Re: OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Postby eitech » January 9th, 2017, 1:29 pm

Postby The_Honourable » January 9th, 2017, 1:43 pm

Waiting game

Confusion reigns supreme today as it's uncertain whether the OWTU is going to carry out its strike as threatened against state-owned Petrotrin.

Petrotrin workers were told by the union to gather at their respective jobs from 7 this morning in anticipation of further directives from the Union.

However, a 10 am deadline came and went without any directive to strike. That turned into an eleven o’clock deadline which has since turned into an indefinite waiting game.

The ministry of labour was expected to make a statement at 12:30 this afternoon and that too was called off indefinitely.

There are unconfirmed reports that the company and the OWTU have reached an agreement in principle.

Unconfirmed reports suggest that an initial offer 1%-1%-1% made this morning by Petrotrin was rejected and has since been replaced by a new offer of 2%-2%-2% for the negotiating period.

Media personnel, as well as the nation, are waiting with bated breath from the minister of labour as well as the OWTU on what is going to happen, if anything.

This morning, energy consultant Ken Julien and NGC head Gerry Brooks were both seen entering the ministry of labour this morning.

Source: http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/waiting-game

LATEST: OWTU has left the talks again to go to a separate room to deliberate, expected to come back to meeting room shortly.

Source: https://twitter.com/frichardstv6

Postby bushwakka » January 9th, 2017, 1:55 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Unconfirmed reports that a 5% agreement has been reached

I also just heard the same from a source who on the owtu negotiation whatsapp group

Roget will be lauded as saviour of all

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 9th, 2017, 2:34 pm

COMRADES

We made a break through that will avert the strike..

We have a victory

An imediate INTERIM first settlement of 5 percent...we going for the balance of the 10 precent and This will be settled 28th February 2017.

Further details at a meeting in the morning.by negotiation team members..

Postby bushwakka » January 9th, 2017, 2:41 pm

10 precent

Postby nervewrecker » January 9th, 2017, 2:46 pm

No strike. Tank still full. What to do with all the fuel I stocked up on? Anyone want fuel?

Re: RE: Re: OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Postby gastly369 » January 9th, 2017, 2:59 pm

nervewrecker wrote:No strike. Tank still full. What to do with all the fuel I stocked up on? Anyone want fuel?

Donate some premium nuh for ah good cause lol

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Postby nervewrecker » January 9th, 2017, 3:01 pm

gastly369 wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:No strike. Tank still full. What to do with all the fuel I stocked up on? Anyone want fuel?

Donate some premium nuh for ah good cause lol

But you has no injin. You dont need gas.

What they give up to get 10% though?

Postby joker » January 9th, 2017, 3:03 pm

ent U in petrotrin....giwwe d latest nuh

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » January 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

All this setta drama for nothing. Everyone know OWTU sell out long time. Toothless bulldog

cherrypopper

Postby cherrypopper » January 9th, 2017, 4:06 pm

Haha ... I should put a lil gas now

Postby The_Honourable » January 9th, 2017, 4:27 pm

Strike called off... settled for 5%

GixxerMan

Postby GixxerMan » January 9th, 2017, 4:31 pm

OWTU move like a set of pipers.... no government will ever take them seriously again...

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » January 9th, 2017, 5:16 pm

So... we have to deal with this chit every 3 years now...

Postby eliteauto » January 9th, 2017, 5:24 pm

good theatre, all it ever was. Petrotrin workers you played yourselves, now go do some work

Postby Morpheus » January 9th, 2017, 5:44 pm

*yawn

The Land Of Comess

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 9th, 2017, 6:08 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:All this setta drama for nothing. Everyone know OWTU sell out long time. Toothless bulldog

GixxerMan wrote:OWTU move like a set of pipers.... no government will ever take them seriously again...

Really can't please Trinis oui. Strike - we complaining, privatize one time, them men too lazy, they're overpaid!! No strike - we complaining, a toothless bulldog, sellouts.

They ask for 10% - The OWTU and Petrotrin workers too greedy, they'll bust the country!! They settle for 5%, like Kronik said earlier in the best interest of all parties involved - The OWTU and Petrotrin workers moved like some pipers. :roll:

I anxiously await the beat up in the coming weeks when other parties begin their negotiations, who will know a million and one lazy, crooked police officers or who knows a teacher that stays home 6 out 5 days for the week, etc, etc. I guess that's why the politicians do whatever they want to us, because we're so unstable and divided as a people and it's unfortunate that the loudest people are sometimes the most illiterate (not y'all V2NR 3.0 and GixxerMan, you guys are cool, we just share different views on this point). I'm talking about the teachers and the like who have proclaimed that they'd rather stop teaching to go and be janitor in Petrotrin (a non-existent position, by the way) and I'm only hoping these idiots aren't the ones that end up teaching my kids, because our future is already looking bleak.

OWTU TO SERVE STRIKE NOTICE ON PETROTRIN

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 9th, 2017, 6:30 pm

https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television ... 059902996/

Minister of labour on the settlement. Vid is 15 min long approx so try to watch till the end before beating up. Know some of y'all have short attention spans.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » January 9th, 2017, 6:33 pm

Joshie23 - calmeth yourself brudda - I've been around while you were still liquid :)

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 9th, 2017, 7:02 pm

V2NR 3.0 wrote:Joshie23 - calmeth yourself brudda - I've been around while you were still liquid :)

images.jpg
images.jpg (4.42 KiB) Viewed 3891 times

or
images.png
images.png (2.81 KiB) Viewed 3891 times

:lol: Much respect, much respect.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 9th, 2017, 7:13 pm

Postby Redman » January 9th, 2017, 7:46 pm

From what he said...Roget indicated that the IC judge suggested That they settle the period in the courts first and then deal with the second period.

And he said that's what they did.

Is this materially different to what the PMs position was last week?
Last edited by Redman on January 9th, 2017, 9:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rebound

Postby rebound » January 9th, 2017, 8:42 pm

And the 15 million dollar show reaches the intermission.. :popcorn: stay tuned...

Postby De Dragon » January 9th, 2017, 8:58 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
V2NR 3.0 wrote:All this setta drama for nothing. Everyone know OWTU sell out long time. Toothless bulldog

GixxerMan wrote:OWTU move like a set of pipers.... no government will ever take them seriously again...

Really can't please Trinis oui. Strike - we complaining, privatize one time, them men too lazy, they're overpaid!! No strike - we complaining, a toothless bulldog, sellouts.

They ask for 10% - The OWTU and Petrotrin workers too greedy, they'll bust the country!! They settle for 5%, like Kronik said earlier in the best interest of all parties involved - The OWTU and Petrotrin workers moved like some pipers. :roll:

I anxiously await the beat up in the coming weeks when other parties begin their negotiations, who will know a million and one lazy, crooked police officers or who knows a teacher that stays home 6 out 5 days for the week, etc, etc. I guess that's why the politicians do whatever they want to us, because we're so unstable and divided as a people and it's unfortunate that the loudest people are sometimes the most illiterate (not y'all V2NR 3.0 and GixxerMan, you guys are cool, we just share different views on this point). I'm talking about the teachers and the like who have proclaimed that they'd rather stop teaching to go and be janitor in Petrotrin (a non-existent position, by the way) and I'm only hoping these idiots aren't the ones that end up teaching my kids, because our future is already looking bleak.

Relax yourself, you did just get a 5% salary increase.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » January 9th, 2017, 9:23 pm

5% increase..blessings from the Almighty JUHHHH

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 9th, 2017, 10:01 pm

De Dragon wrote:Relax yourself, you did just get a 5% salary increase.

You going anywhere with this?? Or is that all..??

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 9th, 2017, 11:24 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170109 ... gher-wages

Roget: Workers will toil more to get higher wages

Petrotrin workers are confident they will get the “balance of percentages” as they are prepared to roll up their sleeves and work harder to seeing the State enterprise earn more money to afford higher wages, says union leader Ancel Roget.

The president general of the Oilfields Workers' Trade Union (OWTU) was speaking to the media just after 4 p.m. yesterday after 30 hours of talks with Labour Minister Jennifer Baptiste-Primus and Petrotrin officials.

Speaking to the media after signing an agreement with Petrotrin which stated both parties agreed to an interim payment of five per cent payable immediately at the next payroll cycle and conciliation would continue at the Industrial Court. The interim increase applies to the collective bargaining period of 2011-2014.

The agreement also stated the backpay will be paid over a mutually agreed period and based on agreed production/performance triggers to be determined and agreed upon. It was further agreed conciliation talks would be completed on or before February 28 this year.

Roget hailed this as a “tremendous achievement” for the start of negotiations and the union looks towards negotiations to “recover” the balance of percentages.

The OWTU has called for a ten per cent increase.

Petrotrin needs good leadership

Roget said the discussions did not focus only on wage negotiations but also on bringing Petrotrin up to a greater level of efficiency and ridding the company of corruption which contributed to the company being in the position it is today.

Petrotrin has potential, he said, noting that in the past five years the company has contributed $60 billion to the Treasury and people who say Petrotrin is a drain on the economy should take note of this.

Roget boasted it is the workers who kept Petrotrin running despite the company suffering from poor management and being plagued by corruption and they deserve to be compensated.

He said the strike action was called to remind the country of the importance and contribution of the Petrotrin workers.

Questioned on the backpay, Roget maintained this will not cost the Government a cent as it was agreed all outstanding backpay accrued will be dealt paid over a three year period as the company earns more revenue.

He expressed confidence the negotiations will move forward as the workers are committed to putting Petrotrin on a pathway to “take off” and realise more than it is realising today.

He said once they “buckle down” and tackle the issues, Petrotrin can well pay the wage increases.

Roget added Petrotrin is in dire need of ramping its own indigenous crude oil production and if it can import less and produce more of its own crude, the company can save more.

Asked whether there could be job cuts at Petrotrin in light of the increased wage, Roget said “absolutely not”.

He said for Petrotrin to be able to deliver on increased production it ought to take a critical look at areas of manpower shortage.

Prior to the agreement being signed yesterday, Roget had taken issue with Petrotrin's management. Asked if he still held that view, he responded: “I am not satisfied at this point that management style will change.

“We are still with that view there at the top, people at management including the president who ought not to be occupying that position simply because of the belief that he does not have the capacity to take Petrotrin forward at a time when Petrotrin needs good leadership.”

Asked if the union does not achieve its goal with respect to ongoing wage negotiations if there would be another strike threat, Roget said ?a strike will not be on the table, not in this regard, but a strike is never off the table where OWTU is concerned”. —Anna Ramdass

Postby De Dragon » January 9th, 2017, 11:50 pm

Joshie23 wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Relax yourself, you did just get a 5% salary increase.

You going anywhere with this?? Or is that all..??

Still not relaxed I see............

Postby desifemlove » January 10th, 2017, 1:39 am

is this some plot to make UNC look bad? if PNM with all their economic/fiscal issues can make a deal and UNC couldn't, then I don't see how this entire scenario makes sense. Roget saying he will strike andthe Petrotrin management corrupt/incompetent, and now all is hunky dory.

hmmm.....i think there was some ulterior motive here. I have a cousin who was a fmr. minister and he was saying the issues at Petrotrin ent as big as made out.

eitech

Postby eitech » January 10th, 2017, 5:42 am

Lol. It having strike, ppl complain. No strike, still complain. Lmao