 7:40 am

michelin tyres #unaffected