2008 sportage diesel

Sportage, Sorento, Soul, Rio, Cerato, Optima

ADONI

Re: 2008 sportage diesel

Postby ADONI » April 3rd, 2017, 8:36 am

^^ I saw a seller on Ebay selling rebuilt engines for US$1,800, they also allow for you to send your engine back and they pay you for it. They only thing is the wait.
I am back to hot starting issue, send it back by Ramdass in Tableland. Does have to do the sign of the cross every time ah start.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 3rd, 2017, 11:32 am

Adoin, when you say hot starting do you mean it starts easy when cold?
What are you going to have done by the guy, injectors or pump?
Wondering if it just be leaks on the fuel filter lines? The original clips gets worn over time. I do not remove the hoses when changing filters, I just unscrew the filter right off the housing. You will need to remove the air filter housing for space to work.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 3rd, 2017, 1:03 pm

In the morning it will start as normal, however, recently the van idle on cold start with some rough idle.
So I drive to work, and say two hours after I start, I may get anywhere from 2 to 6 tumbles before the van starts. It is very inconsistent, say two days no issues, then next two days it shows back up. During the day it may start in a one, then the same day anywhere from one or four tumbles before it starts. Ramdass fixed it in July last year, just didn't think it would have showed back up so soon. I also change my fuel filter the same way you describe. I only did the tappet pan gasket change in February, doh know if that may have cause the issue to show back up. What have me worried, is week before, ready to leave work at 3pm, I swear 10 tumble, 4pm 8 tumble, finally half 4 four tumble then it start....

triniguy0

Postby triniguy0 » April 4th, 2017, 1:16 pm

Hey fellas, I have a question about a pair of wires that fell out just above the fuel filter when I was changing the filter.
Can anyone verify exactly what this 'sensor' does? It was out about 2 months and I did not notice any changes and no check engine light, but I don't want some $hit to randomly happen as a result...
Also what is the actual part name so I can ask the guys in the firm.
Any help will be appreciated.
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
IMG_20170404_125537.jpg

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 4th, 2017, 2:04 pm

Adoin, a user in this thread if I remember had that same systems you are discribing, think it was the fuel pump.
Triniguy, i always thought that that sensor was the fuel temperature sensor.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 4th, 2017, 2:06 pm

^^Yuh might have to buy d whole unit dude... Knowing how things are here...
Individual the wires saying it is a thermometer switch, maybe to activate the heater on the filter assembly...

Individual switch:
http://www.koraps.com/shop/item.php?it_id=1066437

Or ful unit:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/OEM-Fuel-Filter ... rp&vxp=mtr
thermostat switch.jpg
filter 2.JPG
filter.jpg
Last edited by ADONI on April 4th, 2017, 2:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 4th, 2017, 2:15 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Adoin, a user in this thread if I remember had that same systems you are describing, think it was the fuel pump.

The pump in the tank? I bought one last time I had the issue, but Ramdass say that doh give trouble... I just sold it to a tuner doh, last weekend ... :P

Postby gastly369 » April 4th, 2017, 2:43 pm

ADONI wrote:
SNIPER 3000 wrote:Adoin, a user in this thread if I remember had that same systems you are describing, think it was the fuel pump.

The pump in the tank? I bought one last time I had the issue, but Ramdass say that doh give trouble... I just sold it to a tuner doh, last weekend ... :P

I had a similar problem a while back start normal on a morning then during the day have to tumble a while before it start. The problem was the high-pressure pump in the engine bay. This was the diesel version. Not sure abt the gas version. But if it's diesel u can check under the pump on the engine and see if its wet. If it is then it's leaking. Best advice if it's pump to buy one new and done. Got one in chaguanas for 4500 by sookhai diesel. Original bosch.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 4th, 2017, 2:52 pm

^^Yup, it is diesel. " History time " Concerning the injector pump. Bought a used one, as it leaking diesel from a Massy mechanic. That leaked a lil after a year. Kept the original one and let Sookhai rebuild it, so far it isn't leaking. Even when it was originally leaking I didn't had any starting issue, I only noticed when I went to change the oil by removing the cover and seeing the pump wet with diesel.

Postby gastly369 » April 4th, 2017, 3:22 pm

ADONI wrote:^^Yup, it is diesel. " History time " Concerning the injector pump. Bought a used one, as it leaking diesel from a Massy mechanic. That leaked a lil after a year. Kept the original one and let Sookhai rebuild it, so far it isn't leaking. Even when it was originally leaking I didn't had any starting issue, I only noticed when I went to change the oil by removing the cover and seeing the pump wet with diesel.

When I got the problem I tried a few rebuilt ones as well and though they didn't leak the pump was breaking down that's y I ended up buying one new and done tried abt three before buying new. One worked for abt a month then one day coming down the highway van shut off as I accelerated above 100. Took abt half hr before it restarted and drove slowly to the mechanic. Any hard acceleration would shut off.

This problem was happening with the previous owner and mechanic made them change injectors injector rail fuel filter and some other stuff in the engine eventually a overhaul of the engine. Then I bought the vehicle after it came out garage then got the same problem switched pump and running sweet.

U can prob check the pressure on the line to verify the pump not breaking down as well as check the injectors. More than likely it's a problem in that area.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 4th, 2017, 3:23 pm

Good info there Adoin, I assume it was the fuel pump, the one in the engine bay, did not know there was one in the tank.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 4th, 2017, 3:31 pm

Thanks boi gastly369, some good experience yuh went thru there! Waiting to see what Ramdass, say anything will check out a new pump from Korea.

Postby gastly369 » April 4th, 2017, 3:36 pm

ADONI wrote:Thanks boi gastly369, some good experience yuh went thru there! Waiting to see what Ramdass, say anything will check out a new pump from Korea.

Np every little info does help. Especially in these vehicles.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » April 4th, 2017, 5:54 pm

gastly369 wrote:
ADONI wrote:Thanks boi gastly369, some good experience yuh went thru there! Waiting to see what Ramdass, say anything will check out a new pump from Korea.

QFT. No ifs, buts or maybes.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 4th, 2017, 8:33 pm

gastly369 wrote:

Now reading your post Gastly, good stuff to know, it would save a lot of time and money, just change the pump. The one you bought at sookhai still working ok?

Postby gastly369 » April 4th, 2017, 8:54 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:
gastly369 wrote:

Now reading your post Gastly, good stuff to know, it would save a lot of time and money, just change the pump. The one you bought at sookhai still working ok?

Yea no issues yet making a year and a half now.

triniguy0

Postby triniguy0 » April 4th, 2017, 10:16 pm

ADONI wrote:^^Yuh might have to buy d whole unit dude... Knowing how things are here...
Individual the wires saying it is a thermometer switch, maybe to activate the heater on the filter assembly...

Individual switch:
http://www.koraps.com/shop/item.php?it_id=1066437

Or ful unit:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/OEM-Fuel-Filter ... rp&vxp=mtr

So it appears that since we don't get winter, it my not be required for our climate to operate???

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 5th, 2017, 8:17 am

^^ From the location of the sensor, I believe it is used to check the temperature of the diesel, which would then turn on the pre-heater on the filter assembly to pre-heat the diesel. In the drawing above the round circular part inbetween the filter and the assembly is a heater (31923F). I just assuming here, I not ASE certified... LOL!!! Maybe you can do a scan and see if it shows up as an issue, luckily it didn't throw a CEL. Simply, as my hose from the top of the EGR came out and that turned on the CEL...

nutty4u2c

Postby nutty4u2c » April 10th, 2017, 11:10 pm

OK still working on the Sportage. I know now I will not sell this vehicle as I have never gone through so much with all my other vehicles. Note this is my first Diesel vehicle and I am learning every day. Waiting on an Engine from Ireland. They are full of Diesels there. 95% of the vehicles in Northern Ireland are Diesels. Just waiting to see what the total cost will be. I am Sure it would not be the 40K they told me in the Bamboo.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » April 11th, 2017, 9:44 am

Nutty, when you get through please share that process, I will surely like to follow if ever I need to.
Thanks.

nutty4u2c

Postby nutty4u2c » April 14th, 2017, 1:02 pm

SNIPER 3000 wrote:Nutty, when you get through please share that process, I will surely like to follow if ever I need to.
Thanks.

Will do Sniper 3000

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 15th, 2017, 10:17 am

Carcity has complete engine for 25k now. Which I find is not a bad price. But I decided to go the rebuild route.

Guy on 2nr advertised a head and block with turbo and alternator etc on it, and when I called said 4000 for everything including trans....when I called 3 times, he said yea 4 for everything and when I went quite down penal....and loaded the head and block first, he said is for the head and block only and he wants 2k for turbo and 6k for trans etc....I was like forget the trans, I need the turbo and he cant give, so I left it.

Came home to realize the engine is timed wrong and valves are bent, so I didn't really care bcuz I wanted a block and someone was selling me a bare block for 6k so I still came out good as I got a complete rebuilt block. So the guy said, so I will scrap it to make sure and make sure everything is tightend to specs.

I still need a turbo and I gonna put new hoses, and head gasket etc....So as money comes in, i'll finish up a bit. If I had all the cash I finished long time.

Also, ever since, I noticed I had a high rpm vibration, thinking it was mounts....no it was not mounts, apparently theres a big balance shaft unit in the oil sump, and I figure that was worn. But scrapping my engine, did prove it was the turbo spitting oil going into intake spiked compression and hydrolocked the engine and bent the rod and threw it out the block.
17965302_10158685839160121_2120038200_n.jpg
17965129_10158685839455121_1596263543_n.jpg
17909477_10158685840275121_639773167_n.jpg
17909204_10158685839115121_1014331132_n.jpg
17909098_10158685839755121_1352617877_n.jpg
17909385_10158685839235121_1600041823_n.jpg
17974904_10158685840255121_721645264_n.jpg
17974676_10158685839595121_450567212_n.jpg

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 15th, 2017, 10:18 am

More pics
17974529_10158685839320121_2085777678_n.jpg
17974495_10158685839215121_757488537_n.jpg
17974453_10158685838960121_283963718_n.jpg
17974220_10158685839020121_412167304_n.jpg
17966006_10158685840195121_1637807805_n.jpg
17965911_10158685840165121_1360825557_n.jpg
17965833_10158685839630121_1321447316_n.jpg
17965739_10158685839075121_551556166_n.jpg

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 15th, 2017, 10:19 am

And some more
17974920_10158685839795121_1713175631_n.jpg
17974787_10158685839270121_213779197_n.jpg

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 15th, 2017, 10:23 am

My new water pump of only 5 months also is rusty as sheit, and was running coolant, but its in better condition than the one in head and block.

I will be changing compressor also as my one was noisy when turned on. Removing engine hit the ac line so gas leaked out. There was no way to remove the engine without trans this time as the rod locked the crank and u need to turn the crank to remove converter bolts.

After rebuild I will be installing trans first. Then engine, more easier to do that.

Don't think I will reach 25k tho lol, so I will be able to change suspension parts too...

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 20th, 2017, 9:20 am

5K by Ramdass, hot start gone. I feel the injectors got F-up, when it came out during the tappet pan gasket change. I should of let Ramdass do the tappet pan change...

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 21st, 2017, 12:34 am

Torqed down head on new gasket and other stuff installed....

All i need is a turbo and an ac compressor. Ours was noisey.

Apparently the trans filter is not on the inside of the pan in front and inside there was like new. So in thinking to leave the filter as is and don't open up trouble.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 21st, 2017, 12:35 am

Will also be installing an oil pressure gauge and a boost gauge one time. Will be using the defi clones that ribs is selling, I have a set in my lancer and it works good.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 21st, 2017, 7:51 am

^^First time I drain my tranny oil, was due to a leak on the gasket pan. I well buy tranny filter, had to carry it back. When then pan come off, it was wire and solenoids... I tell the mechanic forget that tranny filter.

Yuh well clean down there mon, make sure and put back the engine cover... Yuh might dazzle people eyes!!!

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » April 21st, 2017, 12:50 pm

Yea I just need to clean the valve cover seal. And it should be done. I have to remove back alternator and ps pump....i wanted to seal off the water plugs. I dont trust them lol.

Today I'll be reinstalling the transmission in the van. So just to get an ac compressor abd turbo and back to the road

Return to “KIA”