What could we do to help the situation in our country?

fallen_angel

What could we do to help the situation in our country?

Postby fallen_angel » July 2nd, 2017, 8:33 am

All politics aside...the country in a mess.

What could us, as the middle class cushion have nots, do to help the situation in our country?

Is there any volunteer work or anything we could do?

There is strength in the masses, and strength in unity...we all have a common goal I believe...but how do we get there, and what can we do as individuals?

Re: Serious question...

Postby sMASH » July 2nd, 2017, 9:18 am

The elements that are terrorising the nation are not organized. They are individuals or small groups who may have similar modis operandi.

U can't have a front against small indistict opponents.

They attack when they get an opportunity, which is when ur secluded, outnumbered, and defenseless.
U will not be attacked while u march against crime, but ur wife or ur daughter will be attakced at the home u left with little defenses.

The only way to have a chance is to meet them with force when they do decide to attack you.
U make ur persons and ur place a deterant, make it look hard for them to think they can get away with any attack if they try. And if they still attempt, have self defense training to be difficult and ward them off.
Even do weapons training to be able to handle it when they come.

And personallly, I would employ some weapons off my own.

Its survival of the fittest out here now...

No minsiter or officer has ur interest at heart.. Only u can protect ur family... Police can only charge them after u have been molested.

Kalisnakov

Postby Kalisnakov » July 2nd, 2017, 9:33 am

Ban carnival,hundreds of thousands would come out to protest.....then when they come out,say it's really abt crime n shutting down d country

Postby De Dragon » July 2nd, 2017, 10:09 am

Steven say he cyah ban knives, and cutlasses, so I guess we're screwed. This miserable excuse for a leader cannot, or will not stop crime and the effects on people, because he simply has no skill set to do so.

Postby Redman » July 2nd, 2017, 10:18 am

Better situational awareness,especially on coming home and leaving.
Use technology that's available.cameras viewable on your phone...check out the
Simple:
When I'm out and my wife is coming home...she calls me and we stay on the phone until she is inside.If she is to see something or some one strange...she describes it.where possible I turn on the cameras to watch live.

Get together with all the neighbors and get some ideas as to how you can become more aware of strangers etc.

Lock your doors and gates...don't be an easy target...

Axe handles cheap.

Postby rspann » July 2nd, 2017, 10:27 am

De Dragon wrote:Steven say he cyah ban knives, and cutlasses, so I guess we're screwed. This miserable excuse for a leader cannot, or will not stop crime and the effects on people, because he simply has no skill set to do so.

Dan, you blaming the PM for crime? There is crime all over the world, always had ,and besides that ,dealing with crime is the 'poleese wuk'. You don't follow up the post cabinet conferences or what?

Postby De Dragon » July 2nd, 2017, 10:35 am

rspann wrote:
De Dragon wrote:Steven say he cyah ban knives, and cutlasses, so I guess we're screwed. This miserable excuse for a leader cannot, or will not stop crime and the effects on people, because he simply has no skill set to do so.

Dan, you blaming the PM for crime? There is crime all over the world, always had ,and besides that ,dealing with crime is the 'poleese wuk'. You don't follow up the post cabinet conferences or what?

57 year old grannies and 13 year old boys could fend off bandits with axe handles apparently...........

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 2nd, 2017, 10:41 am

Redman wrote:Better situational awareness,especially on coming home and leaving.
Simple:
When I'm out and my wife is coming home...she calls me and we stay on the phone until she is inside.If she is to see something or some one strange...she describes it.where possible I turn on the cameras to watch live.

Get together with all the neighbors and get some ideas as to how you can become more aware of strangers etc.

Axe handles cheap.

This is not a solution, but a reaction. This suggests that you have conditioned yourself and your family to think criminality is a way of life that you must prepare for.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 2nd, 2017, 10:44 am

Trinidad needs a dictator with no remorse for criminals that roam. No day of court if there is sufficient evidence that someone committed the crime. Immediate execution for anyone that harms its citizens and visitors to the country.

Bring back the death penalty.

mars

Postby mars » July 2nd, 2017, 11:06 am

Unfortunately, this is the point we have reached:

Can you believe in your country? Those Pezzonovante of the State who decide what we shall do with our lives? Do you put your fate in the hands of men whose only talent is that they tricked a bloc of people to vote for them?
Believe in a family; believe in a Code of Honor. Make a family and protect it. These are our affairs, sono cosa nostra, Governments only protect men who have their own individual power. Be one of those men.
- Mario Puzo, "The Godfather"

Average

Postby Average » July 2nd, 2017, 11:09 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:
Redman wrote:Better situational awareness,especially on coming home and leaving.
Simple:

Axe handles cheap.

This is not a solution, but a reaction. This suggests that you have conditioned yourself and your family to think criminality is a way of life that you must prepare for.

.....but isn't it? Here in this lost paradise in 2017 crime IS a part of Trini life. Whoever doubts this has their head far far up their ass. I understand there are party people whose only concern is rum, wine and women/men and they don't read any kind of news be it newspapers or facebook pages dedicated to such. Hell, their only concern is the Kardashian sisters, the Trinidad elite and themselves. I would also note that they are in the minority. The majority of citizens do feel some sort of fear and act to suit, even prepare for bad circumstances like what redman posted. When my wife leaves to go to the grocery for a short time, I put on a good face and tell her to be vigilant and safe and she is, but inside I pray that nothing happens, every time. This kind of behavior is not normal, certainly not for what this "land of paradise" is supposed to be.

Postby sMASH » July 2nd, 2017, 11:17 am

while the elite have their security detail and can preach reliance and dependence on the authorities from now until thy kingdom come, I will be my own dictator.

Ur vehicles have to be working for u to use them. Right now the national vehicles for safety and justice are not functioning, so not relying on them.

When they start to work and have proven that they are reliable maybe then can I see trusting in them to be plausible.

@dragon tants and youthman may not have been able to be do anybetter. Just hard luck. A neighbirhood watch approach might have worked... Who knows.

@ap the American second ammendment was placed there for a reason and made second for a reason.

A wise man said something to the effect, those who sacrifice privacy for security will get neither.

Postby 88sins » July 2nd, 2017, 12:01 pm

An armed person is a citizen, and an unarmed person is a subject. As such, they will be forcibly subjected to whatever the state or anybody with even a slight advantage over them. And this is one of the reasons why we have had this crime issue escalate over the decades and it will not abate.

When you tie a person's hands and make them unable to fend for themselves, and force them to rely on a reactive police service, this is what you get. Only when you are free to defend yourself, and capable of doing so, is a criminal truly discouraged from depriving you of your possessions or your life.

Some don't believe this, and some do. But both sides tend to agree, no bandit/rapist/murderer is going to casually pull out a gun or knife and assault someone he/she believes can just as easily end said bandit life.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » July 2nd, 2017, 12:24 pm

evrry1 should get together and shut dwn the country for a few days .... let the government know we as people not taking d BS

Postby sMASH » July 2nd, 2017, 1:02 pm

have too many holidays as it sands, carnival period shows that the country will not be affected, and ministers don't care bout u... They have security detail, govt sponsored transport and housing, and pension plan like woah..

How is ur life affecting theirs?

Postby maj. tom » July 2nd, 2017, 1:35 pm

Unions and such organizations need to organize the protest/strike actions. Call to the people. Regular working class have too much to worry about to leave their jobs and protest on just growing dissatisfaction. And it must be organized well or else you will see POS burning.

Where are the leaders of the next government!

Postby 88sins » July 2nd, 2017, 1:49 pm

sMASH wrote:

It doesn't, not until you get up in their face and put serious questions to them and their seniors and give them deadlines on what you want accomplished. But Trini ain't doing dat. Dat involves physical and mental effort.

So in d meanwhile is old forms of protest as usual. is tires in d road and protest with bottle and spoon & tambourine, all while being professionally disregarded.

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » July 2nd, 2017, 2:07 pm

AbstractPoetic wrote: Trinidad needs a dictator with no remorse for criminals that roam. No day of court if there is sufficient evidence that someone committed the crime. Immediate execution for anyone that harms its citizens and visitors to the country.

True, but that dictator might have to be chinese or dougla, because if it is a pure cuulie or creole and the criminal they execute is of the other race you will hear bout 'racialism'

Postby De Dragon » July 2nd, 2017, 2:38 pm

sMASH wrote:

It doesn't, not until you get up in their face and put serious questions to them and their seniors and give them deadlines on what you want accomplished. But Trini ain't doing dat. Dat involves physical and mental effort.

So in d meanwhile is old forms of protest as usual. is tires in d road and protest with bottle and spoon & tambourine, all while being professionally disregarded.

We all need to realize that this PNM Government simply doesn't care about crime, the economy, or pretty much anything that affects us "plebs" Protest will do nothing, because you have Revolving Door Rasta and Steven basically throwing their hands up and admitting defeat. MoNS Dullon, as far as I know, has said fack all on the issue, and the normally verbose arse lickers Lie-Wari and Stuart Little silent too.

Postby rollingstock » July 2nd, 2017, 2:39 pm

De Dragon wrote:Steven say he cyah ban knives, and cutlasses,

When? I think you're mixing up your facts

Postby streetbeastINC. » July 2nd, 2017, 2:42 pm

I can't seem to blame govt or the police for crim.e....the population yes,,, police govt no...... just my opinion
Last edited by streetbeastINC. on July 2nd, 2017, 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » July 2nd, 2017, 2:43 pm

Average wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:
Simple:

Axe handles cheap.

.....but isn't it? Here in this lost paradise in 2017 crime IS a part of Trini life. Whoever doubts this has their head far far up their ass. I understand there are party people whose only concern is rum, wine and women/men and they don't read any kind of news be it newspapers or facebook pages dedicated to such. Hell, their only concern is the Kardashian sisters, the Trinidad elite and themselves. I would also note that they are in the minority. The majority of citizens do feel some sort of fear and act to suit, even prepare for bad circumstances like what redman posted. When my wife leaves to go to the grocery for a short time, I put on a good face and tell her to be vigilant and safe and she is, but inside I pray that nothing happens, every time. This kind of behavior is not normal, certainly not for what this "land of paradise" is supposed to be.

I agree, it isn't normal and while you must do what you can to protect your family, you still live in fear. You pray nothing happens. Do you not dream of a day where you or your future generations do not have to pray? Look at what happen to Mr. Laing. I won't be surprise if he decides to pack his bags and book a one-way ticket for he and his family outside of TT.

Also, the OP asks "what can we do to help the situation in our country". Preparing for a kidnap or cold blooded murder helps the situation how? You're reacting, not eliminating.

We need to cut the root of the problem, but doing that would require cleaning shop from the top. UNC and PNM leaders aren't going to do that for the country. They are in the pockets of the top criminals.

Either a new political party or new leader/dictator is TNT's only hope.

Postby The_Honourable » July 2nd, 2017, 2:45 pm

Financiers and importers of drugs, guns, human trafficking etc needs to be dealt with. Once you deal with them permanently, 1/2 of the problem done. The remaining is to fix, especially our laid back unproductive culture.

But dem financiers have the UNC and especially the PNM in dey pocket.
Last edited by The_Honourable on July 2nd, 2017, 2:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby De Dragon » July 2nd, 2017, 2:47 pm

De Dragon wrote:Steven say he cyah ban knives, and cutlasses,

When? I think you're mixing up your facts

Trinidad Express June 29th 2017

THE Trinidad and Tobago Police Service is charged with the responsibility of securing the nation. There is no alternative.

And the police service is undergoing a comprehensive review to identify areas where the agency has failed.

This from Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley as he responded to questions regarding the country's crime epidemic and the brutal deaths of 13-year-old Videsh Subar and his babysitter, 56-year-old Rose Mohammed.

Speaking at the post-Cabinet media briefing in Port of Spain on Thursday, Rowley said: “We are relying on the Commissioner of Police and his men and women to discharge for the Government the responsibility of securing the State. There are very few things that we can do except to resource the police service, provide them with all the means to discharge their responsibility and if the police service is floundering there is no option to bypass the police, remove the police and put something else in. That option is not available.”

Cabinet took a decision on Thursday, he said, to hire 60 crime scene investigators.

He said the 15 crime scene investigators in the TTPS were not sufficient as there were just too many crime scenes.

“That money could have gone to something else, but given the level of criminal conduct and the demand for crime scene investigators we can't rely on the 15 that we have because they are not sufficient there are too many crime scenes, so we provide the crime scene investigators,” he said.

He said the Cabinet has also taken the decision to ground four helicopters which the State was paying $200 million a year to maintain.

Rowley said he expected, with the added resource, there is a better rate of detection, arrest and conviction.

He said the Deosaran Committee was now trying to identify the areas where certain actions can and must take place to bring about better policing. And that means incompetence and corruption were matters that cannot be exposed to anything but zero tolerance.

“But unfortunately we are not at a zero tolerance stage. There is a lot of tolerance in this country for wrong doing, even in the police service,” he said.

He said the population no longer trusted the police service which makes the job even more difficult.

“The police needs the population to support its effort to provide information because without information you are operating in the dark. And over time certain cultures are developed in the police service which need to be rooted out. And that is not going to happen within a week, or within a month but in a sustained approach,” he said.

Rowley said it was no secret that members of the national community have chosen a crime and criminal conduct as a way of life.

Criminality, he said, goes right down to the family.

“What kind of people are we breeding within the family? What is the role of others besides the Government in raising a citizen. We can't band knives in the country or cutlasses but look at what happened in Arima, they were killed with a sharp object. Who is this person that sat down and made a decision to do that? Who can tell me they knew that was going to happen, but of course we don't want that kind of thing to happen and that reaches down into the very soul of the nation. Away from policing it goes right down to the family. But the police is the agency that the Government relies on to secure the nation. There is no alternative to that. I know of no modern democratic country which relies for its security than anything other than proper policing,” he said.

Postby rollingstock » July 2nd, 2017, 3:25 pm

Cnut who said that?

Postby De Dragon » July 2nd, 2017, 3:28 pm

rollingstock wrote:Cnut who said that?

The Honourable Keith Christopher Steven Jeffrey Scarfy Rowley.

Postby rollingstock » July 2nd, 2017, 4:02 pm

So we making up names now, ok.

I'll stick with the one I gave you.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 2nd, 2017, 4:08 pm

Let the british rule again

Postby sMASH » July 2nd, 2017, 5:04 pm

rollingstock wrote:Cnut who said that?

EY EY, leave that attitude for when I come to make a report in the station and the kfc and heineken now reach.

Go and find which laws allowing children to weild high powered assault weapons... And post them.

Everyting online so u could Google while u nyam the kfc.

Postby 88sins » July 2nd, 2017, 5:34 pm

De Dragon wrote:Trinidad Express June 29th 2017

THE Trinidad and Tobago Police Service is charged with the responsibility of securing the nation. There is no alternative.

And the police service is undergoing a comprehensive review to identify areas where the agency has failed.

This from Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley as he responded to questions regarding the country's crime epidemic and the brutal deaths of 13-year-old Videsh Subar and his babysitter, 56-year-old Rose Mohammed.

Speaking at the post-Cabinet media briefing in Port of Spain on Thursday, Rowley said: “We are relying on the Commissioner of Police and his men and women to discharge for the Government the responsibility of securing the State. There are very few things that we can do except to resource the police service, provide them with all the means to discharge their responsibility and if the police service is floundering there is no option to bypass the police, remove the police and put something else in. That option is not available.”

Cabinet took a decision on Thursday, he said, to hire 60 crime scene investigators.

He said the 15 crime scene investigators in the TTPS were not sufficient as there were just too many crime scenes.

“That money could have gone to something else, but given the level of criminal conduct and the demand for crime scene investigators we can't rely on the 15 that we have because they are not sufficient there are too many crime scenes, so we provide the crime scene investigators,” he said.

He said the Cabinet has also taken the decision to ground four helicopters which the State was paying $200 million a year to maintain.

Rowley said he expected, with the added resource, there is a better rate of detection, arrest and conviction.

He said the Deosaran Committee was now trying to identify the areas where certain actions can and must take place to bring about better policing. And that means incompetence and corruption were matters that cannot be exposed to anything but zero tolerance.

“But unfortunately we are not at a zero tolerance stage. There is a lot of tolerance in this country for wrong doing, even in the police service,” he said.

He said the population no longer trusted the police service which makes the job even more difficult.

“The police needs the population to support its effort to provide information because without information you are operating in the dark. And over time certain cultures are developed in the police service which need to be rooted out. And that is not going to happen within a week, or within a month but in a sustained approach,” he said.

Rowley said it was no secret that members of the national community have chosen a crime and criminal conduct as a way of life.

Criminality, he said, goes right down to the family.

“What kind of people are we breeding within the family? What is the role of others besides the Government in raising a citizen. We can't band knives in the country or cutlasses but look at what happened in Arima, they were killed with a sharp object. Who is this person that sat down and made a decision to do that? Who can tell me they knew that was going to happen, but of course we don't want that kind of thing to happen and that reaches down into the very soul of the nation. Away from policing it goes right down to the family. But the police is the agency that the Government relies on to secure the nation. There is no alternative to that. I know of no modern democratic country which relies for its security than anything other than proper policing,” he said.

Good to know that the USA, UK & EU are nowadays considered ancient autocratic nations. This was very helpful of the situation indeed

like this man really believe this nation is entirely populated by idiots & guntas