A piece of graffiti art sold for US$110m in New York

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 18th, 2017, 10:40 pm

A painting by the late graffiti artist Jean-Michel Basquiat has sold at auction in New York for $110.5m (£85.4m).

That is nearly double the price of his previous most expensive work, which was bought a year ago.

The untitled work, which depicts a face in the shape of a skull, went to a telephone buyer following 10 minutes of bidding with a client in Sotheby's.
Basquiat, a native New Yorker, died in 1988 of a heroin overdose aged 27.

Meanwhile a Picasso portrait sells for $45m

Re: A piece of graffiti art sold for US$110m in New York

Postby shogun » May 18th, 2017, 11:26 pm

Not too shabby. Nice piece too.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 19th, 2017, 5:45 am

Are there any locals that do graffiti art? I never noticed any, and no, writing "Kendra have AIDS" , and "Rakesh wuz hair" don't count

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 19th, 2017, 7:31 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Image

yea yea i aint no art master.....but that is chit.

i dont believe that it is worth that much, but the price simply shows how much somebody want it more than the next person.....

Postby dougla_boy » May 19th, 2017, 7:36 am

Art is the easiest way to launder money.....

Saw this the other day in Woodbrook....

IMG_20170519_073515.png

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » May 19th, 2017, 7:37 am

dougla_boy wrote:Art is the easiest way to launder money.....

IMG_20170519_073515.png

but did you see that man who ask you that???

Postby dougla_boy » May 19th, 2017, 7:45 am

hush yuh stink dutty mc nah boy M....... *gets hit with a barrage of sh!t from a sh!t gun*

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » May 19th, 2017, 8:41 am

Monkey Man wrote:
dougla_boy wrote:Art is the easiest way to launder money.....

IMG_20170519_073515.png

but did you see that man who ask you that???

ahahahhahahahahhaha

Cooloh

Postby Cooloh » May 19th, 2017, 8:45 am

Monkey Man wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Image

yea yea i aint no art master.....but that is chit.

i dont believe that it is worth that much, but the price simply shows how much somebody want it more than the next person.....

Jus to see who weeny bigger than who

sarahjo

Postby sarahjo » May 19th, 2017, 9:31 am

Holy sheit!!!!

Average

Postby Average » May 19th, 2017, 6:11 pm

Empty my bank account...and buy that Boy With a Pipe
buy that Boy With a Pipe...I might, I might.
Empty my bank account...and buy that Boy With a Pipe
Empty my bank account...I might.

teh neh neh neh neh NEH.
teh neh neh neh neh nehhh.....
teh neh neh neh neh NEH.
teh neh neh neh neh nehhh...NEH!

Postby toyolink » May 19th, 2017, 6:41 pm

TT$850 Million.....wow!
Unfortunately, with my mind-set, I can only think of the amount of medication that can buy or the number of poor kids who can be fed.
Its kinda funny.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 19th, 2017, 9:37 pm

toyolink wrote:TT$850 Million.....wow!
Unfortunately, with my mind-set, I can only think of the amount of medication that can buy or the number of poor kids who can be fed.
Its kinda funny.

exactly the same thing i though of too

Postby eliteauto » May 19th, 2017, 11:24 pm

Its kinda funny.

I thought about taking my painting more seriously

Postby shogun » May 20th, 2017, 12:56 am

eliteauto wrote:
Its kinda funny.

I thought about taking my painting more seriously

Ent? :lol: :lol:

Procrastinating for the longest. Now, it's definitely going to happen.