CY lancer (08 lancer)

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

JUS4SHO

Re: CY lancer (08 lancer)

Postby JUS4SHO » February 9th, 2016, 7:42 am

dredman1 wrote:
JUS4SHO wrote: I currently get with the GT over 500km to a tank which is $140 to fill up.

How much a/c use and heavy foot driving is involved in that 500km?
I get about 400km per tank, but I NEVER drive the car without a/c, and I admit I floor the gas fairly often with my 2.0. (I'm trying to gauge how badly off my fuel consumption is).

Any other 2.0 owners feel free to share your input as well on this...

It's main roads so a lot of stop and go compared to highway drives. Btw how old is your GT. Do you service your throttle body, maf and egr valve?
Also I use a k&n drop in filter.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » February 9th, 2016, 7:59 am

InsanityReigns wrote:
JUS4SHO wrote:
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1454990886.530620.jpg

For a daily driver the GT is lots of fun. the fortis feel like a sloopy (same suspension as the 1.5 , 1.6) mamoo (detuned 2.0) 1.6. The steering also gives less feedback guess it's because the GT has rigid collars to mate the subframe to the body, the fortis does not.
I have owned the CY2A 1.5 (new), galant fortis (f/used) and now the GT (new)
My advise is if you can't afford the GT new check Carmax for a used one before considering a fortis.
Why not an Evo x ? For me the Evo would be a project car, you don't project your daily driver imho. I currently get with the GT over 500km to a tank which is $140 to fill up.
Why I sold my rrm turbo kit? Reminded myself it's not a project car, I rearly use the highway, don't need it plus a search on the iterwebs will reveal all is not well with the kit, despite rrm claims that customers have over 70000km running daily on their kit.
Intake, exhaust, cams etc and you can easily see 200hp n/a
I know I gave a lot of info here and some are vague ( sorry but some abuse the free info I share) so Que the 25 plus daily PM's.
wow thanks for summing it up. About Carmax vehicles though I saw most of them with badly done body job repairs and their prices are still so high. Oh well ck4 lancer for it.

Agreed. The dm body shop does crappy work. But that can fix. The ck I loved the most till I got a cy.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » February 9th, 2016, 8:22 am

JUS4SHO wrote:
dredman1 wrote:
JUS4SHO wrote: I currently get with the GT over 500km to a tank which is $140 to fill up.

How much a/c use and heavy foot driving is involved in that 500km?
I get about 400km per tank, but I NEVER drive the car without a/c, and I admit I floor the gas fairly often with my 2.0. (I'm trying to gauge how badly off my fuel consumption is).

Any other 2.0 owners feel free to share your input as well on this...

It's main roads so a lot of stop and go compared to highway drives. Btw how old is your GT. Do you service your throttle body, maf and egr valve?
Also I use a k&n drop in filter.
Thanks. It's a 2008.

I serviced the TB and MAF in November last year, as well as the drop-in K&N. But that was my first attempt at it, so it may not have been perfect.

The car sees daily use, and is probably in Chaguanas to Barataria rush hour traffic 2 or 3 days a week (both mornings and evenings), and occasional use on weekends (again all with a/c).

I've never cleaned the EGR though - will do some research into that. Also when I cleaned the TB, I just cleaned the area around the throttle plate. I did notice when the plate was open that inside the intake manifold was very dirty, but I wasn't comfortable spraying cleaner into it.

speednet1

Postby speednet1 » February 9th, 2016, 9:09 am

I wanted to buy mines from CarMax but my mine was made up when I was able to get a fortis with very low milage (almost new) and good features. CarMax GT's have too many dents and scratches for 140K. I got my fortis for 120K with full kit, controls on steering,sunroof etc.
But the local GT's do drive better, wish I could afford one. But I thick Diamond Motors gonna stop bringing the 1.6 lancer and only focus on the GT's.

Postby Dave » February 9th, 2016, 9:58 am

Wonder if diamond gonna even bring the attrage

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » February 9th, 2016, 10:10 am

JUS4SHO wrote:
The steering also gives less feedback guess it's because the GT has rigid collars to mate the subframe to the body, .

Are you sure the GT comes with rigid collars as standard? Have you checked this on your car?

Can't see why they would put on a GT standard and not an evo.

Also the Galant Fortis which looks just like a GT also seems to drive like a GT except the speed cut.

I had a Galant Fortis "GT" and found it to drive just like a local GT. had the same brakes wheels and interior as a GT. only problem was the speed cut.

Also came with a lot more features.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » February 9th, 2016, 12:14 pm

BLUE_CP9A wrote:
JUS4SHO wrote:
The steering also gives less feedback guess it's because the GT has rigid collars to mate the subframe to the body, .

Are you sure the GT comes with rigid collars as standard? Have you checked this on your car?

Can't see why they would put on a GT standard and not an evo.

Also the Galant Fortis which looks just like a GT also seems to drive like a GT except the speed cut.

I had a Galant Fortis "GT" and found it to drive just like a local GT. had the same brakes wheels and interior as a GT. only problem was the speed cut.

Also came with a lot more features.

I checked my car which is a 2013 and it's installed. Also i found it on the FIM manual.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » February 9th, 2016, 6:52 pm

JUS4SHO wrote:

For a daily driver the GT is lots of fun. the fortis feel like a sloopy (same suspension as the 1.5 , 1.6) mamoo (detuned 2.0) 1.6. The steering also gives less feedback guess it's because the GT has rigid collars to mate the subframe to the body, the fortis does not.
My advise is if you can't afford the GT new check Carmax for a used one before considering a fortis.
Why not an Evo x ? For me the Evo would be a project car, you don't project your daily driver imho. I currently get with the GT over 500km to a tank which is $140 to fill up.
Why I sold my rrm turbo kit? Reminded myself it's not a project car, I rearly use the highway, don't need it plus a search on the iterwebs will reveal all is not well with the kit, despite rrm claims that customers have over 70000km running daily on their kit.
I know I gave a lot of info here and some are vague ( sorry but some abuse the free info I share) so Que the 25 plus daily PM's.

rrm kit is made for a left hand drive car only btw .... had to do some fabrication.

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » February 9th, 2016, 7:45 pm

Shocked they install rigid collars at the factory, as it will slow production.

I installed a set on my X, can't say the steering response has increased, however sharp undulations( like a recent wasa patch work) is handled a lot better.

I'm actually searching for a set for the rear subframe.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » February 10th, 2016, 6:47 am

Check spoon part number 50300-CZ4-000 for the rear.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » February 10th, 2016, 6:49 am

Ignorant Ignis wrote:
JUS4SHO wrote:

rrm kit is made for a left hand drive car only btw .... had to do some fabrication.

Ahh I thought it was an issue with the cvt kit only.

fras

Postby fras » February 10th, 2016, 12:28 pm

200hp n/a :shock: seems far-fetched
intake headders exhaust cams n tune... wouldnt even get u 200bph
imo 8-)

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » February 10th, 2016, 12:50 pm

fras wrote:200hp n/a :shock: seems far-fetched
intake headders exhaust cams n tune... wouldnt even get u 200bph
imo 8-)

Yup check pr

fras

Postby fras » February 10th, 2016, 1:31 pm

lets see u make that here

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » February 10th, 2016, 4:12 pm

Daily driver not a project car.

Albezel21

Postby Albezel21 » February 12th, 2016, 2:02 pm

Jus sharing some info

was in the bamboo recently looking for CY rims. African Foreign used parts says he had a container coming in and it had a set of Evo X rims in it (although i think is GT rims he mean). Called him today and he said they were unpacking the container today and that i can check him for it tomorrow (Saturday). I can't purchase those wheels right now again so hopefully one of allyuh who has been hunting for it since u get the car could get it.

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » February 12th, 2016, 2:28 pm

Good looking out bro...

BLUE_CP9A

Postby BLUE_CP9A » February 12th, 2016, 5:27 pm

Albezel21 wrote:Jus sharing some info

was in the bamboo recently looking for CY rims. African Foreign used parts says he had a container coming in and it had a set of Evo X rims in it (although i think is GT rims he mean). Called him today and he said they were unpacking the container today and that i can check him for it tomorrow (Saturday). I can't purchase those wheels right now again so hopefully one of allyuh who has been hunting for it since u get the car could get it.

Let me know if he has interior parts, I'm looking for some stuff.

speednet1

Postby speednet1 » February 12th, 2016, 8:13 pm

Thanks bro

Albezel21

Postby Albezel21 » February 12th, 2016, 9:46 pm

BLUE_CP9A wrote:
Albezel21 wrote:Jus sharing some info

Let me know if he has interior parts, I'm looking for some stuff.

He said he had a few things but i didn't ask as i didnt need anything for my interior. I noticed a CY back half (disc brakes) and a few rear suspension sets. He has a few engines and transmissions ...... but the prices though...LAWD

speednet1

Postby speednet1 » February 13th, 2016, 9:34 am

Do you have a number for African foreign used parts

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » February 13th, 2016, 2:14 pm

Just sharing some pics of the CY, not completed yet though. Hopefully, a set of coilover suspension in the future.

Sunic

Postby Sunic » February 13th, 2016, 3:25 pm

kavaninho wrote:Just sharing some pics of the CY, not completed yet though. Hopefully, a set of coilover suspension in the future.

okay u change the oem front bumper to the gt one? Where u buy the gt bumper ?

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » February 13th, 2016, 3:57 pm

The bumper was bought on ebay. You will need to replace the shield below aswell.

Postby Morpheus » February 13th, 2016, 4:38 pm

Nice!

Albezel21

Postby Albezel21 » February 13th, 2016, 8:50 pm

AFRICAN foreign used parts
791-8029

speednet1

Postby speednet1 » February 15th, 2016, 1:21 pm

Albezel21 wrote:AFRICAN foreign used parts
791-8029

Thanks

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » February 15th, 2016, 8:47 pm

what coilover set you guys recommend for galant fortis 2.0 for daily/street use. Any of you have experience with any?

JennyLancer

Postby JennyLancer » February 16th, 2016, 7:08 pm

Hey guys, I know anytime I need help you guys are always there to offer advice. So here's the question.. Today I was doing a check on my brakes and noticed the rubber on the brake piston has a 'rip'. How easy is this to change and more importantly would this drastically affect brake performance?
20160214_133403-min__1455664043_181.188.99.213.jpg

A.W.O.L

Postby A.W.O.L » February 16th, 2016, 7:46 pm

I have a brand new brake kit if u want to buy...pm me
Also have complete velocity joint rubbers kit I brought from the US
Complete wit all the grease rubbers and metal clamps....car sold so I remained wit these an a few parts on my hands...

Return to “MITSUBISHI”