2016 sportage or tucson? Actually went with a 2016 T32 X-trail

yardie_tnt

2016 sportage or tucson? Actually went with a 2016 T32 X-trail

Postby yardie_tnt » July 1st, 2016, 7:46 pm

As the locals say "I rel confused hoss"! Kia basic coming with the works incl the rearview cams...tucson not so much but the lines sleeker and dimensions in the back a bit roomier..which one? And which brand have the better resale value nowadays?
Last edited by yardie_tnt on August 3rd, 2016, 9:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Re: 2016 sportage or tucson?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » July 1st, 2016, 8:24 pm

Toyota Rav4

Postby A172 » July 1st, 2016, 8:24 pm

neither
spend yur $ on sumn good

yardie_tnt

Postby yardie_tnt » July 1st, 2016, 8:40 pm

Haha if I could I would - budget is basic...

Postby Gem_in_i » July 1st, 2016, 8:41 pm

They not same company?

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » July 1st, 2016, 8:41 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Toyota Rav4

anything new model in Toyota

neexis

Postby neexis » July 1st, 2016, 8:51 pm

You could upgrade the front of Sportage by driving it into a wall

Postby MaxPower » July 1st, 2016, 8:53 pm

Save your money and go Toyota..

jussvon101

Postby jussvon101 » July 2nd, 2016, 7:11 am

Go for the tucson it is clearly more attractive and the reviews online gives it a higher rating than the sportage in terms of better handling and drive refinement. I understand that the new sportage has a poor fuel economy in its class comparatively speaking

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 2nd, 2016, 10:39 am

Resale value on both is failure...as several other men said....Toyota ftw

baigan

Postby baigan » July 2nd, 2016, 11:17 am

Id say go for the sportage..The new xtrail is pretty nice too

gundeleroy2k

Re: RE: Re: 2016 sportage or tucson?

Postby gundeleroy2k » July 2nd, 2016, 11:51 am

neexis wrote:You could upgrade the front of Sportage by driving it into a wall

Funny lol

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » July 2nd, 2016, 11:58 am

no resale value for Korean brand
....value is a matter of perception
in Trinidad ...Japanese and certain brand have a higher value
happens in every country

Postby eliteauto » July 2nd, 2016, 12:37 pm

mitch1980 wrote:no resale value for Korean brand
happens in every country

do you think that trend will continue, considering how many Korean vehicles are selling now?

Postby Morpheus » July 2nd, 2016, 1:22 pm

Buy what you want. If you buying with resale on your mind then go with the Toyota. If you buying for your satisfaction and features, then go with one of the Koreans.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 2nd, 2016, 1:24 pm

Forget what everyone says about resale this and features that.

Test drive both cars and buy what you like ... At the end on the day you have to drive it.
Take a long sit as well in the vehicle in the show room, close the doors and have a feel for the steering ... plastics ... layout and materials.

Then go strong!

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 2nd, 2016, 1:26 pm

Another option is to buy a barely used korean ... Since resale tends to be lower let the first owner take the hit and you get a really nice car at a really nice price.

Postby Chimera » July 2nd, 2016, 1:28 pm

buy both

take out fully comp on both

after a few months burn down the one you like less

Postby Monk BANzai » July 2nd, 2016, 2:16 pm

if its anything like the last iteration of both.. it will come down to your external aesthetic preference. Both were essentially the same interior-wise (2012-14 models).

There's a discussion about both here (even talk about a Turbo version of the Tuscon being offered locally.)

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=237573&start=10800

I copied the last page URL, but you can scroll back 2 or 33 pages to get the gist of the discussion.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » July 4th, 2016, 8:08 am

eliteauto wrote:
mitch1980 wrote:no resale value for Korean brand
happens in every country

do you think that trend will continue, considering how many Korean vehicles are selling now?

some what difficult to say as this will be a full cutlural change on the entire linked industry ...manufacturer -> dealer-> buyer -> parts reseller -> mechanic

look how the Kia and Hyndai brand and boomed the USA market with their 10 yr warranty
for this to change from our Trini perception is a long cultural change

personally i never look at cars just because of what i like i look at resale , ease of parts replacement and support from mechanic thereafter.

Postby pugboy » July 4th, 2016, 8:14 am

tucson seems to have very little leg room for front passenger, glove box takes up a lot of space.

resale values improving, korean suvs are the choice of gym and soccer moms now.
crv and rav4 are priced higher compared.

they are also the choice of most company vehicles for employees for same reason.

yardie_tnt

Postby yardie_tnt » July 6th, 2016, 11:42 pm

Thanks for the advice - funny and serious!

AYSN wrote:buy both

take out fully comp on both

after a few months burn down the one you like less

I will go with this advice..after I win Play Whe & Lotto!

Funnily enough I've sat in both Korean cars, and the X-Trail..think I'll go with Nissan despite less features for the price due to the resale value and the extra safety features. I will get accessories later as needs be - the 6-air bags and extra-space has swayed me to the new x-trail.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 6th, 2016, 11:57 pm

X trail ...

Tried to help my uncle sell a 6 month old X trail 25% off the new price after he migrated in Jan ... was up for sale for 5 months and not one interested party he has since given up.

Real nice features but the engine under-powered.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » July 7th, 2016, 5:58 am

Which trim level X-Trail are you all referring to?

Because the entry level X-Trail is a POS for the money that Massy Motors wants. It isn't all that spacious in the front when compared to the Qashqai. Acceleration is poor. Lots of hard plastic all over the place. A fully loaded Chevy Spark has about the same amount of features as the entry level X-Trail.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » July 7th, 2016, 8:31 am

Nah it was the fully loaded minus the extra two seats at the back.

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » July 7th, 2016, 8:36 am

Xtrail to me was always an econobox...

yardie_tnt

Postby yardie_tnt » July 7th, 2016, 8:38 am

Rory Phoulorie wrote:Which trim level X-Trail are you all referring to?

Because the entry level X-Trail is a POS for the money that Massy Motors wants. It isn't all that spacious in the front when compared to the Qashqai. Acceleration is poor. Lots of hard plastic all over the place. A fully loaded Chevy Spark has about the same amount of features as the entry level X-Trail.

Maybe but

1. Can;t see Chevy having any resale value
2. I test drove - space is good enough - same as hyundai tucson if not more and the back is definitely bigger. The space in the back is also very good for the 2nd row passengers
3. acceleration is fine for me esp with this stupid 80 km/h speed limit I doubt I'll be pushing any vehicle
4. All these entry level vehicles full ofplastic - I will replace the deck with my own camera system in time
5. Currently have a tucson - that devalues quicker than a venezuelan dollar unfortunately. Don't want to get caught like that again when it's time to sell - to the guy who trying to sell his uncle's people won't be buying just yet as RORO still going good and it's affordable new but in 2-4 yeas time If igure they will.

My only qualm is the foot brake but I can get used to that as I only use my hand brake when I shut off my engine after driving over 2 decades. The hill assist works brilliantly so it won't be a problem for hill starts.

EDIT: To say the QASHQAI is decent too but it's abut $10k less than the X-trail and much smaller. It's like an AS-X (or Grand Vitara) which I could get fully loaded for $239k - I get used to having the cargo room so I can;t go down to a small crossover.

jhonnieblue

Re: 2016 sportage or tucson? Now with added T32 X-trailage

Postby jhonnieblue » July 7th, 2016, 9:55 am

People keep referring to resale...anyone actually tried to sell Any car recently? Resale on all vehicles is crap
If you buying a car, choose one you like cause at the end of the day nobody paying any kind of money again for a used car. This stupid resale culture..smh..Nissan to Toyota etc..won't get anything close to the price being called

yardie_tnt

Postby yardie_tnt » July 7th, 2016, 10:52 am

jhonnieblue wrote:People keep referring to resale...anyone actually tried to sell Any car recently? Resale on all vehicles is crap
If you buying a car, choose one you like cause at the end of the day nobody paying any kind of money again for a used car. This stupid resale culture..smh..Nissan to Toyota etc..won't get anything close to the price being called

Maybe but everything will sell at a price - Right now I will get about 35% back on my tucson if it sell. If I can get 60% on this x-trail in 4 years that is good. It might not be the ideal price but any price is better imo than sitting down with a car you ready to move on because you want an extra $10K. Right now I ready to sell my tucson anywhere from $55-60k though ppl trying to sell it for $70K. $50k in the hand better than an old car park up in the bush.

Also there is the parts issue - japanese parts cheaper and easier to get from multiple sources (so there is usually a bit of price lowering due to competition). As a hyundai owner for 7 years I can tell you that can be an issue when you only have 3-4 parts dealerships to work with.

Servicing is neither here or there - Massy is the dealer for hyundai & nissan - I always go and find a mechanic outside for servcing vs going to the dealership once the warranty run out. Kia/Southern have a bad service reputation still.. neither here or there.

I find the x-trail comfy, fast enough for my needs and parts/service & resale will be better than a hyundai no matter how much the vehicle might depreciate.

Postby A172 » July 7th, 2016, 11:43 am

good move op
dont waste yur hard earned (or bank's) $ on korean junk