Legislation for pepper spray in T&T

Lukos

Postby Lukos » August 10th, 2016, 10:06 am

Anybody could shed some light on the legalisation for pepper spray and co2 guns in T&T? I came across this new site that is selling a self defense gun that shoots pepper spray rounds using co2 cylinders.

https://www.saltsupply.com/store/c1/Fea ... ducts.html

Now, I know you can get air rifles legally once you go through the proper application process but I'm bot sure about these hand gun types.

Re: Legislation for pepper spray in T&T

Postby K74T » August 10th, 2016, 11:12 am

Pepper spray is illegal.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 10th, 2016, 12:31 pm

Amazing how law abiding citizens in this country cannot get these basic defense equipment but criminals run around with rocket launchers. Looks like the republicans are right about protecting the second amendment.

Babsy

Postby Babsy » August 10th, 2016, 3:32 pm

I need this law to become legal.

battosai

Postby battosai » August 10th, 2016, 4:16 pm

Last edited by battosai on August 10th, 2016, 4:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

battosai

Postby battosai » August 10th, 2016, 4:18 pm

nick639 wrote:^^ would love to see the government take steps to allow personal defense systems like these

pepper spray is also dangerous just like the other 'personal defense' system in the wrong hands

Postby BrotherHood » August 10th, 2016, 4:34 pm

Making pepper spray legal would then make it 'legal' for a 'bandit' to have it also.
Now imagine a bandit coming to make you a victim of his trade and release some pepper spray in your a**. Makes his work much easier.

baigan

Postby baigan » August 10th, 2016, 8:10 pm

Yeah but bandits are already buying guns and whatnot illegally, and we can't even defend ourselves properly legally. Plus it would be illegal to use the pepper spray to rob someone. The law abiding citizens just want it for self defense.

Postby skylinechild » August 10th, 2016, 8:22 pm

the issue is escalation....bandits have guns.... we pass a law ..now guns legal...now everyone is john wayne
(much like when fast and furious now come out - alot of dominic torettos come out of no where)

so the public get guns..bandit gets more powerful guns....we in turn try to get more sophisticated weapons than the bandits....we also get bullet proof vests....bandit gets armour piercing rounds....

where does it end..??

the only solution is proper enforcement of ALL laws....before we seek to make new ones.

Postby j.o.e » August 10th, 2016, 8:59 pm

It's really simple guys ..... Access pepper spray(it can be gotten easily) ... Use responsibly on bandits. I guarantee he is not going to report you

Postby sMASH » August 10th, 2016, 9:44 pm

second amendment to d worle!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Postby 88sins » August 11th, 2016, 6:53 am

skylinechild wrote:the issue is escalation....bandits have guns.... we pass a law ..now guns legal...now everyone is john wayne
(much like when fast and furious now come out - alot of dominic torettos come out of no where)

so the public get guns..bandit gets more powerful guns....we in turn try to get more sophisticated weapons than the bandits....we also get bullet proof vests....bandit gets armour piercing rounds....

where does it end..??

the only solution is proper enforcement of ALL laws....before we seek to make new ones.

no such thing as escalation. Any firearm regardless of length/caliber could cause a mortal wound. a shot in the head from a .17hmr will make a person just as dead as a shot from a 50bmg. It all depends on who is using it..

Whats really needed is a deterrent to motivate bandits to rethink their chosen career path. ttps ain't going to be everywhere at all times, and when it comes to murder/rape/robbery they still are a reactionary force. The only ones that can make a killer/bandit/rapist stop & think twice is actually their intended victim.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 11th, 2016, 8:23 am

Anybody willing to try making it? :mrgreen:

Postby Redman » August 11th, 2016, 8:45 am

BrotherHood wrote:Making pepper spray legal would then make it 'legal' for a 'bandit' to have it also.
Now imagine a bandit coming to make you a victim of his trade and release some pepper spray in your a**. Makes his work much easier.

So if you had to chose...which would you prefer the bandit to use?

pepper spray or a 9mm?

Postby Redman » August 11th, 2016, 8:56 am

skylinechild wrote:the issue is escalation....bandits have guns.... we pass a law ..now guns legal...now everyone is john wayne

where does it end..??

This is a stupid argument.

We are not discussing open warfare.
We are discussing crime which on the bandits side comes with a few limitations on his part.

Concealibility,-one has to be able to hide it until ready
Cost-Arrest,loss in the event of dumping
Flexibility-The bigger the weapon the harder it is to manage and maneuver..

Taken to the extreme-one is unlikely to take a rocket launcher into a home invasion cuz its impractical.
So logically we will mostly see hand guns in the criminal's hands.

Enforcement is A solution-but that isnt a realistic goal here ,today in TnT.
At least not in any timely fashion.

Another solution is also allowing those so qualified to own firearms, to access training and accessories in order to defend themselves their homes and their family.
This can be implemented in 6 months.

Immediate results.
And continue to improve enforcement.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 11th, 2016, 9:50 am

^ "those so qualified" turns into "anyone who will pay the bribe" which destroys the intent of that rule.

Postby BrotherHood » August 11th, 2016, 9:59 am

Ent.
Jus leave things as is, i.e illegal.
Just be vigilant, aware, and don't 'put yourself in place'.

BRZ

Postby BRZ » August 11th, 2016, 11:28 am

Ironic thing is Pepper Spray is available off the shelf At Superpharm,

The govt needs to make TAZERS , and other personal protective items LEGAL.

Postby Redman » August 11th, 2016, 3:28 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ "those so qualified" turns into "anyone who will pay the bribe" which destroys the intent of that rule.

By this 'logic' we should just curl up in a ball and do nothing.

whats the point of ANY changes.

makes sense.

but point in fact-what you described is what applies now.
and that is not working.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 11th, 2016, 7:12 pm

BrotherHood wrote:Ent.

So when a bandit break into someone's home and starts assaulting their wife or daughter we go sit down and sing kumbaya and tell your wife or daughter to be vigilant and aware? wanna know what happened the last time a bandit broke into a texas home with a mother and her child home alone?

The 12 gauge sent him back out the same speed he came in.

As Trump rightfully said, if there were bullets flying in the opposite direction in France when it had the shooting it would have been a totally different outcome.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » August 11th, 2016, 8:10 pm

wasn't pepper spray and the use of tasers something that gary griffith spoke about, and people got all upset about it?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » August 11th, 2016, 10:31 pm

tourniquet wrote:wasn't pepper spray and the use of tasers something that gary griffith spoke about, and people got all upset about it?

Who got upset? maybe uneducated people. Should we go by who is upset or should we do the right thing?

Studies have shown that prayers, hopes and dreams are not effective in preventing a criminal from raping or killing you.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » August 11th, 2016, 10:42 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
tourniquet wrote:wasn't pepper spray and the use of tasers something that gary griffith spoke about, and people got all upset about it?

Who got upset? maybe uneducated people. Should we go by who is upset or should we do the right thing?

Studies have shown that prayers, hopes and dreams are not effective in preventing a criminal from raping or killing you.

Uneducated people? You talking about 70% of T&T's population.
That's how a democracy works boy... The majority rules even if the majority of people IQ below 70.

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » August 11th, 2016, 10:54 pm

BrotherHood wrote:Ent.

for what? not to get rob?

Are you aware that bandits invade your homes too? you can get rob in your home too!

so how the firetruck you can make a statement like that?

BRZ

Postby BRZ » August 12th, 2016, 7:49 am

From the moment someone violates your home or/and your property, take whatever measures necessary to protect yourself, and make sure that bandit can not talk again, deal with him or get rid of them quietly and live with it.

Bandits deserve Absolutely NO MERCY! - home made pepper spray, Speargun,shoot them straight in the face at point blank range with a fire extinguisher, light them on fire with bug spray and Lighter all these are viable options that you don't need permits for.

Postby BrotherHood » August 12th, 2016, 10:22 am

Secure yuh home

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » August 12th, 2016, 11:28 am

any weapon or device can be used for self protection or attacking others with it , simple thing as a kitchen knife or ice pick can be bought all over for $10 which after u done use it home u take it & go hold up\stab up somebody with it

just like a cutlass sold on a store shelf in a hardware , buy it for gardening or chop ppl or do robberies with it

so how d police\govt gonna be sooo sure pepper spray , taser , baton or anything far more a gun they claim is for self defense but u dunno if somebody buying it with intention of hurting others with it ...

Postby pete » August 12th, 2016, 1:07 pm

BRZ wrote:Ironic thing is Pepper Spray is available off the shelf At Superpharm,

The govt needs to make TAZERS , and other personal protective items LEGAL.

It's a Mace brand sonic alarm/deterrent not pepper spray.

Postby rollingstock » August 12th, 2016, 1:45 pm

Knowing BRZ it was probably Mabel or Matouks he saw

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » August 12th, 2016, 2:01 pm

Lol... good thing, was gonna check superfarm this weekend