Do you expect to see an increase of "T" Suvs soon?

BRZ

Do you expect to see an increase of "T" Suvs soon?

Postby BRZ » April 11th, 2016, 7:27 am

Given the New 50% luxury Tax on 2.0 engines registered as "P", do you think that there will be a sudden increase in the Registering of SUV's as "T"???
Prados, Sorentos, Everest, PAthfinder, Fortuna, Benz Suv, BMW Suvs, Mistu Pajeros, etc........
Years ago, people did register wagons as "T" due to less registration fees, but with the current "disaster" inspection system at the licensing Office how would they cope with so many additional "T" vehicles?
Or will they finally start inspecting "T" vehicles at Private testing station?

Re: Do you expect to see an increase of "T" Suvs soon?

Postby zoom rader » April 11th, 2016, 8:01 am

Again PNM Financiers stand to win if running a T on a SUV.

PNM financiers own nearly all insurance companies and rates are higher on any T vehicle.
They gonna pocket millions both selling vechice and collection insurance

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » April 11th, 2016, 1:47 pm

Maybe H-registered SUV's too.

Postby K74T » April 11th, 2016, 5:18 pm

Does this affect you in any way BRZ?

Postby rspann » April 11th, 2016, 9:41 pm

If BRZ had a clue about the regulations for licensing a suv as a T he would not even start this thread.

rebound

Postby rebound » April 11th, 2016, 10:10 pm

rspann wrote:If BRZ had a clue about the regulations for licensing a suv as a T he would not even start this thread.
just for my information, would it be possible for you to post those regulations? Or give a summary?

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 11th, 2016, 10:26 pm

2.0 is not subject to the MVT/duty tax increase, it is a tax on OVER 1999cc

What we traditionally refer to as 2.0 litre is actually 1998cc or 1997cc

Cars this would affect are the 2.3 Teanna for instance

The taxes on vehicles like the 2.0 Sportage, Tuscan and CR-V will be unchanged

Postby rspann » April 11th, 2016, 10:43 pm

The short explanation is that you have to be registered in the agricultural sector,get it exempted from taxes and then cannot carry any passengers in the back seat. There was KIV notice in POS CID to stop any T SUVs and check to see if they were properly registered and charge anyone with rear seat passengers.

Postby rspann » April 11th, 2016, 10:46 pm

There is even a T Range Rover.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » April 12th, 2016, 7:11 am

rspann wrote:If BRZ had a clue about the regulations for licensing a suv as a T he would not even start this thread.

Well thank you clearing that up.
:) much appreciated.

Postby nervewrecker » April 12th, 2016, 9:59 am

So a 2 door car cant be registered with T plates then?
Last edited by nervewrecker on April 12th, 2016, 9:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: RE: Re: Do you expect to see an increase of "T" Suvs soon?

Postby K74T » April 12th, 2016, 11:23 am

nervewrecker wrote:So a 2 door can cant be registered with T plates then?

I don't think so. :|

src1983

Postby src1983 » April 12th, 2016, 2:31 pm

Real returning residents coming

Postby pete » April 12th, 2016, 3:03 pm

rspann wrote:The short explanation is that you have to be registered in the agricultural sector,get it exempted from taxes and then cannot carry any passengers in the back seat. There was KIV notice in POS CID to stop any T SUVs and check to see if they were properly registered and charge anyone with rear seat passengers.

Do you mean back seat passengers or passengers in the trunk? Are back seat passengers not allowed in any T vehicles or only SUVs?

Postby rspann » April 12th, 2016, 5:40 pm

A T pickup or any vehicle that taxes was paid on can carry a full complement. The SUVs that are exempted are exempted because they are purportedly brought in as a transport vehicle for the. Agro industry, so they curtail people from getting aw ay from the taxes (fraudulently) by putting that restriction.
There are also H. SUVs but those are licensed Under the tourism industry with a different set of rules
You really feel the government going to leave a loophole for everybody who don't mind having a T number plate to avoid taxes so easy?

Postby skylinechild » April 13th, 2016, 8:18 am

i always thought the deciding factor of a vehicle on which registration it gets if its "P" or "T" was the weight of the vehicle.
thats why we see MGW and TARE on these larger vehicles.

rspann plz clarify

*doh hit meh....

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » April 13th, 2016, 9:43 am

yes this was my first thought last week with the luxury tax

there are many Tuscon Kia sportage with "T" license and also many larger SUV as the Prado , Land Cruiser VW in the "T" mix now.
this will be there way of capitalizing on the loop hole in the law

Postby pete » April 13th, 2016, 9:48 am

I thought the major drawback was the headache of every year having to carry your vehicle to Licensing office in POS/San Fernando to get it inspected.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 13th, 2016, 10:06 am

pete wrote:I thought the major drawback was the headache of every year having to carry your vehicle to Licensing office in POS/San Fernando to get it inspected.

Even without taxes these vehicles still fairly pricey by the common man standards. The people dodging the taxes have workers to carry the vehicle for them to Licensing.

Postby Greypatch » April 13th, 2016, 10:13 am

How the FRANCE over 200occ is considered a luxury ???

Postby pete » April 13th, 2016, 10:20 am

Based on viewtopic.php?f=25&t=237573 with the majority of vehicles 2L and under I'd say that's not a stretch to consider over 2L a luxury.

Postby Habit7 » April 13th, 2016, 1:40 pm

Imbert last week announced an increase of 50 per cent in Customs duty and motor vehicle tax on luxury vehicles, starting with private vehicles with an engine size exceeding 1999cc. The measure took effect immediately.

However, he said yesterday the State will impose a tax on cars of an “appropriate horse-power” such as turbo-charged cars that may fall below the 1999cc engine size.

“That is coming too,” Imbert said. “That will come in the next Budget.”
Imbert said the State overdraft facility was close to $9 billion and public servants now have to monitor it every single day. The facility is a statutory one authorising spending of up to 15 per cent of total estimated revenue (about $60 billion).
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,226446.html

Govt pushing us to be a nation of wetmen.

They must know that ppl can easily bring in normally aspirated engine and modify it later with a turbo among other things.

Postby pete » April 13th, 2016, 3:11 pm

Damn :(

Postby Team Loco » April 13th, 2016, 5:55 pm

Good idea

Postby MaxPower » April 13th, 2016, 7:10 pm

Big-eye sufferers affected....

Rich and powerful will continue to swipe card without watching....

Postby rspann » April 13th, 2016, 7:57 pm

skylinechild wrote:i always thought the deciding factor of a vehicle on which registration it gets if its "P" or "T" was the weight of the vehicle.
thats why we see MGW and TARE on these larger vehicles.

rspann plz clarify

*doh hit meh....

Any T vehicle has the Mgw and Tare weight on the side(even the Tucson and others you speak about)this is to show their carrying capacity, and their bare weight, so they won't be overloaded thus making them unsafe to control.
If you talking about the sign is on larger vehicles ,what about the skoda pickup?
Anybody ever saw the Honda pilot and another big left hand drive Escalade ext pickup that is licensed P?

The Tare is the unladen weight or the vehicle's weight. The Mgw is the maximum gross weight, that is the goods and the vehicle. Subtract the Tare from the Mgw and you get the maximum load you are allowed to carry. That is why when lic.officers want to see if a vehicle is overloaded,they carry it to a weigh bridge and weigh the whole vehicle with the goods and they know what you are carrying. Some trinis feel Mgw is maximum goods weight .

Postby rspann » April 13th, 2016, 8:06 pm

They must know that ppl can easily bring in normally aspirated engine and modify it later with a turbo among other things.[/quote]

Don't worry Hinds done talk about that already.

Pirate

Re: RE: Re: Do you expect to see an increase of "T" Suvs soon?

Postby Pirate » April 13th, 2016, 8:08 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Imbert last week announced an increase of 50 per cent in Customs duty and motor vehicle tax on luxury vehicles, starting with private vehicles with an engine size exceeding 1999cc. The measure took effect immediately.

However, he said yesterday the State will impose a tax on cars of an “appropriate horse-power” such as turbo-charged cars that may fall below the 1999cc engine size.

“That is coming too,” Imbert said. “That will come in the next Budget.”
Imbert said the State overdraft facility was close to $9 billion and public servants now have to monitor it every single day. The facility is a statutory one authorising spending of up to 15 per cent of total estimated revenue (about $60 billion).
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,226446.html

Govt pushing us to be a nation of wetmen.

They must know that ppl can easily bring in normally aspirated engine and modify it later with a turbo among other things.

So other than getting bull with 2L+ engines, he wanna bull the rest by including taxes on vehicles with X horsepower and turbos!
Grade A minister for sure!

if dem cyar sell them faulty jetta and over priced Subarus is tax if u feel u gettin it RORO!

Postby MaxPower » April 13th, 2016, 9:20 pm

Wanna know whats funny?

All these taxes and the public not gonna get back a cent....pay up ppl