Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

BMW, Mercedes, Mini, Audi, Peugeot, Renault, VW, Rover, Volvo, Porsche, Jaguar etc.

EcoTune Trinidad

Re: Pros and Cons of new 1.4 tsi Jetta

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » March 16th, 2017, 12:42 pm

There is no tranny oil in these units....only gear oil for the cogs and doesnt require changing

Only engine oil,oil filter and gas filter are the usual maintenance required.

nivek

Postby nivek » March 17th, 2017, 7:52 pm

Ok thanks

simplejack

Postby simplejack » March 20th, 2017, 8:53 am

Really interested in getting a Jetta, probably a used one (2012 2013). Thanks for all the info in this thread!

juggernaught

Postby juggernaught » March 20th, 2017, 1:37 pm

aaron17 wrote:
redrum wrote:I currently have the same error codes abs and traction control light on, this came after I did an under wash...

Whats your plan ?cleaning them and resetting?

Well look how worried I am now to get an under wash....

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » March 20th, 2017, 1:49 pm

Underneath is covered in plastic anyway..underwash not necessary

If its under wheel well understandable but can be done during usual periodic washing of the car...just my 2 cents

Postby j.o.e » March 20th, 2017, 6:05 pm

simplejack wrote:Really interested in getting a Jetta, probably a used one (2012 2013). Thanks for all the info in this thread!

May the odds be in your favour. Go with gawd

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » March 20th, 2017, 6:47 pm

Gawd was good to me for 3 going on 4yrs and 250hp...:)

carluva

Postby carluva » March 20th, 2017, 8:57 pm

EcoTune Trinidad wrote:Gawd was good to me for 3 going on 4yrs and 250hp...:)

Miraculous... May you continue to be favoured and blessed. And i genuinely mean that.

carluva

Postby carluva » March 20th, 2017, 8:58 pm

simplejack wrote:Really interested in getting a Jetta, probably a used one (2012 2013). Thanks for all the info in this thread!

Why exactly? Even after the info in this thread?

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » March 20th, 2017, 9:07 pm

carluva wrote:
EcoTune Trinidad wrote:Gawd was good to me for 3 going on 4yrs and 250hp...:)

Miraculous... May you continue to be favoured and blessed. And i genuinely mean that.

Boy trust me..its alot of does and don'ts ya gotta keep to mind...plus I think the dsg tune prevented or slowed down any potential failure*shrugs

simplejack

Postby simplejack » March 21st, 2017, 8:27 am

carluva wrote:

The performance of the car (hp output) and the overall safety? Unless you know of a better car that offers both within that price range then I'd probably be open to that as well.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » March 21st, 2017, 8:36 am

simplejack wrote:
carluva wrote:

The performance of the car (hp output) and the overall safety? Unless you know of a better car that offers both within that price range then I'd probably be open to that as well.

Foreign used turbo legacy ... Should save you money and headache.

Postby MG Man » March 21st, 2017, 9:13 am

EcoTune Trinidad wrote:Underneath is covered in plastic anyway..underwash not necessary

If its under wheel well understandable but can be done during usual periodic washing of the car...just my 2 cents

really don't understand the deal with trinis and underwash
Unless you leaking oil or driving through mud, the underside of the typical car doesn't need that level of cleaning. As you said, just the wheel wells tend to need spraying out. Unless you plan some major underbody work and don't want dust in your face, a simple spray will suffice
and just say no to shock oil O_O

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » March 21st, 2017, 9:14 am

drchaos wrote:
simplejack wrote:
carluva wrote:

Not sure bout saving money cuz those leggy does guzzle gas and require more frequent service intervals

And safety only good for headon collisions....saw a passat broadside one and driver died...cabin area was severly compromised..rollover accidents the roof area isnt as strong either..

If he wants similiar performance for the money maybe consider an Audi then tune it

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » March 21st, 2017, 9:20 am

EcoTune Trinidad wrote:Underneath is covered in plastic anyway..underwash not necessary

Unless you leaking oil or driving through mud, the underside of the typical car doesn't need that level of cleaning. As you said, just the wheel wells tend to need spraying out. Unless you plan some major underbody work and don't want dust in your face, a simple spray will suffice

Boy you telling me...

redrum

Postby redrum » March 21st, 2017, 4:25 pm

Under wash was not the cause of problem as abs sensors tend to go quite early...

nivek

Postby nivek » March 21st, 2017, 4:45 pm

Need to change cradle bushings and front brakes pad..oem or after market...? Been buying my stuff tru erm but any other places where parts can be sourced...its a 2012 jetta
Thanks

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » March 21st, 2017, 5:43 pm

Stick with ERM for pads. The trw ones they sell are good. I don't know where for the bushings.

simplejack

Postby simplejack » March 22nd, 2017, 8:37 am

EcoTune Trinidad wrote:
drchaos wrote:
simplejack wrote:
carluva wrote:

Not sure bout saving money cuz those leggy does guzzle gas and require more frequent service intervals

And safety only good for headon collisions....saw a passat broadside one and driver died...cabin area was severly compromised..rollover accidents the roof area isnt as strong either..

If he wants similiar performance for the money maybe consider an Audi then tune it

Audi and then tune it, wouldn't that be a more expensive route?

Been driving Japanese (NZE and Lancer) and would like to try the Euro feel.

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » March 22nd, 2017, 10:36 am

Not necessarily...I charge from $3500+ to tune all euros..maintenance parts are reasonable locally and the audi tranny is more reliable...engine even bomb proof on the B8 models

carluva

Postby carluva » March 22nd, 2017, 8:52 pm

simplejack wrote:
carluva wrote:

To be honest, i really do not know. What about the 2.0l lancer? Is that an option for what you want? A teana too?

As i said, i dont know but i guess you really have to love the jetta and direly want one to overlook someofmthe issues many ppl have had.

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » March 22nd, 2017, 9:08 pm

To add..just ensure you are 200% sure the previous owner of the Jetta has not used a drop of super gas in it and have proof the recall on the dsg oil has been carried out...easily confirmed at dealership

keoki1x

Postby keoki1x » March 25th, 2017, 6:14 am

What's wrong with shock oil? I know nothing about it.

EcoTune Trinidad

Postby EcoTune Trinidad » March 25th, 2017, 6:55 am

There is nothing to lubricate underthere and it will attract alot of dirt and debree which makes it worse off

Unless running aftermarket polyeurathane bushins then I'd say it makes sense

Postby aaron17 » April 17th, 2017, 5:20 pm

Was thinking of darkening the tails like how the gli tails looked. Instead of buying the expensive dark gli tails just for that look, do you all think tinting would be a better option?Or will it be too ricey? Is it a dark red tint? Idk.

greggle71

Postby greggle71 » April 26th, 2017, 7:43 am

Allergic like yuh selling d whip. Saw the posting on FB, keep us posted if you get sale and price point. I was throwing a figure of 110k and people found it reasonable as I put in some extras as well. Given the known issues I was considering just keeping it long term.

Btw who did the reverse camera install?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » April 26th, 2017, 10:04 am

The real question here is what he gonna buy now???

Boost Junkies

Postby Boost Junkies » April 26th, 2017, 12:01 pm

nivek wrote:Need to change cradle bushings and front brakes pad..oem or after market...? Been buying my stuff tru erm but any other places where parts can be sourced...its a 2012 jetta
Thanks

I have cradle bushings if you interested 681-2698

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 26th, 2017, 10:34 pm

greggle71 wrote:Allergic like yuh selling d whip. Saw the posting on FB, keep us posted if you get sale and price point. I was throwing a figure of 110k and people found it reasonable as I put in some extras as well. Given the known issues I was considering just keeping it long term.

Btw who did the reverse camera install?

Followed instructions from a DIY on vwvortex and did it myself.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » April 26th, 2017, 10:35 pm

drchaos wrote:The real question here is what he gonna buy now???

In this current economic climate who knows.

Return to “EURO”