2008 sportage diesel

Sportage, Sorento, Soul, Rio, Cerato, Optima

ADONI

Re: 2008 sportage diesel

Postby ADONI » September 6th, 2016, 2:10 pm

Yea boi nutty. I went by the diesel man in Tableland. He sort out the hot start issue I had. Two months and it working thus far. He cleaned the EGR, fiddle with the injectors and pump. Told me I have to rebuild in a timing, as those engine weak. The price he give me, is best I use that as a down payment on a new vehicle.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 9th, 2016, 11:39 pm

Just removed my engine after overheating and water pelting out bottle. Saw a water jacket leaking, I figure that was a cause of the gasket failure.

Also I always had whitish diesel smelling smoke from exhaust, could that been gasket failing symptoms? Also I fine for a turbo diesel it was a bit slow, and catch ass to cross 120km/h. Turbo intake part is dry and clean, the outlet to cooler piping has oil, and like 2 caps of oil sitting on the throttle area when hose removed.

Anyone know where I can get parts? Will need headgasket, glowplugs, valve seals, timing belt, waterpump, piston rings and if I can get a used good turbo for a good price.

Might as well rebuild just incase as engine is out.

I cleaned the EGR last month, and the canister was clogged also, which triggered off EGR Insuffient flow check light but that stopped since I cleaned it.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 10th, 2016, 8:33 am

I have a set of glow plugs if yuh interested. Check Power Seller Team Loco as he has Turbos already re-built or can rebuild yours.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 10th, 2016, 5:18 pm

Sorry to hear that bro..the parts you're looking for, it might make sense to buy locally, I guess. Hope you get through. On another note, I'm about to organise to change my timing belt and do a full service, (EGR cleaning included) EGR I'm not too confident with so I'll let my service personnel handle that after changing the belt, but I'm thinking I can treat the car to a nice air freshener and save the $200 for the tune up as I can handle my oil change and air filter is a breeze of course..the only ticklish thing is the fuel filter. Does anyone know how to replace the fuel filter? a step by step would be great appreciated..

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 10th, 2016, 11:19 pm

Fuel filter is easy but unplug the jack first and screw out the sensor, the wires usually rip easily when removing it with the whole filter. The filter is tightened down with a bracket u have to slacken to unscrew it. U might want to use a grip gloves on there as diesel will make everything very slippery lol.

ADONI I will check u for the glow plugs this week.

Will be going southern sales to get headgasket, timing belt, waterpump, valve seals and other seals to refresh the engine one time.

Im guessing my vehicle will be smokey still as someone told me my injectors might be dribbling and they don't really service these injectors, u have to replace them....not sure how true that is tho.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 11th, 2016, 12:06 am

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:Fuel filter is easy but unplug the jack first and screw out the sensor, the wires usually rip easily when removing it with the whole filter. The filter is tightened down with a bracket u have to slacken to unscrew it. U might want to use a grip gloves on there as diesel will make everything very slippery lol.

Will be going southern sales to get headgasket, timing belt, waterpump, valve seals and other seals to refresh the engine one time.

Im guessing my vehicle will be smokey still as someone told me my injectors might be dribbling and they don't really service these injectors, u have to replace them....not sure how true that is tho.

Thanks for the assistance man. Since you're going that way..checking online might not be so bad after all..these firms are ridiculous with their pricing even on parts for a 10 year old vehicle..Kpartsmall or Koraps is your best bet..pop your part numbers in and voila..Kpartsmall seems to be more cost effective in terms of shipping and what not. AZ for the injectors, they can be serviced once they're not damaged beyond repair..to rebuild an injector might cost a nice coin, so replacement is probably better for real..again, import them..the savings will be amazing..

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 11th, 2016, 9:18 am

747, not a problem. Some people say injectors are not serviceable, but reading on 3ne2nr, I believe someone had there injectors service/repaired, wait is Josh self:
( Electro Diesel, turns out two nozzles were bad, at a cost of $1150 each plus the $1380 labour cost ($300 per injector, $20 per seal and $25 per washer). He seems to be the most reasonable out of him, Sookhais and United Diesel.

I had the specialist in Tableland repair my injectors, as Sookai's cleaned them for a pound and a crown, and still had starting issues. Tableland guy claimed to repair a lot of bad injectors diagnosed by Sookhai.

Josh, the fuel filter easy to change. From memory.
1 - You would have to take out the air box to make space to work. Unplug all jacks. I believe its 3 jacks to unplug.
2 - The bracket has a 12mm bolt, slacken and take out the bolt, because you would need the bracket to open out to get the filter out.
3 - With a oil wrench slacken the filter, then unscrew by hand. Pull the filter down out from the bracket and the filter is out.
4 - Unscrew the water trap sensor from old filter then to your new filter. Hand tighten, as the treading on these sensor break easy.
5 - Oil the rubber seal on the new filter. I fill the filter with diesel and some Red Line 85+. This is to reduce tumbling time for the empty filter to be filled with diesel before the vehicle starts. If your battery eh good, you might drain it with tumbling before the new filter is filled with diesel from the tank.
6 - Plug in back your jacks and tight your fuel filter bracket.

Like this, but yuh doh, need to take out the battery.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 11th, 2016, 12:11 pm

Turns out my turbo is good. I took off the outlet pipe and it was dry. Possibility the the gasket failed between cylinders 2 and 3 as brown rusty valves can be seen.

So head is now going to machine shop to check snd well i gonna need the glow plugs, water pump, head gasket and timing belt as i dont think the valve seals were bad. Would like to change it but my valve spring tool was stolen and its pricey

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 11th, 2016, 12:11 pm

1476202304034.jpg
1476202301062.jpg
1476202297199.jpg
1476202294046.jpg
1476202289887.jpg

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 11th, 2016, 12:12 pm

Hoping to be driving by weekend again

Henfracar

Postby Henfracar » October 11th, 2016, 6:04 pm

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:Fuel filter is easy but unplug the jack first and screw out the sensor, the wires usually rip easily when removing it with the whole filter. The filter is tightened down with a bracket u have to slacken to unscrew it. U might want to use a grip gloves on there as diesel will make everything very slippery lol.

Who sells diesel fuel filters, Hoss?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 11th, 2016, 9:07 pm

i get mines in aranguez by sasrena auto supplies on main road.

They have the only one where I can screw back up the sensor

Henfracar

Postby Henfracar » October 13th, 2016, 11:02 am

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:i get mines in aranguez by sasrena auto supplies on main road.

They have the only one where I can screw back up the sensor

Thanks, Man

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 13th, 2016, 6:18 pm

Thanks for the step by step guys..much appreciated. I tried a good bit of different combinations of words to get a video on changing the filter with no luck, so thanks for that. Two things though;
i) What filter exactly am I going to buy, in terms of the part to screw the sensor back on and what not..don't want to waste time by buying the wrong thing;
ii) I'm being charged $400 to clean the EGR and clear the CEL..is that a good price or does anyone want to help me save that money and share another step by step? Drinks on me with the savings :lol:

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 14th, 2016, 8:46 am

Hey Josh,
1). The fuel filter most likely has the part number (319222E900 ) on it, that is the cheap $75 ones I buy. The filter is the same size, just the diameter of the water trap sensor is smaller to that SantaFe/Sorento fuel filter (I know, bought a wrong one from already).

2). One mechanic wanted me to buy a spare EGR, as he said the bolts were tough and might snap. Then I went by, Sookhai's and paid $500 to clean my EGR and they just blank it, that cause my check light to come on. Sookhai said the EGR so dirty it unable to clean. Until I had no choice (when I go hot start issue) and went by the diesel specialist in Tableland and he laugh and say them is easy thing to service.
My 2 cents dude...

You are in luck, just found this. I see he has a special tool to angle at to remove some of the bolts on the EGR.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 14th, 2016, 2:16 pm

ADONI you're amazing..I'll watch the video when I get home..then I'll let you know if drinks are still on the table..lols.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 14th, 2016, 3:00 pm

Good luck! I think you would still need to hook up a scanner to clear the CEL.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 15th, 2016, 7:16 pm

Did some polishing in the head exhaust ports

1476573342088.jpg
1476573338485.jpg
1476573333344.jpg
1476573325728.jpg

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 17th, 2016, 7:22 am

Engine mounted up last night, new gaskets, new parts etc....Should be driving today if time goes correct :D

ADONI

Postby ADONI » October 18th, 2016, 8:48 am

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:Engine mounted up last night, new gaskets, new parts etc....Should be driving today if time goes correct :D

Nooice! Keep us updated!

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 18th, 2016, 12:45 pm

Since then i eh do nothing til this morning. Now installed and bolted up top snd bottom bolts to close engine and trans and also bolted all 4 mounts. Was a bit rough with just me alone lol but is just to plug on stuff and start. Hadda head town now so by this evening i should start

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 18th, 2016, 12:46 pm

1476809146295.jpg
1476809139989.jpg

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 18th, 2016, 8:55 pm

So after some tumbling, with some bug spray, it started....sounds good....just I noticed the oil is grey.....im hoping machine shop didn't screw me by checking it halfway....

But it has to be old oil and old water and transmission oil that went in when I was lubing up everything bcuz....no radiator hose is connected nor did I put any water in the engine yet and it was only on for like 20 seconds to make sure its idling.

Tomorrow I shall see....I need to buy a slip joint pliers as those damn intercooler clamps too hard to clamp with normal pliers

Only issue im noticing is after 10 mins or so and I try to start back, it starts and cuts off for a 4 or 5 starts then it idles low for 2 seconds and starts idling higher.

Hoping is old stuff in there and whatever needs to blow out. Exhaust is also not connected so might have something to do with it.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 19th, 2016, 12:38 pm

So its back running....just need to sort out the smoking issue, rel grey/black smoke.

Just hadda put a next set of oil to flush out one more time and then good oil

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 19th, 2016, 8:37 pm

So I drained the oil, came out grey and watery, seem to be diesel in oil from before when head removed.....

New oil again to flush again and its still clean and looks like oil lol.

Started good from cold, idled good, no noise, rattling noise I had was from low power steering oil.

Sounds nice, idled for a good 20 mins without over heating and no water pelting out bottle. No noises after shut off.

So hopefully tomorrow test run should be a happy test run and oil will drain and put new oil again lol. Using Kendall Diesel oil.

Only problem I have is still the grey/black smoking issue, plenty smoking.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 19th, 2016, 8:51 pm

Double post, sorry.
Last edited by Joshie23 on October 19th, 2016, 8:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 19th, 2016, 8:53 pm

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:So I drained the oil, came out grey and watery, seem to be diesel in oil from before when head removed.....

New oil again to flush again and its still clean and looks like oil lol.

Started good from cold, idled good, no noise, rattling noise I had was from low power steering oil.

Sounds nice, idled for a good 20 mins without over heating and no water pelting out bottle. No noises after shut off.

So hopefully tomorrow test run should be a happy test run and oil will drain and put new oil again lol. Using Kendall Diesel oil.

Only problem I have is still the grey/black smoking issue, plenty smoking.

Glad to hear you got it sorted man..the smoke issue is most likely because your injectors need some attention..another piece of money :( try a good treatment for now and see. If that doesn't work then you may need to remove and service them.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 20th, 2016, 10:20 am

Was talking to a diesel padnah and he tell me some stuff that allowed me to finally believe 1 injector is stuck. Cracked the fuel lines and number 4 pelt diesel over tge roof lol

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 21st, 2016, 1:22 am

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:Was talking to a diesel padnah and he tell me some stuff that allowed me to finally believe 1 injector is stuck. Cracked the fuel lines and number 4 pelt diesel over tge roof lol

In retrospect, you should have checked the injectors before mounting back up..when I changed the two nozzles on mine, the two bad ones were so swollen they almost got stuck in the head which would have required the head to be removed and probably be put under some heat to expand enough to free the injector. Hopefully this isn't your case because that would mean you'd have to practically start from scratch :cry:

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » October 21st, 2016, 7:11 pm

hopefully it doesn't do that lol....but I figure its getting too much diesel that's why its laggy a bit on take off from 1st but kickdown while cruising...its moving!

Return to “KIA”