Using the utility poles to link a building ?

turboturnsmeon2

Using the utility poles to link a building ?

Postby turboturnsmeon2 » June 10th, 2016, 10:24 am

Who do i contact to find out if i can use the utility poles to run a privately own fiber cable linking two building ?
I tried TATT but they dont know.

hong kong phooey

Re: Using the utility poles to link a building ?

Postby hong kong phooey » June 10th, 2016, 10:57 am

I believe the tall poles are owned by t &tec and other service provider pay some sort of lease.
best bet is talk to t&tec

Postby skylinechild » June 10th, 2016, 11:32 am

turboturnsmeon2 wrote:Who do i contact to find out if i can use the utility poles to run a privately own fiber cable linking two building ?

to be brutally honest...go do your thing no body will do anything. where i live, a well known chaguanas businessman mounted his personal cameras onto T&TEC poles - facing the camera to watch his property. :lol:

jokes on him though when T&TEC comes to replace the poles or do any work they will simply break off the camera and dispose of it....

if the two buildings are on the same piece of land and on the same side...shouldnt be too hard..if the two buildings are like on different sides of the street and the cable has to cross the street...you may be in for some trouble.

*awaits a riveting tale from the St helena storyteller....

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » June 10th, 2016, 11:54 am

T&TEC but they will tell no... So go handle yuh business under low.

turboturnsmeon2

Postby turboturnsmeon2 » June 10th, 2016, 12:09 pm

Thanks i sent them an email.

Postby Chimera » June 10th, 2016, 1:46 pm

skylinechild wrote:
turboturnsmeon2 wrote:Who do i contact to find out if i can use the utility poles to run a privately own fiber cable linking two building ?

to be brutally honest...go do your thing no body will do anything. where i live, a well known chaguanas businessman mounted his personal cameras onto T&TEC poles - facing the camera to watch his property. :lol:

jokes on him though when T&TEC comes to replace the poles or do any work they will simply break off the camera and dispose of it....

if the two buildings are on the same piece of land and on the same side...shouldnt be too hard..if the two buildings are like on different sides of the street and the cable has to cross the street...you may be in for some trouble.

*awaits a riveting tale from the St helena storyteller....

i have some cameras on a ttec pole....ttec has done work quite a few times and they dont interfere with it

people these days understand that yuh hadda do whatever to protect your property,even government workers

i used metal tie straps though, didnt screw anything into their pole

Postby skylinechild » June 10th, 2016, 10:55 pm

AYSN wrote:i have some cameras on a ttec pole....ttec has done work quite a few times and they dont interfere with it

people these days understand that yuh hadda do whatever to protect your property,even government workers

i used metal tie straps though, didnt screw anything into their pole

the fact that you used metal straps makes it right ???

there's a reason why T&TEC doesn't allow any sort of additional stuff on their poles.

lets jut say - for argument sake - one day the big a$$ transformer on the pole blow out...current soo high it catch the pole on fire...your camera catch up and the electrical wire becomes highly charged..this high electricity then feeds back into your house..promptly setting it on fire - again - all highly hypothetical.

what then..u go to T&TEC and complain "ay yuh thing bun dong meh house"

stuff that do go on their poles has to first get permission from them and also be of a certain standard of insulation material and installed a certain height and installed a certain manner so as to not interfere with their normal routine maintenance.
Last edited by skylinechild on June 10th, 2016, 11:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Chimera » June 10th, 2016, 10:57 pm

Yea. None of that going to happen. Doh beat up

Postby skylinechild » June 10th, 2016, 11:11 pm

AYSN wrote:Yea. None of that going to happen. Doh beat up

not beating up..just letting yuh kno theres a reason why stuff like this isnt done....
do so at your own risk. 8-)

Postby Chimera » June 10th, 2016, 11:18 pm

And there are ways to properly isolate the equipment. Standard when putting cctv equipment outdoors on heights. Dbu

Postby ronsin1 » June 11th, 2016, 6:22 am

Wouldn't it be less hassle to plant your own pole

thatlife

Postby thatlife » June 11th, 2016, 10:57 am

would a gigabit wireless solution work for you?
if so PM me

i've linked buildings up to 1/4 mile away
no downtime in 2yrs+