2008 sportage diesel

Sportage, Sorento, Soul, Rio, Cerato, Optima

nutty4u2c

Re: 2008 sportage diesel

Postby nutty4u2c » March 2nd, 2017, 7:02 am

Shocks arrived total Price landed with all Taxes including OPT TT $3436.20. For the Four

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » March 2nd, 2017, 10:38 am

nutty4u2c wrote:Shocks arrived total Price landed with all Taxes including OPT TT $3436.20. For the Four

you still aint say what brand of shock....oem mando shocks here are $1200-1500 per pair.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 3rd, 2017, 4:08 pm

Thinking about raising the driver seat, any suggestions?
Replace the seat or is there any way to raise it higher, for the wife.

nutty4u2c

Postby nutty4u2c » March 10th, 2017, 4:05 am

cressida_override wrote:
nutty4u2c wrote:Shocks arrived total Price landed with all Taxes including OPT TT $3436.20. For the Four

you still aint say what brand of shock....oem mando shocks here are $1200-1500 per pair.

KYB Excel G Premium

Now ah Looking for a Block. Lawd when will this done?????

ADONI

Postby ADONI » March 10th, 2017, 10:32 am

^^Fixing Will Never Done!!!!!

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » March 10th, 2017, 11:57 pm

Got 410kms for the 100$ I put sunday night....Filled another 100$ this evening around 6pm and I was on 1/4 tank....

I dunno, this van does give some good mileage sometimes and sometimes it go just give me 320-330kms lol

And that's Bamboo to POS and back Bamboo twice everyday + Bamboo to aranguez and back bamboo twice everday

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 13th, 2017, 12:27 pm

Traffic driving does burn fuel, especially with ac on. Any suggestions on raising the drivers seats?

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » March 13th, 2017, 4:18 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Traffic driving does burn fuel, especially with ac on. Any suggestions on raising the drivers seats?

Traffic driving and lengthy idling, takes a toll on your oil too (cylinder washing). Instead of raising the seat, Amazon (I think) has a cushion that elevates the driver, it's wedge shaped so her legs would fall naturally towards the front of the seat and it should give a few extra inches of height and by extension, road visibility.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 13th, 2017, 4:39 pm

I saw it, it sounds like a plan.
Now reach around 100k milage, looking to change transmissio oil again. Who have it at a good price think is SP111 oil.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » March 13th, 2017, 9:06 pm

I pay 65$ a quart by sasrena auto in aranguez.....they have the Hyundai which is the one for the kia and also the Mitsubishi diamond sp3 which also works, I believe same price.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » March 13th, 2017, 9:23 pm

I don't see why it wouldn't work. My wife is 5'3" and she has to bring the seat forward just for her feet to reach the pedals :lol: As for the transmission fluid, it is SPIII fluid; that's on my radar as well. I'll check Edwins Auto Parts in Vistabella..his prices are very reasonable. I think its 7.8qts to drain and refill..can't remember the price/qt offhand but I've gotten good deals by him before. I'm thinking it's a DIY project..only issue is emptying the torque converter..

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 13th, 2017, 11:35 pm

Yep, will check that place in aranguez for it, that's a good price. I did a completed drain at 70k, took around 7.5 quarts. Did it my self.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » March 20th, 2017, 7:15 pm

Gents, eveningtimes..yesterday I took off my oil filler cap while the engine was running and a stream of light coloured smoke or something was surging out at moderate enough pressure. Doing some research, I learned that this could be as a result of a defective PCV valve but apparently not all diesel engines have one..anyone know if the D4EA has one and if not what could be my issue?? I lose a bit of oil as well which is also a symptom of a defective PCV valve so..

Secondly, I'm asking again, no one has a Workshop Manual for this vehicle?? I've found one online for about $25USD but there are complete manuals on 2NR for other vehicles so I'm just wondering.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » March 21st, 2017, 8:45 am

Hey Josh, I have been told its blowby, also compression loss. A Massy mechanic showed me the same thing you are talking about a few years ago when the van was doing around 105,000km. The way he talked and was like year yuh van live its life. Dealerships only concern is the 3 years or 100,000km warranty, then get rid and buy a new vehicle.
I also am required to top up oil. The oil drops to about 3/4 of the dip stick, say 4,000km after oil change. However, the 1/4 on the dip stick that is missing is not much oil to top up, say it about 1/2 to 3/4 of a quart of oil. I noticed the oil loss even when the van was doing around 40,000km, but the interval at which the oil loss was around 6,000km after oil change instead.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » March 26th, 2017, 11:03 pm

Alrighty people....im down again...this is due to we not taking the time to buy a turbo and change it...

Apparently on diesel, oil spitting from turbo out side going into intercooler pipes and intercooler creates a ticking timebomb....The oil goes into your intake, you will notice blue smoke on idle a lot!

But the deadly part is, oil in the intake causes compression to raise extremely high in a turbo diesel....this is dangerous. In our case today, driving down the highway, we decided to overtake a car doing 40 and as we did and reached 60, we heard bang, grrrrrrrrr, van cut off and pulled to side.

Oil leaking......at first I thought the belt burst but it was good and when I saw the oil, I saw a big hole in the block.

What happened is the compression skyrocketed and bearing spun badly and caused a rod to fly thru the block.

Now im in search of a block or head and block. *sighs*

So when you guys see blue smoke, check your throttle body for oil settled on it(liquidy oil that is, usually on diesel its normal to have the throttle looking black and oily but not oil itself settled on the throttle body waiting to go in the intake.)

Turbo Diesels with turbos spitting oil and boost still = ticking timebomb. Beware!

jaithon

Postby jaithon » March 26th, 2017, 11:46 pm

That is where an oil catch can, comes in handy, like in older diesel vehicles

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 27th, 2017, 8:04 pm

:faint:

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » March 27th, 2017, 10:00 pm

I don't think an oil catch can would help...the turbo seal itself, was bad and was spitting a lot of oil into the intercooler piping system.

Usually an oil catch tank would be for blowby and such, to prevent the turbo or intake from sucking oil from the valve cover area. Theres nothing can be done if the turbo is spitting oil. If its spitting oil, the intake suction will send that oil into the engine no matter what.

Oh wells....searching for a head and block with turbo and the cheapest is 25,000$ :(

If I can get a block, rods, crank and pistons, I will buy new rings and im already getting a turbo like new for 2000$. Will also put a new EGR valve, and every single hose, clamps, clips, etc NEW. Im sure that will cost less than 25,000$

Im actually gonna price out the cost of new rods, new pistons, new bearings, crank etc. I just need a used block, mines has a hole in it

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 28th, 2017, 12:07 pm

:faint: 25k

No wonder you seeing sr engines in theses.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » March 28th, 2017, 1:12 pm

^^Them moving like they selling a new engine...

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » March 29th, 2017, 7:53 am

I would of expected high prices....diesel engines on the whole expensive. Saw a vigo engine, they want 60k for it lol

Im getting a complete engine for 25k, also getting all suspension stuff from them new, shocks, springs, cradles, ball joints, rubbers etc, all for 6800 and they go throw in a free mp3 big deck for me :D

Wifey don't wanna sell and buy another headache, so might as well save up some, and just go all out.

As I say, im not that shocked that this happened, the first owners bought the vehicle new, their maintenance history wasn't all that, and well the engine is 10+ years used locally so yea....

Postby gastly369 » March 29th, 2017, 8:07 am

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:I would of expected high prices....diesel engines on the whole expensive. Saw a vigo engine, they want 60k for it lol

Im getting a complete engine for 25k, also getting all suspension stuff from them new, shocks, springs, cradles, ball joints, rubbers etc, all for 6800 and they go throw in a free mp3 big deck for me :D

Wifey don't wanna sell and buy another headache, so might as well save up some, and just go all out.

As I say, im not that shocked that this happened, the first owners bought the vehicle new, their maintenance history wasn't all that, and well the engine is 10+ years used locally so yea....

Hmm guaranteed after that 6800 u get a next five yrs or so. Bought mine two yrs ago from a lady. The mechanic made her rebuild engine with new injectors etc for a problem that I solved by putting a new high pressure fuel pump. Works sweet only problem I notice my high pressure powersteering line pick up a small leak. Other than that no issues. These vans are stronger than the newermodels once maintained right..

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » March 29th, 2017, 8:16 am

^^same thing I was told, and seeing that we maintain it so much, the new engine should last us a very long time. I think the shocks is what costing the most total all 4 in that price quote, but at least everything is being changed.....

The day I buy the engine, I wanna install it same day, to make sure everythings ok within that 2 week warranty. Im changing all hoses as hoses and clamps are cheap, will be sealing off water jackets, cleaning egr incase, reusing my timing belt as its only 3 months old new from company.

I will have a lot of good parts to sell from my old engine and this FU one.

So far it'll be Alternator, Compressore, PS Pump, Injectors, Rail with sensors, Head Complete, Hopefully pistons, sensors etc.
The guy told me he will give me a price list to sell it at, as they will get sale for me also when people ask. So it wont be badly off spending the money to bring the van back up better than how we bought it.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » March 29th, 2017, 8:16 am

Also love the go anywhere climb almost anywhere ability with the van and the scaring tiida and almeras from squeezing in front me, bcuz I pull and make them wait, either go behind me or wait.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » March 31st, 2017, 10:57 am

Padnah selling a Turbo for the D4EA engine, Tucson and Sportage diesel.....

Looking at 2500$ neg....Call 760-2030, Reyaz

Turbo like new

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » March 31st, 2017, 12:43 pm

747, the engine you buying is costing 25k? That's with everything like a front cut?
Just asking in case I ever have too. Where are you getting it?
Also might consider buy some spares from you.

cressida_override

Postby cressida_override » April 1st, 2017, 12:16 pm

747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:Padnah selling a Turbo for the D4EA engine, Tucson and Sportage diesel.....

Turbo like new

OEM or chinese?

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 1st, 2017, 8:20 pm

cressida_override wrote:
747 TECHNOLOGIES wrote:Padnah selling a Turbo for the D4EA engine, Tucson and Sportage diesel.....

Turbo like new

OEM or chinese?

OEM Turbo....was working perfect and the owners spun a bearing and just shut off, removed engine and bought a new engine and didn't wanna interfere with anything and left everything as is in the new engine.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 1st, 2017, 8:21 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:747, the engine you buying is costing 25k? That's with everything like a front cut?
Just asking in case I ever have too. Where are you getting it?
Also might consider buy some spares from you.

I was hoping it was a front when I asked but is just the complete engine with everything on it....I believe a front cut would run about 45k

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 2nd, 2017, 7:58 am

Wonder how much would it cost to bring from the uk.

Return to “KIA”